Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Build them up, smash them down
It didn't matter what Oasis brought out, it was never going to be as popular as morning glory. Be here now was supposed to put them on a par with the Beatles, stick them up there with the greatest bands of all time, but it didn't. The media tuck it to pieces, trying to pick holes and find faults with an album which is very brilliant indeed. So what was the problem with an...
Published on 9 Feb 2003 by kevinyvette

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cocaine, self-importance and pop culture references.
You can't blame Oasis for being arrogant in 1997. In 1994, they believed they were the biggest thing to happen to music since Nirvana, and they were probably right. In 1995, they believed they'd made the best second album since Nevermind, and they were probably right. In 1997, they believed that they owned the world, and so should be able to make an album as big, wide,...
Published on 28 Dec 2006 by dynamitekid156


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Build them up, smash them down, 9 Feb 2003
This review is from: Be Here Now (Audio CD)
It didn't matter what Oasis brought out, it was never going to be as popular as morning glory. Be here now was supposed to put them on a par with the Beatles, stick them up there with the greatest bands of all time, but it didn't. The media tuck it to pieces, trying to pick holes and find faults with an album which is very brilliant indeed. So what was the problem with an album that rocks you from start to finish? Quite simply it was the wrong time and the wrong place. Where as Definitely Maybe was the fuel that started the British music industry's wake up and Morning glory was the pinnacle of the britpop era, Be here now was realesed in a time when cool Britanna was fading, the band had reached such a height with Morning glory that the only way was down. This album is not poor because of it's lyrical and musical content, but because it was released after Morning Glory.
Yes, the intros and outros last a minute each on most songs, the production is over blown, but just because it has fiddly guitar solos doesn't make it reason to tear it to pieces. If they had done an album identical to Morning Glory they would have been ridiculed with having no fresh ideas, (Yet the Red hot chilli peppers release album after album that sounds exactly the same and are given acclaim.) They could have gone the way of Radiohead and made two albums in a completely new direction, but then surely that's just a sly way to manouvere round the fact the pressures got to you and anyway, OK computer was whinging b******s with one good song in Karma Police. Instead Oasis didn't desert their fans, they brought the guitars out and rocked themselves to death it seems.
However, if you go back and listen to this with no predjudice, forget what you've heard from the media and really listen, then you'll hear some of the best Oasis tracks ever. I hope, I think, I know. Fade in-out, I'ts getting better man!! and the classic All around the world are the picks for me. If AATW had been placed on Morning glory it would have been heralded as an awesome titanic masterpiece, complete with all the na na na nanana's you could ever want. As for the other tunes, they're all good, sometimes bordering on the great and at times you can feel Noel searching. For all the bravdo of the guitar solos and the hugeness of this album, songs like Stand by me and Don't go away will almost bring you to tears, the lyrics sound like they come from a man who behind the swagger of the rest of the album still needs to be assured, still needs his band and public to stick with him. There was no pressure before the release of Morning Glory, but the hype that was Be here now must have left Noel wondering what the hell he could do, it was him against the world and unfortuntely the world turned against him when it never should have. If you don't have this in your collection buy it and if you own it, stick it on now, listen to every last note and marvel at the genius that is Noel Gallagher and Oasis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Misunderstood gem, 8 Feb 2007
By 
Mr. C. R. Moore "craigisageek" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Be Here Now (Audio CD)
For most Oasis fans the first two albums are usually considered the undeniable "classics". Ask people for their opinions on the records that followed and you'll get a different answer for each album depending on personal taste. The most controversial of these is Be Here Now- which appears to divide opinion like the Red Sea. I agree with the reviewer who said that critics shot this album down weeks after hyping and praising it as the second coming. Alot of the panning of this record seems to stem from Noel's disowning of it. He made this point pretty clear by not putting a single song from Be Here Now on the recent "Best Of.." album. However, Noel changes his opinion on what Oasis albums he does and doesn't like frequently - what about hearing YOUR opinion? Here's mine...

The album is grandiose to the max and for alot of people this was a disappointment. The songs are also lengthy and heavily produced. I can understand why this would deter many a fan who are used to the punchy attitude of Definately Maybe. But on the other hand I rejoice at the majesty of it all, songs like D'Ya Know What I Mean and especially All Around The World (with it's gradual, epic build-up) sound massive. Stand By Me is another fantastic song, as is the lamenting Don't Go Away. The only poor song that I think of on here is It's Getting Better Man - it just doesn't go anywhere at all.

Be Here Now is alot different to any other album in the Oasis back catalogue and I think this is the reason why I love it so much. A one-off experiment, but a brilliant one at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A long and boring dissappointment, 28 April 2013
This review is from: Be Here Now (Audio CD)
According to the hype at the time, following on from "Whats the Story Morning Glory", 21st August 1997 was the day that the best album ever made was to be released and everyone should remember where they were as a result.
What we had was one of the biggest anti-climax's and let downs in modern musical history. It sounds like Oasis wanted to find a middle ground between the edgy "Definately Maybe" and the softer "Morning Glory" and ended up with something that sounds like it didn't know what to be, that is overlong, tedious and boring.
So, why 2 stars not 1? Well there a couple of not so bad songs on it "Stand By Me" and "The Girl In The Dirty Skirt". Maybe if some of the slightly better songs were moved onto other albums, then individually there maybe some that might grow on you.
Looking at the notes and track list for the 2006 compilation "Stop The Clocks", you note that there are no songs from this album featured and that the album barely gets a mention other than to note that retrospectively Noel felt that the album was rushed. I can't decide if this is an understated, self criticism in the wake of the dissappointment, or pinpoints exactly what went wrong here.
Listening to it the first time in ages, in order to write this review it's not any better than I remember it, not that I could remember a single song from it. Not being able to remember a single song from it probably says all anyone needs to know, if there is anyone out there looking to buy this.
The CD artwork is quite interesting though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cocaine, self-importance and pop culture references., 28 Dec 2006
By 
This review is from: Be Here Now (Audio CD)
You can't blame Oasis for being arrogant in 1997. In 1994, they believed they were the biggest thing to happen to music since Nirvana, and they were probably right. In 1995, they believed they'd made the best second album since Nevermind, and they were probably right. In 1997, they believed that they owned the world, and so should be able to make an album as big, wide, slow and long as the world. And so they did.

There are parts of Be Here Now which are great in their own right; there are parts of it which are forgiveable in their own time; and there are parts of it which, no matter if you had just played Knebworth and sold eight million records, are horrific whether they were released now or ten years ago.

In the first category are the standouts of Be Here Now which remain sorely overlooked when Noel Gallagher came to write a tracklist for the Stop The Clocks compilation this year. Top of that list is 'D'You Know What I Mean,' the opening track, first single, and utter stunner which defines this album and is its standout song. Eight minutes long (that gives you an impression of how long the rest of the album is), most of that consisting of Sergeant Pepper-ish backwards vocals (that album clearly also influenced the cover) and feedback, it rips off the chords from 'Wonderwall' mercilessly but features one of Noel's best guitar solos. It's also - and that includes the rest of this album - the most massive-sounding song Oasis ever wrote and recorded. It is absolutely jaw-dropping. Not nearly as good, but still definitely worth hearing is 'Stand By Me,' a lovely tune moving towards less surealistic lyric writing and more heartfelt balladry.

In the second cateogry are the songs which sounded okay at the time, and - if you're open minded, like myself - are listenable at this point, ridiculous though they are. Among those are the hard-rocker 'My Big Mouth,' an apt song title for the Gallagers if ever there was one, and the Jonny Depp-assisted, swampy 'Fade In/Out.' There's also 'All Around The World,' which at nearly ten minutes in length is far too long, especially its 'Hey Jude'-aping 'na na na' sections; its reprise, on the other hand, instrumental and brief, is perfectly listenable. Finally, you have 'Don't Go Away,' a ballad with syrupy nonsense words, but with a lovely horn section and an oddly sweet vocal by the guttermouthed Liam Gallagher.

In the third category is most of the remaining forty minutes or so, which includes the reprehensible 'It's Gettin' Better (Man!!),' the boring 'Magic Pie,' the worthless 'I Hope, I Think, I Know' and the just plain awful 'Girl In The Dirty Shirt.'

Weighing in at nearly eighty minutes in total, Be Here Now could be a great slim album, but the music is just too weighed down by orchestras and horn sections to really get away with that. It's impossible to break up, but far from perfect in its current form.

What Be Here Now is, above all else, is fascinating, a work of astonishing hubris that set Noel Gallagher back for three years and probably contributed to the eventual departure of guitarist Bonehead and bassist Guigsy. Things got so bad after this album, that Noel let Liam write a song for the next one.

For Oasis fans this album is definitely worth buying for its good moments; it's then worth buying The Masterplan to see how good its b-material was in comparison. For anyone else, buy it to see how one can go way, way, way too far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Massively under rated, 25 May 2006
By 
Mr H (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Be Here Now (Audio CD)
At the time this was released, they could never top Morning Glory so whatever was on this CD was going to be criticised negatively, but its still a very good album nearly 10 years on.

To put things into perspective, Morning Glory is a 6 star masterpiece, this deserves 5.

Best tracks are 1, 4, 6, 8 & 10

Most of the rest are still better than average songs but don't bring the album down in any way.

Sometimes you need the 'very goods' to appreciate the 'greats'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Class!, 21 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Be Here Now (Audio CD)
This is the greatest album that, in my opinion, Oasis have ever made. It is a new era for Rock'n'Roll. There is not a bad track on this album.I have no problem listening to all 70 upwards minutes of this album.Thursday 12th August 1997, a day to remembered forever as being the day when Be Here Now graced the British music scene. If you don't own it, get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality and class, 14 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Be Here Now (Audio CD)
This album was hyped, mass-purchased and then slated, and it's obvious from all the reviews here that my thoughts are not alone. This album was superb when I bought it and it is still brilliant today. From the opening track (D'You Know What I Mean?) to the beautiful reprise of All Around the World at the end, this album has you captivated with it's effect-laden, athemic songs. Noel creates a superb wall of sound on the heavier tracks, which gives the record a powerful feel, and although it is long, it's still a pleasure to listen to. My favourite tracks are My Big Mouth, Girl In The Dirty Shirt and It's Getting Better Man. Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still a very good album, 10 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Be Here Now (Audio CD)
It is a very good album, featuring some belting songs. Just check out "All Around The World" and the simply outstanding "Stand By Me", possibly the best song Oasis have done. Don't believe the press, buy this album and check it out for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great tunes-a different Oasis, 27 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Be Here Now (Audio CD)
People were let down because they were expecting a different Oasis. Wonderwall was well and good, but no band can produce the same type of songs all the time. It would get boring. Don't Go Away and Stand By Me are great ballads(two of their best) but what gives the album character are the high energy songs like the title track-Be Here Now. The Girl Who Wears A Dirty Shirt also packs an additude filled punch-Oasis will never die!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A victimised work of art., 4 Feb 2003
This review is from: Be Here Now (Audio CD)
I remember the release of Be Here Now, surrounded in unbelievable, unprecendented hype, and creating great excitement to millions of music fans worldwide. It followed two of the greatest and best selling albums ever, and so much was expected of it. A situation such as this is almost doomed to disappoint- could any album live up to such hype? I dont think so. However, it was met with a general positive response on August the 26th 1997-launch day- by both the record buying public and the critics. It gained positive reviews in the press, including an 8/10 in the NME. Bare in mind that morning glory only received 7/10 in the same publication. And this success was not down to hype alone-it was an album full of great rock songs. Its getting better man, the title track, and Do you know what i mean? are as good as the rockers from before, say, Some might Say or Supersonic. And songs such as Stand by me and particularly Dont Go Away are amazing songs in the mould of Slide Away and Wonderwall. And this without mentioning the other masterpieces, such as The Girl in the dirty shirt, Fade in-out and the epic no.1 single All around the World. And Liams voice is amazing throughout. It is an album with a completely different sound than the first two Oasis albums but nevertheless another classic. In my opinion it is one of the most uplifting and tuneful records EVER.
However, the music industry had to knock oasis down in typical fashion after building them up, and so began the anti-beherenow backlash. Pathetic. It is a great rock and roll album that completes a great set of oasis' 3 first albums.
Buy it! you wont be dissaponted i promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5e6eec4)

This product

Be Here Now [VINYL]
Be Here Now [VINYL] by Oasis (Vinyl - 2009)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews