Customer Reviews


208 Reviews
5 star:
 (154)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead Mans Shoes
I watched this film last night - for the umpteenth time and still found it almost as good as the first time. There are some segments that have the effect of stunning you when you first see them, but they are still incredibly powerful at the 20th time of viewing.
I can only echo the sentiments of other reviewers. In many senses this is minimalistic, stripped down film...
Published on 13 Feb 2006 by R. Fox

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2 Stars for the Blu Ray get the DVD!
This is a fantastic film and a great DVD with a lot of interesting extras. However the Blu Ray is just so disappointing it's untrue. For a start there are no extras, NONE, how does that happen? Had this transfer been done properly some of the sweeping shots of the countryside would have looked breath taking but instead it's no better than the DVD.
It breaks my heart...
Published on 6 April 2010 by Howard Smith


‹ Previous | 119 20 21 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Sep 2014
one of the best brit films ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No subtitles, 26 April 2013
By 
Mr. M. Vallis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Mans Shoes [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I would have loved to have bought this, but there are no subtitles as far as I can make out. A shame if you're deaf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harsh but fair?, 28 Jun 2005
By 
Chris Gummey "Bongohouse" (Zurich Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the ultimate story of revenge. The film is very well acted and produced. It shows you the darker side of the North of England in its surroundings and characters. It is a thought provoking movie - if you want a Romantic Comedy I would not suggest this one. It's on the level of Gangster No.1. What the brother does in this film is very harsh, but perhaps only fair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
gripping
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy the Violence, 10 Feb 2006
By 
Amazon Customer "Scatman Col" (Manchester, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Violence: ***** (good)
Story: **
I enjoyed this film. I watched it when I was really really really tired and even though I wanted to switch it off and get 40 winks, I couldn't. I was hooked. Please see this film, don't be deterred by the involvement of Warp - there's no "tronica" to make you deaf. And you know what they say about "tronica" fans...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A redemptive journey ? Don't think so !, 10 May 2010
By 
Clem Fandango (N Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a rather short nasty brutish film that will surely only appeal to young males who enjoy a bit a gratuitous blood and gore.
You can't deny the power of the film or the quality of the acting.However, to imbue it with some sort of moral significance because the ending is not quite Death Wish is to over state the quality of the writing. It's a revenge movie pure and simple which nevertheless offers some surreal images which are disturbing in their dark comedy. A gang of low life drug dealers driving around in a green and white Citroen 2CV for example! It would work in a black comedy but this film is too nasty to bring in comedy however dark. The 'hero' Paddy Considine and the main gangster character are both brilliantly disturbing but its the overall effect which doesn't work for me.
It can't decide whether its going to be a gore fest, a black comedy, a moral journey and because of this it falls flat it ends up deeply unsatisfying.
Perhaps the people who would get most from it are the very people it portrays...ironic !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Average, 10 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. C. Rice "Kamata" (Surrey Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I cant work out how or why this film is getting such rave reviews.
I actually bought the dvd after my sister saw it on TV and said it was good. (:/) When i bought the dvd i was left feeling slightly disappointed. Its not a bad film, but its very simplistic and clearly created on a budget. The characters are believable, but very dull. Also the feeling of desperation and high tension the film tries to promote in certain scenes, just doesnt come across. The lead performance is excellent, that has to be said. But overall this film is probably worth a rent at best. The cover is cool though!! (2/5) Boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hugely overrated and cruel film, 9 Mar 2010
I find the huge adulation for this film pretty astonishing, as well as a bit scary. I've see most of Shane Meadows films and found them generally good, if often a bit uneven. But Dead Man's Shoes is a very different beast. Basically there are three major things wrong with this film.

The first is the shift from the gritty realism of the earlier scenes, (where everything is naturalistic and entirely believable, if bleak) to the rest of the film, which is a stylised revenge piece and relies on some very improbable plot turns, in particular a bungled attempt to kill Paddy Consadine's character. Also, Paddy's almost supernatural ability to move in and out of peoples houses unnoticed is pretty ridiculous; the explanation for this is that he's been in the army. Well, my brother was in the army too, and all I can say is must have missed that part of the training. We can expect this sort of thing in a Steven Segal film, but Shane Meadows? And the 'twist' at the end is just, well, a twist, and adds nothing to the story or theme.

Secondly, I'm presuming that this film is supposed to be offering us some insight into the nature of revenge? The 'sensitive' acoustic soundtrack and pastoral scenes of the two brothers suggests something more than the usual revenge flick, but if that was the intention it's a complete failure, and is actually more on the level of Death Wish. Consadine is a good actor but his character here remains completely opaque and one-dimensional. He's just a scary blank; the suggestion of his guilt at his own mistreatment of his brother is introduced, but it's too little, too late, and is frankly a shallow bit of pop psychology.

The worst thing about this film though is its complete lack of heart, something I never thought I would say about a Shane Meadows film, which, however gritty and violent they may be at times, are also full of humanity. The film portrays the mistreatment of a young man with special needs; he's teased, tormented verbally and physically, sexually humiliated, threatened with sexual abuse, and subjected to a mock execution, all very convincingly filmed and acted. Why? So that we can enjoy the spectacle of his brother taking revenge on his tormenters, that's why. This catalogue of atrocities is served up to us so we can take pleasure in Consadine's subsequent (and much less believable) own series of atrocities. It's this twisted morality that makes me a bit worried about those that lap this kind of thing up, and makes me wonder how Meadows came to make such a cruel piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 119 20 21 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Mans Shoes [Blu-ray]
Dead Mans Shoes [Blu-ray] by Shane Meadows (Blu-ray - 2009)
£7.70
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews