Customer Reviews


160 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zelda makes a triumphant return.
After playing games like Modern warfare 3, Dark Souls, I was starting to think games were becoming a bit depressing, yes they are good at what they do, but all the big games now days seem to be military shooters or violent games with little in the way of happiness. Well it just so happens that this game is the cure for all that dark moody stuff that can leave you feeling...
Published on 19 Nov 2011 by Nick D

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Far too easy and just not 'Zelda' enough
I have pretty much played every Zelda game ever created and have loved all of them. In fact, Zelda is actually the only reason I now own a Wii as opposed to a different console. However, this game is unfortunately disappointing.

The main problem is that it is way too easy. In my opinion one of the defining features of all those games stretching back to the NES...
Published on 10 Mar 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zelda makes a triumphant return., 19 Nov 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword (Wii) (Video Game)
After playing games like Modern warfare 3, Dark Souls, I was starting to think games were becoming a bit depressing, yes they are good at what they do, but all the big games now days seem to be military shooters or violent games with little in the way of happiness. Well it just so happens that this game is the cure for all that dark moody stuff that can leave you feeling a bit shaken and stirred once you've put down the controller. Skyward sword is one of the most colourful and charming games you will ever play, it's also one of the best games you will ever play. Nintendo have proven with this game that they can still create magical classic games when given enough time to work their magic. This Zelda ranks up there with the very best ever seen in the series, rivaling Ocarina of Time and Link to the Past. Or any of your favourites. It's Nintendo on TOP form.

I am not going to spoil the game by talking about the story.Lets just say it's very good. Best Zelda story so far for me, I have played long enough to form a good opinion on the game. I can confirm that their are no problems with controls, I'm not the biggest fan of motion controls but these are the best motion controls I have seen to date. You do not have to wrestle with the controller, it all feels natural after about 30 minutes and you can lose yourself in the gameplay. So if you were put off by Gamespots overly harsh review then don't be. This is as good as Zelda gets.

And what a game it is, this is a epic game in every sense of the word , how I missed Nintendo releasing games like this, it's what I grew up on and that magic you felt when you first played something like Ocarina of Time is here as soon as the intro kicks in and you gain control of young Link. This is the game Nintendo fans have been waiting for. And it delivers in all areas. I bought a new Wii just to play this and I couldn't be more happy with it, I love this game and I'm sure you will too as it's a modern classic. It's so colourful and charming , plays great and has a great story including some nice romance between Link and Zelda, You will get very attached to the story and characters in this game.

For Wii the graphics are really nice, it's like a water painting , it's just really colourful and very pleasing to the eye. Wii has limits when it comes to graphics, but Nintedo really made the most of the hardware here, best looking Wii game I've seen. I own all the best looking console games like Uncharted 3 and this is just as nice looking in a artistic way, not a technical way, but Nintendo games look good for years to come, like Wind Waker, because Nintendo have such great style in their games, this is one of those Nintendo games with great style. Must mention the music, it's very grand and really sets the stage for the adventure that awaits you. On to game length, Skyward Sword will last you a very long time as it is massive in scope and things to do. There is also a hero mode when you complete it that lets you replay it with harder difficulty, so I've read elsewhere. You will have lots of things to do in this game for well over 50 hours if you chose to do so.

Skyward Sword is what gaming is all about, we are blessed that Nintendo still know how to make games like this and have not moved on to making grim military shooters. There is no other game this year that can touch Skyward Sword for the feel good factor, this game will keep you nice and warm during these cold winter nights. If you were starting to think that all gaming can offer is blood and violence and annoying kids online calling you a noob while they hit you with grenade launchers, then buy this game, it's the cure for all the things you hate about modern gaming and will restore your faith in Nintendo and the Zelda franchise if you had given up on them. This is as good as it gets for people who grew up on Nintendo classics. Playing Skyward Sword is like coming home after being away for a long time, It's really good to be back. And it's really good to have Nintendo back on form creating Zelda games of this caliber once again

All that's left for me to do is thank Nintendo for this game. My favourite game of 2011. I know this review is all praise and that might make people sick, but I would complain if I had reason to, I have no reason to with Skyward Sword. I am completely satisfied with this game. And for that it deserves the highest score I can give it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Game, 18 Nov 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword (Wii) (Video Game)
Very good game.. Awesome Graphics.. Everything about this game just feels.. right. I like the music, the storyline, the people in it.. everything.

I've played most of the other Zelda games apart from the SNES ones, and I'm a really big fan of the games and Nintendo. When I first saw this game I wasn't sure about the graphics, but then it slowly grew on me and now, I love it.

You can tell Nintendo spent ages on this game, it has such little things that make you smile (for example; The Loo. Kept me amused) and they should be proud of making such a good game.

I like the idea of riding the Loftwings; Makes a nice change from Epona, and gives the game a different feel.

I'm not sure if this is meant to be the prequel? I thought it was, but I keep hearing different things.

Buy this game, you will not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 21 Nov 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword (Wii) (Video Game)
If your still unsure whether to buy Skyward sword or not, I for one can tell you to stop looking and just buy it.

From the 7+ hours that I've spent playing it over the weekend; Yes I'm no longer 12 and therefore do not have the time to play it continuously, I was thinking getting to play it for 7 hours without my wife complaining was quite good going :)

The detail in the game is second to non, yes it's not in HD, but its done in such a style that it doesn't need to be.
Whilst playing, just stop and look around once in a while, the dungeons have the perfect atmosphere a game like this needs, Score and FX's sound great.

Controlling the sword with your remote is the finally the promise the Wii told off since 2006, finally they've cracked it, it just works as second nature, you can tell how confident Nintendo are of the controller by taking a look at the manual, there's barely any instructions, as you just need to try it for yourself and as you progress in the game the better you will get.

Okay time to stop reading reviews, just buy and play the game!

First class!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best game on wii, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword (Wii) (Video Game)
this is withou a doubt the best game on the wii platform. Zelda games generakly are but this makes full use of the control system and platforms limited graphics capabilities. amazing colours and great action scenes that also give a real free roaming sandbox feel to the whole world. It is literally a massive world but this time with nifty distance travelling shortcuts that enable you to get back to past areas quickly.

you will become totally immersed in this game and i cant see that you could complete it in less than 40 hours. if you want to do all the cool side quests then this will extend considerably and keep you going for a very long time.

worth every penny and every zelda game always is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zelda Skyward Sword, 3 Mar 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword (Wii) (Video Game)
Wow what a game. Huge in size and again full of the normal Zelda puzzels etc. Using the controller and numchuck has added a further dimension to the game play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword (Wii), 9 July 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword (Wii) (Video Game)
I brought this game for my boyfriend and he says that the story surrounding the game really gets the player into it, also the graphical quality is the best of any Zelda game he has played. The only thing he didn't like about the game was the controls, he found it difficult to control but nevertheless still thought the game was very good and would definitely recommend it to a friend. A very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword (Wii) (Video Game)
Loving the game as I thought I would, but I am a bit biased having played a lot of the Zelda games. It's a MUST HAVE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant game, 13 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword (Wii) (Video Game)
The first Zelda game I ever played was Occarina of Time on the N64 and this game was outstanding in it's day. I have since played all the Zelda games that followed, Majoras Mask (very good game) The Windwaker (absolutely awful) Twilight Princess (another great game but not as good as Occarina) and now Skyward Sword.

I have to say that this game is equal to if not even better than Occarina. While graphically these games are no match for the latest pc offerings they have a wow factor and brainteasig quality that can have you not wanting to put this game down.

Overall a game you must not miss, it's even worth buying a Wii just to play this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Idiosyncrasies -subtle nuances or variations., 18 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. P. Counter (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword (Wii) (Video Game)
That is the word I think most missing from the Skyward Sword reviews describing the controls.
After Gamespot shocked the gaming world by awarding Zelda a 7.5 score, fatwas were declared, Robin Williams started to grow his beard again and the Metacritic rating went down by a percent. The reason the review cited for such a low score was that the control method was often erratic and had to be recalibrated a lot. Shock: I have to agree with the point, the control method is not as perfect as some reviews have been making out. Anyone who believed that every action would be duly recreated without error by motion plus is overestimating the device. However, each item in the game has its idiosyncrasies (see top), which, when mastered feels more intuitive than any other Zelda game to date. So rather than flailing the remote around wildly, taking a little time to appreciate the controls is advised and most rewarding. And whilst never truly being one to one, it certainly beats pressing A continuously. Also vantage point needs to be taken into consideration. Whilst perfectly playable sitting down, this is one game where a little arm space is appreciated for each swing or stab of your sword. A different experience may be garnered by playing the game standing, depending on how immersed you want to get.

Graphics wise this is the most stunning looking Zelda game to date. Whilst initially ambivalent to the first footage of the game shown at E3, the art style is simply magnificent and very clever in disguising the dated Wii hardware. People often say games aren't art (why do they use artists then) but this is a piece of exquisite art. Like a Terry Pratchett novel brought to life infused with a palette not afraid to be colourful (Skyloft) or scared to represent more sombre environments-to get lost in this world is delightful and phantasmagorical.

The sound is also superb, and whilst some music could have been extended more rather than repeating the beat so quickly, overall it adds to the atmosphere with the orchestral effects being stunning and playing a major role in this grandiose adventure.

And what an adventure it is. Combining the best elements of previous Zeldas-the quirkiness of Majora, the exploration of Waker and a narrative which so far beats Ocarina of time. It was an ingenious idea by Nintendo to shift the story before Ocarina recanting it like Zelda origins, and it all weaves together superbly, supplementing stellar dungeon and boss design with an emotionally charged and fulfilling story. The tale between Link and Zelda has never been better told nor more romantically inclined, and it works great-creating a real dynamic between not only those characters, but lesser ones exhibiting traits to rival Guru-Guru (see Ocarina of Time). And perhaps to appreciate the story the most, it is beneficial to have played Ocarina as it makes references which are pertinent to the timeline of the game, but not so that you could not understand them if you haven't. Whether this was a ploy by Nintendo as they recently released Ocarina 3D, it doesn't really matter as most people would have played it before but I certainly appreciated my recent play through congruently with this title.

Overall this is the Zelda you have been waiting for, but it is not the perfect implementation of motion controls. It is the best that can be done with motion plus, but to truly exceed that you would have to have a further iteration of the hardware. Each individual aspect of the game is top notch, Nintendo's A game, but the sum of these parts is exponentially more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Perfection, 18 Nov 2011
By 
Iain Summers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword (Wii) (Video Game)
And so it all comes down to this. Almost 5 years and we finally get the game the Wii was made for. You've read the "professional" reviews I'm sure, so you know how good this is supposed to be....Well it's better. Still in the preamble before the meat of the game starts but I already feel that this is the best game Nintendo have ever released on any console. High praise I know but play it and tell me I'm wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword (Wii)
The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword (Wii) by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews