Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nasty piece of sick imagination...guaranteed to shock you
Uwe Boll, famed producer of such poor video game to movie transfers as Far Cry and Bloodrayne, actually makes a movie that works quite well.
Seed is a horror/splatter/gore/'torture porn' movie that delivers what it sets out to do... Make you feel uncomfortable and shocked. Like many others of it's genre (Hostel, Saw, Wolf creek) it gives plenty of horrific scenes...
Published on 20 Nov. 2009 by H. Fernando

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The dirty fur trade...
Initially, I was shocked and disgusted that scenes of real animal cruelty should be tagged onto the start of something as escapist and absurd as a routine hooror gorefest. That was about three hours ago. I then watched the rest film in a state of semi-shock at what I'd just witnessed.

WARNING: SPOILER...

The "hammer torture" scene I found to be...
Published on 20 May 2009 by Guv


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nasty piece of sick imagination...guaranteed to shock you, 20 Nov. 2009
By 
H. Fernando (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seed [DVD] (DVD)
Uwe Boll, famed producer of such poor video game to movie transfers as Far Cry and Bloodrayne, actually makes a movie that works quite well.
Seed is a horror/splatter/gore/'torture porn' movie that delivers what it sets out to do... Make you feel uncomfortable and shocked. Like many others of it's genre (Hostel, Saw, Wolf creek) it gives plenty of horrific scenes shown in detail of mindless,cruel sadism. Unlike many others though it does not try to titillate with nudity or model actresses, instead being a little more serious and focusing on the shocking and sick scenes which it hands out freely and quite well.

Seed is a serial killer who delights in the agonising torturous death of his victims. Taunting the police with videos of them he is caught and sentenced to death. State law requires that any man failing to die after three attempts will be set free. On failing for the second time they decide to bury him alive. But he escapes and enacts his revenge on them and anyone else.

The bad points of the movie all can be either overlooked or don't distract to much from the movies. Things you could call plot holes I suppose could happen, while CGI effects and camera work is probably better than other B movies (though not as good as Saw, hostel etc). The acting is actually quite good and makes watching this film easier to watch than other B movies. One large criticism is that a lot of the scenes were dark meaning it wasn't as clear as it perhaps could of been.
The DVD was passed uncut by the BBFC.

Summary: If you don't like this sort of thing you'll hate this movie, but if you're looking for a movie that will shock, scare, and smoother you with horror this movie has it by the bucketful.
Recommended.

Warning!: This film also contains real footage of animal abuse though this was given by PETA who receive a percentage of the profits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHY ALL THE BAD PRESS?????, 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seed [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this on the horror channel a while ago.After seeing who directed it i very nearly switched it off but i gave it a go and to my surprise really enjoyed it.Ok some of the things going on in the film arnt nice (baby decaying and the animal cruelty)but its a dark film.Its a horror film for gods sake no happy endings here.Give it a go.uwe bolls best film to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The dirty fur trade..., 20 May 2009
This review is from: Seed [DVD] (DVD)
Initially, I was shocked and disgusted that scenes of real animal cruelty should be tagged onto the start of something as escapist and absurd as a routine hooror gorefest. That was about three hours ago. I then watched the rest film in a state of semi-shock at what I'd just witnessed.

WARNING: SPOILER...

The "hammer torture" scene I found to be genuinely compelling as it is something I'd never seen before, and watching it on my 19" PC monitor it seemed (barring the odd skipped frame) pretty authentic. That apart, there was nothing remarkable about this film.

And now, back to those opening five minutes. One particular image stayed in my mind and I couldn't shake it. Indeed, when the film was starting I wasn't sure what I was watching until it was blindingly obvious. I am an animal lover, and I was drawn to the PETA website from whose films the early minutes of Seed are taken, and on there I witnessed a longer version of the animal cruelty scenes... and I cried my eyes out. If this film does nothing else, let it at least open people's eyes to the vile cruelty of those who exploit animals for skins nobody needs. Jennifer Lopez and other stars have recently taken to swanning around in real fur, and as far as I'm concerned they are bigger monsters than a guy with a sack on his head. Maybe - just maybe - that was Uwe Boll's point? We may abhor animal cruelty, but covering our eyes and pretending it doesn't happen won't make it go away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Any last words?...., 4 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Seed [DVD] (DVD)
Max Seed, a mass murderer, is scheduled for execution at the hands of Warden Wright.

After three attempts to electrocute, complete with boiling blood that steeps from his eyes, he's still alive.

The executioner, Wright & the doctor collectively agree, that the breathing Seed be pronounced dead.

He is bound and buried alive.

After biting & clawing his way to the surface, the enraged madman, is now bent on vengeance.....

So one of the reviewers on here stated that this breaks the boundaries on gore and physical violence. It truly does not. It's one of the most offencive pieces of poison that I have ever witnessed.

I'm not a Boll hater, some of his movies are quite enjoyable in a guilty way, but since all the hate has emerged for this man, he has tried to be controversial as this is the only way he can get recognition now is to rile his critics.

The actual story is quite good, it had potential, but then for no reason at all, we see animal torture, and eventually, an extended baby death sequence, which just offends in so many ways.

When the gore stops, the movie seems to stop too, we just have extended scenes of Pare looking a little concerned and wondering when the next death will happen.

This could have been some standard supernatural slasher, but Boll goes for the 'look at this' and fails on every single level.

And then there is the putrid, vile ending, with no remorse, and not a drop of consideration for the viewer.

Leave the film alone, don't be suckered into thinking that this could be anything other than poison to the senses.

Awful in every sense of the word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Upsetting- real footage should not be in horror films., 29 July 2014
This review is from: Seed (Amazon Instant Video)
Real Footage of animal torture and killing is too much, horror movies are fun because we know they are not real. I got less than 5 minutes in and couldn't watch any more. I understand Peta wanting to get their message across, but i think putting it in a horror film was not the right way to go. I wont even find out if the rest of the film was any good because of the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you like blood and gore, you'll like this film, 15 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Seed [DVD] (DVD)
I've just watched this film and have to admit, it wasn't to my liking. I actually closed my eyes for one part and I'm pretty hardened to hack & slash films!

The story was simple, the characters are inconsequential and the gore is a little over the top for me. I personally prefer thrillers and suspense films.

The opening scenes are actual footage of animal torture from the animal charity P.E.T.A. I found them horrendous to watch, but to be fair to the director (who is an avid supporter of P.E.T.A and is donating 50% of the films takings to the charity) the controversial scenes are an eye opener for thousands of people who may not realise that this brutality actually happens in some parts of the world. I certainly didn't think anyone was capable of such things and maybe by shocking a global audience into action something can be done about it.

That said, watch it at the risk of losing some sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Does what it sets out to do, 27 July 2011
This review is from: Seed [DVD] (DVD)
If this film set out to make the viewer feel extremely uncomfortable and unsettled, it certainly does that. I love gory, extreme horror, but I really did not enjoy watching this film. There is no message and little point to the sadistic violence presented here- it is extremely brutal and unflinching, and leaves nothing to the imagination. The opening scene, which shows real footage of extreme animal cruelty, is very unsettling and difficult to watch- but it sets the scene perfectly for what is to come. Do not get this if you want a fun, gory thrill ride. do get it if you want a very unsettling, totally serious, pointless, sadistic, nasty film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Just doesn't do much of anything, 26 May 2014
This review is from: Seed [DVD] (DVD)
Some people say the gore makes it great others say it's sick. The truth is this film isn't that heavy on gore, it's also not heavy on plot, direction, motivation, meaning or plot. It just feels lethargic and club footed the whole way through. You find yourself with the credits rolling up wondering what the story was, there simply isn't any real story or journey to the film so you are left feeling like it was all a bit of an empty waste. Check out a Halloween movie instead, same character bio essentially but a much better example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UWE BOLL makes brutal & gory splatter film & it's good Shock!!, 13 Sept. 2008
By 
John Knight "SplatterGore Fan" (UK, Lowestoft) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Uwe Boll- is a love or hate director-
But don't listen to the Haters, with this film he has pushed some boundaries within horror and that is hard to do nowadays- (If people can do better- then get out there and show us! and stop bloody moaning!!)
There are some very disturbing death scenes - and Uwe has been relentless - I am an hardened gore fan and even i was a little disturbed (in a good way) by the prolonged- single take hammer death with the woman on the chair! Nice!!
Don't buy if easily offended- but if you like your serial killer horror brutal and gory- then this is a must! But you must get the Unrated version!!
P.s-
Please Ignore the DVD artwork for the U.S.A release (unrated) - Why they decided to put this silly woman on the cover i can't work out???
She isn't even in the film? And no-one who even resembles her is in the film? Weird ?
Also check out Uwe's other film POSTAL- it is bloody hilarious!!
He really is sticking a finger up to everyone with these films- brutal & funny!
More please UWE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beynod Sick., 29 Nov. 2008
By 
This review is from: Seed [DVD] (DVD)
There is only so much a person can take for extreme violence and this film pushes way too far that point. I rented it out as I thought it would be a good scare and gore movie for the night, only to find it was far from it. At the very begining, you are warned of strong and disturbing real scenes of animals being horrifiying wounded and their yelps makes you weep and throw up at the sight of it. There is suppose to be a story about this evil serial killer sent to the electric chair but he surrives and is out to kill those people that nearly killed him. There's no real script, no happy ending and you don't get a explaintion of why this man would kill these people before. It was mindless gore and how far the censors would pull this away, they didn't and let it go on ahead to sell. It's sick and horrible, not for the faint hearted and like animals. It's not worth seeing at all if you have a weak stomach or hate blood, don't even look at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seed [DVD]
Seed [DVD] by Uwe Boll (DVD - 2009)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews