Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dazed and confused.
I read this book and felt a little dazed and confused afterwards. Is this what it feels like to be inside Forrest Griffin's head?I get the feeling that reading this book may be just like having a conversation with Forrest himself,rambling,at times interesting,other times confusing but always funny.If you want to get the most out of this book read between the lines.But if...
Published on 29 Jun. 2009 by hong kong phooey

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring...opinionated...rubbish.....etc
What a terrible book, just a long brag about how tough he thinks he is and how pleased he is that he can do things like crushing beer cans on his head.
Doesnt offer anything insightful, wont improve your life or your understanding of the nature of being except as an example of what the human race is best off moving away from.
Has nothing to do with zen and is...
Published 13 months ago by alex d


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dazed and confused., 29 Jun. 2009
I read this book and felt a little dazed and confused afterwards. Is this what it feels like to be inside Forrest Griffin's head?I get the feeling that reading this book may be just like having a conversation with Forrest himself,rambling,at times interesting,other times confusing but always funny.If you want to get the most out of this book read between the lines.But if you don't want to go that deep then just enjoy spending some hours in the company of a modest,unassuming and friendly guy who also happens to be one of the best mma fighters around.I should also warn you he is mad.Honestly the guy is on another planet.If Forrest wants to psyche out any of his future opponents I suggest he just gives them a copy of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, very un-PC guide to cage fighting by a former champ, 8 Jun. 2012
By 
Paul Bowes (Wales, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
'Got Fight?''s preferred original title was 'Who Moved My Nose?', but Forrest Griffin's editor prevailed: which I think is a shame, because that title conveys the author's attitude and sense of humour rather better than the final choice.

This book should be avoided by persons not interested in Mixed Martial Arts, Ultimate Fighting, cage fighting, street fighting, masochism, sadism, vulgar language, or extremely un-PC jokes about women, the cruder bodily functions, and man love. The author sets out his stall from the beginning: are you man enough to be allowed to read his book? - a test that even his female readers must take. There follows an uninhibited account of a fighter's life from the inside and sweatily close-up-and-personal.

I strongly suggest that you read a few sample pages to see whether Forrest's style of humour - as conveyed in no-holds-barred manner by his co-author, Erich Krauss - is for you. If it is, you may find this one of the funniest short books on a sporting subject you've read recently. In addition, you will pick up all sorts of useful information about manly behaviour, with illustrations gleaned from Forrest's own life, and even some tips on actual fighting techniques, most of which are best contemplated from the comfort of an armchair with beer in hand. Above all else, you will be equipped to decide whether you too have what it takes in dedication, technique, high pain threshold and sheer craziness to step into the Octagon.

The most frightening thing in the book is the information that before he dedicated his life to rearranging the limbs and facial features of others, Mr. Griffin used to be a cop. His life story so far is thus either inspirational, or a warning to the curious.

The interested reader should note that in spite of its subtitle the book does not offer fifty principles of anything and has nothing to do with zen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect!, 5 Dec. 2010
By 
Ian Mchugh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
From the viewpoint of a long-time martial arts enthusiast, as well as a huge MMA fan, this is one of the most intriguing books I've had the pleasure to read in a long time. Forrest is simply hilarious. Recalling a variety of incidents from all throughout his life, many of these pages had me in stitches.

There's plenty here for the MMA lover, Forrest goes in depth about his methods of cutting weight before fights, his training regimen, and various other aspects of his life as a fighter. But for the individual who could care less about MMA, there's plenty of insights into the way Forrest leads his life, his philosophies on working hard, and never giving up. You can't help but learn to love him.

My only issue is that the book is a fairly quick read. At just 190 pages (the last 55 of which are filled with more diagrams than words) any mildly enthusiastic reader will fly through this. I would have loved to have heard more about Forrest's crazy life, how he worked his way up from the bottom, perhaps some more about his life as a cop.

Overall there's alot to love about Forrest, unfortunately there's only a medium amount of that in this -otherwise excellent- book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Funny and Entertaining Read, 4 Jun. 2010
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book falls somewhere between and guide to life and tips for those wanting to take their fighting a little more seriously and move from sparring into proper ring or cage fights.
Peppered with hints, tips, advice, philosophies, life stories, insights and lesson learned the hard way (that can be applied to life inside and outside the ring) it makes for an entertaining, informative and at times down-right hysterical read. You can also add scary to the list - because it quickly becomes apparent that Forrest is one sandwich short of a pic-nic... but then I guess you knew that, and that's why we love him. In it you'll find his views on dating, getting into clubs, diet, how to approach training and all manor of random subjects which seems to work well to convey Forrest's bonkers personality and give a refreshing take on the usual biographies or fight manuals fighters usually churn out - as I said before, this falls somewhere in between the too.
This book would be a good read even if you didn't like fighting I think - although there are parts that focus solely on the subject (like how to choose the right gym and corner team for you, which might seem irrelevant to most), but it's still written in way that is witty and enjoyable. One thing i would say - the editor should have listened more to what Griffin had to say - time after time there were footnotes saying (I wanted to put this but the editor made me change it to this) and every time I thought - Yup Forrest you were right, that's much better, funnier etc. Take what he originally wanted to call the book for instance: "Who moved my nose?"... Much funnier in my opinion and much more in keeping with the rest of the book.
I lost count of the number of quotes or anecdotes like the "title change" above I was going to mention in this review, so probably won't put anymore in - read the Amazon description lifted directly from the books inside cover - the book is basically written in that style... If you find that funny, you'll find this book funny. The stories about him (which I assume are his child hood buddies recounting memories and stories past) don't so much as give you any insight into Forrest's mind, as make you think - OMG this guy is bonkers. You can't get any insight into a mind like this. It's beyond relating too. It's borderline he should be sectioned really. I read the book in 2 days and enjoyed it - I think you will too - especially if you have an interest in UFC, Fighting, or Forrest Griffin... One thing I would say too is - don't forget to buy the paper back. I thought it only came in hardback so ended up paying more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and Helpful, 31 July 2009
When i purchased this book i expected to find it like the other UFC fighters books - a chronological run down of their lives in and out of the cage. However, i was very surprised at what this book turned out to be. I was not disappointed, as Forrest gives us his theories on numerous topics and has produced a kind of self help guide to life and to fighting. The book is set out in easy to read sections with a lot of funny stories about Forrest and his friends. It also gives us his theories on how to cope with day to day things by using his humerous personality. I would recommend this book for UFC fans and for anyone who would like a good laugh and to be given down to earth advice on dealing with life's ups and downs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A highly entertaining read., 15 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Forrest Griffin isnt the best fighter in the world, hes not the most intellegent, hes not even the best looking - all things that Forrest would and even does admit in this book. Griffin however may just be the funniest and perhaps the craziest fighter in the world.

First of all this book is not really a biography or a training manual. In fairness it is kind of difficult to catagorise exactly what it is youre holding in your hands here, but what is beyond a doubt is that its a very entertaining, funny and frequently baffling read.

From the acknowledgements on the back of the book (such as UFC legend Chuck Liddells testament that Forrest must have eaten lead paint as a kid and that reading this book will only make you dumber),to the 'manliness' quiz that all readers must pass before even being given permission by forrest to read the book (where you will find out exactly what Forrest whispered into the ear of Dan Severn during his professional MMA debut!), to the instructional section of the book (which includes such dubious gems as the 'Asian dart'), to the insight into Forrests philosophies on life and fighting (for example pre-fight abstainence is simply denying yourself sex that you could be having), to the life of the man himself and all the crazy stuff hes got up to (such as training MMA drunk to simulate defending himself if he got jumped on the way home from the bar), the whole thing is just funny...and kind of worrying...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got fight?, 29 Aug. 2010
By 
S. o'brien - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a suprise i was expecting a book on a MMA fighter's life in and out of the cage instead i get a book on Forrest Griffin's thoughts on life and a few simple moves to use if the situation demands it, very funny and refreshing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Got Fight" is brilliant!, 12 Mar. 2011
By 
M. Kearney (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm a big fan of mma and so had seen Forrest Griffin several times before I came across this book. He always came across as an intelligent, witty, darkly funny and self deprecating individual - and that's exactly how he comes across in this book.

The book is a biography come manual for life, and is written as though Forrest was telling you these stories himself over a beer - not reading them in a book. The book is very interesting and always funny.

I would highly recommend this book to everyone looking for a bit of enjoyable, funny, light reading. But would particularly recommend it to UFC/ Forrest Griffin fans - he's just as funny and brilliant as he is in his interviews in real life, only this time it's like a conversation with him that goes on for a few hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gotfight, 12 July 2009
By 
J. A. Webster (Leicester,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am one of the three women forrest said would buy his book,this book is also for people who appreciate forrests good humour and not just his fighting skills. I read it from cover to cover in one day, but now I dip into any random page from time to time and it just makes me smile,great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want a good laugh, read this, 4 July 2009
By 
Martin Wright "wrighty15" (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book really wasnt what I expected, instead of being your bog standard autobiography, forrests main topic is how to be a man and examples of how manly he is. Im not lying when I say that at times I was literally crying with laughter.

Of course though many of his jokes are fight related so if you know nothing about mixed martial arts you may find that you have no clue what he is talking about.

On the whole I highly recommend this book even if you arent a fan of Forrests, or indeed MMA!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews