Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's still a great game!
Okay, I don't normally write a review this close to purchase but seeing so much negativity from the US. and various other places, I felt obliged to reassure the average gamers out there!
As a game in its own right, this is a top notch platform blaster! As an addition to the series, it may and obviously has polarized the community. I think it's important for me to...
Published on 5 Sep 2010 by S. J. Heaume

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent gameplay, but that woman's not Samus.
So if you like exploration shoot-em-ups you'll have a great time. This game has all the fantastic level design and brilliant boss battles one expects from Nintendo. There are some wonderful landscapes and for all you completionists plenty of stuff to find. My one comment would be that the game is disappointingly short. Especially after the sprawling Prime series but is a...
Published 22 months ago by Papa Grandma


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's still a great game!, 5 Sep 2010
By 
S. J. Heaume (Guernsey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metroid: Other M (Wii) (Video Game)
Okay, I don't normally write a review this close to purchase but seeing so much negativity from the US. and various other places, I felt obliged to reassure the average gamers out there!
As a game in its own right, this is a top notch platform blaster! As an addition to the series, it may and obviously has polarized the community. I think it's important for me to address the issues that people have been having first.
POINTING: Such a major "problem" for so many people is really quite well implemented. The transition between sideways control and pointing the remote at the screen to fire missiles etc. at a locked-on point is smooth and you get used to it fairly early on. Just don't rely on it in the heat of battle until you absolutely need to to defeat the current enemy.
SHOOTING: You have something of an auto-locking system which purists say goes against the series norm, but in reality, it's the only way to implement a firing system in this format. You will soon get used to just facing the general direction and pumping away to dispatch your foes.
VOICE ACTING: Samus's voice has been deliberately chosen to deliver the sense of her loner nature and therefore unfamiliarity with dialogue. It isn't bad acting, it's been purposely detailed and it's not THAT important a feature of ANY game which is 90% gaming and 10% talking.
CONTROLS: Use of just the Wii remote is somewhat foreign at first, if you're used to playing the 3D games but anyone who has played sidescrollers, whether of the series or not, will pick up the intricasies in no time. I have yet to find a situation which necessitated the use of the Nunchuck over the D-Pad. Sure, it's a little less accurate in the wider sections but you still have 8 directions at your disposal.
MUSIC: Yeah, you'll have to go a long way to match the majestic scores of the Prime series but there is an atmospheric air about the levels and although it could have done with a little more memorability, it shouldn't detract from your enjoyment and involvement in the intensity of battle.
So, that out of the way, what you are left with is an altogether different animal to the 3D games of the series but an intuitive blending of styles which, for the most part, has been pulled off with a good deal of accuracy. For newcomers, this will be a challenge without any shadow of doubt. I've been gaming for nearly 30 years now and I still died several times against the same enemy until I worked out what to do! For me, this makes for a good experience, as just breezing past the opposition is no real fun at all, whereas, using your noggin gives you a greater sense of achievement. Yes, the path to the end is relatively short and linear but you will have many a good battle on the way and although there is a sense of repetition for some of the enemies, the new death-blow sequences are really cool and different for each enemy.
So, if you can rent this one, it may be the way to go first with all the different opinions out there. Everyone is entitled to their own and a few will disagree with some of what I've said here, no doubt...fact is...I enjoyed it...end of!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metroid: Other M (Wii) (Video Game)
Very playable game up to Metroid standards. Didn't like how you had to use the controller but got used to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I can see why Metroid garnered Other Mixed reviews, 30 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. J. L. Nicholls "gunnerholic" (S.Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metroid: Other M (Wii) (Video Game)
I picked Metroid Other M up a few years back and it had been sat on the shelf for some time untouched. Ashamedly the reason being that I was a little put out by the mixed reviews this title received, I'd heard that the game was 'punishingly hard' and the environments to be 'drab'. Which is where you have to take mainstream views with a pinch of salt at times. Ok the first ninety minutes of the game can take some slogging through as Samus is devoid of the powers we know she is capable of but by the end of the game the powers that are attained actually make the final segment very easy (final boss notwithstanding).

Lets talk about one of the major bones of contention within the game, the narrative. It's very rare to see a Nintendo game attempt to go all Hollywood and introduce cut scenes of this sort and even more rare to give so much focus on characterization, Samus is shown to be a very vulnerable young lady throughout the story line, fearing for the safety of her squad mates and indeed herself, the fact we see her with 'zero Suit' on various occasions speaks volumes as her physique is nowhere near as imposing as the usual Varia suit suggests. Why so many fans seem to think they know Samus inside-and-out from prior iterations I'm not too sure as this is the first in-depth look at miss Aran and Nintendo's first foray into 'modern' storytelling and as such is supervised by Metroid co-creator Yoshio Sakamoto. However, For all the good intentions thrust forward in Other M, modern visual media is only as good as the audio and this is where Other M begins to lose some of its integrity, at least in the Western release anyway. Yes, its the voice acting, Jessica Martin's portrayal of Samus has been interpreted as being quite lifeless on the whole and I tend to agree, some have argued that this was the mission statement and what Martin was cast to do, but if we are casting off the mechanical suit why not cast off the mechanical personality? You can't have it both ways. The voice work of the galactic federation is ok and serves its purpose, the music is as atmospheric as you would expect from any Metroid outing and overall is very enjoyable.

The controls for Other M are quite unique and I can see why some have been a little intimidated (as was I initially) but actually work very well and are intuitive, use the Wii remote on its side like an old school NES gamepad for moving Samus around using the D-pad and then point the remote at the tv like a light gun for precise munitions discharge in first person mode -simple-
Team Ninja have done an excellent job with the gameplay mechanics, Other M is a much faster paced Metroid game than most are used to and the enemies can be quite challenging but at the same time are very fair. The average gamer will die on numerous occasions during their first play through but each death will be rewarded with insightful wisdom and on the third or fourth try you will know exactly what is necessary to beat an enemy, you will feel empowered and ready to take on an even greater challenge. I also like the fact that when you do die you re-spawn at the beginning of a boss fight or in the same room you died previously, no more back tracking for ten minutes only to be killed again Ala Zelda for example.
There are the pre-requisite upgrades you would expect from a Metroid game and as usual your powers are unlocked as you reach key points in the game (namely boss battles) but there is very little in the way of the exploration you might be used to. As you can imagine, Team Ninja's emphasis is of action and as such even the games secrets are highlighted in full view on your map, the only issue being of how to reach them. Which brings me to the next point, I have to admit I am no games master as such I usually can't be bothered to frustrate myself by spending hours looking for items under rocks or fulfilling task after task to receive a reward, nor can I abide inane timed puzzles to receive a piece of heart (Zelda reference yet again) but I 100% completed Metroid Other M in a little over 11 hours as I stated before the last third of the game is incredibly easy and upon completion is very short even with the bonus mission. The good news is, 100% completion unlocks a large concept art gallery and a movie mode which shows the cutscenes and how you defeated key enemies throughout the game from cool looking camera angles. As an added bonus, a hard mode becomes available whereby you are now able to really test your skills against Other M's enemies without any of the health or weapon upgrades...I'm really not feeling as cocky now, Gulp!
Metroid Other M is a real underrated gem and I'm glad I gave it a go it really is different to any Metroid I have played before in both gameplay and tone. Definitely worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent gameplay, but that woman's not Samus., 28 Oct 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metroid: Other M (Wii) (Video Game)
So if you like exploration shoot-em-ups you'll have a great time. This game has all the fantastic level design and brilliant boss battles one expects from Nintendo. There are some wonderful landscapes and for all you completionists plenty of stuff to find. My one comment would be that the game is disappointingly short. Especially after the sprawling Prime series but is a lot of fun.

Though the reason I gave it only three stars is not just because it is short but because, firstly, all the mystery built up throughout the game is resoled in one enormous exposition in the last five minutes. And secondly because the Samus in this game is poor voiced and most importantly, not the fantastic independent character of the previous games, which, as far as I'm concerned, is unforgivable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic game ! Does not deserve to be hated, 5 April 2014
This review is from: Metroid: Other M (Wii) (Video Game)
This game is a fantastic addition to the metroid series. I am sick of people saying samus should not be an emotional person. I find it great that we can find out about samus's past and her feelings.
Other M has one of the best graphics I have ever seen and has a fantastic story line!
Although I do admit there are a lot of cut scenes, I do think that it is a good thing as the cut scenes create a movie feature when you have completed the game. I love watching it.
This game should not be hated on and it is one of the best games I have played
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great game., 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metroid: Other M (Wii) (Video Game)
Different to your normal Metroid game but very good indeed.

The game is very story driven and shows you an other side to Samus.

Good little game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's different.....but it's still Metroid, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metroid: Other M (Wii) (Video Game)
After playing Super Metroid upon it's release all those years ago I was a little hesistant to buy this product, mostly reading alot of reviews of this title and wondering whether it would ruin the Metroid lore.

The Good:
When the game lets you take control it's alot of fun, the control system takes some getting used to but I like the simplistic nature of using just the Wiimote. There are some challenging sections and boss fights (if you choose to figure them out without a guide) and the Samus in-game is still a strong, independent character.

The Bad:
The first person perspective you use in order to search your environment or use in boss battles is a bit hit and miss...especially considering how fast your reaction time needs to be in certain situations.
The game is shorter than other Metroid games but not as short as some have made it seem.
As gorgeous as the rendered cut-scenes are the Samus portrayed in them is a little miserable and depressing, I understand that she has gone through trauma after SM, but the voice actress chosen has a dull and uninspiring way of saying her lines that I can't get into the main story, as much as they tried to create a fleshed out story here it would have been better to 'cut' the cut-scenes and focus more on the action like previous Metroid titles.

This is still a great buy and like I mentioned before the gameplay is good fun,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars metroid, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metroid: Other M (Wii) (Video Game)
well this is metroid on the wii as expected harder than a block of anchor at the north pole. If you like the metroid series you are going to like this and if you've a nintendo you probably played at least one of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game!, 1 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. I. Howell (N/A) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metroid: Other M (Wii) (Video Game)
I know this game gets a lot of hate, but from what I've played so far, I'm really liking it!
Admittedly, I have only played for about an hour and a half, but still...so far, so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good but at times annoying, 18 July 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metroid: Other M (Wii) (Video Game)
the game was fun to play but was let down by its shortness roughly 10 hours of game play more if you get all collectibles.
Some things i didn't like were that its very difficult to die as when close to death it gives you a chance to replenish health (1 - 2 bars worth) which also replenishes your missiles completely. As there are no health / missile replenishment's from fallen enemies, saving was very frequent every 10 - 15 mins roughly which replenished health and missiles.
But the worst things in the game were the missile targeting which were in first person mode which meant going from holding the controller sideways to pointing at the screen and manually aiming which most of the time proved to be impossible.
The other thing i didn't like was during portions of the game it would switch to first person mode with finding something being the objective but this tended to be slow and boring as what you were looking for often proved to be small and easily overlooked.
Overall i'd recommend this to fans of the series but if you are looking for something closer to the Nes and Snes classics i would recommended the Metroid Prime series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metroid: Other M (Wii)
Metroid: Other M (Wii) by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii)
6.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews