Customer Reviews


178 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm dissapointed....that I can't rate it higher
Now, I'm someone very fond of Nintendo, using his mum's account to write a review. This game has made me even more fond of them. The graphics are amazing, once you reach the lava level in World 6 you'll just immediately go "Wow". The levels are great, they range from easy but still highly enjoyable to harder and taking more effort. There's a bit of a difficulty change...
Published on 18 July 2010

versus
4 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars single player only
the game is ok ,but is more of a single player than a multi player, the other person is just a star who tags along.my son who is 6 got bore easliy with it
Published on 27 Sep 2010 by fastpit


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 418 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Mario adventure yet!, 14 July 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Galaxy 2 (Wii) (Video Game)
What I love about these games is that nothing has really changed since Mario 64 (on the N64) 14 years ago! 14 years and only 4 (four) 3-D Mario games! Who'd have thought it!? This one really is great though - as good as any of its predecessors and then some. All the controls work the same, so you already know how how to do all the old familiar back flips and long jumps. If you don't already know how to pull off Mario's repertoire of signature moves it won't take you long to have them all under your fingertips - they're really intuitive and easy to execute.
I disagree with other Amazon reviewers who have said that this game is too easy. Some of it is nice and easy, but some parts of it are hard. Really, really hard (unlike the original Mario Galaxy which I thought was so easy it was boring). 30 minutes of doing the same small section of level around and around and I'm ready to throw the controller into the telly! Until I eventually complete the level in question and breathe a sigh of relief that I don't have to do it any more. It usually happens that whatever level I'm playing after that seems ridiculously easy in comparison. That's probably my only real niggle with the game - the difficulty level feels inconsistent at times.
It's a wonderfully varied game though, from playing as good old Mario (or the slightly ganglier and subsequently harder Luigi), to riding Yoshi, to cloud Mario, bee Mario and rock Mario. There's all the different terrain you'd expect from a Mario game; Ice, Lava, deserts, forests etc. and the usual Mini Game fayre of racing, coin collecting and against the clock games.
Mario Games have been getting more and more refined with each release and this is the cream of the crop.
Terrific fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love/hate relationship, 12 July 2010
By 
J. SULLIVAN (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Galaxy 2 (Wii) (Video Game)
When Nintendo deliver a Mario game, it's normally A quality. I love them the same as the next person. Correction - I want to love them the same as the next person. The graphics are top notch, gameplay is top notch and the controls are top notch too. What drives me insane is how infuriatingly difficult some of the levels are. I'm amazed that is for ages 3 and up. I'm 28 and I'm not ashamed to admit that I suck at the game. Either that or half the levels I have played require the patience of a saint - unfortunately I do not possess this quality that is required by most Mario titles. The game is undoubtedly amazing, but if you can't do it - how amazing is it really? Or is it designed for Japanese skill level?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, but tough, 5 July 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Galaxy 2 (Wii) (Video Game)
Seeing how much I loved the first Galaxy, and all the improvements revealed for this one, I obviously preordered it(Came a day early too, like my previous purchases - never doubt the power of Amazon's delivery forces!). What I got was absolutely amazing!
First off, the soundtrack. Galaxy 1 had such a beautiful music score, one of the best in any game, and Galaxy 2 took that and improved on it even more, adding all new tunes and remixing several classics. Then there's the gameplay. Again, they took the moves and power ups from the original and gave them a whole new twist, with new additions like the Cloud Mushroom mixing up the fun that's already there, and dinosaur pal Yoshi's inclusion was just genius! Add the graphics, some of the best on Wii, along with several nods to Mario's past adventures and this shapes up to what should be a serious requirement in your games collection.
Sadly, that's not quite so. Although the first couple of worlds are easy to get through, it suddenly gets much more difficult, to the point that it's almost impossible (for me, anyway) to get the first 120 stars just to unlock the other 120. Some stars are frustrating enough on their own, with some requiring you to be ABSOLUTELY precise in what you do, or else you'll mess everything up and have to start over from the last checkpoint. Miyamoto did say it would be harder than the first, but really, why THIS hard?
So, an otherwise perfect Mario experience, unfortunately spoiled by a high difficulty only reserved for professionals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The pinnacle of 3D Platforming, 1 Feb 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Super Mario Galaxy 2 (Wii) (Video Game)
As someone who's been a Mario fan for as long as I gained the skill to pick up a controller, I was convinced that nothing could ever beat Super Mario 64 as the king of the platforming genre. Sunshine was, on the whole, a pretty big disappointment, showing not nearly the amount of quality Nintendo are capable of. The original Galaxy game came close, but was let down by a dodgy camera and repetitive levels. It seemed Mario 64 would forever be untouchable.

Well, not anymore.

Super Mario Galaxy 2 hasn't even been out a year, yet I can say with great confidence it's the greatest Mario game, as well as platformer, I have ever played. It improves on the original in every way you could imagine and, while the impact of the original isn't there this time, the sequel more than makes up for that.

No longer will you trudge through the same level 5, 6, maybe 7 times to collect all the stars like in the original. In 64 it worked, because the levels were one huge level with several directions to go in, so no route was ever the same. In the original Galaxy, the levels were a lot more linear, almost like the 2D classics on the NES and SNES, so you'd see a lot of the stuff more than once to get all the stars. The levels are still more linear here than in 64, but this time you're only required to collect 2 or 3 stars before moving on. Yes, there are many other stars that become unlocked later on, but that's far too cool to spoil here, and are far less repetitive missions anyway.

Onto the levels themselves, they're as magical, intense and downright beautiful as you'd expect. The worlds in the original looked stunning, and whilst the sequel makes no graphical enhancements, it doesn't need to, as the worlds speak for themselves. I could talk about some of them, but you should play the game and see for yourself.

So what makes the game more than just a glorified sequel? There are a whole host of new additions to the game. Two new power ups appear: Cloud Mario, which makes Mario create clouds as platforms, and Rock Mario, which allows the plumber to roll into a rock and smash stuff up. Pretty self explanatory, but both insanely fun. Best of all, there's less Bee Mario and Spring Mario, two power ups I never really cared for. Sadly, the Ice Flower has been omitted, but you can't win em all I guess.

By far my favourite addition however, is a certain green dinosaur named Yoshi. Nothing more than a cameo in Sunshine, Yoshi becomes a true mechanic here. He shows up far more often than New Super Mario Bros Wii too, even though you can't keep him in between levels like Super Mario World.

There's not really much more I can say about Super Mario Galaxy 2 other than the highest recommendation possible to play it. The story isn't anything special, and the core mechanics haven't changed much, but it hardly matters. Galaxy 2 is a monumental achievement, surpassing any platformer to have come before it. The bar has been well and truly raised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario Galaxy 2 (Wii) (Video Game)
Great value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best msrio game ever, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario Galaxy 2 (Wii) (Video Game)
Grt this if you have a iw or wii u its the first gsme u should ever get on it its the best

Also tons of worlds and LOTD of levels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased., 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario Galaxy 2 (Wii) (Video Game)
My Grandson is very pleased with this game and plays it all the time, and i will look to you when i am thinking of ordering another Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars quick delivery, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario Galaxy 2 (Wii) (Video Game)
The all family like this game and play it often. Keeps them entertained and graphics are pretty good too. Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice game, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario Galaxy 2 (Wii) (Video Game)
Good fun, but as a very grown up, errr grown up... it's appeal was short lived, I imagine 10 year olds will love it though, great graphics, effects and sounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought this for my daughter, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Mario Galaxy 2 (Wii) (Video Game)
Bought this for my daughter as a gift, she absolutely loves it and plays it all the time.
Arrived as stated and on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 418 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Super Mario Galaxy 2 (Wii)
Super Mario Galaxy 2 (Wii) by Nintendo (Nintendo Wii)
23.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews