Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best FPS I've played
I played the original Crysis when it first came out and was disappointed when it got to the alien section so I put off getting Crysis 2, especially as the early reviewers/comments regarding problems running it in W7 64bit. When the price fell to less than a tenner and it had been patched, especially with the free downloadable 64bit texture pack available I thought I would...
Published on 27 April 2012 by ZeroZero

versus
66 of 74 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly underwhelming so far...
Crysis was and still is a phenomenal must have title for the pc, it definitively showed off just how great pc gaming can be with its incredible graphics, gameplay and setting, its only flaw in my mind being that it took an expensive rig to run it (to this day my quad core beast of a machine can't run it on maximum settings without a little lag)I was hooked and a fan from...
Published on 31 Mar 2011 by Dannyboy123


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best FPS I've played, 27 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crysis 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I played the original Crysis when it first came out and was disappointed when it got to the alien section so I put off getting Crysis 2, especially as the early reviewers/comments regarding problems running it in W7 64bit. When the price fell to less than a tenner and it had been patched, especially with the free downloadable 64bit texture pack available I thought I would give it a go.

I'm very pleased I did. It's one of the best FPS I've ever played! The graphics are fantastic. Some of the levels are epic in scale and take your breath away. Other's had complained that the play area was restrictive but I got no real sense of this being "on rails". The landscape in which most of the battle sequences play out is very well designed and enables plenty of different opportunities to explore tactics.

Even the AI was quite good and the game contained no noticeable bugs or major glitches (like the first game) -- the 64 bit version played like a dream on my machine running a quad-core 3Ghz with 8GB ram with the graphics tweaked high on an old 8800 GTX.

As soon as I completed the game I started again playing it through a second time. I have only ever done this once before (Deadspace 2).

Although I'm not a fan of restrictive DRM, at below a tenner this game is a must have for any games lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 74 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly underwhelming so far..., 31 Mar 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crysis 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Crysis was and still is a phenomenal must have title for the pc, it definitively showed off just how great pc gaming can be with its incredible graphics, gameplay and setting, its only flaw in my mind being that it took an expensive rig to run it (to this day my quad core beast of a machine can't run it on maximum settings without a little lag)I was hooked and a fan from the start, so Crysis 2 was my most anticipated major release for this year by a long shot (with the possible exception of Duke Nukem Forever if it indeed finally comes out)

Now I've just had a 2 hour playthrough so it's possible my first impression isn't a fair one but that's what it is, a first impression. As the title suggests I find it to be underwhelming and even slightly dissapointing. Lets get the good out of the way, the graphics are indeed excellent, however this is where the problem of making the game for the Xbox 360 and PS3 comes in, it's barely customisable which is unheard of for most pc games. In the first you could alter effects, motion blur, texture detail, water detail, you name it. In Crysis 2 all you get is a standard detail setting that's either low, medium, high, very high or extreme. I would've preferred the game had a far more customisable nature so that I could feel like I could get even more detail and performance out of it, as far as I know it doesn't even support direct x11 which is just stupid. It stands it's a little anticlimatic to know that the details I have it set at are literally as high as it'll go. It runs beautifully and looks great, but I feel if Crytek had focused on the pc version instead of the console versions they could've got even more out of it, and make no mistake, they have focused big time on the console versions as made obvious by the opening screen which says adjust your brightness until the image is barely visible on your tv.

Now gameplay wise is where the game completely underwhelms me, in the original cryis I vividly remember standing on top of a huge hill overlooking an enemy settlement, I mapped the entire area out with my binoculars and could approach the base from near enough any direction, I could attack outright from the beach to the left, or try crossing up stream to the right and over the wall, or taking out the petrol station from afar to create a diversion, its Korean jungle setting was wonderful and it made the game vast in scope and a genuine joy to experience. Crysis 2 has none of this so far, in comparison its a corridor shooter that consists of shoot guys in smallish town section, move along, see impressive yet completely uninteractive sequence, shoot guys, move along through linear sewer tunnell, grab tank, drive along road. Its fun don't get me wrong, but again just massively underwhelming when you consider how much fun the original was in comparison, it didn't always need giant sequences, it was so vast in scope and scale that playing it was as much fun as any giant cinematic you saw.

Then we finally come to the story, which frankly I was always a little dissapointed with from the moment the game was announced. The Korean island setting of the original was great, it was like a cross between the suspenseful hidden monster nature of Predator and the badass soldier feel from Halo, it was a classic investigate weird activity on island that goes wrong scenario. Crysis 2 just instead spits on not only the characters and ending from the first by practically ignoring them but changes the setting to a typical alien invasion in an American city setting. I'm not saying it doesn't work, it's pulled off far more convincingly than most other shooters that try it but once again it's just not on par with the superb setting of the first game. Even the aliens are pretty lowsy now, in the first they had this sinister mechanical monster look to them that kinda reminded me of sentinels from The Matrix, in Crysis 2 however so far they look fairly boring and cliched in comparison instead going for the bipedal footsoldier approach. And so far from my initial playthrough I don't really get what's going on as such, yes the aliens have attacked New York but why? who is Gould? why was Prophet helping him? I thought he had gone back to the island in the first? why are Cell bad guys? I can be a little unattentive at times but the story just seems like it's been thrown on as an afterthought to fit these large massively polished sequences together.

On the whole, Crysis 2 isn't a bad game by a long shot. As far as games go it's actually very good and I intend to play through to the end, but the reason I give it 3 out 5 is just that it's not on par with the first at all in my opinion and I my initial dissapointment with this probably won't go away no matter how much I enjoy the game. If you're a pure console gamer with a taste for shoot em ups chances are you'll absolutely love Crysis 2. Pc fanatics like myself though will most likely feel a tad cheated, it's a good game but not great so far. My rating may change in time, but we'll have to see. So far, 3/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top game, 27 Jan 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crysis 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I was thinking of this or Battle field three this has all the good bits from Crisis and Battlefield all in one the graphics are out of this world has Direct X11 support and 3D
But online stay away from Direct x11 as some don't have this but its very smooth and fast online game play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad..., 29 Mar 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crysis 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I have completed Crysis and Crysis Warhead several times and really enjoyed these two titles. That said it goes without saying that I decided that Crysis 2 is a must have.

The up side:

My rig is a Core 2 Duo, Geforce GTX280 running Win7 Ultimate 64-bit. After 3 years it is starting to age a bit but running Crysis 2 on full HD with all the options maxed out is a pleasure. Sure C2 only supports DX9 as the development teams had to compensate for the consoles that lag behind in that respect. But it looks great considering it runs via an API that was killed off when windows XP was dropped. The benefit of this is that a larger audience can share in the Crysis 2 experience as it was intended - Great!!!

You don't need a killer rig to run the game on mediocre settings not to mention the settings being maxed out. When Crysis was released it killed your high-end pc even in Windows XP on DX9, DX10 (Vista) looked great but killed your PC even more. It would be nice to have DX10 or 11 support for C2 to improve the visuals, but make no mistake, Crysis 2 is a pretty game in its own right. Some complain that they would have wanted more graphics options but there is no real need for that considering how well C2 runs on average hardware. It would be nice to adjust the anisotropic filtering and AA settings etc. but it is certainly not a problem.
The game play is good once you get used to how the nano suit function this time around. One can apparently customize your suit now still have to check that out. The environments look good and the AI is o.k.

The downside:

The story is not a direct continuation of the original Crysis story line. At the end of Crysis we were set up for a sequel that sadly may never see the light of day and this is disappointing. At this point the only thread of continuity between Crysis and C2 is the appearance of Prophet (I still need to complete the game so I could be wrong here). This does not mean that the story in C2 is poor but what happened in between the first and second game? Going back to the Island to kick some alien butt and poof we are in NYC a couple of years later. Some argue that this "reboot" of the story line is to bring console gamers in to the Crysis universe. Poor argument, have a look at how Mass Effect 2 was handled for the PS3 to bring that franchise to PS3 gamers.

It is only a 32-bit app so no native 64-bit support(Read console port), check point saves(Read console port) and for some the simplified nano suit could detract from the experience. I personally would have preferred being able to save the game when I need to and not being limited to checkpoints and auto saves. It would also have been nice to disable the hand holding by the game when it comes to announcing objectives when using the visor and it would have been great to have had the female voice for the nano suit.

None if these "issues" are game killers or detract from the experience though. C2 is an enjoyable game, has high production values and is quite a polished product. C2 can definitely stand on its own feet so I recommend getting it. I just really hope that Crytek follows through on the story as they were originally planning on doing a trilogy, perhaps they can even fill in the massive plot hole between C1 and C2. That would be really great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good game almost undone by annoying cut scenes and quick time events, 24 Feb 2012
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crysis 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
New York City, 2023. Three years ago, evidence of alien life was discovered on the island of Linshan, claimed by North Korea. An ancient civilisation, the Ceph, had seeded bio-organice spacecraft known as 'spheres' under various points of the Earth's crust. American marines and special forces, spearheaded by soldiers wearing experimental 'nanosuits', engaged the Ceph and ultimately defeated them. However, a second sphere has now been activated under New York City. To clear the city the Ceph have released a deadly virus as a prelude to an all-out attack. As American military forces try to clear the city of millions of civilians, it falls to a marine to take up the nanosuit and engage not only the Ceph, but the corporation which created the nanosuit and now wants it back, by any means necessary.

Crysis 2 is CryTek's fourth game, following on from their brilliant 2004 debut Far Cry and the first two games in the Crysis franchise, Crysis and Crysis: Warhead. CryTek have two principal goals with their first-person shooters. The first is to deliver the most technically and graphically stunning games in the world, which they have ably achieved. The second is to create FPS games which break out of corridors and linear passages and try to give some freedom back to the player, allowing them to approach firefights and battles in a manner of their preference, or to even avoid them by using stealth. Crysis 2 continues this tradition as well, although in a much-less accomplished manner than its forebears.

The game opens with you on a submarine approaching New York. The sub is predictably destroyed by the aliens, but you are rescued by Prophet (a side-character in the original Crysis; the protagonists from the first two games do not appear in this one) and given his nanosuit to take the fight to the enemy. You are also engaged in battling the creators of the nanosuit, who send soldiers after you to try to recover it. Initially you are on your own, hounded by aliens and human soldiers alike, until you rescue a scientist (a walking exposition tool with no other characteristics) and learn more about what's going on. Then the US Marines arrive in full force and you team up with them to carry on the fight (sometimes in squad deployments with fellow troops, more often not). The storyline features much wibbling about nanotechnology and lots of grunting from manly soldiers (one of whom is a token female) about getting things done and leaving no man behind and so forth. To be honest, the storyline and writing are both forgettably generic, surprising as two of the better SF authors around at the moment (Peter Watts and Richard Morgan) worked on it.

Like its forebears, Crysis 2 presents the player with a mission objective and leaves you to decide how to accomplish it. The usual options are a head-on confrontation, a flanking maneuver, a sniping option or stealth. Rather disturbingly, the game assumes that you are too thick to figure this out on your own and walks you through these options each time you enter a combat area (though you can simply ignore this by not using the nanosuit's visor), but nevertheless the choice is good. Your nanosuit has several abilities which can help with these choices. It has an armour mode which renders you resistant (but not totally immune) to enemy firepower and a cloaking device which makes you invisible. Both abilities consume suit power (as does running and doing large jumps), and managing your power adds a fresh tactical perspective to the game.

The game employs the tiresome twin gimmicks of modern FPS games, namely cover and regenerating health. At least the nanosuit provides a reasonable in-game explanation for the regenerating health this time around, but the cover system means, once again, discovering areas and levels littered with convenient waist-high boxes and barriers everywhere which just looks silly. Fortunately, the cover system is optional (and you have to press a button to activate it, so you don't stick to walls automatically) and can be safely ignored by players who actually want to fight, rather than cowering behind walls. In fact, the nanosuit's armour option allows you to engage aggressively in combat and strikes a good balance between empowering the player and making them too invulnerable.

Weapon choices are fairly standard - shotguns, pistols, rocket launchers, machine guns - but do the job. They're chunky and satisfying to use, though rather greedy on the ammo. Luckily the game is absolutely littered with ammo dumps, so that's not a problem. The game also has melee options, including a formidable ability to pick up an enemy soldier (human or alien) and throw them a colossal distance. Whilst a bit overpowered, this does use up all your energy and takes a few seconds each time, so can't be used rapidly to clear a tight cluster of enemies. Combat is excellent, which is handy as it makes up 90% of the game, though enemy AI occasionally falters at long range (sniping becomes less of an option as the game proceeds, probably because of early sections where you can kill dozens of enemies with no-one around them batting an eyelid).

The tactical freedom to handle combat as you see fit, and the combat itself being great, are two important things that prop up the game. The third are the visuals. At launch Crysis 2 was, somewhat bizarrely, less impressive than the original Crysis. This was because serious compromises had to be made to fit the game onto consoles. Happily, CryTek released a later patch which added high-resolution textures and a DirectX 11 mode on PC, which transforms the game into something from another world. Graphically, Crysis 2 is the single most jaw-dropping game on the planet (supplanting its forebear, which must drop to second place). Aside from CDProjekt's visually stunning Witcher 2, nothing else comes close to it. It's a quantum leap forwards and shows what we can expect from the next generation of games. The atmospheric depiction of a shattered New York City (borrowing more than a few visual motifs from Escape from New York and Cloverfield) is another triumph, helped by some excellent music.

So, the game has great combat and stunning graphics. Where Crysis 2 runs into problems is with story. As I said before, the story is a somewhat generic piece of fluff about fighting off an alien invasion. The characters are walking fonts of exposition with no real sense of personality and no interesting or memorable dialogue. You fight, and have a good time fighting, but don't really care about the stakes or the other characters involved. The generic nature of the plot shouldn't be a problem, as it's basically an excuse to rationalise the huge explosions. What makes it offensive is that the game loves to rip control away from your hands every half hour or so for a tedious cut scene, a 'surprise' cliffhanging event (usually an explosion, fall or tidal wave ending with you being unconscious for a few moments) or, rage-inducingly, a Quick Time Event. Quick Time Events - in which normal game controls are suspended and you have to follow on-screen controls for a few minutes like a simpleton for absolutely no discernible reason - are the laziest of devices to use to make the player feel involved in the game, and frankly cost the game half a star by itself (luckily there's only a few of them in the whole game, otherwise it would have been more).

Crysis 2 (***) laudably follows in its predecessors' footsteps by giving the player more freedom in how to play than most shooters. Unfortunately, its sense of freedom is considerably watered-down from its forebears (and Crysis was already substantially more linear than Far Cry) and then totally undone by its dependence on industry-standard but unnecessary fluff like cut scenes and Quick Time Events. If you can overlook these issues - and they are relatively restrained - then the impressive combat, mouth-watering graphics and the tactical options presented by the nanosuit combine to make it one of the better contemporary first-person shooters. The game is available now in the UK (PC, PlayStation 3, X-Box 360) and USA (PC, PlayStation 3, X-Box 360).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun once you get into it, 26 Mar 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crysis 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Lets get one thing straight, this if no Far Cry killer. However, it isn't the junk that a lot of people seem to be making it.

I've played it for nearly 10 hours now, so am far enough in to comment properly on the gameplay. But first a word on the graphics. While they are certainly not state of the art, and some of the textures are a bit bland, I do think they get better as the game progresses. In fact the opening section appeared to have the worst textures. This makes no business sense but could explain some of the poor reviews. I tried that fix the other person posted in their review:

cl_fov=90
r_DrawNearFoV = 90
pl_movement.power_sprint_targetFov = 90
g_skipIntro=1

Basically, add the above to the system.cfg file of the Crysis 2 installation. (If you don't have the knowledge to find it you shouldn't be editing text files on your PC). I did that and it made a difference, but to be honest it screwed too much with the perspective for my liking. Perhaps I need to tweak it some more?

There was a time a few years ago when I had to have the latest graphics card. I no longer bother these days, as the amount I was paying was not being reflected in the increased quality of the graphics. My card is over a year old, and cost about 140 new. It runs this maxed out at 1920x1200 though, so I wouldn't worry too much if you have a fairly low powered rig.

So, what is the game itself like? I have to say that its pretty good. Its a decent FPS (not ground breaking though) that gives you plenty of freedom to run about, and, like Far Cry, gives you multiple ways of completing a task. So, given a task, you can go in with all guns blazing, use stealth and crawl along a ledge, launch a grenade attack, whatever.

The big difference to Far Cry and Crysis though, is that it insists on telling you that these options are available! Once you are aware that options exist, you can equip your magic goggles, and lo and behold, these options are highlighted for you. This sucks. The whole fun of Far Cry to me, at least on repeat playthroughs, was discovering new ways of doing the same thing. This has gone now, if you apply your goggles when advised. The secret is fairly straightforward though: don't use the goggles! Just because the game thinks you might need your hand held, doesn't mean you have to grasp the outstretched hand, so if you ignore it when prompted, you can still have repeat runthroughs where you take alternate routes.

The nanosuit has been simplified, and I don't have a problem with that to be honest. I thought the Nanosuit didn't add much to the Far Cry experience anyway.

There is a story to follow, if you like that sort of thing. I did at the start, but got bored following it and started skipping it where possible.

I will update this when I have finished the game, as the original Crysis had an awful final third. But from what I have found so far, this game is pretty good. It is by no means awesome, and certainly not in the same league as the original Far Cry, but it isn't the turkey people are claiming it to be here. If you want a more fun FPS, then try Bulletstorm, but if you've done that already, and want more FPS action, then you could do a lot worse than play this.

==================================================================================

Updated April 1st.

Right, I finished the game and am now on my second run through on the hardest level. The fact that I am replaying it immediately should give you some clue as to what I now think of the game. It really is very good indeed. Unlike the original Crysis, which had a very weak final third, Crysis 2 just gets better and better. It is action all the way, and is even better at the hardest level. I have upgraded my score to 5 stars because it really is excellent. It is easy to dismiss it after playing half an hour, but once you get into it the game is great fun. The tactical options become very easy to ignore and you can just pick your own path to play. Sometimes I chose the stealthy route, other times I went for all out war. This is well worth playing and shouldn't be dismissed just because it isn't a graphical benchmark tool. What it is is a very enjoyable game. I actually prefer it to Crysis, though not the original Far Cry.

And yes, of course I know that there was no nanosuit in Far Cry. First there was the original Far Cry experience, Crysis added the nanosuit to that. Happy to clarify that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gameline GmbH - Avoid these con men at all costs!!, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crysis 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
UPDATE 2: I've noticed another name change (after the most recent comment brought me back here). They're now called "Gameline GmbH" and have, in all likelihood, changed their name inbetween my last update and this one. This constant switching only goes to prove that they are con men. I want you all to be as informed as possible in your decisions and, as such, would recommend you make your purchase from another, more reputable, seller. Best of luck, everyone.

UPDATE - This company has changed its name to Digitalville UK. This is clearly something it will do frequently to try and lose all of the negative reviews associated with its old company name; I'm sure this isn't the first time it will have done this. Again, it's now Digitalville UK.
Avoid buying from these crooks AT ALL COSTS!

The game is itself excellent. Stunning visuals, even by today's standards, intuitive controls, sturdy storytelling back up by good pacing and exemplary gameplay. 5/5 to the good people at Electronic Arts.

However, assuming they're still allowed to trade at this point, make 100% sure you DO NOT buy this game from Software Central UK! None of their copies of Crysis 2 have a valid CD key (meaning you can't actually access the game) and when challenged on the issue rather than doing what anyone who has ever worked in customer service would do (i.e. apologise, listen to the problem, attempt to rectify the solution) they responded with rudeness that needs to be quoted to be believed! Had to go and buy a copy from a local highstreet retailer instead! Let's just say they know a lot about GAMEs and I've bought many a GAME from them over the years ;)

My message to the seller - Cut down so it didn't take the whole page ;)

"I received my copy of Crysis 2 that I ordered from you this morning. The CD/DVD itself isn't damaged. However, the serial number given (needed to activate the product) on the manual is invalid. Having contacted EA customer service I have been instructed to contact you [Software Central] regarding obtaining a replacement code...While I am aware that illegal distribution takes place I am willing to accept that this may be a single, isolated error that can be quickly resolved by yourselves" ...etc etc

The reply:

"We dont sell anything illegal. We had purchased over 2000 Crysis 2 they are all genuine and brand new never been used. We are in this business for over 6 years and buy directly from EA Distributors. You can email them your UPC Code and they will tell you if it is illegal copy or not. Please do NOT insult me with this."

You'll notice there's no attempt to actually rectify THEIR mistake, just astounding levels of aggression, rudeness and egotism.

My reply (hoping to actually get a replacement):

"I simply informed you of the steps I have taken and wanted to make it very clear the disappointment I have had in your service. Furthermore, I simply quoted what information I received from EA and Trading Standards. It is a shame that you would seem to take this as some sort of personal attack as I said I was willing to accept that this wasn't the case and allow you to rectify your mistake. I feel that the level of aggression in your response was completely unwarranted and would suggest that you deal with your product's defectiveness in a more professional manner from here on in."

The reply:

"Well I am sorry if you think that I wasnt professional but please understand I make living from Amazon and feed my kids and I would never risk this with selling anything illegal. I stand behind my products and have proof of purchase from legal game distributors from all around the world. I even personally met with Cevat Yerli in California last year at Game Expo, He is the founder, CEO and President of Crytek."

A sob story that's completely irrelevant. Does anyone else find it hard to believe the rest? I know I do. Again, no attempt to help their paying customer (and apparently no attempt to use proper grammar).
This went on and on. I gave them the very simple (and you'll agree reasonable) solution "If you could e-mail me a valid CD key for the product I shall consider the matter sorted and leave it at that". Agreeable, right? Evidently not.
He was totally dumbfounded by this! I explained "without a VALID Serial Number I cannot activate the product...rendering it useless to me." You'd think he should know that, given he sells games (admittedly of varying levels of legitimacy).
All I got was a simple "I am not going to argue with you". Useless or what? Imagine if someone talked to you like this in a real shop. You'd call the manager and they'd get the sack there and then! I should know, I've seen it happen. Yet somehow these people are allowed to keep trading on Amazon.

To summarise: Crysis 2 = Great game. Amazon = Great company. Software Central UK = Bunch of crooks. AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 9 Nov 2011
By 
Paul Stevens (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crysis 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I was a big fan of the Crysis 1 and Crysis Warhead games so started this game with cautious optimism. Fortunately I wasn't to be disappointed.

An excellent game, well worth playing if you're a fan of the series. The levels are more linear then the original and lacks the open ended design of that game (to about the same degree as Warhead IMV) but I didn't find that a problem since there's still plenty of room to maneuver and the action keeps your attention enough that you probably won't care. The story line is excellent with plenty of plot twists, the action is varied and fun, the graphics are detailed and the soundtrack is superb.

My only real complaints are the fact that it is a checkpoint save game (only saves when you reach checkpoints) which becomes annoying after a while. Also the cover system isn't perfect and can be hindered by objects (such as a wall or desk) getting in the way or the automatic lifting of your weapon when you come up to an object.

Can't comment on the multiplayer since I don't touch multiplayer games.

If you liked the first you will probably like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crysis 2 Overview, 24 Oct 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crysis 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I had been looking forward to the next instalment of this class leading title. My wait was worthwhile, as this new version fulfilled my expectations in every way. I will not talk about plot, as it is much the same as the original with a few twists. What I will say is that the graphics have surpassed the original, without substituting atmosphere or playability. The Crysis suit version 2, has all of the features of the original, but can be used in a more efficient way. Stealth and strength mode can be switched instantly to help keep a low profile. There is a new 'Upgrade' path to each of the modes, which enhance an already excellent system. Glorious detail and seamless 'gameplay to video' sequence changes, help keep this game mesmerising throughout its 25 hour plus play through. Worth every penny. Don't make excuses, buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crysis 2 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Cannot save game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crysis 2 (PC DVD)
Crysis 2 (PC DVD) by Electronic Arts (Windows Vista)
5.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews