Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 81 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why slate Little Boots for what she's not, when what she IS, is this good?
Perhaps it shouldn't surprise me that the Little Boots "backlash" has kicked off before her debut album has even reached the shops. In fact, let's be honest, it kicked off before her debut single had even reached the shops...and then blew up when New In Town failed to reach the top 10. The problems seems to be as thus; the BBC voted her as the Sound of 2009, she's quite a...
Published on 7 Jun 2009 by IWFIcon

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars catchy tunes, awful mastering
Whoever produced the master for this album should never be allowed anywhere near a studio again. The compressor has been turned up to 11 on every track. The dynamic range on some tracks, Meddle for example, is as low as 4.5dB!! When will these idiots get it through their thick skulls that people don't buy music just because it commits GBH on their eardrums. Perhaps the...
Published 22 months ago by simeywimey


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 81 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why slate Little Boots for what she's not, when what she IS, is this good?, 7 Jun 2009
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hands (Audio CD)
Perhaps it shouldn't surprise me that the Little Boots "backlash" has kicked off before her debut album has even reached the shops. In fact, let's be honest, it kicked off before her debut single had even reached the shops...and then blew up when New In Town failed to reach the top 10. The problems seems to be as thus; the BBC voted her as the Sound of 2009, she's quite a pretty girl and the height of her ambition seems to be to make catchy pop songs in a world where "pop" is still a dirty word.

Well no one seemed to pour as much vitriol into slamming 2008's "Sound" winner (the dull and derivative Adele) nor 2007's winner (Mika), nor 2006's (Corrine Bailey Rae) and if anyone can tell me that any of that trio are particularly inventive or ground breaking you will be lying through your teeth.

Of course half the journalists slamming her purely for winning that poll forget that it's partly voted for by their brethren, nor do they slate Florence And The Machine (who have two single releases under their belt that never threatened the top 40) who won that Brit award, which really is shameless publicity to the 'n'th degree. But silly me, Florence is a "serious" musician isn't she?

Well with that diatribe out of the way, what is Hands actually like? Well as far as I'm concerned it's really rather good. Obviously some tracks that have been knocking around for months (Stuck On Repeat, Meddle, Mathematics) set the bar pretty high but they are far from the only highlights. Having Phil Oakey duet on the shimmeringly wonderful Symmetry might seem like a gimmick but it not only works, but exceeds all expectations, Tune Into My Heart, with it's icy, mellow sound proves that she's far from a one trick pony whilst upcoming single Remedy is the sort of song that Kylie would kill her producers for.

And therein lies the crux. The pompous music snobs out there will spend the next few months telling us everything that Little Boots isn't (and crucifying her for it) rather than focusing on what Little Boots IS.

The solo credits for a couple of the tracks (Click, Ghosts) show that the choice of producers on the other tracks are just that, a choice and haven't necessarily been forced upon her. At least half the tracks on here are superb and the other half aren't half bad either. Jam packed with catchy and memorable choruses it will do little to convince those that think "pop" is a dirty word and those who kid themselves that "promotion" and "hype" are 21st century inventions in the music industry. Yet despite the hype, the pressure and the (perhaps) inevitable backlash, Victoria Hesketh has proved that all of those of us who kept the faith when all around seemed to be laying into her were right all along. She's definitely a talent. Hands may not be a perfect record, but is a very damn good one nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars little boots - 80s throw back, 9 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Hands (Audio CD)
am a forty something bloke who has not bought anything since the missions last album who happened to catch little boots on bbc eye player with the all time music great gary numan and was so impressd with her i bought her album the next day.it was like hearing toyah /wilde back in 81 .what a throwback my teenage niece thought i was sad but there you go i have turned into my dad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stuck On Repeat... Well This Album Certainly Was!!, 24 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Hands (Audio CD)
After several weeks of having discovered this album, my headphones must feel like they are just that. I have not stopped listening to this, every song is a pleasure for my ears. How many people today have actual talent, because this girl certainly does. To summarise, Little Boots may only have small feet, but with talent like this, she has certainly created some very big shoes that will be hard to fill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning debut, 8 Nov 2009
By 
dalek78 (Sheffield, S.Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hands (Audio CD)
Hands is one of the most refreshing, uplifting and infectious debut albums I've heard in a very long time. Ignore the pointless comparisons to La Roux or Lady Ga Ga - this is no one-off wonder or retro throwback album. Yes, it does have a certain early 80s feel to it in places, thanks to the use of vintage synth sounds, but it offers so much more, totally blowing the aforementioned right out of the water.

Here is genuinely a talented young lady - not only a great vocalist and highly skilled keyboard player, but a fantastic and creative lyricist - evident on tracks such as "No Breaks", the clever "Mathematics" and the superb duet with Phil Oakey, "Symmetry" - clearly the highlight of the album, which also reminds us what a stunning vocalist Oakey still is. Sadly the singles such as "Remedy" and "Earthquake" do give a slightly misleading impression of the album, although as they have proven, they clearly have a commercial and contemporary edge.

Hands is a fantastically produced album. There's a real depth to the music and lots of smooth layers of sound to enjoy, with Victoria Hesketh's sublime vocals remaining centre stage. Only perhaps "Ghosts" and "Tune Into My Heart" lack the instant appeal of the other tracks, but "New In Town", "Click", "Meddle", and "No Breaks" are some of the album's best tracks, which leave you yearning for more. There is also a very sensual feminine quality to all of the music here, as Miss Hesketh's personality shines through. It's an emotional journey, regularly dwelling on love and relationships, but it's also fun, playful and sexy - it's totally seduced me, anyway!

Hands pulls from a wealth of influence, but formulates everything into an incredibly modern, original and addictive album, with some of the best lyrics I've heard in a long time. These (little) boots were clearly made for walking, and I'm certainly looking forward to following her footsteps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Put your hands together for a top quality pop album, 1 July 2009
By 
Mr. O. Burnell (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hands (Audio CD)
Having had time to listen to Hands over the last few weeks, it struck me that there are a lot of layers to Little Boots music that need unwrapping in order to fully enjoy the experience.

Most of the tracks come accross as instantly accessable pop with catchy chorus's and sing-a-long tunes, but as you listen more intently and turn up the volume, the odd backing vocal, deep bass, harmony, or synth sound suddenly make an impression, and you find the songs have so much more to say and hairs stand up on the back of your neck.

New in town, Meddle and Remedy are the most instant to hit you with their pop skills, but after a while the real gems of the album "Symmetry and Stuck on repeat," take hold and highlight how talented Little boots is.

Yes there are a couple of wafer light tunes, but this is a pop album, not Queens of the stone age, so learn to love them.

I personally really enjoy this album and Little Boots can come accross so complete on her debut, it makes me eager for album 2 and beyond.

There is an air of the much underrated group "Dubstar" here with haunting female vocals, catchy tunes and quality lyrics.

If you enjoy good quality pop music such as Human League, ABC, Pet Shop Boys even Madonna, then Hands would pretty much suit you down to the ground. Go on and buy it, as the reviews so far don't do it justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little Boots - Big star, 9 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Hands (MP3 Download)
I have known of Little Boots for a while, in fact since she was a member of Dead Disco and I have listened to a great many demos on her Myspace and Last FM pages. I am very please she is now getting the recognition she deserves because she is talented and original. Her style is her own which she has demonstrated by the various home recordings prior to the album release.

So for us who `knew' Little Boots the first album was eagerly awaited and we were hoping she would still keep her originality and not get produced to death. Fortunately she did not fall into this trap and has released a fine debut album which is full of catchy electro pop tunes.

"New in town" was a worthy first single although "Stuck on repeat", "Mathematics" and "Ghost" should definitely be released as singles, and particularly "Stuck on Repeat" as there are so many great remixes and other version both by Little Boots herself and others.

The best track on the album, in my opinion, is "Remedy" which is one of the best songs I have ever heard.

Little Boots has proved that she is indeed a true pop star and let's hope that she has much more material to be released. Her feet may be small butLittle Boots her heart is big.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Little Boots filled with Big Talent!, 11 Jun 2009
By 
Sam Woodward (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hands (MP3 Download)
IT'S FINALLY HERE!

After being impressedby LB on Jools Holland when she performed 'Meddle' on the piano, the next few weeks were spent checking out her demos on the internet. Since these mainly consisted of different versions of the same songs, I wasn't sure how the album would sound. But it lives up to all expectations.

'Hands' ticks all the electro-pop boxes - fun tunes, interesting lyrics & well produced. If you've heard 'New In Town' on the radio, then the rest of the tracks are in a similar vein but with enough variety to make for an interesting album.

It's fun but not purely candyfloss - it's a surprisingly mature debut with some interesting lyrics, with a sound which reminded me of the Human League only better put together - although it could be said that Phil Oakey duetting on 'Symmetry' may have planted that comparison in my head.

If her sound & word-craft are this outstanding on her debut album (and at such a young age) then like her namesake Caligula, Little Boots is bound to leave some pretty big footprints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joyful Remedy, 20 Dec 2010
This review is from: Hands (Audio CD)
I remember first hearing her gorgeous music, and I was honestly on the fence whether to get the cd. I then heard many of her songs while shopping, and then my mind was made up to definitely purchase. She has a very gorgeous and one of a kind voice. I really love how the songs were creatively selected to showcase her wonderful voice. You definitely get your money's worth on this cd because many of the songs are very exciting, joyful, and unique. This collection invokes euphoric feelings within me every time I listen to it. Many who listen to these songs are going to come away with a sense of an emotional boost. My personal favorites in this cd are "Remedy", "Symmetry","No Brakes" and "Hearts Collide". "Remedy" discusses how she is going to resist temptation with her cures (music and dancing). It is a good song because music and dancing are healthy choices to increase one's fullfillment levels. "Symmetry" is a musical number where the singer does a good duet with the lead singer of Human League. Her and Human League's lead singer sound harmonious together. "No Brakes" is about how love can overtake you at unexpected times. "Hearts Collide" is a very beautiful and catchy song about how a person wants to proactively pursue the one they are attracted to. My two favorite songs on the cd are "Hearts Collide", and "Remedy". The woman singing these songs on this cd has a very beautiful voice to go with the many melodic and smooth songs in this collection. I definitely agree that this is one of the best cds of 2010. If you crave good music to add to your collection from 2010 then this definitely is a cd to add. She deserves to attract more attention in America because she is that talented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 24 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hands (Audio CD)
The perfect pop album and one of the best of 2009. Little Boots is a very talented lady. All tracks deserve either 4 or 5 stars. Loved the lyrics of Meddle and Ghost. Favourite track Remedy. Would liked to have seen the excellent Love Kills on the album too but you can always download that separately. Only critism is the hidden track - why do record companies persist in doing this? Like I really want to listen to a minute and a half of silence!

Buy it if you like Lady Gaga, Kylie or Girls Aloud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have album of 2009, 6 Jun 2009
By 
Thrud Fan (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hands (Audio CD)
Pre ordered the album from the Little Boots web site and the postman delivered it the Saturday before it was issued!
First thoughts are that it's all I hoped it would be. A nice collection dance tunes, ballads and even a duet with Philip Oakey.
The lyrics are clever, well written and well sung and the tunes are well put together.
The only one I'm not too keen on is the mix of Meddle (I prefer the You Tube version without the yeahs.)
My favourites are Mathematics, Ghost, New in Town and the the lovely sort of title track which comes at the end of the 12th track.

From the interviews I've seen of Boots she's a very genuine person more interested in making great music than headlines which is a refreshing change today.
In short a very good début album and an artist to watch watch for the future.
PS see her live if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hands
Hands by Little Boots
Buy MP3 Album£5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews