Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank Jebus they're back!
This album was never going to please everyone. I think people that are of a similar age to the band are perhaps more likely to get this album than some younger fans (I could be wrong).

Crisis was such a polished affair and to me felt a little forced. Don't get me wrong, it's a good album with many stand out moments (boiled frogs, rough hands and to a friend...
Published on 27 Jun. 2009 by J. Bonney

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Im getting there but taking a long time
I absolutely adore AOFs Watch Out, with all its time signature changes, vocal counterparts between Dallas and George, but was let down a little by Crisis which lacked impact apart from two or three songs, and at the minute OC/YC suffers on the same count. Good musicianship, good singing and harmonies but just not diverse enough or in some parts memorable enough, sorry boys
Published on 30 Aug. 2009 by I. J. Davies


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank Jebus they're back!, 27 Jun. 2009
By 
J. Bonney "unclejnr" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This album was never going to please everyone. I think people that are of a similar age to the band are perhaps more likely to get this album than some younger fans (I could be wrong).

Crisis was such a polished affair and to me felt a little forced. Don't get me wrong, it's a good album with many stand out moments (boiled frogs, rough hands and to a friend spring to mind). Old Crows / Young Cardinals is in my opinion the best Alexisonfire album to date. Yeah, the self titled album is great, Watch Out! has some of their best songs on it, but as an album, I really think OC/YC may take the gold.

I'm not going to go in to the individual songs, because this album really deserves to be heard. Alexis fans should love it (unless you're one of those inanimate people with tight jeans and a stupid haircut I see at some gigs, some of you will probably be disappointed) and anyone who hasn't heard this band should definitely check them out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes more than a casual listen., 10 Nov. 2010
By 
D. W. Needham (sheffield, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Is this album an instant liker, just as Crisis was? No.
It takes more of a listening to. At first I was slightly disappointed but I now go back to it more than crisis or Watch out.

It's definitely more raw than some of their previous work, but also a lot less raw than Dog's Blood.
Just as a final note, the songs are great live. That's where the band come into their own and the tracks from this album really work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A definate grower, 25 Feb. 2010
By 
I urge you not to judge this album from the first listen. The opening track 'Old Crows' does the band no favours, merely plodding along without really grabbing the listener.

However, this is not the case for the rest of the album. 'Young Cardinals' bursts into action, stepping up the pace with some amazing drumming and a beautifully sung chorus by Dallas Green.

A couple of tracks later there is 'Born and Raised', which opens with an incredible solo. 'The Northern' showcases the band's more melodic side and firmly proves that these are in no way a one-genre band. 'Midnight Regulations' is probably one of the best tracks the band have ever done, with a simple yet hugely effective chord sequence in the verses, backing up Dallas' clean vocals and George's raspy shouts.

For newcomers, this may not be the best album to start with, as 'Crisis' shows the band at it's finest, but nevertheless this is a great album.

Long time Alexisonfire fans may feel let down by this album, but I assure you after a few more listens it's greatness will show through!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a definite grower, 11 Aug. 2009
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
alexisonfire,for me,are one of the best bands around,this,their fourth album shifts the sound around and while i didnt really like it at first i have learnt to appreciate it and then some.
The band said prior to this release that they werent going to be the saviours of screamo,instead they would kill it once and for all,i didnt like that quote as i loved their three previous albums,in fact,i rate 'crisis' as one of the greatest albums of the last 10 years.Anyway,this album is different,lead screamer george has dicthed the scream for a more gravel like style that takes a little getting used too,dallas remains the bands trump card still with his impressive clean vocals and it all works together just fine.
The band sound is a little more melodic and certainly punkier and rawer but the songs remain the same if you know what i mean,strong verses and soaring,memorable chorus' and on their day no one can touch the canadian five piece,i recommend this big time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Im getting there but taking a long time, 30 Aug. 2009
By 
I. J. Davies "The Rock Addict" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely adore AOFs Watch Out, with all its time signature changes, vocal counterparts between Dallas and George, but was let down a little by Crisis which lacked impact apart from two or three songs, and at the minute OC/YC suffers on the same count. Good musicianship, good singing and harmonies but just not diverse enough or in some parts memorable enough, sorry boys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gone off the boil..., 18 July 2009
By 
Scubasteve (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I loved alexisonfire previous work, their vocal talents and tempo diversity created interest for me. However their new offering seems to be lacking something, it needs one or two more quality songs to raise the overall feel of the album. Without these tracks i found myself becoming bored mid way through the album, its not that the tracks are bad (just average). In the past Alexisonfires albums seemed to take huge steps forward and had an abundance of creativity...something lacking from old crows/young cardinals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Assured and moving forward, 22 Jun. 2009
By 
G. Hathaway "Red Flagger" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Alexisonfire return with their fourth album, the first since 2006's "Crisis". The sound here is instantly recognisable, but also moves in new and interesting directions: album opener 'Old Crows' is a wee bit slower than traditional Alexis, and tracks such as 'The Northern' and 'Burial' use organ to great effect. Alexis are still pushing their sound forward, and they've produced a fully-satisfying and highly impressive record in the process. Top stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMazing- Buy it Now!!, 2 Aug. 2009
By 
Mr. C. Smith (Scotland, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Best album by alexis!! go buy it. no reason to just do. its amazing vocally musically and everythign that builds in you as you listen to it it just great. Do Not hesitate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this band, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you love Alexisonfire then get this CD it is a great album to listen to and i would recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're only going to buy one CD..., 10 April 2011
By 
A. Dewar (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a massive fan of the self titled and watch out albums, I was a little let down by crisis. Crisis had a lot of good songs on it like: drunks, lovers, sinners & saints; keep it on wax; to a friend; and the B-sides, but overall it just didn't have the full album feel to it that the others did. At first I was a little anxious to buy the album, but I'm so glad I did, Alexisonfire definitely redeemed themselves here.

One of the main criticisms of this album is George's new vocal style, if people don't like it then fair enough, but I thought it was a really good change. The massive problem with this album is the opening track. There's ONE bad song on the album, old crows, and it just happens to be the first song on the album. The whole album is designed so that each song really hits you as it starts, which caused people to complain that it wasn't as ambient as their previous albums, I didn't find that to be a problem. Young Cardinals & Sons of Privilege are fantastic songs, Born and Raised is amazing, No Rest is a good song but gets a lot of criticism from other people.

Then there's the Northern, I've never really heard any other songs like it, it utilises the organ in it, and some of the lyrics are based on some old blues lyrics. There's a religion theme in the video, but it's done in a slanderous way, Alexisonfire are not a religious band (See the lyrics for born & raised or heading for the sun), it's still pretty entertaining to hear George screaming "I want to go to heaven when I die" though. Midnight Regulations starts afterwards, which is my favourite song by the band ever (it even beat it was fear of myself...), I love how the intro is done on only one chord with a slight lead riff over it but still sounds so fresh. George only has a few lines in the song, so if you're lucky enough to see it live then there's lots of crowd interaction, the drumming is fantastic too, but the best part about it is the chorus, you have to listen to it, words don't justify how epic it is.

Emerald street is after which is another really good song, then heading for the sun & accept crime which are good but not great, and burial. Burial is supposed to be a cool down song, and it works very effectively. George plays no vocal part in this song, instead he plays the organ. This album sounds nothing like any of their others, but no fan really listens to a new album expecting it to sound like the last. During the Old Crows Young Cardinals recording era they actually wrote 17 songs, two of them (Two sisters & Wayfarer Youth) made it as bonus tracks, which are only on the Vinyl copy or on the Japanese version, and the other 4 made it onto their latest EP, Dog's Blood. This was because the tracks were so different from this album.

To sum up, my favourite album is Watch Out!, and this comes close, but not quite as good. It will attract people who don't like their old stuff because, even though it's heavier, the vocals are lighter than the 3 previous albums, but at the same time older fans might not like it for the same reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Old Crows/Young Cardinals
Buy MP3 Album£4.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews