Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pushing the Limits.
I have often stared up, and occasionally down, some pretty awesome slopes in the Alps. It is pretty hairy just being on the edge, but the thought of throwing yourself down them on just a pair of skis simply beggars belief. The thought came to me that you must either have supreme confidence in your ability, or an almost insane disregard for your own safety to undertake...
Published on 26 July 2010 by Bob Salter

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
A bit 80s for me
Published 3 months ago by Just me


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pushing the Limits., 26 July 2010
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Steep [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I have often stared up, and occasionally down, some pretty awesome slopes in the Alps. It is pretty hairy just being on the edge, but the thought of throwing yourself down them on just a pair of skis simply beggars belief. The thought came to me that you must either have supreme confidence in your ability, or an almost insane disregard for your own safety to undertake such a venture. But of course the world is full of such adrenalin junkies, the most extreme of which continually push the boundaries of what is achievable.

These types are personified by Bill Briggs, who was the first man to undertake such a venture when he decided to ski down the Grand Teton in the early seventies. No one believed him until they saw his ski tracks impossibly weaving down the mountain. This tradition was followed by others who are interviewed in this documentary. There is some incredible accompanying footage of their exploits. One daredevil skiing straight off the Col Du Midi, a place I know quite well. But as with all sports, someone sets new standards of excellence, like a Bob Beamon or a Usain Bolt, but sooner or later some freak of nature will come along and rewrite the records. Such is the case with extreme skiing as this film demonstrates. We see the likes of Doug Coombs taking on the immense pristine Alaskan mountains, the home of the extreme skiing world championships. We see other enthusiasts pushing the limits in my favourite resort Chamonix, home of the big ones.

When in Norway some years ago I spoke to my glacier guide who was an oldish guy in his sixties. He informed me that he did an awful lot of skiing in the winter. When I mentioned there did not seem to be many lifts in the area, he laughed and informed me you simply climbed a mountain and skied down it. This is undoubtedly the purest way to ski, and the film ends with Andrew McLean who is the most extreme exponent of this sport, going to such far away places as Patagonia and Iceland. There is not a helicopter or lift in sight. If you can't climb the mountain, you don't get to ski it, simple as that. But perhaps most importantly the documentary does not shy away from the costs of such risk taking. Doug Coombs who died in an avalanche in 2006, speaks like a ghost from the grave. His widow sums it up when she says "Sometimes the mountains can just swallow you up". The average person might quite sanely ask "Is it really worth it". I believe it has always been mans destiny to continually push the boundaries. Without such men we would never have conquered the air, and eventually sent men to the moon. To live life without any risk at all, is not to have lived. This is a fascinating documentary about these pathfinders with some breathtaking action. It is a snip at the time of this review, and a bargain for anyone interested in extreme skiing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steep, 6 July 2009
By 
I. Berry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The best ski movie I have ever seen. No silly soundtracks, no inane interviews - just amazing skiing and a wonderful mini history of the extreme, told by some of the people involved. The sections in Chamonix and Alaska are breathtaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be blown away!, 16 Feb. 2010
By 
Bugsy Malone (Dronfield, Derbys.) - See all my reviews
First of all, I bought the DVD because of the Greg Stump film "Blizzard of Aahhhs." I used to own another Greg Stump film, "Maltese Flamingo," on VHS. Not having a video player these days, I decided to try and acquire a copy on DVD. This proved impossible, but an internet search for the "Maltese Flamingo" soundtrack led me to the "Blizzard of Aahhhs" which, because it was bundled with "Steep," represented, I felt, absolutely brilliant value for money!
"Steep" is an astounding documentary, made nearly twenty years after the "Blizzard of Aahhhs." Whilst it is also a film about extreme skiing, it focuses more on the people involved rather than the skiing itself. That is not to say it there is no action. The filming techniques employed give, at times, astonishing viewing angles and the photography is superb - frequently breathtaking. Co-incidentally, the documentary features interviews with some of the participants in the "Blizzard of Aahhhs" - the skiers Glen Plake and Mike Hattrupp and the filmmaker, Greg Stump, himself.
Some might regard "Blizzard of Aahhhs" as a movie of its time - that is for those individuals to decide for themselves. In the documentary "Steep," the "Blizzard of Aahhhs" is described as "the most influential American ski film of all time." For me it evoked memories of a previous era. The soundtrack, particularly, enhances the images of the extreme skiing captured on film. Even my daughters, who were not even born at the time this film was made, were captivated by the images (and even by some of the soundtrack). For those of us who were around at that time, this is another wonderful reminder of the astonishing enjoyment to be had from merely cruising the European snowfields. For those of us without the talent or expertise to undertake extreme sports, this is the best way to experience the vicarious pleasures of the extreme aspects of the sport rather than attempting to personally indulge in the super-adrenaline antics of the film's participants!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must see for any Big Mountain ski fans!!!, 13 May 2009
By 
Daniel Clay "Dan" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Steep is a must see for any Big Mountain ski fans!
I found it utterly inspiring, from the amazing camera work to the unbelievable level of skiing, it made my hair stand on end from start to finish.

Plus Blizzard of Aahhhs is a great little extra, I loved watching Glen Plake rip on those massive old 2.3m tooth picks!!

RIP Shane McConkey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars steep dvd, 17 Feb. 2012
Extraordinary documentary film. I was expecting
flashy skiing and there is some amazing footage but this film gets down to the reason i think we all ski. The insights into the truly awesome men and women whose skills take them further than most of us can go are beautifully portrayed. Particulary thought provoking are those moments spent with those who have now died doing what they love, without any hint of regret or pathos. I have watched this 4 times already! the talk over by 2 of the skiers is also excellent and gives yet another dimension to this amazing inspiring movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, 13 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Addictive. Amazing movie if you are into backcountry skiing. I would have loved more action filming than interviews with the most noteworthy extreme skiers in the world but still very engaging movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Snow & Mountains.....what more could you want, 20 Jan. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Steep is an excellent documentary story about various individuals and their quest for the perfect big mountain experience. It's got the usual array of jaw-dropping shots of skiers dropping down mountain sides that would reduce the average skier to tears and visually it's pretty spectacular. What makes this film different to most that have come before is the quality of the commentary and interviews. It feels like you're going on a journey with the people involved. Some of it's a history lesson, some of it's about where they are now and some of it's pretty tragic, but it's always interesting to follow.

If you're thing is skiing/snowboarding you'll not want to miss it. But be warned, you'll probably be reaching for a brochure and booking a holiday as soon as you get to the final credits because you WILL want to be there!!

The version I got included the film "Blizzard of Aahhhs" on a second DVD. This is THE classic off-piste film that really put this type of film on the map. If you haven't seen it you'll want to. It's showing it's age these days, but it's a very worthwhile addition and is a nice addition to the package. Look out for some seriously retro outfits....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't realise it was too seperate docu's, thought that ..., 1 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Didn't realise it was too seperate docu's, thought that was the name of 1 thing. Steep yeah ok, i'm not into skiing, just watch it because i'm into similar stuff. Then switched to Blizzard. Wow, just wow. I can see what all the fuss is all about even 25+ years after it was made
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Steep, 11 Nov. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
More of a documentary covering the history of big mountain skiing than an "all action" ski movie and non the worse for it.

Respect to the guys featured, doing crazy stuff in the early years on skinny, long ski's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, downside is the usual RedBull Corp Sponsorship, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steep [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I have seen quite a few films on climbing and skiing and a lot of them tends to loose the balance between profound and pretentious, but this one is really excellent. A lot of good footage and interesting, solid interviews with some of the greatest legends in the sport. Only drawback is a lot of RedBull Logo's appearing on some of the participating skiers, which is a little bit sad since that company has made "extreme sports" more or less synonymous with a drink that makes Vodka taste a little more appealing. Skiing should be associated with adventure and fun, not with corporations... But, with that little caveat, I can really recommend this film. I truly enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Steep [DVD] [2007]
Steep [DVD] [2007] by Mark Obenhaus (DVD - 2009)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews