Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars certainly delivers in the fight sequences
Damage is sufficiently brutal in the fight sequences to please fans of the genre - it's certainly tough enough. Some of the sequences have a CGI aspect that makes them quite thrilling, even if you're glad it's not you in the ring. There is a real sense of physicality and aggression. It's good to see Steve Austin playing a thoroughly decent guy who is somewhat driven into...
Published on 13 Sep 2012 by schumann_bg

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sincere Effort, Damaged
I rented out the DVD after watching the trailer of the movie, which I must say seemed appealing. The movie was released direct to DVD in the UK whereas in the USA, it will have a theatrical release in 2010.

Damage is an action movie but surprisingly gives more attention to the lead characters and their issues rather than the action. The movie mainly...
Published on 8 Oct 2009 by Mitun


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars certainly delivers in the fight sequences, 13 Sep 2012
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damage [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Damage is sufficiently brutal in the fight sequences to please fans of the genre - it's certainly tough enough. Some of the sequences have a CGI aspect that makes them quite thrilling, even if you're glad it's not you in the ring. There is a real sense of physicality and aggression. It's good to see Steve Austin playing a thoroughly decent guy who is somewhat driven into a corner - although the world it shows is sleazy it is made to look more sympathetic than it by rights should, thanks to a well-nuanced performance from Walton Goggins as his manager, and Laura Vandervoort providing a glamour that is, again, sweeter than it probably ought to be ... I bought the film for Goggins who stars in a film called Red Dirt that couldn't be more different from this one, and the role is likewise at opposite poles, right to the rather constrained hug at the end. He has a brilliant screen face! In comparison, Austin does not have anything like the same ability to express emotion but this works oddly well by contrast, and is very suited to the internalised character he plays, who can nonetheless scrap with the best of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sincere Effort, Damaged, 8 Oct 2009
By 
Mitun (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Damage [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I rented out the DVD after watching the trailer of the movie, which I must say seemed appealing. The movie was released direct to DVD in the UK whereas in the USA, it will have a theatrical release in 2010.

Damage is an action movie but surprisingly gives more attention to the lead characters and their issues rather than the action. The movie mainly concentrates on the main actor's (Steve Austin) attempts to seek redemption and make amends.

It was a sincere effort because the performances from the lead actors were impressive, the story was to an extent moving and the action was average. Basically the heart was there with the intention of making a good movie. It is evident on watching the movie that everyone tried hard to make this work.

So, the questions are where does it go wrong and what's the flaws. Firstly, the story is too predictable including the climax and offers nothing new. The story has been beaten to death, so many times. Secondly, the movie can't make its mind up, if it's a drama or an action movie as it fails to peak on neither genres. The action scenes could've been choreographed better to make it exciting/tense and visually it could've been presented in a slick/polished way. Both these things can be blamed on the low budget, which doesn't help. The drama was not engaging enough but straight forward.

Steve Austin (Famous Wrestler) produces a restrained but a decent portrayal of his character and shows that he can act. I found his character to be really likeable due to the subtle performance. The movie is much better than Austin's previous feature, 'The Condemned', which was poor. Walton Goggins (Starred in 'The Shield' TV series) also produces a good performance as a supporting actor.

The direction is provided by Jeff King, who has previously directed disasterous 'B' grade movies such as, 'Kill Switch & Driven to Kill', both starring Steven Seagal. On this occassion, King proves that he can actually direct.

In my opinion, 'Damage' is not worthy of a theatrical release (no offence to Steve Austin fans who may think differently). However, I would watch Damage at the cinema any day instead of a number of awful movies that are being given theatrical releases.

The effort was there but it's let down by the wafer-thin plot and poor screenplay.

In the movie, the main character seeks redemption. In real-life, both Austin and King attempt the same (after not-to-be-proud-of previous efforts) and prove that they can do their job well. As far as the fate of the main character goes, I'll let you find out, if you haven't already.

If there is nothing else to watch and your bored, it's perfect time killing. However, if you're a fan of typical 80's action movies with a straight forward plot, this is the movie for you.

Damage is mediocre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stone Cold Delivers, 9 Oct 2009
By 
S. Clarke "Zombie Survivor" (Bordon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damage [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
This is a half decent movie let down by fight choreography that lacks realism, and editing which tries to disguise these failings with fast cuts away from the action. The story and script is okay, nothing especially original but sometimes it's best to stick with what works when it comes to the fight genre; but in fairness it does have a stab at creating a serious plot to give reason to the violence and this does come through as the film progresses. The fights are made interesting by a number of unconventional backdrops including a ring of savage dogs! Steve Austen is quite sincere in his role, creating a character the viewer roots for. This is much better than the other recent fight movie: Never Surrender. As long as you don't expect too much, you'll enjoy this movie but your thirst for action probably won't be fully quenched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old school remake of AWOL, 8 Oct 2009
By 
D. Lloyd "Riddick" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Damage [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
If you remember the 80's as a glorious time for straight to video action movies, and find the endless noughties quest to add social comment, wire-fu, CGI, and 'shakey cam', a little unnecessary, then this movie will be a breath of nostalgic air.
What you have here, is a film that pretty much takes the structure of Van Damme's AWOL (aka Lionheart), and fine tunes it with a bit more subtext than Van Damme could have handled at that stage in his career. Steve Austin gives a suprisingly subtle and convincing 'blue collar' performance, managing to imbue his character with a real likeability. He is ably supported by a solid cast, including Laura Vandervoort as an ex tart with a heart, and Waylon Goggins, who suprisingly, gives the weakest performance in the movie.
The fight's are solid, no nonsense affairs, owing more to the 'Any which way' movies than peers such as Undisputed 2 or Never Back Down, and are no worse for it. Austin sells a mean punch, and the basic but brutal choreography fits the low-rent barenuckle environment very well. It is no accident that the big finish is against a champ who looks like Kimbo Slice.
It obviously has a smaller budget than 'The Condemned' (and is not a wwe produced movie), but Austin gives a much better performance, and shows that, given stronger material, he could, like the Dwayne Johnson, escape the wrestling tag, and become seen as an actor in his own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Damage has got right name for what happens., 13 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damage [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Damage has got a good cast and it is well played out by everyone. In short its a very good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great action movie, 8 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. F. P. Moon (Hull, East Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Damage (Amazon Instant Video)
Like most Steve Austin fans we all recall what he did during his career in the squared circle so it's pretty obvious what he will do in the movies. What sets this apart from some of the truly laughably bad WWE movies is Austin can actually carry off the lead role. In this movie he actually brings something to the lead character, the depth so you really root for him and in the fight sequences he delivers. If you like your action brawl movies this is well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the dvd damage, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damage [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
thanks for the dvd I love the dvd because he is a good actor in the films and I like the fighting on it so thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars i enjoyed this movie, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damage [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
a few bits in the film were a bit predictable. the story wasnt very good but that doesnt mean the entire film was. austin did a good job and the rest of the cast did too. a few actors did a few lines that really were not believable to me. they just sounded rehearsed and didnt seem to put enough emotion into the lines for me to believe them. i still enjoyed watching this film. the story could of done with a bit of tweaking and the actors could of re-shot a few scenes but i think everyone is being a bit harsh on this movie. people seem to demand too much from movies these days. wasnt the best but i will give it a generous 4 stars. probably got something to do with all the crap movies i have been watching these days but for the price i paid for this movie it was well worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brute force, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Sophia "Sophia" (S W Wales in the UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damage [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Not my type of film but bought this for somebody else and they love it, so that's all that matters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars damage, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damage [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
husband watched this o tv and wanted a dvd copy of it. very good quality quick and efficient service well done to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Damage [Blu-ray] [2009]
Damage [Blu-ray] [2009] by Jeff King (Blu-ray - 2009)
£5.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews