Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant series
I recall watching this series first time around. I consider it to be one of the best ever TV dramas ever shown and the acting was superb. Lee Remick was outstanding in the title role.
Well worth buying.
Published on 25 Oct 2009 by Mr. Cornelius L. Donovan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated
I missed this when it was originally shown and was swayed by the positive reviews. However, it has not worn that well: the costumes and obvious sets look dated and tend towards theatricality rather than period accuracy. I have watched around half of the series and feel remarkably unenthusiastic about the rest, a pity as it was an interesting and turbulent period and the...
Published 5 months ago by anchorite


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant series, 25 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. Cornelius L. Donovan (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jennie - Lady Randolph Churchill - The Complete Series [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
I recall watching this series first time around. I consider it to be one of the best ever TV dramas ever shown and the acting was superb. Lee Remick was outstanding in the title role.
Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TOUR DE FORCE, 11 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jennie - Lady Randolph Churchill - The Complete Series [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
The 1974 award-winning seven-part television series telling the story of American socialite Jennie, mother of Winston. Here was one who positively sparkled, captivating all - except for the Duchess of Marlborough, whose Randolph she agreed to marry after only three days' acquaintance. Jennie was convinced he would become Prime Minister, but his political career fell apart because of arrogance and syphilis. From now on her hopes would centre on her son....

An indefatigable campaigner with many interests, Jennie seemed to cram about three lives into one - amongst other things organizing a hospital ship to help in the Boer War, dispensing refreshments to First World War troops as they set off to fight. Oh, and there were two more husbands of about Winston's age.

Such a role requires a fine actress. Lee Remick is brilliant - effervescent and a delight all the way through. Ronald Pickup impresses once his character grows older (not that he was to live very long). The great surprise is Warren Clarke as Winston, a part far removed from his later more earthy portrayals. Not exactly convincing as Winston at sixteen, he thereafter forever gains in stature, the performance one of the series' highlights. Other pleasures include Rachel Kempson as the disapproving Duchess, Thorley Walters as the Prince of Wales, Patrick Troughton as Disraeli (voice very Fagin-like), Sian Phillips as the outrageous Mrs. Patrick Campbell.

Visually the series has much going for it, some scenes filmed in Blenheim Palace itself. The music soundtrack is occasionally ragged, showing signs of age. Although perhaps not in the premier league of television costume dramas, this is well worth watching for its dazzling central performance. Appropriately in view of the subject, a veritable tour de force.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Before Time..., 4 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jennie - Lady Randolph Churchill - The Complete Series [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
I remember watching this as a 10 year old and being absolutely spellbound. Although much of the class structure of those years I obviously didn't understand the acting of the wonderful, and criminally underrated Lee Remick (sadly no longer with us)in the title role, and the remarkable perforance of Ronald Pickup as Churchill's syphillitic father Randolph were enough.

I remember having a heartbreaking crush on Lee Remick for years after and often looking for the DVD version, which I've only just found out is now available. Thank you Network for finally releasing what I believe to be the finest costume drama of the 70s.

Also, this is beautifully scored by Andre Previn. Bravo all round!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jennie - Lady Randolph Churchill - The Complete Series [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
I missed this when it was originally shown and was swayed by the positive reviews. However, it has not worn that well: the costumes and obvious sets look dated and tend towards theatricality rather than period accuracy. I have watched around half of the series and feel remarkably unenthusiastic about the rest, a pity as it was an interesting and turbulent period and the Churchills were a fascinating family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jennie - very satisfying!, 11 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jennie - Lady Randolph Churchill - The Complete Series [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
When, nowadays, the term 'Drama' usually refers to a plethora of 'Soaps', violent crime series and productions such as Downton Abbey (which I tend to classify as 'DOWN-TOWN ABORTION') the current production of Parade's End is a breath of fresh air - harking back, as it does, to the standards of such series as JENNIE - LADY RANDOLPH CHURCHILL. The latter two productions display the writing/production QUALITY of which TV drama is really capable, and I'd guess that the excellent actors involved in Downton would view them and think, "Oooh, I wish....!
If you understand what I'm talking about, then I'm sure that you will find that purchasing JENNIE is money very-well-spent. Who cares if it tends to view the lady 'through rose-tinted spectacles.' Enjoy it as high class entertainment - and then read a biography, if you are really curious about the grittier side of her character. (And, particularly, enjoy the performance of an actor whom I always thought deserved a much higher profile.....Patrick Troughton as Disaeli.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great performance by Lee Remick as Winston Churchill's mother. Sadly no subtitles for hard of hearing., 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jennie - Lady Randolph Churchill - The Complete Series [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
An interesting series concentrating on the life of Winston Churchill's American mother before and after the death of his father Randolph Churchill. Lee Remick's acting is superb as her portrayal passes through the stages of young bride of a rising politician, coping with her husband's death from syphilis and elder society woman struggling to keep her social position with insufficient family fortune to support it. Many other good performances from the roster of well known actors active when the series was made. One of the better productions for ITV. Sadly no subtitles for the hearing impaired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars miscast and short on charisma and wit, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jennie - Lady Randolph Churchill - The Complete Series [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
Jennie was a society beauty with serious wit, charm and ambition. She married a duke's son, inspired the undying love of a count, followed it up with marriages to two much younger wealthy men, made connections throughout the upper echelons of society which supported the establishment of her son's political career and ultimately was the mother of one of our greatest prime ministers. This was always going to be a difficult role to cast but essential to get right. One needs to make allowances, because charisma is a difficult thing to find, but I am afraid Lee Remick really not cut it for me and as a consequence the script and story became increasingly laughable, and out of sync with what could be seen on the screen. The woman on the screen was ordinary in the extreme and became increasingly more ordinary as she aged. Sadly for Lee she was cast beside Sian Phillips who acted her off the stage for the short time that she was there. Unlike Lee, Sian was seriously charismatic and I fully understood why Jennie's husband dumped her.
Other poor casting - Ronald Pickup who came across as a bit of a boor. It was hard to believe he was potential prime minister material. Warren Clarke - laughable as a young Churchill talking about his toy soldiers with his father (why didn't they find a child or teenager for this?). He did improve when he was able to act his age.
Good casting - Christopher Casanove as a toyboy husband and Jeremy Brett as a very attractive count (one wondered why Jennie stuck with her husband with this wonderful man around).
Other comments
The costumes were excellent and the serial was shot on location at times. The script was adequate rather than good.
Management of the passing of time was very poorly handled so I got disoriented sometimes and I found myself trying to estimate how much time must have passed and how old the characters must have been. This was annoying after a while.
Provision of historical context to understand what was going on around Jennie eg Churchill getting booted out of office because of Gallipoli - very skimpy so the viewer learns nothing.
Overall, I would say not very good, and a bit of a waste of time. All I got out of it was an image of a rather unappealing person who liked expensive clothes and could not manage money. Not impressive and I could not have told you at the end of the show why it was important to make a programme about such a woman. Jennie deserved better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jennie, Lady Randolph Churchill., 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jennie - Lady Randolph Churchill - The Complete Series [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
A stunningly produced film, with a host of fine British actors. Sumptuous settings and splendid costumes. Arrived promptly and well-packaged. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely film, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jennie - Lady Randolph Churchill - The Complete Series [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
I loved this dvd and have loaned it to all my relatives. It was a very gripping story right to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 26 Sep 2013
By 
B. Lazare (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jennie - Lady Randolph Churchill - The Complete Series [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
Great series - well acted and produced, with insight into the human nature of the historic persons involved. Well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jennie - Lady Randolph Churchill - The Complete Series [DVD] [1974]
8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews