Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Layout - Better Than I Expected
This game has a new layout to previous Lego games. Rather that the small hub with the all levels contained within in it, this game gives you six "hub worlds" One each for the first three films and three for Crystal Skull. These hub worlds are where you collect your extras or red bricks. For those who have played Lego Harry Potter, these hubs are similar to the Hogwarts...
Published on 30 Jun. 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Crystal Skull than Raiders of the Lost Ark - if you know what i mean................
This is the follow up to Lego Indiana Jones : The Original Adventures and although the developers have tried to change/update some of the ideas in their previous Lego games (Star Wars - both trilogies, the original Indiana Jones and Lego Batman) they don't necessarily improve on what has gone before.
Firstly, the hub areas have changed dramatically. They are vast...
Published on 30 Dec. 2009 by Mr. S. W. Steel


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Crystal Skull than Raiders of the Lost Ark - if you know what i mean................, 30 Dec. 2009
By 
Mr. S. W. Steel "stephensteel" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Indiana Jones 2: The Adventure Continues (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is the follow up to Lego Indiana Jones : The Original Adventures and although the developers have tried to change/update some of the ideas in their previous Lego games (Star Wars - both trilogies, the original Indiana Jones and Lego Batman) they don't necessarily improve on what has gone before.
Firstly, the hub areas have changed dramatically. They are vast areas that have the main storyline levels within them, but also mini levels within them which can only be unlocked by purchasing extra characters that have the means to open these levels up i.e. if you need a shovel character, you are going to have to buy this character from another area/ level. This sounds okay so far, but unlike the other Lego games, the free play function has been removed, so you have to physically locate the character you need to use. On the new, sprawling hub set up this is a real pain after a while, especially when you need two specialist characters to complete a level. You end up having to remember where each character originates, go and collect them and then go and find the other. After a while, this grates quite a bit, and i can see some of the younger gamers finding this too difficult, or just too awkward to do.
If this sounds annoying, then there is worse to come. The actual levels are really short. The main storyline levels for each hubs are all quite short, and the bonus levels are basically contained within a single room and are even shorter! The Crystal Skull film has three hubs, the Raiders of the Lost Ark has another, Temple of Doom has one too, and so does the Last Crusade. And a final hub contains the level creator. But comparing this to the other games that have followed it, this game is really short, and if you were playing the main storylines of each hub you would be looking at a really short playing time. Even if you want to complete everything and get all the Xbox 360 achievements, then it won't take you long at all.
Other irritants include the removal of the mini-kits within the levels, to be replaced by hunting for 10 each of three different coloured bricks (red, blue and green) which unlocks the extras to give you invincibility, stud multipliers etc....
There are now golden chests that have to be collected within the mini-levels within the hubs. Once these ten chests have been collected, they unlock a Lego City (like in the previous games) but again these City levels are really bland and not at all challenging, unlike their previous incarnations.
There seem to be more glitches and bugs in this game too. Invisible walls are pretty common, and the worst one i came across was unlocking a treasure chest in a mini level - i had to go online to find out why this unlocked treasure chest wasn't being accessed in the area where i was trying to access the Lego City for that hub. And there was no real reason for it!! That was really annoying.
Finally, the level creator.... it is okay as far as it goes, but i didn't spend much time in it, and because the main game was so short, i didn't really feel obliged to spend any more effort on it. I just wanted to finish the stories, and achievements and move on to my next game!
Oh, and the driving levels are just too long and too similar to each other. Every time i had to play a level to get all the extras i could feel my life draining away - Indiana Jones should be more about puzzles than driving!
It doesn't sound too great does it? But it does have a few saving graces. The humour is still there, the puzzles are still there (though some are so simple it is almost insulting!), the characters are all there to be earnt (there are some nice hidden ones too) and of course the music is still great! And the issue of the hub levels is something i got into more as the game went on, and as i got my head around what the developers were trying to do. I think the idea is a good one, but needs a bit more thought and development.
But the biggest fault is the length of the levels, and i wouldn't buy this game at full price - it feels like a bolt on to the original game, rather than a game in it's own right.
There is the next Lego game out in 2010 based on the Harry Potter books, and i hope that game will improve on this one in a more substantial way. Normally, i would immediately go out and buy a Lego game, but this time i will be less confident of what i am getting and that is such a shame as i really loved all the previous games: particularly the Batman game. Comparing that game with this one, definitely shows a slip in quality.
It isn't a dreadful game by any means, but is not a patch on the other entries in the series, and unlike the other games, i was glad to finish this and move on to another game.
Who would i recommend this to? Well, anyone who loved the other games, will like this, and obviously it is good for a younger audience (the endless traipsing through the hubs to find a character may put them off ) but if you are a newcomer - don't buy this! Start with the Batman or Star Wars Lego games.
I was disappointed with this game, and it is merely average compared to the other games. I would try and rent this before buying if you haven't played a Lego game before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Layout - Better Than I Expected, 30 Jun. 2010
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Indiana Jones 2: The Adventure Continues (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game has a new layout to previous Lego games. Rather that the small hub with the all levels contained within in it, this game gives you six "hub worlds" One each for the first three films and three for Crystal Skull. These hub worlds are where you collect your extras or red bricks. For those who have played Lego Harry Potter, these hubs are similar to the Hogwarts hub in that game. I for one rather like this new layout.

The story levels for the first three films are new levels, not copies or re-hashes of the levels from the first Lego Indiana Jones, so it is a seperate game.

Also, for those of you who care, it is also a fairly easy 1000G on Xbox 360, with about 675G coming from just playing the game towards 100% (excluding 100% achievement)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!!, 23 Nov. 2009
By 
Mrs. E. J. Gell "Emma G" (Northants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Indiana Jones 2: The Adventure Continues (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As a family we have always loved the lego games and this one certainly has not dissapointed so far. It has kept the with the original basic idea that we all love with the Lego games but has added some new ideas. I absolutly love the split screen mode in multi-player, which has stopped my two aged 10 and 6 arguing, as one always had to wait for the other!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Indiana Jones 2: The Adventure Continues (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Grand-daughter liked this very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lego Indiana Jones 2, 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Indiana Jones 2: The Adventure Continues (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The Grand-children love this they have hours of fun, and so much to do and find, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This game is brilliant!, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Indiana Jones 2: The Adventure Continues (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
My 7 year old son and his Dad love it as you get to drive around in all the vehicles and use the different characters abilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lego Indy 2, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Indiana Jones 2: The Adventure Continues (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Great game for the kids hours of fun enjoyed by the adults as well one of the best Lego games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great fun, 11 April 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Indiana Jones 2: The Adventure Continues (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
My son got this for his birthday from his baby sister. He had played my partners game in the ps3 and enjoyed it. So he got the xbox version and now plays it with his older brother. Well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic lego and up to their usual high standards!, 30 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Indiana Jones 2: The Adventure Continues (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As I have found with all the Lego games, they are fun, adventurous, witty and good value for money as they tend to be pretty long games. Plenty for all the family and of all ages. Delivered on time and in good condition. Well earned 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You can always rely on Lego, 10 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Indiana Jones 2: The Adventure Continues (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
My son and I have had hours of fun with this one. I've finally got him interested in looking at the side missions. This is a great game and lots of fun. I especially like the comical tongue in cheek clips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LEGO Indiana Jones 2: The Adventure Continues (Xbox 360)
£14.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews