Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!
At last, a Flight simulator for the xbox 360. A real one. Until now, all the flight sim games for the 360 were pretty dull. Point your aircraft in the general direction of an enemy, wait for the beep and lob missiles at it till it goes bang, with no option for letting the player do the landing or taking off.
However, IL2 Sturmovik is definately at the top of its...
Published on 7 Sept. 2009 by Desudro

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars IL-2 Sturmovik xbox 360
Yeah well this game is OK,just about, closest to a flight sim on xbox 360. Graphics and aircraft models look good. However, gameplay can become repetitive. Forever doing ground attack missions on the Russian campaigns so most times you just fly over target and drop a bomb or rocket. Not a lot of story behind the missions or interaction in any other way like aircraft load...
Published on 13 Feb. 2011 by Daz


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!, 7 Sept. 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: IL-2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
At last, a Flight simulator for the xbox 360. A real one. Until now, all the flight sim games for the 360 were pretty dull. Point your aircraft in the general direction of an enemy, wait for the beep and lob missiles at it till it goes bang, with no option for letting the player do the landing or taking off.
However, IL2 Sturmovik is definately at the top of its class. Realistic damage (i cannot stress the fun you feel the first time you shoot the wing or tail off an enemy...) Incredible scenery, it looks almost real at a few hundred/thousand feet, and still pretty good at ground level.
The game plays well too with pretty in depth tutorial section to let players get to grips with the abilities of an aircraft.
There are 3 difficulty settings, Arcade, Realistic, and Simulator. Arcade gives you easier handling, and makes it easier to see the enemy your locked on to. Realistic is a bit trickier, as if your too rough with the controls, you will stall, and go in to a spin, which is easy enough to correct after a little practice. Simulator is harder still, allowing you only cockpit viewpoint with no real HUD to speak of.

All in all, this game is a lot of fun, and made with incredible attention to detail. Each area you play, the scenery was generated from maps of that period. Simulator mode even has the Spitfire banking to the left constantly (as would happen from the engine torque)

If you like proper flight sims, you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't shoot-down the messenger-Demo on Xbox Marketplace. Wed 29th July., 29 July 2009
By 
J. Cooper "my heart bleeds Tel!" (UK/Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: IL-2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
2 games in one really- Arcade is a forgiving dogfighting game with a vastly better feel than Blazing Angels and Heroes over whatever...the graphics are jaw dropping, both planes and scenery and the SCALE is huge! In the Demo Blast your spitfire through a flight of 100 or so heinkels with messerschmitt 109 escorts then really muller-up some Stukas...planes are damaged according to bullet/shell impact (engine, pilot, wings come off , tails fly etc)..the physics are fairly real yet forgiving.
Alternatively crank the difficulty up to Sim and you have the FIRST proper flight sim on a current gen console- spitfires even pull to the right with the torque of the props- you'll need to to take the stick/pad sensitivity down to avoid stalling etc. This ramps up the difficulty but also the reward. There is realistic in between which has the pilot aids from arcade but with more sim physics..

The first simish flight game on a console- the first decent ww2 aerial combat on a console...xbl is going to be incredible...

come on and down Fritz all over Dover

Download and play the demo before you moan at me...

(Will delete this before release)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IL2 Sturmovik review, 18 Feb. 2011
By 
Tom (Bridlington, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: IL-2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
After reading some of the other reviews describing the difficulty of the game I had my doubts about buying it, as I have never owned a proper flight sim game before. However, my worries were washed away when I started playing. The game starts with a series of compulsory tutorials which get you used to flying and fighting, after which you can continue with the optional tutorials which take you into the game in much more detail, or you can unleash yourself on the skies of the Battle of Britain where the first chapter is set.

The game is at first locked on Arcade setting, the easiest one there is, where you can switch between views and the plane will stay in the air no matter how many flying errors you make, unless of course you are a complete dick and point the plane straight into the ground. The in-cockpit view is my favourite for dogfights but for bombing I use the outside view. To quell any remaining worries I had about difficulty all I had to do was complete the first chapter, look back and realise I hadn't been shot down once.

I have got further in the game but I haven't yet completed it so I've no idea what the other difficulties are like, but to be honest I don't really care as I am having plenty of fun soaring among the beautiful graphics, shooting down Germans. All in all, this is a very good game and I encourage everyone, even if you don't buy it, to at least download it from Xbox Live and give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 11 Feb. 2010
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: IL-2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is pretty good, the damage detail on the planes and the realism of the cockpit view are all very nice, the sound affects and scale of the land as you fly low are also realisitc (not like tom clancys hawx which is terrible). It would've been better if the game wasn't so fixated on the planes and maybe added other sources such as humans in gun battles as this would give it a more credible feel (not just an existence of war planes and boats) Most missions consist of dodfights against one group of planes/bombers after another and the alternative of landing, sometimes taking control of a bomber. I haven't played it with a joystick, it'd probably heighten the fun of the game although the control pad is ok. To be honest other than the cockpit view and nice damage to plains..the game isn't much different to blazing angels. So if there was humans fighting on the ground aswell as small touches like shooting down enemies on parachutes or literally destroying the houses you can fly into, it'd be set far apart, being able to try and fly with a broken wing is no longer possible, your pilot getting headrush and blackouts as you spin towards the earth, the camera actually locked onto your bailed pilot as he lands on the ground and runs for cover, all these things that were in the IL Sturmovik 1 that i played on the PC aren't here, it's sad.

Anyhow..it is certainly worth getting, for the really nice sound effects as planes and battle ships bullets tear through your wings and bombs or planes hit the ground, + 50 missions and alot of planes to fly in give it abit of longevity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birds of Prey., 6 Sept. 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: IL-2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I bought this game expecting it to either be a hardcore simulator, or an enjoyable arcade style flying game. Now, I can't comment on the simulator side of things, because to be honest, i've never been that good at them. However, bearing that in mind, this game is astonishingly fun for people like me who enjoy the arcade side of things, but not too watered down.

The single player campaign is brilliantly executed, really providing a nice overwiew of WWII, with loads of historical facts to get you thinking. You get to play in all the big air battles, starting with the battle of britain, where you get to fly over the likes of kent and dover. The graphics are really quite beautiful, the maps are based on real maps from WWII. Soaring over the white cliffs of dover is a very enjoyable experience. However, the one downside i've noticed is that it is quite easy to destroy enemy planes, and there is some slowdown in the heavy situations, but these do not detract from the experience at all.

However, this games saving grace is the online mode. To sum it up, it's brilliant. The multiple camera views you can choose from make every battle a visceral experience, and enemy planes take a bit of battering to actually destroy, making one v ones last for a long and intense amount of time. It's 3D fighting and the controls work very nicely. The targeting system is interesting, based on a reticule that appears ahead of the enemy, in order for your shots to hit at the right time from the right distance. Definitely buy this game if you're interested a good WWII flying game, and have experienced the likes of flying in Battlefield 1943, which this experience is a million times better than.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top-Rate Flight Sim Worthy of MS!!!, 11 Sept. 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: IL-2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I was an addict of MS Combat Flight Sim and got sick and tired of having to put out for new graphics cards for my relatively new PC a couple of years back, so I bought a XBox 360, and carried on playing the "oldies but goodies" in the hope that a good sim would arrive on the next gen consoles. I'm so happy that it finally has.

IL-2 Sturmovik "Birds of Prey" is a top rate flight sim that you would expect to play on a top of the line PC. The graphics are all there - countryside, clouds, lighting, buildings, damage to your/the enemy aircraft, infact the whole picture is very well put together.

The physics engine (as another reviewer stated) is highly realistic, making arcade mode great fun flying around shooting seven bells out of 'Jerry' for the novice. Simulator and Realistic modes are much more challenging and the flight is much much more detailed, and combat bloomin hard. Even the amount of damage you will take, or the ease with which you can avoid the enemy, changes drasticaly! Take a round or three to your engine and you'll suddenly notice that your top speed has dropped and that bomber you should be able to buzz past (and would with ease in arcade mode) means that you are now only able to limp around the field of battle, and if you take too much damage you may find your engine dies leaving you gliding down to your death LOL

The only real disappointment for me has been the lack of a large online community considering the sales. There is a multiplayer mode (although you can't play your mates in say a 1-on-1 mode offline), but actually finding games is like finding a diamond in your toddlers sand pit!

The game IS much enhanced by using a joystick too (for fans of flight sims anyway), and only adds to that realism factor - especially if you have your surround sound on & up <weg> (and their "music" muted).

I just hope that this isn't the end of what promises to be a very lucrative genre for the next gen consoles - especially if they are of this high a quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Immersive, beautiful and enormous fun, BUT ...., 26 Sept. 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: IL-2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Firstly, I should say that I recommend this game without reservation to anyone with an interest in WW2 combat aviation. It has given me enormous pleasure in playing it, for its immersive atmosphere, wonderful music and attention to detail. Most important of all, however is the playability. I was a little sceptical at first when playing the demo with its arcade feel and modern-style HUD. If you like arcade flying games then I am sure that this will appeal. However, you might as well buy Blazing Angels or HAWK if that's your style. No, the real fun to be had with this game comes from the Realistic and ultra-realistic Simulator modes (the latter of which will see you struggling just to keep your plane in the air!). In this incarnation the game truly comes alive. Playing from the cockpit view there are few gaming pleasures to beat honing in upon an enemy and trying to stay on his six without stalling as bursts of machine gun or cannon fire arc in front of him and then rake across his fuselage, splattering your canopy with oil droplets - you may even find yourself shouting 'got him', or something impulsively ruder. Anyone who has seen gun-camera footage from WW2 will know what I mean.

Having said that I do have two minor gripes and one major piece of advice. Firstly, the gripes. It is a shame that the developers did not model cockpits for the Axis fighters. Although it is nice to be able to fly a BF109 or FW190, it would have been even better to have had the full experience of flying these amazing aeroplanes. Also, the campaigns are somewhat uneven. Some, like the Battle of Britain and Invasion of Sicily, have a nice range of missions while others, particularly the Russian ones (which is ironic given the game's origins) feel a little short and leave you wanting more. As I say though, these are minor complaints. My major recommendation, however, is that if you want to enjoy this game to the full then INVEST IN A JOYSTICK. It is possible to play using the standard joypad but I decided to buy the Saitek AV8R stick for Xbox and it transformed the experience beyond all recognition. This is especially true for the freedom of movement and perspective it gives you. WW2 aerial combat was all about keeping your eyes open and your 'head on a swivel'. Seeing the enemy first was almost half the battle. With the joypad you have to click down on the right stick to look around - very awkward. With the AV8R, however, you have an independent and handily-located POV stick separate from the throttle and rudder controls - much, much, much better. I only wish that I could re-map some of the controls, but I guess that's the price you pay for being a console owner, rather than a PC gamer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great game, but very bad developer support!, 6 Aug. 2010
By 
J. Gloster (at my keyboard typing!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: IL-2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a great world war 2 plane simulation for the console with amazing physics and outstanding graphics! id advise buying the joystick recommended as you really do need it to get the best out of the planes/physics imo,
The only sad and disappointing thing about this game is that it seems that there are no german cockpits and never will be for the xbox 360 version, a patch was promised but never released as the company moved on to another game for the p.c,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best flying sim on the XBox 360, 28 Dec. 2009
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: IL-2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
There aren't many flying games for the 360, and the ones that do exist are often a bit over-the-top or arcade-style (Ace Combat anyone?).

This one however is rather good. The different difficulty modes can be a god-send once you get frustrated with stalling your aircraft all the time and being unable to bring it out of a stall, resulting in your aircraft exploding a big ball of fire in the fields of Kent. However this can just result in you playing through the game in 'easy arcade mode', which to be honest, is just too easy. Enemy planes seem a bit 'passive' to be honest I only found myself being shot at a handful of times despite taking on dozens of enemy aircraft at a time.

I ended up putting this game down and playing something a bit more gripping, but I'm pretty confident I'll be going back to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good game, 22 Dec. 2010
By 
J. Burdock (OX UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: IL-2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'd wanted this game for some time, but didn't get round to getting a copy until a few weeks ago when I picked one up pre-owned and in pretty good condition.

There is more good than bad to say about this game, and it seems that most people agree. Here is my review.

The flight model/dynamics and damage are very satisfying in Birds of Prey. There are several difficulty settings, but to get the most out of this game I would recommend realistic which has to be unlocked in the tutorial section. In this difficulty mode you can better appreciate your planes limits, if you're overly aggressive with the controls you'll stall, which often results in a spin. Recover quickly or bail out before you smash into the ground in a fiery explosion - low level flying, such as strafing, can be particularly dangerous as there's little room for error. Lose control here and you'll have a few seconds to recover, with no option to bail out. Note: although you can select the "bail out" option from the pause menu at any altitude, the pilot stays inside if you're flying too low. In general, the key is to keep your input smooth and think of the air more as a liquid, flowing over the wings.

The story missions are fun but there aren't enough of them. In the campaign you play as a handful of pilots in different theatres which are quite varied. There are also some single missions, which add some life to the game especially if you're stuck offline like me.

The hanger is a good place to read about the aircraft in the game (once you unlock them) and the encyclopedia can be useful if you want to learn about manoeuvres and tactics. The training mode is a bit limited, but it's a good way to get practice or try out different aircraft. I don't understand why there's no option for ground targets though.

There are no serious problems I've found with this game. Rarely the frame rate will drop. Most of the time this isn't a problem even in the bigger dogfights. It's a bit sad there are no Nazi missions in single player. I can't comment on the online play or on the Simulator difficulty.

Overall: a pretty good game. Graphics and sound are good, in general the game is very detailed and satisfying even with the normal controller. The single player doesn't take long to complete, but is fun while it lasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

IL-2 Sturmovik: Birds of Prey (Xbox 360)
£17.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews