Customer Reviews


374 Reviews
5 star:
 (240)
4 star:
 (68)
3 star:
 (38)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply one of the best games ever.
I've just replayed this again after exclusively playing a lot of COD and Battlefield.

I'm glad I did as I'd forgotten what an excellent game it is. It looks and sounds stunning, especially on my 51" plasma!

It's probably the most complete of all the Halo games with an engaging story and some excellent characters. The spartan team make a refreshing...
Published on 18 Mar 2012 by Scoob

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, only half the length
I'm not usually one for writing negative reviews unless there's a good reason and my reason for this negative review is sheer confusion as to why ign gave it 10/10 and there are so many people on here who've given it 5 stars. I know Amazon reviews aren't exactly the most reliable but ign are usually at least in the ball park!

So prior to this I've only played 1...
Published on 22 Oct 2012 by Poontango


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply one of the best games ever., 18 Mar 2012
By 
Scoob (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo: Reach (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've just replayed this again after exclusively playing a lot of COD and Battlefield.

I'm glad I did as I'd forgotten what an excellent game it is. It looks and sounds stunning, especially on my 51" plasma!

It's probably the most complete of all the Halo games with an engaging story and some excellent characters. The spartan team make a refreshing change from the usual solo master chief.

I don't understand the reviewers who complain that the campaign is too short, are they playing it on Legendary? For me there were a few checkpoints that took a few sittings to get past. I can't think of many campaigns that last so long, especially when you're used to the 8hr single players of COD and Battlefield.

If you want a longer campaign, go play Mass Effect. Or if, like me, you can't be bothered to watch hours of dull cut-scenes and have lots of tedious 'interactive' conversations interspersed with a few minutes of easy, unsatisfying combat, then play Halo: Reach. The action is constant and exhilarating. The Warthog is still the best vehicle in any game.

My only complaint is that after playing a lot of Battlefield, somehow the assault rifles feel and sound a bit soft. I've just started playing Halo Anniversary and for some reason the UNSC weapons seem more realistic and effective.

I also like the extra humour in the original game but hey, things have moved on.

So thanks to Reach for reminding me why Halo was always my favourite game.

And at £15 it's a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bungie have really outdone themselves on this one, 25 Aug 2011
By 
Mrs VB (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo: Reach (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
After becoming a Halo addict following Halo 2, I had great expectations for Reach & I can honestly say I was thoroughly impressed. The story is brilliant, the graphics are great & the gameplay does not become tedious no matter how many times you play the campaign whilst hunting achievements!

Live multiplayer makes for very fun gaming indeed, with a large range of online game modes including Slayer, Invasion, Firefight, Capture the Flag and my ultimate favourite, Zombies, where players are split into two teams - Spartans & Zombies, where the Zombies mission is to infect the Spartans. Reach also sees the return of Forge from Halo 3, where players can create their own maps & game modes to create their own unique gaming experience.

This is a great game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOOWWW!!, 9 Jan 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo: Reach (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
People might say, that at the age of nearly 40 I'm too old to play games on game-stations like the Xbox 360 or whatever... But games like Halo Reach are the reason why I will never stop playing!!! Unbeliveble!!!

Greetings from Germany!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME game!, 23 Aug 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo: Reach (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game was a great game in the halo franchise! It was a great idea to head to the fall of reach before the story of master chief and cortana. The campaign bought a smile to my face with its exiting, fun and even emotional moments. By the end I wan on the edge of my seat fully engaged in the story and game play. The graphics was a missive improvement from halo 3 and surprised me with a fantastic multiplier! The game also bought out a brand new game mode called Firefight, this game mode allowed you to be put in an area of your choice with weapons of your choice and made you survive waves of the covenant. This mode is great to play cooperatively. The game has amazingly taken halo 3's forge and made it better by adding more building materials and fun objects, it also released a map called forge world which is extremely fun for you can spawn anything and make an infinite amount of clever maps. Obviously this is great to play cooperatively against or with your friends! I give this game a 10/10 for its time and a must have for all halo fans!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bungie's swan song..., 10 Jan 2011
By 
book worm (nottinghamshire, england) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo: Reach (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
my brother bought this game with his birthday money and we have spent countless hours playing it, both on our own and together.

first off i would like to say that i have not played the online multiplayer of this game as i don't have xbox live.

campaign: the campaign is original and captivating. this game is effectively a prequel to the original halo game, halo: combat evolved. you play as part of noble team, a team of spartans sent to the planet reach to fight the covenent. it is paramount that you beat the covenent as reach is the last line of defence before earth.

in halo 3 you fought mainly brutes but halo reach brings the comeback of elites. they were allies for some portions of halo 3 but now they are your nemesis. equipped with armor abilities that make the battle that little bit harder, though you do have upgrades of your own scattered across reach, show the elites advantage from the start. there is a new armory allowing you to customise the appearance of your spartan and a whole host of different weaponry to try to get you by.

there is the obligatory 4 difficulties. easy - the enemies practically die for you. normal - smack in the middle, not too easy but not particularly challenging either. heroic - i have not been able to play the game on my own at any higher difficulty on my own, burn through enough ammo and with a modicum of patience you can succeed at this difficulty. legendary - what is different about halo reach to its predecessors is that if you play this co-op there are more enemies to defeat. the only advantage co-op gives you is the ability to spawn on your team-mate when you inevitably die.

firefight: firefight was an amazing addition in halo 3 odst and it has been included in reach as well. it sees you pit yourself against waves of oncoming covenent to see who can last the longest.

forge: forge allows you to create a map of your own. with ready made maps that you can tweak by adding or removing weapons, vehicles and a long list of other things. or the magnificent forgeworld which allows you to place entire bulidings and build a map from scratch.

graphics: as with halo 3 and halo 3 odst before it the graphics are stunning. open world vistas that really draw you into the landscape and bring the cutscenes to life.

audio: again, as with previous games, this has a brilliant soundtrack that immerse you in the action and in some ways place you on reach, dmr in hand and a elite sprinting towards you brandishing an energy sword.

well worthy of the five stars and the money my brother paid for it days after release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but could of been better, 30 Oct 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo: Reach (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I am a huge halo fan. The game itself is great just like all the rest and if you have played the trilogy and maybe odst then you will probably have this game. If you havent played any of the original halos then this game will suit the FPS player down to the ground.

Campaign - I found this great but it didnt flow very well between acts/chapters and that could of been improved.

Weapons - The overall weapons have vast improved, removing the battle rifle on Halo 3 and replacing it with a one shot DMR that is still as powerful and is now even better to handle. The aiming sight on the Assualt rifle is slightly more difficult to use than previous games but again this has just improved the game play

Firefight - Good news for people that loved this on ODST they have brought it back for this game with being able to join anybody over Xbox Live in matchmaking or just play with mates or on your own in custom games

This is a great game as they have gone back to original Halo games with no duel weilding rubbish and loads of extras. Definately worth a buy even if your like me and have been play COD for the past few months/years its still a laugh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Halo greatness - but not perfect, 26 Dec 2012
By 
SNS - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo: Reach (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
There isn't really a lot to say when reviewing a Halo game as in essence, they are all the same and play the same.

- Controls are spot on.
- Story is strong and well written (if not a bit confusing).
- The fights are tight, intense, challenging (even on normal) and epic.
- Large areas to fight in.
- Vehicles to use are always fun.

It was nice to play as a Spartan and not the Master Chief for once, to get a feeling for what the rest of the army have to endure. You don't feel as God-like because you actually have to use health packs.

However the game is not perfect.

One area which the Halo games still seem to fail on (IMO) is that re-occurring issue of ammo running out and there being no new guns to pick up to replace them. I found myself in several situations where my ammo had run out on both gun and I had literally no where to get a new weapon and would be up against a very powerful enemy.

One thing I noticed about Halo-Reach was the visual animation style and the CGI seemed to blur and move slowly and jitter at times. I assumed it was either an artistic choice or an animation fault - but it wasn't bad enough to ruin anything.

However, the one thing which did nearly ruin the game for me was the final fight!

The fight before you use the cannon seems to go on, and on, and on and on and on and on - add to that the consideration of how useless the in game soldiers can be sometimes (as they just die or would hang back and not help) and the situation of ammo running out - it made that fight tedious and frustrating.

Then we have that cannon sequence which appears to be flawed and can only be done by cheating.

You jump into the cannon and have to basically wait for the main-enemy-ship to get close enough to hit it. But until then you are expected to sit in that cannon while you are attacked by about 5 large enemy ships, a long with 10 smaller ones.

If you sit there, you simply cannot take the damage and die within seconds.

You have to cheat by jumping into the cannon, taking out one ship, then jumping out to heal, run around the base of the cannon, then jump back in and re-do. Then once the main ship is close enough - take the big shot!

It kills the mood of the game and the atmosphere of the situation as the entire thing makes NO sense a the cannon doesn't take damage but you do as you sit in it.

It a shame, because this is a great game and those final moments can ruin what has pulled you in - but it is still worth playing if only for the story as it adds a lot to the series ultimately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reach sets itself above most Halo Games, 25 Jan 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo: Reach (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've played all Halo FPS games and have enjoyed all but ODST in one way or another, but i kept saying that the Campaign mode on whichever title i had just purchased wouldnt match up to Halo Combat Evolved's (aka. Halo 1) and its Multiplayer would either be around the same level or better than Halo 2's.

Well for Reach i think that even though technically it is a prequal to Halo 1 as what happens on reach takes place months before Halo 1, this in fact Halo 4 in all but its name.

Campaign mode - Yes i still feel that it does not best Halo 1's campaign mode and i doubt they will be able to top it, but this games campaign mode is far more superior to Halo 2 / 3 / Odst, and it is written quite well to fit into the halo storyline.
I only had 1 complaint against hundreds of praises for Halo Reach's campaign mode, the complaint is that Brutes seem to be a somewhat pointless enemy now, even though they become the main and one of the most powerful enemies in the Future (past titles), as it only takes 2 shots to the head, which beleive me isnt dificult with a pistol / DMR (BR) / Needle Rifle which are all common weapons...
but otherwise Bungie have made all other races far supperior to previous titles and in doing so made them more interesting / entertaining to fight. Grunts (which are my fav enemies as they are so out of control) now seem to be more tactical and lethal with their massive differences in weapon use (from the Plasma Pistol all the way to Fuel Rod Cannons and Plasma Launchers) as well as suicidal with their grenade Martyring.
Jackals finnaly have purpose other than Sniping like in previous titles, behind their shields some like to hold Plasma Rifles and Needlers, and other excellently made use of the Needle Rifle or the new Covenant Sniper rifle... They also have a Cousin species called the Skirmishers which look relatively the same but are so fast and atheletic its interesting to try and catch the little things, and skirmishers are just as deadly as Jackals.
Drones are minimal in this title which is a shame for such hard to hit flying bugs, but when they do pop out of nowhere they prove to be quite formiddable.
Elites are far better and its great to see the REAL main enemy make a return as an enemy instead of an ally, theres nothing i like more on a halo game as to fight the elites and grunts.
Brutes as stated before seem quite useless unless they are armoured to the bone with shields on, which then again are still an easy kill.
Hunters dont seem to have changed much in anything but tactics, as now they try to cover any exposed part of them which is shot and are far more effective when wacking you flying for taunting their inability to hit you with their massive guns.
---Campaing mode i give an 8/10, not because it was lacking in fun or anything but becuase it still isnt as good as Halo1's---

Multiplayer has suprised me as it seems far more interesting than Halo 2 / 3 / ODST, its Firefight mode is awesome and the many modes offered are all great and appealing to any type of First Person Shooter / Halo fan. Its forge mode is even better than what previous titles offered and the forge mode level offers a gigantic canvas to build either and very big level or block certain areas off and make a smaller but equally brilliant level, the Bungie team use this forge level to create great levels from previous titles like Coagualation / Ascention and others (cant remember their names) but also a new level using a fairly large island in the centre of the forge level.

---Multiplayer Mode i give a 9/10, it maybe could be better and its map packs could be cheaper, but has proven itself above all previous Halo titles---

This is a great game for any FPS / Halo fan and is worth every penny you spend on the disk (just maybe not the map packs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halo: Reach is the best game I have ever played, 22 Jan 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo: Reach (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Halo: Reach is sheer epicness. It is certainly the best game in the Halo series by a mile. The story for Reach is brilliant, comprising of much sadness, such as when members of Noble team are killed, and also happiness such as in the ending cutscene, the content of which I shall not divulge. The forge tool has improved a lot since Halo 3, allowing much more accurate placing of objects and the phasing of these objects through the map geometry and other objects, more types of objects and vast maps with the new "Forge World" map, a map specifically designed for forging with vast open spaces, enclosed caverns and large islands. The multiplayer has improved a lot as well, with new gametypes, my personal favourite being head hunter, and with better options for creating your own gametypes. New and improved maps and map design really help the flow of the gameplay in multiplayer, custom games and single player (no more campers for you, unlike in Call of Duty). The wide variety of fantastic weapons and vehicles really held me enjoy the game a lot. In short, this is an absolutely fantastic game and I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halo Reach, 22 Nov 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo: Reach (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'm not normally the kind of person that writes reviews but after playing HALO Reach all weekend, completing the campaign and playing online I thought I would share my opinions.
I'm not a HALO fanboy, I just like playing decent games. FPS's being my favourite.
HALO Reach is the complete package, the Campaign is very well balanced with brilliant set pieces and an involving story line (even for players new to the HALO franchise) the big open battle fields give you plenty options which doesn't leave you feeling like the game is on rails (like other popular FPP's mentioning no names - COD) The weapon choices and new armour abilities make the game play varied and interesting.
Other options such as SKULLS (changing the way your enemies behave) and scoring system make the campaign exciting and replay-able.
One of my favourite features is the ranking system; as you play you earn credits which not only level you up but also allow you to customise the appearance of your sparten, and a nice touch the modified Sparten also appears on the cut scenes on the campaign.
Fire Fight mode is also very good, again this has loads of customisable options, including weapon load-outs, armour abilities and time limits.
Online the game is very enjoyable, unlike other popular online games (not mentioning any names COD) each game is different, some limiting the weapons and load outs players have so you have to survive on skill alone, others are over massive battlefields requiring the use of vehicles. You can play online all day and not have the same experience twice.
I'm very glad I picked up HALO Reach and would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halo: Reach (Xbox 360)
Halo: Reach (Xbox 360) by Microsoft (Xbox 360)
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews