Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected treat before 'Tha Carter IV'!!!
I am totally aware of how many bad reviews there are for this album, but for what its worth i totally disagree with them all!!! There is a bit of something for everyone on this record, if you give it a chance!!

You will probably be aware that its a temporary change in direction for the great man (Before the release of 'Tha Carter IV') towards pop/rock crossed...
Published on 17 Feb 2010 by Mr. R. K. Hoy

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars All Groan Up
"Rebirth" (?) It's only a couple of years since
'Tha Carter III' took its place in the listening world.
It was a powerfully persuasive piece of work.

The title of this new release implies a death
and a resurrection. From my own perspective
(listening to the album, for the second time as I write)
it would have been better for the...
Published on 1 Feb 2010 by The Wolf


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected treat before 'Tha Carter IV'!!!, 17 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. R. K. Hoy (Bournemouth, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rebirth (Audio CD)
I am totally aware of how many bad reviews there are for this album, but for what its worth i totally disagree with them all!!! There is a bit of something for everyone on this record, if you give it a chance!!

You will probably be aware that its a temporary change in direction for the great man (Before the release of 'Tha Carter IV') towards pop/rock crossed with hip hop, and, in my opinion, there are some very impressive songs on here!!!

Admittedly, it has a few low points. The opening track is poor and gets the whole thing of to a bad start, but not to worry, tracks 3-10 are all strong tracks and I'd even go as far as saying that 'Da Da Da', 'Paradice','On fire' and 'Drop the world' are as good as anything he has done before!!!

The other problem with this album is that the last few songs (particularly 'The price is wrong') are as weak as the opener, not to say that they are totally unlistenable, just not what we have come to expect from Mr Carter!!! Generally speaking, albums that start and finish poorly are up against it when it comes to the critics, and I believe that is the main reason that this album has been torn to pieces!!

I think lil Wayne needs to be commended for having the balls to give this style a go, as he releases shed loads of Hip Hop tracks over the year on mixtapes etc, so its good to hear something totally different. Everyone who slags this album off should remember this, as this album is really intended just as a treat for fans before 'Tha Carter IV'!!

To wrap it all up, if you are a fan of Lil wayne or in particular, any of the material on 'Tha Carter III', then ignore the negative reviews and invest in this record as you are definately missing out if you don't, the good definately outweighs the bad!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars All Groan Up, 1 Feb 2010
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rebirth (Audio CD)
"Rebirth" (?) It's only a couple of years since
'Tha Carter III' took its place in the listening world.
It was a powerfully persuasive piece of work.

The title of this new release implies a death
and a resurrection. From my own perspective
(listening to the album, for the second time as I write)
it would have been better for the world
had it not reached the light of day at all.

This is truly horrible stuff. Forced, vulgar, repetetive
and totally unconvincing. What was he thinking?!!

If the unimaginative bathos of the arrangements don't
cudgel you into submission within ten minutes then the
persistent overuse of electronic vocal treatments will.

If Mr Carter really believes that he will earn his
place in the hallowed halls of rock with this execrable
collection then he is sadly mistaken!

Ghastly lowlights include the thoroughly nasty 'Prom Queen';
the short-trousered, nose-picking, "look I can swear" attempt
at humour entitled 'Get A Life' and 'The Price Is Wrong',
complete with deeply disturbing Micky Mouse vocals.

That the estimable Mr Mathers makes a guest
appearance on 'Drop The World' beggars belief.
I can only imagine that he was well paid.
A brief ray of sunshine in the darkess
but it's far too little and far too late.

Beyond belief. At Your Own Risk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Wake the Baby, 12 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rebirth (Audio CD)
Ok so I don't know nothing about rock music full stop, so I'm not gonna sit here and compare this record with some rock legends masterpiece 'cus I'm guessing they don't quit fall from the same olive branch. I am, however, gonna judge this all on it's own, away from any other (rap/hip hop) material Lil' Wayne has put out hitherto. Now (in the famous words of Eminem), ...let me be brief and just keep s****simple...almost perfect:

1. American Star ****
2. Prom Queen ****
3. Ground Zero ***
4. Da Da Da ***
5. Paradice ******
6. Get A Life **
7. On Fire *****
8. Drop The World ****
9. Runnin ***
10. One Way Trip *
11. Knockout ****
12. The Price Is Wrong *
13 I'll Die For You ****
14. I'm So Over You **
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rigorigo YoungGond mula, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rebirth (Audio CD)
YMCMB FOR LIFE nannnannannanannananannanadd jssdsd jdsjds ijasia asijasjanja aijaisn aijsaisja asjajsa asjnasj asja asjajs asjai asjiajs asasja ajajs asjakj jas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected !, 18 April 2013
By 
M. Ede ""The Ego"" (Yateley , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rebirth (Audio CD)
People/fans slate this album because of the excessive autotune used.....I have a message for those people "IT'S MEANT TO BE OVER AUTO TUNED !!!!"............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 11 Oct 2012
By 
Ashley S. Newcombe (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rebirth (Audio CD)
Lil Wayne's rebirth album goes deep with lyrics, for examplthe tracks paradice, runnin' and drop the world all have a alot of meaning to them as do the other tracks, but those 3 tracks stick out for me from the album but knockout, prom queen, get a life, i'm so over you etc are also amazing tracks! if your a Lil Wayne fan you'll love this album! If your a hip hop fan then you may not as this is Lil Waynes version of a rock album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bombastic, triumphant and glorious, 31 Aug 2012
This review is from: Rebirth (Audio CD)
This album has been almost universally slated by music journalists who get annoyed when they can't quite pigeonhole an artist's work and therefore regard releases not conforming to (their) type as an unwelcome aberration, a deviation from good taste and correct thinking. Personally I think the album is brilliant. I loved it on first listen and it gets better with every proverbial spin. American Star's leitmotif "Born and raised in the USA" is a fantastic tongue in cheek homage to Springsteen that ranks alongside any of the best pop-metal tracks of the last 25 years. Prom Queen is hilarious and catchy and Drop the World is an infectious, broody beast worth paying close attention to. I'm very glad Lil Wayne gave us this ironic commentary on the generally white-dominated world of macho rock. Yes a lot of it is cheesy and bombastic but I'm not sure if that's even allowed as a criticism of rock music anymore. Often when bands/artists buck the trend of their releases the work is met with horror by their hardcore fans who think they know the artist better than they know themselves. Just as Prince went through numerous musical transformations (often producing some of his best music along the way) and grew as an artist this album is Lil Wayne showing his musical depth and taking a chance. In my book that's better than playing it safe and releasing tried and tested formulaic albums to appease the hardcore faithful. This album marked LW's musical development and in the scope of its ambition we can see the foundations for the spiteful I am Not a Human Being and the Carter IV. Listen with your own ears and an open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars weezy never a let down, 7 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is very creative from weazy but i really think you have to hear his other work in order to realise how astonishing this is. weezy has made this album fun but at the same time the music and lyrics are very unique but very catchy. buy this album, you won't be disapointed but listen to some of his other music first, trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, 29 May 2011
This review is from: Rebirth (Audio CD)
This is the first Lil Wayne album I've ever bought, so I can't compare it to his other work. But as a standalone album, I love it. It's primarily rap, but there's also some rock elements to a lot of the songs which create a really nice, heavy sound. There's a lot of collaborations including songs with Eminem and Nicki Minaj. Both are excellent songs, but the one with Eminem ('Drop the World') does slightly show Lil Wayne up as not being quite as good as Eminem. However, this is only slight and the song is still great. All of the songs on the album are good, without any that just feel like filler, and they prove very catchy. The only real complaint is that this album doesn't contain as much grit as I usually like from my rappers, with a slightly mainstream pop feel to it. But overall, I still love the album and have already recommended it to lots of my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rebirth, 3 Feb 2010
This review is from: Rebirth (Audio CD)
I have to disagree with people saying this is a bad album!! There are a couple of weak songs but overall this is a great rock/rap album.

Anyone doubting whether to get this should listen to Ground Zero or Drop the World, both of these are amazing songs that really stir up emotions. I would also give Paradice and Die For You a listen for those who are after a softer side to this rock album.

One of the best albums of the year, and very different to a lot of music about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rebirth
Rebirth by Lil Wayne (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews