Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection
If you're new to collecting northern soul cds this is a great start at a good price. All the tracks are the original recordings and every one a gem. Add this to the 101 Northern Soul Anthems cd and you're a good way to having a superb collection.Right on.
Published on 19 Nov 2009 by T. Woolley

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Soulful but sound quality is very variable
Being a relative newcomer to Northern Soul I picked this up as a wide ranging introduction to the music. Whilst the tracks are great what you should be prepared for is that they are not all perfect examples.

The very nature of CD does reveal every defect in the source material. A lot of these tracks are mono, which is to be expected given their age. What you...
Published on 21 Aug 2012 by Dabbler


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, 19 Nov 2009
By 
T. Woolley "Old Soul Fan" (Nottingham, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - Northern Soul (Audio CD)
If you're new to collecting northern soul cds this is a great start at a good price. All the tracks are the original recordings and every one a gem. Add this to the 101 Northern Soul Anthems cd and you're a good way to having a superb collection.Right on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track List, 27 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. D. Barber "dnb418" (Hertfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Hits - Northern Soul (Audio CD)
Track List
Disc 1
01. Out On The Floor Dobie Gray
02. What Judy Street
03. Moonlight, Music And You Laura Greene
04. The Snake Al Wilson
05. Am I The Same Girl Barbara Acklin
06. Love On A Mountain Top Robert Knight
07. Shake A Tail Feather James & Bobby Purify
08. My Love Keeps Getting Stronger Gloria Edwards
09. If You Can't Say Anything Nice Gia Mateo
10. Love Is After Me Charlie Rich
11. The Who Who Song Jackie Wilson
12. (Blame It) On The Pony Express Johnny Johnson & The Bandwagon
13. I Don't Want To Discuss It Little Richard
14. Don't Pity Me Sue Lynne
15. I'm So Glad I Got You Persuaders
16. Breakin' Down The Walls Of Heartache Bandwagon
17. You're Gonna Make Me Love You Sandi Shelton
18. That's Enough Roscoe Robinson
19. Hold On To My Baby Cavaliers
20. I Don't Want To Talk About It Nancy Ames
Disc 2
01. Band Of Gold Freda Payne
02. Give Me Just A Little More Time Chairmen Of The Board
03. Get The Sweetest Feeling Jackie Wilson
04. Sliced Tomatoes Just Brothers
05. Turn Back The Hands Of Time Tyrone Davis
06. Love Makes A Woman Barbara Acklin
07. That Driving Beat Willie Mitchell
08. Lonely Girl Gloria Edwards
09. Branded Robert Knight
10. You've Got Your Mind On Other Things Beverly Ann
11. I'd Like To Know Sharon Scott
12. I've Gotta Know Right Now Rose Valentine
13. Trying To Find My Woman Lou Courtney
14. A Little Bit Of Something (Beats A Whole Lot Of Nothing Little Richard
15. Mr. Big Shot Gene Chandler
16. I Just Can't Say Goodbye Philly Devotions
17. More Today Than Yesterday Spiral Staircase
18. Honest To Goodness Herb Ward
19. Get It Baby Stanley Mitchell
20. Let Me Come Back Walter Jackson
Disc 3
01. Whispers (Getting Louder Erma Franklin
02. (You've Got Me) Dangling On A String Chairmen Of The Board
03. I Can't Help Loving You Paul Anka
04. Turnin' My Heartbeat Up MVP's
05. Don't Leave Me Al Green & The Soulmates
06. Everybody's Goin' To The Love-In Bob Brady & The Con Chords
07. He's Coming Home Beverly Ann
08. I'll Never Forget You Metros
09. Let Love Come Between Us James & Bobby Purify
10. Look What You've Done To My Heart Shirley & The Shirelles
11. Change Your Ways Willie Kendrick
12. Please Stay Ivories
13. It's Better Sharon Scott
14. I Need You Shane Martin
15. Born A Loser Don Ray
16. Dearly Beloved Jack Montgomery
17. Eternally Charmaines
18. Right Track Billy Butler
19. What's It Gonna Be Susan Barrett
20. Nothing But Heartaches (Keep Haunting Me Artistics
Disc 4
01. I Go To Pieces (Everytime... Gerri Granger
02. Since I Found My Baby Metros
03. Too Darn Soulful Morris Chestnut
04. Save My Love For A Rainy Day Van Dykes
05. I Still Love You Seven Souls
06. Blowing Up My Mind Exciters
07. If You Loved Me Peggy March
08. Black-Eyed Girl Billy Thompson
09. Gotta Find Me A Lover Erma Franklin
10. I'm Just A Man Insiders
11. One Way Ticket Tyrone Davis
12. Have More Time Marvin Smith
13. Walk Like A Man Johnny Moore
14. Burning Touch Of Love Billy Butler
15. Some Things Are Better Left Unsaid Ketty Lester
16. Ain't No Soul (Left In These Old Shoes Major Lance
17. Shing-A-Ling Cooperettes
18. Help Me (Get Myself Back Together Again Spellbinders
19. Gonna Get Along Without You Now Vibrations
20. You Can't Bypass Love Willie Kendrick
Disc 5
01. Crackin' Up Over You Roy Hamilton
02. Soul Time Shirley Ellis
03. Panic Reparata & The Delrons
04. That's What I Want To Know James Carr
05. I'll Always Need You Dean Courtney
06. Hearts Desire Billy Joe Royal
07. I'm Waiting Bill Bush
08. Baby Boy Fred Hughes
09. Just Can't Get Away Montclairs
10. Lucky To Be Loved By You Willie Hutch
11. Cause You're Mine Vibrations
12. That Girl Porgy & The Monarchs
13. Love Uprising Otis Leavill
14. You Don't Want Me No More Major Lance
15. What's That On Your Finger? Kenny Carter
16. I Worship You Baby Glories
17. Purple Haze Johnny Jones
18. Do You Love Me Baby Masqueraders
19. Time Will Pass You By Tobi Legend
20. Long After Tonight Is Over Jimmy Radcliffe

A value for money 5 CD compilation at less than £10 !! If you enjoy 60's and 70's soul, you'll enjoy this box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great value introduction to Northern Soul, 27 Aug 2010
This review is from: 100 Hits - Northern Soul (Audio CD)
5 cd compilation of both well known classics and lesser known artists,excellent addition to any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Northern Soul Introduction, 10 Jan 2012
This review is from: 100 Hits - Northern Soul (Audio CD)
A great box set bought for my partner for Christmas. We knew loads of these tracks already so good to find them in one collection. Would be a great introduction to any youngster / newcomer who is keen to hear Northern Soul.. No real dodgy songs - just solid good stuff here - great for the car or a party!! Keep the faith!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value Excellent Music, 23 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - Northern Soul (Audio CD)
Memories memories this collection brought so many of them back. I would recomend this to anyone to buy
If you have always wanted to know what Northern soul was about this is an excellent first step into a world of music & dance
If you already Know this is certainly worth looking at as some tracks are hard to find on any other albums and at the price I cant see how you can find better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Soulful but sound quality is very variable, 21 Aug 2012
By 
Dabbler (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - Northern Soul (Audio CD)
Being a relative newcomer to Northern Soul I picked this up as a wide ranging introduction to the music. Whilst the tracks are great what you should be prepared for is that they are not all perfect examples.

The very nature of CD does reveal every defect in the source material. A lot of these tracks are mono, which is to be expected given their age. What you should be prepared for is that at least 1 track appears to have been recorded fron vinyl and a couple from older tape masters that have seen better days.

All in all a great introduction now to find some more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 100 Hits: Northern Soul, 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - Northern Soul (Audio CD)
The track listing on the CD's really leaves little more to say, there are a few less bog-standard items on the disks, that tend to turn up on all multi-multitrack northern soul compilations, but this is not a Northern Soul foot tapping compilation. I was a little disappointed, but for the price I paid and the fact that it's all soul, I really can't complain.

Check out the track listing before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album review, 9 April 2010
By 
G. Byrne "Geddi" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Hits - Northern Soul (Audio CD)
FAbulous.

Fewer scratches and not so much 'soul' when hearing music digitally, but all the same an excellent selection of some very rare and common classics from the great NOrthern Soul venues of times gone by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb collection at a superb price - buy it!, 21 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - Northern Soul (Audio CD)
One of the most difficult things about compilations, be they Best Ofs or compilations like this, is that it's easy to carp about what is missing. I do not intend to do that here. Whether you're a Northern Soul aficionado, like me, or a newcomer to the scene wishing to have a sampler, if this doesn't float your boat for a fiver, then I don't know what will.

The thing I love about Northern Soul is that you get tracks from artists who you woudn't think would fit the mould - but they do. On this set, for example, there are tracks from Paul Anka, Charlie Rich, Billy Joe Royal, Ketty Lester and Reparata and The Delrons, among others, but I challenge anyone to say they shouldn't be in this set. Of course, there are some great staples, as you would expect, including Al Wilson's definitive anthem "Do I Love You" (if anyone has an original vinyl copy they don't want, by the way, I'll happily take it off their hands - only joking, they're worth a lot of money!), but this set has gone right to the top five of my all-time best buys. I've shared so many tracks already with my friend Candy in the US that she is now almost as passionate about the genre as I am (she was a Northern Soul virgin before we started exchanging YouTube music). A massive thank you to Demon for bringing this to us at such a great price.

To the uninitiated, buy it, you'll love it. To the hard core fans, this is ideal for having loads of great sounds in one bundle - perfect for the car! Worth a fiver of anyone's hard-earned, IMHO. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHY IS THERE ONLY 5 STARS, 8 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits - Northern Soul (Audio CD)
This cd is absolutely FANTASTIC, bringing back memories of the good times when i was proud to live in that Era. The first track Dobie Gray, was on repeat for 10 plays, as was Judy Street. All original artists, crystal clear sound, all there is left 4 me to say is BUY IT asap.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Hits - Northern Soul
100 Hits - Northern Soul by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews