Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CéU does it again, 7 Sep 2009
By 
Molzer (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vagarosa (Audio CD)
Following on from her superb debut, CéU has done it again and produced a fantastic musical journey. The sensuous textured voice, the thumping baselines, the groovy rythms, the teasingly easygoing restraint. This is a must buy, may not have quite the immediacy of her self-titled debut but give it a few spins and it's utterly compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More sofa than party time but great new Brasilian fusion!, 2 Aug 2009
This review is from: Vagarosa (Audio CD)
Ceu is one of the new wave of Brasilian female vocal talents and two years after her 2007 debut comes another collection of well-crafted, lazy, occasionally edgy, soulful grooves. The album title actually translates as `slow, easygoing and leisurely' so you get the idea, it's more sofa than party time.

The album kicks off in mellow acoustic style with Ceu extolling the joy of the invisible chemistry of love accompanied only by the distinctive Brasilian sound of the cavaquinho before the mood darkens slightly with `Cangote', her sweet vocals sitting on a jazzy dub reggae rhythm as turntable scratches, melodica and organ snippets swirl around the song's extremities to great effect giving us our first hint of Ceu's adventurous musicality.

Ceu isn't just another love obsessed singer songwriter though. The swinging reggae lilt of `Comadi' is a perfect frame as Ceu laments how much women have to struggle for their position in life, unfortunately still an everyday battle in Brasil's largely machismo society.

`Nascente' is another great example of acoustic instruments and electronic witchcraft combining in perfect harmony as Ceu decides to get all sultry and mysterious whilst some great jazz trumpet stabs away in the background.

Some of the albums most pleasing moments come though when the plug is pulled and Ceu's soulful voice sits on top of some plain old simple instruments as with `Grains de Beaute' and `Vira Lata', both tracks concerning affairs of the heart.

If fact the album is a great blend of the classic sweet Brasilian vocals and traditional instruments we know and love coupled with some pleasing fusions and experimental touches that give the album extra depth and interest.

From start to finish the album sucks you in and takes you through the musical world and many influences of an artist currently on top of her game backed by a wonderful cast of top Brasilian musicians and producers including Curumin, Pupillo and Dengue.

Global SoulJah
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music For A Hot Summer Night, 6 Jan 2010
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Vagarosa (Audio CD)
Classy. In every little itsy-bitsy way classy!
CeU (aka Maria do Ceu Whitaker) has helped realise
something rather special with her new album 'Vagarosa'.

This fine Brazilian singer/songwriter has surrounded
herself with a crack team of talented musicians to
create music of lithe, limber and luminous beauty.

The general ambience is laid-back, lyrical and jazzy.
A rich melting-pot of Latin, Hip-Hop and R&B rhythms.
Gently seductive and consumately (at times hauntingly)
performed. Music from and for a hot summer night.

CeU's magical vocal performance and Guizado's blistering
trumper solo on 'Nascente' will give you an immediate and
uplifting example of what this exciting artist is capable.

The spare arrangement of 'Grains De Beaute' is steered
along slowly but surely by Beto Villares laconic bass-line.
The captivating melody takes its time to warm your heart
but once it's in there it's even harder to let it go.

Much of this splendid music creeps up on you quietly until
you find yourself wrapped up inside its warm sonic blanket.

The vocal collaboration with Luiz Melodia on 'Vira Lata'
is enchanting. Sidnei Borgani's trombone playing at the
heart of Mr Villares' horn arrangement deserves a special
mention all its own.

Singing in English on 'Papa' CeU is clearly having a nice
time and sounds curiously a little like Bjork in the process.

Lucio Maia's reverb-heavy guitar and Bacteria's subtle
'Lost In Space' keyboards on 'Rosa Menina Rosa' frame
the album's most complex and imaginative composition.
The vocal performance is surrealy sublime.

Final track 'Espaconave' delivers an upbeat, quasi-psychedelic,
ending to a hugely satisfying musical experience.
Even the birds cannot help but sing along in unison!

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Laid-back, jazzy, funky, African influences, modernistic... new Brazilian grooves at their best, 23 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vagarosa (Audio CD)
Bought this CD back in 2010 after loving her self-titled first album which I bought in 2008 after seeing Céu on TV in Brazil that year (including her performing Sonâmbulo, which is on Vagarosa). If you already know the first album then you'll almost certainly like this one too, as it is much in the same vein although probably slightly more modernistic, jazzy and upbeat than the 2008 album. Actually, at first I preferred the previous album as it is a little more laid back than Vagarosa, but it soon grew on me.

Well, here I am in 2013 still listening to this (and the previous album) as the music stands the test of time and is so enjoyable. I said it in my review of her earlier album, and I'll say it again: Take Afro music (Afro-Brazilian percussion, as well as the style of music), electro-pop, Brazilian folk, jazz-funk, samba and MPB, and you get this CD. As I mentioned above, on some of the tracks on Vagarosa there is even more of a jazzy feel than on the previous album, which is all for the good. The Portuguese word 'vagarosa' can be translated as 'slow' or 'easy-going', and that's a good description of the feel of the album. Spin this up on a summer day, mix yourself a caipirinha and relax to this. That's if the infectious rhythms don't have you nodding you head, tapping your foot and humming along too much.

There are very few CDs that my kids borrow from me; Céu's CDs are amongst them. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another good Ceu cd, 27 Dec 2012
By 
G. Roberts - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vagarosa (Audio CD)
I find Ceu music just a little bit different and it reminds me of holidays we have had in the sun.
A bit funky and this cd has a wider range of music trakcs. good listening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Liquid silk!, 7 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vagarosa (Audio CD)
Ceu has the smoothest voice. This is a really classy album..a perfect accompaniment to an intimate dinner -if you can stay seated rather than swaying your hips to those sexy Brazilian beats!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW !, 11 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vagarosa (Audio CD)
Wow, her last album was good but Vagarosa is a musical masterpiece!
This would be my desert island disc.

That is all that needs to be said, apart from buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ceu Ups the Ante, 10 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vagarosa (Audio CD)
I bought her first CD that is good but this is in a different league. Its absolutely stunning do not hesitate BUY!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album, 29 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vagarosa (Audio CD)
Ceu's eponymous debut album was one of my favourite albums when I first got it. With her chilled out rhythms and laid back beats, it was instantly likeable. Vagarosa has surpassed it. By being more experimental with her music she has taken the best bits of dub and trip-hop and fused them with latin sass.

This album is not just for fans of the above genres, as it is very accessible. From first listen, you know this is a very cool lady making very cool music. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab8ac954)

This product

Vagarosa
Vagarosa by CéU (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews