Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brains & Brawn
I'm going to get the 'elephant in the room' out of the way at the beginning. On a technical level, Crysis 2 on the PS3 is supposedly the graphically weaker of the three versions of this game. Importantly though, that shouldn't prevent anyone from buying it.

Once this is plugged into an HDTV you really shouldn't care less what it looks like on other systems...
Published on 27 Mar 2011 by Blue Raven

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Panic on the Streets of New York
There are some gorgeous looking games out on the current generation of consoles and `Crysis 2' is one of the best. The slightly futuristic depiction of New York is immense and clean looking, whilst the enemies look mean. However, looks are not everything in a game as gameplay, story and diversity of play needs to be taken into account, in these areas `Crysis 2' is a...
Published on 29 Sep 2011 by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brains & Brawn, 27 Mar 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crysis 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
I'm going to get the 'elephant in the room' out of the way at the beginning. On a technical level, Crysis 2 on the PS3 is supposedly the graphically weaker of the three versions of this game. Importantly though, that shouldn't prevent anyone from buying it.

Once this is plugged into an HDTV you really shouldn't care less what it looks like on other systems because here it is absolutely stunning. Everything looks really good from the devastated architecture of New York to the weather effects, allies and enemies you come acrosss. Water, fire, smoke and dust are immersive and convincing, and the lighting has to be some of the most advanced out there right now. The greatest credit to the visuals on show here is that by the end of the first level you will stop being gobsmacked by how good it all looks and simply accept what is put in front of you. It's hard to describe, but the art design here is geared towards making the in-game objects/environments feel real, huge or frightening, rather than simply aiming to make them 'look good' on a technical level.

The frame rate isn't especially slick (but is still perfectly playable) and you occasionally catch a tiny amount of motion blur in the characters, but these are minor points compared to the overall experience.

The rich audio is impressive; from weapon sounds to creaking buildings, and the sound designers know how to creep you out when they want. The soundtrack is a mixed bag, with the first main theme having a real 'dirge' sound to it, but there are also some great orchestral numbers in the vein of classic action movie scores as the game progresses that you'll have stuck in your head afterwards.

The gameplay is flexible, as each level is basically a giant sandbox. You have a visor that you can activate to highlight different tactical options, but there's nothing to stop you inventing your own unique way of dealing with a situation. The advertised stealth ability doesn't make you invincible as you can be detected up close as enemies see a 'shape' coming towards them, the same as you will when a cloaked enemy approaches, so you still have to pick your moment to strike or sneak past. Your suit has a number of active and passive abilities that you can customise as you go through the game, and you can customise your weaponry in the field once you find a safe bit of cover. Most levels have a large amount of vertical freedom so you can find a high point to observe the enemy and plan your assault: just be careful not to be spotted by snipers as you make your way up...

Your suit has a certain amount of energy that drops quickly when you use special abilities. It does recharge once you stop, but this does add a neat tactical element to combat as you will have to think through difficult situations before you enter them if you want to survive.

The sci-fi story is clever and ambitious (dealing with themes of transhumanism and corporations rushing to be the first to implement technologies they cannot fully control), but as usual (for a shooter) it suffers A LOT from the way it is told through on-the-fly encounters and radio transmissions. There are very few games involving any kind of shooting that get storytelling 'right', with Bioshock and Mass Effect 2 both being notable exceptions.

This is one that you should definitely try if you fancy a different twist on the genre and aren't dissuaded by those claiming that PS3 owners have in some way been cheated by this release. We haven't; this is an amazing game that any action fan should play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and Engrossing, 9 Aug 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crysis 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
I've just finished my second play through of Crysis 2 (that's right, second!) and can't recommend this game highly enough. The gameplay is fantastic, the plot engaging, the characters well developed and the graphics astounding.

Everything seems to fit together perfectly, it's an ideal FPS and the scope for replay and expansion is massive. Can't wait for Crysis 3 basically!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Becomes brilliant!, 15 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crysis 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
Let me be honest, I thought it was ok at points, but when you progress throughout the game it becomes brilliant. These sorts of games are what makes gaming brilliant.

Let me just give you a top three 'good' points about this game:

1) The Nano Suit - simply brilliant how you can cloak (got to love that 'cloak engaged' voice!) and snap someone's neck the next moment.

2) The pace - at the start it is more sedate and you have less enemies to worry about, but by the end it builds to a crescendo. This is not something that many games do, and those which do this are often the most rewarding.

3) Weaponry - simply brilliant here, from simple assault rifles to rocket launchers. There is something for everyone. Also, the fact you can customise your weapons in real-time is a fantastic innovation and something I would like to see more games do in the future.

I bought the first Crysis a few days ago for 7.99 off PSN, and I'm hoping I'm as taken with it as I was with this. I'm sure a jungle setting will be different enough to New York City!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome :), 15 Aug 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crysis 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
Since I'm a fan of Crysis, all I can say is: Crysis just gets better and better. I'm enjoying it a lot and looking forward to the upcoming part 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Panic on the Streets of New York, 29 Sep 2011
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crysis 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
There are some gorgeous looking games out on the current generation of consoles and `Crysis 2' is one of the best. The slightly futuristic depiction of New York is immense and clean looking, whilst the enemies look mean. However, looks are not everything in a game as gameplay, story and diversity of play needs to be taken into account, in these areas `Crysis 2' is a little lacking.

There is no denying that the game is a very solid first person shooter, the aiming is great and the weapons feel good. However, when the game itself feels so lifeless these strong elements cannot paper over the cracks. The story continues from the first game in the series, but it is banal and uninteresting that they needn't have bothered. The gameplay is also a little too samey throughout. Enter an area, scout for possibilities and then attack as you see fit - either stealth or power. This works well once or twice, but by the time you get to the 12th burnout city block it all becomes boorish.

Online the multiplayer is amongst the best that the 360 and PS3 has to offer, varied maps and the different ways to use your power armour means there are more tactics than you would think. However, once again the mode may be solid, but is just more of the same FPS action that has dominated the market for 15 years. There are not enough fresh ideas in either the solo or online game to push the game above the average.

Is `Crysis 2' worth playing? Certainly, it is one of the best looking and most solid FPS experiences on the 360/PS3, but be aware that you may become bored sooner than you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Crysis of faith, 17 Aug 2011
By 
H. A. Winchester (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crysis 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
I'm going to start this review by getting something out of the way, which to many gaming enthusiasts may seem like blasphemy: Crysis's graphics aren't that great - they really not. That's not to say that this is an ugly game, it simply suffers from bland level design on some occasions, and overuses its considerable graphical assets. `What's the problem with that?!' I hear the enthusiasts cry. I'll tell you it makes the game; stutter, bland and dull.

The frame rate takes the biggest hit. The environments are much more open than other corridor shooters that Crysis shares its genre with, but with the amount of detail and visual trickery on screen (even when the action isn't picking up) the frame rate only really reaches about 24fps. Far too slow, and unresponsive for my liking. Other things tarnish Crysis's graphical fidelity too; textures look bland up close, enemies appear in front of you out of thin air, and the game seems to leave artefacts behind things on screen. This appears as a strange wispy trail after everything and I personally found it infuriating.

The game also starts badly. Fighting Cell soldiers for the first couple of levels is tedious and repetitive. The A.I stands still and shoots and are way too good at detecting you from miles away, when behind them and 40 stories up... That is when they're not transfixed on walking into a wall or spinning with gay abandon on the spot. However the game's designers built a way to circumvent these roaming unpredictable headaches. Using the suit's cloaking function to avoid the drab combat you can simply run through the equally drab environments to the end of the level. Things do pick up when you meet the Aliens, they are fast mobile and on the whole fun to fight when they too aren't transfixed on walking into a wall, or spinning with gay abandon. They are also more varied than they're human counterparts. There are the archetypal heavy, medium and light enemies and ones that turn invisible and everything.

Yes, you did read that right; there are Aliens in the game. The fact that they bear no resemblance to the ones from the first game is frankly bizarre and this just sets the tone for things to follow such as the plot that has so many plot holes and inconsistencies that I had no idea what was going on, why the Aliens were invading or even who the main characters were in the game. All I can remember is you spend a surprising amount of time familiarising yourself with the river Hudson for no apparent reason.

Crysis 2 isn't all bad. The music is the best I think I have ever heard in a game and the suit is infinitely more controllable than in the first game.

Crysis 2 was obviously designed with the intention of being the best FPS on the market and, when it all comes together Crysis 2 shines brighter than almost any star out there. All too often though it lets itself down by trying too hard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crysis 2 - A surprisingly brilliant game, 6 Jun 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crysis 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
Maybe its the awesome suit you wear, but Crysis 2 turned out to be one of the best games I have ever played on Playstation 3 with it being among the greats such as Uncharted 2, Arkham Asylum and Bioshock. This surprising success is due to several reasons, all of which are in its favour. In this review I intend to focus on the singleplayer not the multiplayer for two reasons, one i haven't the multiplayer and two because the singleplayer shines as a star among games.

Lets start from the bottom, the plot is brilliant. It starts with you as a normal marine and carries you through the game with you as the protagonist wearing a suit which makes him near invincible and continues to carry you through fighting massive aliens through to fighting 50 elite soldiers and ends on a somewhat happy ending which in all honesty is lost in most games. The main plot starts of with it being a fight for survival but progresses to you becoming humanities only hope at survival. Crysis 2 can be argued to be a stereotypical alien game where you fight for survival and then change in to some awesome fighting machine which is true because this does happen however the clever homage not to common alien games but to Resistance pays off with Crytek gaining inspiration from the aclaimed alien first person shooter. To summarise on the plot, it is clever and brilliant with the plot focusing more on politics than the actual aliens.

The graphics is next on my list. These are superb. That is all to say the graphics show realism and depth within your environment with the rubble of Manhattan as your backdrop and an alien swarm not but 5 metres away from you. The graphics keep the gamer entertained through the hours of gameplay, o certain occassions you will stop for a moment, look around the in game world and think damn this is good. Apart from the superb backdrop, the brilliance of the graphics is shown in the protagonist itself. The suit is were the graphics are shown the best with the focus on detail being perfect and the smooth transition from the two modes, stealth and armour being a highlight of the graphical perfection.

Moving on, the gameplay itself numbers at around 10-14 hours of action packed joy. It is smooth, it is slick, it works in a way which makes the plot even better. Certain moment require the gamer to use one of the two modes, stealth which makes the player near invisible and strength which makes the player near invincible. This mixed with the clever action scenarios make the gameplay worth while. The drastic change however is fighting elite soldiers at one point and then aliens at the next with the closing hours of the game becoming more and more desperate. This gameplay is added upon by the protagonist who remains silent throughout the game saying only 4 words throughout the entire game.

My concluding comment would be this is a perfect game for the singlepayer, I wish I could be more helpful for the multiplayer but I can't. The graphics, plot and gameplay all work in unison to produce one of the most surprisngly brilliant games in the gaming industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crysis 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
Having played Halo I didn't expect a lot from this but my son had heard Crysis 3 was amazing. Rather than shell out for the newer version I bought this as it was a lot cheaper and have been very impressed with it so far. Yet to finish it, but so far its an excellent story and really good gameplay and the graphics are much better than expected. If Crysis 3 is any better then it must be really epic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good game, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crysis 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
really good game the graphics and game play are second to none the only thing that it lacked is the story was less than inviting but that didn't stop me from playing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars crysis 2, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crysis 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
thank you for the game and I enjoyed the game and I will keep playing the game and I will order some more games off you when I need some more games thank you again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crysis 2 (PS3)
Crysis 2 (PS3) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)
11.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews