Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best MMA game out there right now.
This game has been considerably overlooked since its release yet I do consider it to be the best video game representation of MMA out there.

The control scheme is nicely responsive and striking with the analog stick allows you to put together some really fluid and satisfying combinations. Also for those who are not big fans of using the sticks to strike, there...
Published on 26 Aug 2011 by QuoteTheRaven

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish
its rubbish wont work online i wouldnt recomend it is no longer available online i used to be aswell verry poor
Published 6 months ago by markorchard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best MMA game out there right now., 26 Aug 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: EA Sports MMA: Mixed Martial Arts (PS3) (Video Game)
This game has been considerably overlooked since its release yet I do consider it to be the best video game representation of MMA out there.

The control scheme is nicely responsive and striking with the analog stick allows you to put together some really fluid and satisfying combinations. Also for those who are not big fans of using the sticks to strike, there is an option to use the face buttons to punch and kick. Counter punching is slick and landing a flash KO is ultimately satisfying.

The ground game is simplified in comparison to the UFC games but works quite nicely using X to advance position and O to defend your position (default controls). The ground game isn't perfect by any means buts its simplicity allows players unfamiliar with the sport to get to grips with the more complicated aspects of MMA. Each fighter in the game has "special moves" making each feel different from the other. Submissions in this game are also done very well. Each submission battle results in a separate mini game for neck, arm and leg submissions which is so much better than the button bashing which have featured in other MMA games.

The graphics are well presented, particularly for the more prominent fighters. Blood looks realistic as does bruising which really does add to the atmosphere of the fight.

The major weakness in this game is the roster. It features some great fighters such as Fedor Emelianenko, Randy Couture, Nick Diaz, Alistair Overeem etc. Its also nice to see some legends such as Ken Shamrock, Frank Shamrock and Bas Rutten. Unfortunately, behind these names are also a bunch of mid-tier names and some I haven't even heard of. Fortunately they had the initiative to add a fighter share mode which allows you to download "create a fighters" from other players around the world. This allows you to get some the bigger names of MMA on the roster which this game sorely misses.

One thing I did find disappointing was the lack of game modes. The game features a tutorial mode, Exhibition mode, career mode and an online mode. It would have been nice to see some tournament options and championship modes. Career mode is surprisingly fun for a game like this. Based on the last two UFC career mode offerings, I would say the career mode in EA MMA is better than it has any right to be! Bas Rutten guides you through your career and you can train your fighter in a number of different diciplines. Though not perfect it is enjoyable enough to play through. However the career mode is once again severely hampered by the lack of the big name fighters.

The best thing about this game is the inclusion of the option to play under Vale Tudo rules or Japanese rules as well as unified and Strikeforce rules. This means there are soccer kicks and stomps. This also comes with the option to fight in a boxing ring or cage.

The online mode is also a lot of fun. This is where you find the real challenge. Although the online mode has had its share of problems with glitches and exploits, I also find that lag is a rarity. Of course the game keeps track of your records for those interested. This is where the game truly shines.

Overall I would not say this game is a perfect simulation of the sport. However it is the best you will find out there right now. Considering its current price, I cannot recommend this game enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 1 Oct 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EA Sports MMA: Mixed Martial Arts (PS3) (Video Game)
its rubbish wont work online i wouldnt recomend it is no longer available online i used to be aswell verry poor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great MMA game., 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EA Sports MMA: Mixed Martial Arts (PS3) (Video Game)
Good game, if you're into MMA and fighting then get on this! :-) Takes a little while to get used to, but its worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ok, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EA Sports MMA: Mixed Martial Arts (PS3) (Video Game)
this is a very good item and i am very happy that i decided to buy it, i recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quite good!, 12 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: EA Sports MMA: Mixed Martial Arts (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is quite good in the fact that i found UFC to be very straight forward basic knockout and game over. However this game is much more intense and therefore provides a challenge to me, an avid combat fighting sport fan.

The graphics and the physics engine provided in the fame is also of a high standard, very good game, recommended for any combat fighting sport fan!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best in 2010, 2 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EA Sports MMA: Mixed Martial Arts (PS3) (Video Game)
Definately best fighting game of 2010. In my opinion EA Sports product was much better than UFC Undicputed 2010. Graphics even for today standards is good. Most of the strikeforce rooster was there plus some of the greatest fighters in mma history. Unforunately from 2012 u can play offline only so no multiplayer (at least not online).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay, 2 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. Guy Armstrong "The Yeti" (LONDON UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: EA Sports MMA: Mixed Martial Arts (PS3) (Video Game)
This games looks stunning, and the training parts of the game gives it some real depth. . . only problem is the controls are a little on the complex side. If you have trouble playing games with complex control systems then I would steer clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 21 Feb 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: EA Sports MMA: Mixed Martial Arts (PS3) (Video Game)
It doesn't have the fight style customisation of UFC 2010, but what it does have is a flowing and simple combat system, which makes far better use of the PS3 controller than the UFC's latest installment.

There is no 'shining' to break submissions, or complex stick movements to make simple ground transitions. Everything has been made simle, and pretty much 'pick up and play', allowing a wide audience to have fun beating the snot out of each other.

Definitely a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ..... and the new MMA champ of video games is ......, 25 Oct 2010
By 
N. Thompson "Beaker" (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: EA Sports MMA: Mixed Martial Arts (PS3) (Video Game)
EA have out done THQ and the UFC with this excellent and realistic video game simulation of the sport of mixed martial arts. What EA have produced is much better than 'UFC 2010', the fights feel more realistic, the controls are simpler and have a more oraganic feel, the graphics look better and everything feels less tacky than the UFC games. Obviously, one down-side is the weaker and less known roster of fighters. We do not get the stars of the UFC but this is the only catagory where the UFC games are better. Take away the roster and EA's MMA is a much better game and will appeal to the more seasoned fan of the sport.

The career mode is good with much better voice-acting than its UFC counter-part. The online mode is also impressive with lots options and lots of little gimmicks thats sets this game apart.

Im sure fans of the sport will be divided as to which is the better video game (EA MMA or UFC 2010) but I believe that contest has been won hands-down by EA. THQ have been knocked out in the first minute of the first round ..... and the new champion is EA's MMA. In the end, its was not even a close contest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY ALL SERVERS HAVE NOW CLOSED!, 10 May 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: EA Sports MMA: Mixed Martial Arts (PS3) (Video Game)
According to the official EA website "On April 13th 2012, EA will be shutting down the EA Sports MMA Online servers. This means after April 13th 2012, you will no longer be able to access any of the online features within EA Sports MMA. This includes Online Head to Head, Fight Cards, Live Broadcast Replays, Virgin Gaming, Leaderboards, Fighter Share and Fight Replays." So buying the game will mean you wont be able to 100% (Platinum the game) as the majority of the trophies are Online ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9655330)

This product

EA Sports MMA: Mixed Martial Arts (PS3)
EA Sports MMA: Mixed Martial Arts (PS3) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)
15.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews