Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A jewel of a masterpiece
This symbolic film may be weird to watch and difficult to enjoy, but over the decades it has become one of my favourite films. You will need to appreciate cinema art to like it. The story is deliberately stylized for its symbolic meaning but the art is spell-binding. The black and white photography is terrific and most of the difficulty is in the music, which is for...
Published on 11 April 2008 by DH Dixon

versus
82 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pity that the sub-titles ruin the film.
Wont comment on the film itself, which has inspired learned articles and theses in its day and up to now.

But this edition of the film is appalling, because of the subtitles, which detract from the action for three reasons:

-They are too big, and at times actually hide the action as when they completely obscure the table on which a game is being...
Published on 2 Feb 2008 by Renaud Olgiati


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

82 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pity that the sub-titles ruin the film., 2 Feb 2008
By 
Renaud Olgiati (Asuncion, Paraguay) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wont comment on the film itself, which has inspired learned articles and theses in its day and up to now.

But this edition of the film is appalling, because of the subtitles, which detract from the action for three reasons:

-They are too big, and at times actually hide the action as when they completely obscure the table on which a game is being played.

-They are sometimes inaccurate or incomplete.

-But last and worse, unlike the subtitles on most civilised DVDs, THESE CANNOT BE TURNED OFF !

Had this been made clear in the description of the DVD I would certainly have refrained from buying this item, and avoided the film-long frustration caused by the ******* subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A jewel of a masterpiece, 11 April 2008
By 
DH Dixon "whitespeck" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This symbolic film may be weird to watch and difficult to enjoy, but over the decades it has become one of my favourite films. You will need to appreciate cinema art to like it. The story is deliberately stylized for its symbolic meaning but the art is spell-binding. The black and white photography is terrific and most of the difficulty is in the music, which is for church organ, but this music is important to the symbolism of the film. Stiff and "formal" is the style and haunting and magical is the overall effect. The role of the husband and the actor who plays him develops a lot of power along the way and this is one of my favourite character performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Confusion about subtitles - the truth!, 20 April 2013
Amazon has amalgamated reviews for five different versions. Some have removable subtitles, others not. Here's the situation, for those interested. Listed in order of issue.

Fox Lorber - Subtitles can be switched off. Region 0.
Optimum Home Entertainment - Subtitles NOT removable. Region 2
Criterion - Subtitles can be switched off. Region 1
Blu-Ray Criterion - Subtitles can be removed. Region A.
Blu-Ray Studio Canal - Subtitles can be switched off. (Multiple languages available) Region A+B (plays in UK).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD issue of New Wave Classic...., 22 Jun 2005
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
'Last Year at Marienbad' followed Alain Resnais' prior works concerned with memory and spatial-time, the documentary 'Night & Fog' and 'Hiroshima Mon Amour.' As with 'Hiroshima...' we have a male and female couple at the centre of things- though Resnais collaborates with a different author to Margaret Duras, the oblique writer Alain Robbe-Grillet.
The "story" is quite confounding - simple yet ambiguous : in a vast baroque hotel a man (X) attempts to entice a woman (A) into an affair away from another man (M)- persuading her that they met the previous year at Marienbad (or was it Frederickbad?). That's the plot or story, but Resnais & Robbe-Grillet, with hypnotic cinematography, playful elements (moving objects around in the scenery, suggesting a break with reality)& complex-editing present the film as one of those cinematic mysteries that some will love, others will loathe.
Anyone who has enjoyed such films as Antonioni's 'L'Aventura' & 'Blow Up', Bergman's 'Persona', Roeg & Cammell's 'Performance' & David Lynch's 'Lost Highway' & 'Mulholland Drive' will find much here they should enjoy - it certainly tips the post-modern likes of 'The Usual Suspects' into a cocked hat! 'Last Year at Marienbad' remains one of the great films of the 1960s and stands as one of the great works of the European New Wave of the late 1950s and early 1960s, alongside such classics as 'Les Quatres Cents Coups','Bande a Part','Les Amants' & the aforementioned 'L'Aventura.' Anyone interested remotely in cinema and its dreamlike, oblique possibilities should watch this film...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Subtitles in image area disrupt viewing., 30 May 2008
A excellent film except for the English subtitles in the image area which disrupt the viewing experience. These cannot be defeated. I note that there is a French version without sub titles available on the Amazon web site in France and perhaps this should be listed on the UK site as long as it is made clear that there is no translation of the French dialogue. I am more interested in the photography for instance.
There used to be a version with subtitles under the image area, and many years ago I did tape this on SVHS from a TV showing, but unfotunately have since recorded over the tape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As exciting now as when it was first made, 6 Jun 2010
This review is from: Last Year In Marienbad (The Studio Canal Collection) [1960] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I remember first seeing this in the sixties and being enthralled by its hypnotic beauty. It is not an easy film to watch, but is well worth the effort. Do not expect a simple story told in order; this is told as if in a dream. A handsome man and beautiful woman meet at a mysterious chateau and he recounts how they met the previous year: she recalls none of the details. Time appears to be frozen as the two meet and re-meet at Marienbad and the man recounts more of the details of last year. Is he lying? What really happened last year at Marienbad?

An avant-garde director teams up with an avant-garde novelist in this most memorable of movies. It is good to see such a fine copy of the original on this disk.

The script is also available as L'Annee Derniere a Marienbad. It is well worth studying in conjunction with the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The dream lingers on many years later, 20 Mar 2006
I was doing an Italian course for foreigners in Florence when this came out, so I saw it in Italian. I can still conjure up in my mind, very clearly, the images of the vast hallways, the actors playing actors playing actors, the formal gardens, the ambiguities and the failed memories of the actress Delphine Seyrig. All in all, a magic film in every sense: they really don't make 'em like this any more. I was so impressed by the matchstick game that when I made my hippie-trip to Nepal, I astounded Nepalis and Tibetans alike by never losing a game! This is one of my all-time favourite films, and if you are willing to let yourself get carried away by its mysteries, you should try to see this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating riddle, 6 Oct 2009
By 
Mental Floss (Berlin, Germany) - See all my reviews
One of the most enigmatic movies of all times. It follows a man and woman in a strange circle of lies, deception and betrayal in an ever recurring sequence of acquaintances and dialogs. A picturesque riddle filmed in a splendid neverland composed of two Munich castles. Fascinating to see, but impossible to decipher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars “Last Year In Marienbad” on BLU RAY - UK and European Fans Must Buy The Right Issue..., 27 Feb 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
As you've probably gathered most of the reviews are for the 'DVD' version of the 1960 classic “Last Year In Marienbad” And at present (February 2014) this movie is available on BLU RAY in the States and Europe. But therein lies a problem for UK buyers - which issue do you buy?

Unfortunately the desirable USA Criterion issue is REGION-A LOCKED.
So it WILL NOT PLAY on most UK BLU RAY players unless they're chipped to play 'all' regions (which the vast majority aren't).
Don’t confuse BLU RAY players that have multi-region capability on the 'DVD' front – that won’t help.

Luckily the nicely presented Optimum issue from 2009 is REGION B – so will play on UK machines (and we’re told uses the same restored elements).

Check you’re purchasing the right issue ‘before’ you buy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars subtitles, 7 Nov 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Magnificent film, it's like a moving René Magritte painting!
Those damned large subtitles spoil the fun though, and they can't be switched off either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Last Year In Marienbad (The Studio Canal Collection)  [1960] [Blu-ray]
12.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews