Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sword slashing action fest! 9/10
Firstly , if you're looking for a Metal Gear Solid game, this isn't it. Platinum games do it again with their amazing brand of over the top action and 3rd person combat. Play as Raiden, the cyborg ninja, slice enemies and objects into 100's of pieces, a easy to learn, hard to master combat system, and one of the best end boss fights i've seen in a long time. This is NOT...
Published 21 months ago by Richard Mills

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars There's a reason it dropped to £9 brand new within 12 months of release. How much is Farcry 3 at the moment? Dark Souls?
Awful, horrible, terrible waste of my time. I completed it eventually just to spite myself, because it cost money. On Normal mode I got nine hours total gameplay, of which at least five hours were taken up by the tedious, unimaginative, unimaginably lazy excuses for boss battles. So sad because after the first boss Mistral, the only fun AND well balanced boss in the game,...
Published 2 months ago by 9uyesxf


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sword slashing action fest! 9/10, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Firstly , if you're looking for a Metal Gear Solid game, this isn't it. Platinum games do it again with their amazing brand of over the top action and 3rd person combat. Play as Raiden, the cyborg ninja, slice enemies and objects into 100's of pieces, a easy to learn, hard to master combat system, and one of the best end boss fights i've seen in a long time. This is NOT a stealth tactics game, this is a pure action thriller. Definitely worth buying if only for the fact you can slice anything into bits!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great action game from Platinum Games!, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Okay, firstly, there are probably going to be a lot of die hard traditional MGS fans looking or playing this game and thinking, "This isn't MGS, its nothing like MGS, its rubbish!"

And yes, if you compare the game play to the traditional direction of the MGS series, it is NOTHING like it.

BUT, and its a big but... putting aside any MGS preconceptions, this is a fantastic action game, and there can be no argument about that. True, its on the short side, but only in the same way as other platinum games, Vanquish & Bayonetta... i.e. you'll have great fun with it along the way.

Also, a few people are commenting that there is no skill involved in the game play, I have to say, I disagree with that. True, you could probably get through the bulk of the game by mindlessly 'bashing' buttons, but you'd miss all the subtle combat techniques that are in there, the countering, the kill moves, triggering the slow-mo and cutting the enemy to ribbons, quite literally! Fantastic stuff.

People who put a lot of time into traditional MGS titles don't hate this because it isn't MGS, they hate it because its not the same style of game. MGS is a more tactical 3rd person action adventure, this, this is full on action... and that's it, it makes no excuses, it never says that it is going to be anything other than that. So, maybe, more 'hard core' MGS fans shouldn't buy this game and maybe just stick to their preferred genre. But, if your a fan of Platinum, or great action games... you will not regret buying this game.

Also, I will say this... a game isn't a bad game because it doesn't last for 60+ hours. Some people don't have masses of free time available to them to dedicate to playing games anyway. Shorter games are just as valid, if a game is good, a game is good, it doesn't matter if it lasts 1 hour or 100 hours.... the main thing, is that it is enjoyable along the way. And personally, I think this is, very enjoyable.

Great stuff, keep up the good work Platinum games!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the fact it's not a MGS game, this game is its own little masterpiece, 16 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'm a massive fan of MGS and Kojima in general so I didn't hesitate to download the demo for the upcoming Metal Gear game 'Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance'.

At first I was very surprised by the game's lack of stealth elements (though there are some) and the focus on the Devil May Cry hack'n'slash genre though I really liked the change for a Metal Gear spin off series. However, my main concerns were in the demo's hard difficulty which at first put me off buying the game.

But I am so glad that after a while I decided to purchase the game and have an amazing time playing it! Not only do you quickly adapt to the difficulty when playing the game from its beginning to the end (not like the demo), you also become engrossed in the great Kojima storytelling, characters that aren't two dimensional, boss fights with tense over-the-top enemies that you would battle in games like Bayonetta and Dark Souls, great extra content for playability and of course Jetstream Sam - one of the coolest antagonists in any videogame.

If you're a fan of Metal Gear, a fan of hack'n'slash games, a fan of games with some difficulty to them or you just love hacking to pieces anything and everything that stands in your path then I strongly recommend this game but even if you're not a fan of those things this game still has great artwork at times, amazing dialogue and very interesting themes (such as ethics, war crimes, nihilism, identity and justice to name a few).

All in all it is definitely not the best Metal Gear game but it is still an outstanding game even with in comparison to other Metal Gear games included, it's unconventional, obscure and unexpected for it's series yet this game is its own little master piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars There's a reason it dropped to £9 brand new within 12 months of release. How much is Farcry 3 at the moment? Dark Souls?, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Awful, horrible, terrible waste of my time. I completed it eventually just to spite myself, because it cost money. On Normal mode I got nine hours total gameplay, of which at least five hours were taken up by the tedious, unimaginative, unimaginably lazy excuses for boss battles. So sad because after the first boss Mistral, the only fun AND well balanced boss in the game, I was really into it and looking forward to boss battles and levels that I thought could only get better. The action was fast paced and fun, the moves look insane and are reasonable simple to pull off, and the music was hilarious and just the right mood. And the payoff at the end of a boss battle, where you slice your foe into a million pieces, was an amazing feeling. You're basically playing as the cyborg ninja! I've been waiting since MGS1. Finally!!

Unfortunately, almost two thirds of a game's play length is taken up by set piece boss battles which cannot really be approached in any more than the one 'right way', and are dominated by quicktime events. They are hard only because of the bosses' supreme speed, and even on occasion their invincibility, for 90% of the battle. Unfair and broken.

At the point, when it's supposed to be at its most challenging, engaging and fun, the gameplay is boiled down to a game of 'hit-the-right-button-as-fast-as-possible', whether in QT events or in 'flowing' gameplay.

And there, the game has descended into glorified Guitar Hero, hasn't it? Some bosses simply cannot be significantly damaged outside of quicktime events. During standard segments of the level stealth is often encouraged, with the one repetitive stealth kill animation per enemy type, despite this completely going against the point of game: fast paced action.

Of course the story is a joke. You'd think it was written in collaboration with Capcom. Seriously, it has an air of Resident Evil 6 about, inside and all over it. The voice acting and script were painful, Raiden's little 'bad-man' turn halfway is a laughing stock (he sounds like he has a sore throat). I thought at first that it might be irony, or self-parody. How wrong I was. The final boss battle has about half an hour of cut scene and QT before you get into the actual fight, which is heinously tedious. Oh God, the music grates after the 15th time you've been unfairly murdered. I turned it off halfway through the game.

The lock-on function and camera view had mind's of their own; on one boss the lock-on is permanent and unchangeable, on others it's impossible to make it stick. They couldn't be bothered to make either of those functional. And the game is SO short! Without bosses this would take you very little time to complete. Lazy, lazy, lazy.

I don't think I've ever been more disappointed with a game. If you were a kid when MGS1 came out, you'd have dreamed of the day that Gray Fox, the Cyborg Ninja, gets a game of his own, and ALL the ingredients are there (although you have to buy the Cyborg Ninja costume, which I may have considered if the game wasn't so poor). And instead you feel like you're in shackles for the whole game. In every aspect, from the route through a level to the biggest and smallest fights, it's so linear that it's two dimensional. There's no more than one way to play it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful substitute for Ninja Gaiden, 14 Mar 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I am very new to the Metal Gear franchise and have this is the first Metal Gear game I have played. MAN WAS I IMPRESSED! I was a big fan of 'Ninja Gaiden 2' and thought nothing else could give me that style of play and I was seriously bummed when 'Ninja Gaiden 3' turned out to be a shocker. This game is fantastic and even better than 'Ninja Gaiden 2' in my opinion! Ninja Gaiden 2's main theme was the difficulty, there was even an achievement for dying a set number of times! Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is different as it can be difficult at times, mainly pertaining to the bosses. I feel MGRR is better as there is a lack of 'artificial difficulty', Ninja Gaidens bosses seemed like a dice roll, you had to get lucky to beat some of them, a lot of the tacks were unblockable, some bosses did lame grapple moves that were impossible to avoid or they flat out started juggling you in the air with a long combo. This meant that a lot of the time you could only win when the boss on the 67th try decided not to grapple you, or you managed to win cheaply by spamming an aerial dive while dodging attacks. In MGRR the bosses are hard and have their combos as hard attacks but you don't win through luck but skill, attacks are either blockable or dodgable and it really feels like a good fight when you go to and fro blocking each others attacks and parrying each other.

The graphics are fantastic, the gore is effective and I like it. The physics are unrivalled, I like the realism that comes with slashing things and them falling into pieces that exactly resemble the shape you cut into them, blade mode is very fun! The story is very cool and compelling and I actually liked watching the cut scenes for once. I thoroughly recommend this game if you liked Ninja Gaiden 2 purely due to the similarities, they are both fantastic but in my opinion this one is better, but the campaign does feel a bit short ( relatively so 7 hours or so). I reckon this is because I liked it so much I had to play it through in practically one sitting.

There is a great RPG element to the game as you can unlock new weapons and upgrades and suit upgrades, this is good as it give you an incentive to go back and redo some missions to earn more BP to buy upgrades with as at first you probably won't get very good combat scores. I strongly recommend this game to anyone who likes Ninja Gaiden and possibly God of War and Devil May Cry, generally any fan of hack and slash adventure games. I wouldn't buy it if you are a steadfast shooter fan as you don't really get to use guns, the whole game mostly focuses on swordplay, with practically all enemies and bosses using mostly melee attacks and utilising swords.

If you are new to the genre and want a good introduction this is the game for you! If you were hoping for split-screen or on-line multi-player I regret to inform you there is none. I advise anyone who is already interested in the game to go ahead and buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Platinum Games delivers again, 6 Mar 2013
By 
M. MCCARTNEY (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I was skeptical of this game ever since the trailer was shown at E3, but after completing it my doubts have diminished.
Konami was willing to take a risk with this game unlike many big publishers that too often release many of the same genre titles again and again each year, but never any original experiences. This fast paced title is a welcome change.

There are a lot of hidden tasks throughout the game such as finding the VR missions, men hiding in boxes, protecting the civilians and collecting limb data, harder than you think.
I could write about every little detail put into this game, but it needs to be experienced. Your gameplay reward experience will depend on how you play the game, it's got great replay value.
There are a lot of small throwbacks to the MGS series and a couple of characters, but nothing big, this game is perfect for players who aren't familiar with the franchise.

Pros:
Lightning fast action, never a dull moment.
Innovative mechanics.
Stunning visuals, attention to detail.
Don't need to be familiar with the MGS story.
Great replay value for a single player game.
Fantastic soundtrack!

Cons:
Stealth-wise, may be too unfamiliar for Metal Gear Solid fans.
Steep difficulty curve for other difficulties.
Story mode could have lasted longer (still great)
Cut-scene near the end is too perverted and out-of-place for a worldwide audience.

Buy this game if you want to try something new. If you're going to complain that this isn't a Metal Gear Solid game, or even give it a chance, then your setting yourself up for disappointment...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Bullet Proof Metal Gear Winner, Bring on the next., 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
First of all it was delivered very fast and packaged perfectly so the company is recommended 100% as it was a gift I ordered late so big thanks to them.
The game itself I must say is outstanding in every aspect of what you have come to expect from the Metal Gear series as graphically it is on par with Metal Gear Solid 4 and it tells a truly innovative and meaningful story about the main protagonist Raiden and his intrusive torturous past and how it haunts him in his modern day life. From this you can almost understand his actions to the terrorist cell in the game, you also some how get swept up in the emotions of wanting to save all the innocents I imagine this was meant, it did add way more depth to the story making game play much more exciting while motivating you to complete the game to be the hero.
The sound track added a lot to this game as it was really outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am lightning.. The rain transformed., 22 Feb 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Metal Gear Rising turned out to be everything I wanted and more. As a fan of the Metal Gear series I had my doubts as to whether anyone but Kojima Productions could really handle an entry in the series but after seeing the first beta gameplay videos.. let's just say I'm glad they handed it over to Platinum Games. They've done more than justice to the franchise, they've allowed people to play Raiden exactly as they wanted, exactly how they saw him fight in MGS4's cutscenes. An extremely agile cyborg ninja that is more than capable of fighting large groups of enemies (once you figure out the parry and dodge techniques) and he controls exquisitely, you feel like a super hero when playing.

The story is spot on, too. It's a good thing that they moved it from in between the second and fourth games to after the fourth because it's given them so much more creative freedom, not to mention how they can get away with all the visceral gore because everyone you kill is either a robot or an evil cyborg and not "really" human. The nuances are all there, the in-jokes, the subtleties, even the same patterns of story progression. If you're as much of a fan of Metal Gear as I am, you'll notice these within the first hour of gameplay.

So it's all there. It's Metal Gear, but taken in a new and refreshing direction. The stealth isn't all gone mind you, that's taken over by the brilliantly adorable Dwarf Gekko units. Kojima should be proud, Platinum Games have done fantastically well and I hope it sells enough to fund a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even the dumbest subtitle in gaming history can't stop Raiden, 22 Feb 2013
By 
J. Corden "LOL WUT" (Internet) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Revengeance is amazing.

As a long time fan of Metal Gear Solid, I met the announcement of Metal Gear Rising with excitement, followed by skepticism. The consequent lack of information for a year after announcement, rumours circulating about the projects abandonment, etc, did further to add to this skepticism.

Upon hearing Platinum Games had taken over development, I resigned myself to the idea that MGR would be a B-Movie spin off with Devil May Cry slasher-esque combat, I figured I'd just try to enjoy it for what it was, even if I couldn't consider it a true Metal Gear game.

I was wrong. Not only is this a true Metal Gear game, it carves, slices, and gouges out a vibrant new franchise, doing the series honour, thoroughly earning its title as Metal Gear.

The gameplay is stunning, animations are absolutely supreme, slicing enemies up in slow motion has never been this satisfying with to-the-pixel accuracy, choose where your sword lands in real time for precision cutting, with bonuses for removing the more valuable parts from your enemy cyborgs (owch!). Plenty of room to customise and upgrade Raiden by scoring points for efficient/stylish play. The combat is less button mashy than other similar games of the genre, and more reactive (think Arkham Asylum), with its excellent (although poorly explained) parry system.

The writing is actually surprisingly good as well, after playing the demo I had assumed that all the side characters were going to be goofy stereotypes written for Western audiences, but the Kojima nuance is present much to my happiness. Although not very much in the cutscenes, the characters develop really well through optional codec conversations, which I think were cut from the main game as to not affect the pacing overall (which by the way is blisteringly fast), but they're very Kojima, designed to flesh out the world, and provide explanations for the technology and political climate.

I HIGHLY recommend this game to ANY fan of Metal Gear, I am not a huge fan of slash-em-up type games, but this blew me away, the story, visuals, animations and writing are all top notch. I would only mark it down for length, which is unfortunately no more than 5 hours, and I was left hungering for more. Despite this, those 5 hours are completely without filler, and culminate in an intensely memorable experience, and I expect the rather difficult achievements will serve to extend its longevity for those with the interest to do so.

5/5 - Excellent game, hoping for a sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great spin off from the Metal Solid series that follows ..., 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Great spin off from the Metal Solid series that follows the path of Raiden, an ex child soldier who met Snake during Sons of Liberty, as he takes his revenge against the cyborgs who are starting a war against everything.
- Around 7 - 10 hours of solid game play.
- User friendly and easy to pick up even if your just picking up the Metal Gear series.
- A lot of unlockables which allows for multiple play-throughs.
- Well thought out story which really allows the player to connect to the character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (Xbox 360)
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews