Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars206
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 December 2011
already a huge, massive doctor who and torchwood fan i was so excited when this was originally broadcast, five episodes in total and shown over one week, monday to friday... bought it on blu ray and even though i still knew the story i was amazed to find i was still completely hooked... it was and is an instant classic but still fresh... u don't have to be a previous fan of the series to jump straight in... it is a total emotional rollercoaster, u laugh, u cry, u are totally hooked into the stories and characters... even one particularly disagreeable character i ended up just loving them towards the end and ended up being so bloody upset for them...

i enjoyed series 4 also but for me, this series was amazing... 5 hours long and it just didn't pull any punches drama wise... an excellent story expertly told... to this day there are a few scenes i find damn hard to watch without a lump in my throat... magnificent performances from everyone involved....

this story could come with a money back guarantee!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2010
I am a fan of the first two Torchwood series, but when watching them I always felt that they were lacking something slightly, but this feeling is lost quickly in the 3rd series. Brilliantly crafted and well written this drama pulls you in and really affects you, I gon't want to give anything away but at several points in Episode 4 and 5 I was in floods. When it was first broadcast people were worried that the 5-part drama would not work as well as a full series, but luckily they were proved wrong and it really works. I would definitely recommend this to any fans of Torchwood or sci-fi but would warn you that if you are used to the upbeat, happy-go-lucky tone of Doctor Who you are in for a shock, as this has a much darker tone, but is still worth a watch and I would say that it is the best Torchwood series but I think it also would appeal to people who are not as clued up on the "who-verse" as me.
11 comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2009
Torchwood. The show that started off as a spin-off to the juggernaut that is Doctor Who. That is no longer the case, as Torchwood manages to find it's own feet in this series, which can only be described as a masterpiece of television.

Firstly, I have watched all of season one and two of Torchwood. Although I enjoyed them all, there is definitely a feel that the show was inconsistent with it's writing and acting. You'd often have a great episode, and then you'd be left with something rather like a damp squid. To someone who is not a long term fan, this would have left a sour taste in their mouths. However, all of that is shoved aside with 'Children of Earth', the 5 part television event that was originally broadcast over 5 consecutive days. There is not one episode in this series that you could describe as weak - each part added to the story and kept the flow running nicely along.

Secondly, the acting. Oh the praise I have regarding this subject. Not only do the original cast members manage to 'up their game', but the guest stars in this series are where the show shined. One man in particular, Peter Capaldi (who plays John Frobisher) totally out-acted the rest of the cast. Wonderful on all accounts. You want to hate him, but find it impossible to do so as Capaldi manages to pull in viewer sympathy in light of the outrageously wrong things he is plotting to do. A guy who perfectly portrays the family man who will do anything, no matter how awful, to protect his family. Never before have I seen such beautiful acting in a British sci-fi drama.

Another thing to mention is that this series of Torchwood, which happens to be the third, is not just accessible for people who have watched the previous series. Any new viewer can easily begin watching this series, having not watched any of the previous, and enjoy what is on offer. Yes, perhaps long term fans can garner more from this series, but new viewers can just as easily love it.

For a show that is in it's third series, it is very surprising that it continues to impress and shock the viewers. As a matter of fact, 'Children of Earth' is much better than over 90% of new doctor who stories. This is from a show that spawned as a 'spin off', and has now managed to be better than most of it's older brother.

Finally, if you are looking at this product and wondering whether it would be worth watching if you've never watched Torchwood before, then my advice is to just do it. You will not regret it. As far as British sci-fi goes, this package is up there with the best of the bunch. I promise you, you will feel horrified, shocked, amazed, surprised, excited, upset, devastated and angry all at once when you watch this.

5/5 on all fronts.
11 comment|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
There have been 4 series of Torchwood, and it's unlikely that there will ever be a 5th. This DVD contains the entire 3rd series, actually 5 programmes broadcast on consecutive nights originally. It's not a DVD you can watch and understand without knowing what Torchwood is, how it is connected to Dr Who and why Torchwood has been reduced to just 3 people. However, for anyone who's seen Dr Who and not watched Torchwood, or has seen some of the earlier programmes, THIS is the one to watch. There's a single story line, involving powerful aliens, scared politicians, secrets from the past, and great performances from all the cast members.

If this DVD doesn't move you or affect you in any way, then you're probably dead. When aliens can control all of your children, how do you say no when they ask for a 'Gift'? If you're a child, the idea of an alien taking you over will scare you, and if you're a parent the idea of having your children taken away from you is a nightmare. Torchwood 3 handles the concept with more sensitivity than you expect in a sci-fi prfogramme, and the deaths are real, present and moving.

As a bonus, Torchwood 3 has Peter Capaldi in it as a civil servant caught in the middle of the whole mess. His performance is mesmerizing and bodes well for his stint as the 12th Doctor.

If you haven't seen Torchwood 3 then you're in for a treat. Everybody else will relish a chance to see this story again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
I have loved Torchwood, from it's start in October 2006 to a strong second series and now for season 3 we have a new twist, 13 episodes, now 5 parts, shown in one week and based on one story rather than many. Now Torchwood is really Doctor Who for adults, and from season one we had the swearing, violence and it was a really good series, still my favorite. Season two went to BBC Two from BBC Three and became a little more family but kept that real sense of drama. But now we have moved to prime time BBC One and drama is really back.

The story revolves around children and I will give nothing away because for any person who has not seen Children Of Earth, then it will be a new drama for them and all the shocks and wow moments will come to them and they will get a good viewing. For me Children of Earth had some moments which were so good and so shocking, as we march towards the finale two episodes there are some scenes which are so terrible, I mean awful and are executed perfectly.

It is true drama, telling a real story and showing true emotion and characters, one of the best sci-fi drama's of all time is seen here. Perfect acting, perfect storytelling and perfect scenes.

Torchwood is just superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2011
Being a lover of science fiction and indeed a Torchwood addict, this was a "must have" and with it available to show friends and family on tap is brilliant. If like me you love the sky, moon and stars and are hooked on the "alien" possibility, this certainly takes you to another plant. Being a John Barrowman fan helps, he is brilliant! Enjoy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2009
When it was announced that the new series of the Doctor Who spin-off would be a five part story broadcast on consecutive nights, I have to admit that I was pretty disappointed. However, being abroad when it was transmitted I have just watched the DVD and have been completely blown away.

Without spoiling it for those who haven't watched it yet, this mini-series is darker, more savage, and packs a greater emotional punch than anything seen in the first two series'. The action takes the three remaining Torchwood operatives - dashing and indestructible sex-machine Captain Jack Harkness, suave coffee expert Ianto Jones, and feisty ex-police officer Gwen Cooper - with Gwen's dopey husband Rhys in tow - out of The Hub, and sees them not only fighting the insidious alien presence known only as `The 456', but also battling for their reputations and being hunted by their own government.

There are occasional flashes of Russell T Davies' overly sentimental tendencies here, but this is ultimately a thrilling and compelling adventure, with myriad twists and turns, and a climax that will leave Torchwood fans desperate for more but wondering if their heroes will ever return...
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2009
Torchwood returns for a five-hour single-story drama which is more watchable than ever. Lots of highly improbable action and suspense combine with a very topical critique of our self-interested political establishment, as aliens come to earth with large-scale child abduction plans. In an interesting deviation from the archetypal alien invasion movie in which the government automatically fights, the (British) government opts for collaboration with the aliens. The vacuousness of (electoral) democracy is revealed as politicians seek to do deals with the aliens, shamefully looking after their own interests while selling out the people, and the people's children, starting with the most vulnerable and defenceless. The nepotism and classism in British politics is portrayed with consummate irony and the darkly comic depiction of politicians' spin/lies is most appropriate at this point in time. The politicians' focus on preserving image and power at all costs is mockingly portrayed, as the unelected and unaccountable Torchwood team fight for an ethical approach to the issue of alien terrorism. And all this with an all-action plot which keeps you guessing, and lots of last-minute escapes which make the Bond movies seem banal and unimaginative in comparison. Wonderful stuff. Don't miss it
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
i don't know why they dropped the old premise. Other than the fact that this was supposed to be a seperate sci fi movie and then it was adapted to Torchwood. The original series should have had 10 seasons before getting to this point. But like usual the bbc cut a successful series down to two series and didn't make enough episodes like they do in the U.S. (this show was a huge hit over in the states too). So they ditch the series and do a miniseries which is ok but lacks the charm of the original. And this is a very depressing miniseries too. Still it's a version of torchwood so I had to have it in my collection. The blu ray looks great and the acting is fine too. I just wish the uk would stop destroying hit shows too soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2011
Just to start i have to say that you really should buy this dvd. This DVD contains five episodes from Torchwood Children of earth. These are some of the best Torchwood episodes ever, i won't give any spoilers away but it really is beautifully written and manages to have action, comedy, emotion and it really gets you involved with the story and for the bargain price it is you can not afford to miss it
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.