Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 15 Oct 2009
This review is from: True Stories (Audio CD)
I saw Martin for the first time live in Leamington Spa last night and was bowled over. I'd only recently discovered him via the 'That's Proper Folk' compilation (available here at a stupidly low price!That's Proper Folk ) and immediately began hoovering-up Martin's back catalogue.

If someone had told me that he was a guitar virtuoso with a folky voice, I would have ran a mile expecting his albums to be pleasant but dull. However, they're nothing of the sort. What strikes me is the range of styles that are present on his albums. They're rich in detail, broad in the sense that many genres are expertly covered and, so far, every album contains a geniune tear-jerker. To be moved by music is one of life's great joys and you really feel that Martin reaches out to his audience and really connects.

The True Stories album sounds simply gorgeous. Unforgetable songs and instrumentals that'll you'll be humming quietly to yourself whilst staring at the rain or the approaching dusk. A soundtrack to a real life.

I can't believe I spent so long listening to music without Martin coming onto my radar. Now I feel like a disciple who wants to tell the world about this great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truely excellent work from Mr Simpson, 1 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Stories (Audio CD)
Those of you who bought his excellent Prodigal Son album will not be disappointed. It contains, the now expected, outstanding guitar playing and a good mix of songs and instrumentals: naturally, he is supported by an array of very talented musicians.

Amongst this is the stunning One Day. A story of tragedy and hope that will move all but the coldest heart. It is based on the sight of twin oaks .... when a gypsy child is buried, an acorn in placed in each hand.

For the background see Mike Hardin's blog on the BBC Web Site. Below is a short quote.

"Martin Taylor's son Stewart died tragically young, and the song, based on a four-line poem by Martin Taylor and finished by Martin Simpson is a simple, heart-breaking story that draws much of its imagery from gypsy life"

You will never look at a pair of twin oaks in a hedgerow in the same way again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Stories - Martin Simpson, 8 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. C. J. Almond (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Stories (Audio CD)
Another great album from Martin Simpson. Stunning virtuosity on the various guitars, excellent songs and brilliant work by the accompanying musicians. I am particularly impressed with Andy Cutting's efforts on melodeon. In my opinion this album has managed the difficult task of maintaining the same high standard as the previous album Prodigal Son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Consumate musicianship again, 12 Jan 2013
By 
R. S. Johnson (Southern England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Stories (Audio CD)
Not quite in the same class as Prodigal Son but still a very good record with telling contributions from especially Danny Thompson, Andy Cutting and Jon Boden. Hihly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really good album, 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Stories (Audio CD)
I have enjoyed this excellent album as a long time fan of Martin Simpson's music. His guitar playing, voice and style shine on this album. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars k c, 10 Feb 2010
By 
K. D. Clayton (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Stories (Audio CD)
another well crafted epic from our northern maestro ,if you like his other work you will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True Stories review, 21 Sep 2009
By 
M. Fairbairn (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Stories (Audio CD)
A portfolio of Martin Simpson's talents, showing the breadth of his capbilities across the acoustic music genre, plus some unexpected electric work too. Includes a touching tribute to his friend, Martin Taylor's, late son. A particularly good introduction for people not yet familiar with the man's music, and so, probably, his most commercial album yet. As always, for guitarists, a great lesson in how to play in altered tunings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new level of creativity, 3 Sep 2009
By 
Adrian Holmes (Shoreham, West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: True Stories (Audio CD)
If you are new to Martin Simpson, for me the best album to start with is Kind Letters. But if you are already familiar with the beauty and range of his guitar work and want to hear this master of tradition build new joyous creativity into his music, buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True Stories
True Stories by Martin Simpson (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews