Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best cricket game out in the market, by far.
Well, what can i say. Ashes 09 is great fun, brilliant graphics/gameplay. Anyone who loves cricket will enjoy this latest release from codemasters. 10 out of 10! Best game availabe in comparison to other EA or recent codemaster releases like brian lara so etc.. Don't waste time deciding on little things, purchase it and experience it for youself.
Published on 10 Sept. 2009 by Umar L. Lone

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not always based on reality
Unfortunately, when playing tests especially, the run rates are unrealistic. Playing a test match, with a total of 1020 runs in the test, was finished before lunch on the second day. In one day formats, it makes no difference where you pitch the ball, once the CPU decides its time to hit, every ball can sail for 4 or 6 in whatever area (how a full pitched ball outside the...
Published on 24 Aug. 2010 by Gary Randell Fraser


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not always based on reality, 24 Aug. 2010
By 
Gary Randell Fraser (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ashes Cricket 09 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Unfortunately, when playing tests especially, the run rates are unrealistic. Playing a test match, with a total of 1020 runs in the test, was finished before lunch on the second day. In one day formats, it makes no difference where you pitch the ball, once the CPU decides its time to hit, every ball can sail for 4 or 6 in whatever area (how a full pitched ball outside the off stump can sail over a very fine leg with a on drive is beyond me). I'd hoped for more, given that gaming technology is improving all the time, but I see this as a step back in some aspects from EA Cricket, but then the batting model is easier, which is a definite step forward.

A little more realism and context is required if they're going to continue producing this game, and for god sakes, get the rights to things like the names (and get the statistics right, someone taking 40 wickets with 1500 runs does NOT have an average of 19!!!!)

It's not a bad short-term game, and probably good for those who hate bowling, but if you're a cricket "purist", don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best cricket game out in the market, by far., 10 Sept. 2009
By 
Umar L. Lone "Wildcard 11" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ashes Cricket 09 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Well, what can i say. Ashes 09 is great fun, brilliant graphics/gameplay. Anyone who loves cricket will enjoy this latest release from codemasters. 10 out of 10! Best game availabe in comparison to other EA or recent codemaster releases like brian lara so etc.. Don't waste time deciding on little things, purchase it and experience it for youself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aaaaammmmaaaaaazzzzzzinnnnnngggggggg, 20 July 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashes Cricket 09 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This is the best cricket game of all time I the game 2days ago and I have completed 1level of catching 1level of bowling and1level of batting. So far my personal opinion of this game is a brilliant game all round with runs being scored at fast rates in my very first innings I scored 22 runs yes I was bowled out in 5.6 overs but it shows that the controls are decent witch is better than some apps where you can work out how to play them and get a double hatrick! The game is quit realistic not just in graphics and commentary but as in it is it hard to not to bowl no balls an get seam movement . I created myself and I look like myself, their are so many things to edit from the kit to player names you can play different tournemens to just the ashes plus it makes you acheive things to get bats and stadiums. Lastly you can replicate historic balls and turning points. Overall buy it or you will regret it it is well worth the mony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall a pretty good game, 11 Feb. 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ashes Cricket 09 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I think this is probably the best attempt at a cricket game for a long while. The Ashes mode is good, as is the legends part. I like the fact that there are unlockable items and trophies; it keeps you playing and trying to beat actual test records. I'd have to say that I prefer the classic Brian Lara Cricket for PS, but this is probably the next best one, and at a low price it's a bit of a bargain.
Overall I'd say if you want a modern, fun and update to date cricketing game then this is not a bad choice at all. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent attempt, 9 Aug. 2009
By 
R DIXON (Blackheath, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ashes Cricket 09 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
A pretty decent attempt at a game with enough difficulty (at the "normal" level) to really have to concentrate to get it right. Slightly concerned at how profligate the bowlers can be at Test level for fractional errors, and the number of run-outs due to dodgy AI may start to irk the purist (I had 3 in the first innings of my Test match when bowling) but it's presented nicely, the animations are OK and the game is good. I get the impression that there may be less lbws and bowled than actually happen in reality.

Still - it's the best cricket simulation I've seen - largely as most of them so far have been pretty average. I'd given it 3.5/5 if I could !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not compatible with Windows 7, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashes Cricket 09 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
One of the main issues i faced with game was that it wasn't compatible with Windows 7 OS. After installing the game it seemed to open the game, but the gameplay would stop after first ball of the over was bowled. Thus it led to the game crashing every single time. Also there were security (i.e. Firewall issues). Finally, it cumulated to the game actually crashing the RAM of my laptop (i.e. the computer was dumping the Memory).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cricket, 13 Sept. 2009
By 
Juan McGuinness "Rhumsaa" (Ellan Vannin) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashes Cricket 09 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Initially I really quite enjoyed this game however after a few short hours of play I became intensely annoyed with the difficulty swing between whupping kenya and getting bent over by the aussies.

My main gripe however is the inability to save the game mid test match which resulted in the PC being left on overnight.

All in all it is great if you love cricket but not great if you have a passing interest and want some fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than its wii sister game, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashes Cricket 09 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I already have the wii version of this game and it isn't great. This however is far better. For starters you can edit the teams and squads for various formats.There are more teams, grounds, playersand options that you can play around with. The grounds also play like the real ones. Kolkata is a spinners paradise, Harare is for batters and Brisbane is a fatal seamers wicket. Also there is actually a point to this game. You can unlock things when you achive world record high scores or bowling figures. The game is also actually challenging. Easy mode is just that, but normal and hard are genuinely difficult. this makes he game more addictive. The only bad point of the game is that you cannot update the england or australia teams. But this is just a small fish in a big lake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!!!!, 17 Aug. 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ashes Cricket 09 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
So I bought this the other day and have to admit - fantastic game. Trust me, I have been playing nearly (nearly?! probably all!) the cricket games since 1997 (I even played Graham Gooch Cricket on the Amiga when I was about 12). This games cracks the whip out of all of them.

Not only are the graphics great but the play is brilliant. Finally, a game that knows how to play the great game - you can't (shouldent) go in and slog the first ball for 6 as you have reached "confidence" yet. Only problem is that I have noticed the confidence can be reached pretty quickly (although it can also go down with a number of dot balls etc).

No more mouse + keyboard stuff - this game is totally keyboard based - EVERYTHING - even the menu board........and it works perfectly.

Read a few reviews on the Wii and noticed you can only play Eng and Australia I think - this PC version lets you play anyone. It even had a theme for your team....brilliant!

The tutorials are great and Botham teachs good :-) It even has a "advanced tutorial".

Advantages:

1. No more rubbish dot ball and the fielder running in and passing it to the wicket keeper? What the heck was that all about?!

2. The ball mover is now easy to pin point onto the pitch.

3. You can play any format and any length of the game. Tes match/50 over and 20 over.

4. If you are a cricket nut like me and love the test matches (132 off 389 balls kind of guy :-) ) then this game is perfect.

5. spin blowing is a breeze. Warny is the best coach.

6. Played Hoggard and he bowled me a spell of 8-1-43-2 - classic. How that was a positive then only the old timers will know.

Problems:

1. The commentary is again robot like and should have done more.

2. Maybe my PC but for some reason it took ages to load. Checked the CPU (dual-core) and it was using 99% for about 30secs before loading the actual game.

3. Names are not of the REAL players - have no idea if you can change them.

In conclusion - buy the game and enjoy it! Nothing out there beats it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ashes 2013 cancelled, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ashes Cricket 09 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
waited for ashes 2013 to arrive,finally the item was cancelled owing to problems with it.Bought 2009 instead and havent been dissapointed,very addictive,cannot wait for a newer version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ashes Cricket 09 (PC DVD)
Ashes Cricket 09 (PC DVD) by Codemasters Limited (Windows XP)
Used & New from: £4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews