Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (35)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much more like it!
When Optimum released Besson's films on BD a couple of months ago, they made a huge mistake with The Big Blue, releasing a film that was originally filmed in English with only a dubbed French soundtrack. Many people, myself included, sent their copies back in disgust, and I am delighted to say that "people power" has worked for once, as Optimum have seen sense and...
Published on 13 Nov 2009 by S. P. Long

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just got the disc - going to send it back - only French soundtrack!
I've been waiting for this BD for the last two months, just to discover now that it's coming with the French dubbed sound track.
They did film this movie in English, so it's really disappointment that the original English sound track is not an option.

Buyer beware!
Published on 14 Sep 2009 by Gilad Hinberger


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 68 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much more like it!, 13 Nov 2009
By 
S. P. Long "Simon Long" (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
When Optimum released Besson's films on BD a couple of months ago, they made a huge mistake with The Big Blue, releasing a film that was originally filmed in English with only a dubbed French soundtrack. Many people, myself included, sent their copies back in disgust, and I am delighted to say that "people power" has worked for once, as Optimum have seen sense and re-released the film with the original English soundtrack.

The disc includes both the original and director's cut versions of the film, with a choice of English (LPCM) and French (DTS 2.0) soundtracks for both. The uncompressed English track, while stereo only rather than surround, sounds superb - switching between it and the French track shows a noticeable improvement in quality on the PCM over the DTS version. The picture quality is excellent - The Big Blue finally gets the presentation it deserves, and the transfer to BD is pin-sharp and gorgeous to look at. On a quick flick through, the lipsync errors that plague the DVD versions of this film seem to have been fixed, which is excellent news. The only remaining niggle is that the picture is still from the French print - the captions for place names etc are still the French versions (Sicile as opposed to Sicily, for example) - but that hardly detracts from what has been turned from a disaster into a compulsory purchase for Besson fans.

Well done to Optimum for doing the decent thing - I never believed it would happen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful filmwork and a moving story, 23 Aug 2004
I've just finished watching this film for the first time. I loved it! As a diver and sailor, I really enjoyed Besson's portrayal of a man caught between the two worlds of land and sea, and the filmwork is superb. The original ending seems infinitely superior to the tacky US 'happy' version.
The story becomes even more tragic when you know that the real life Jacques Mayol committed suicide recently, at the age of 74, after suffering from depression. He was a great diver, and a real inspiration to many who free dive today. If you haven't seen the film, and have a passion for the water, watch it as soon as you can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreamy, 12 July 2006
If you want 2 1/2 hours or so of pure escapism then this is the film for you. Besson's epic film will take you to beautiful lands (Peru, Greece, Sicily) and also to the bottom of the sea. Brilliant performances from the cruelly underatted Jean Marc Barr, Rosana Arquette who starts out as the ditzy blond but becomes much more emotional and Jean Reno who stills every scene he's in and also provides much of the humour.

The film won several awards for the underwater photography which is absolutely breathtaking and also for Eric Serra's dreamy music which gives the movie a whole new feel and puts your right in the action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just got the disc - going to send it back - only French soundtrack!, 14 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Big Blue (French Dub Version) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I've been waiting for this BD for the last two months, just to discover now that it's coming with the French dubbed sound track.
They did film this movie in English, so it's really disappointment that the original English sound track is not an option.

Buyer beware!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh my God!!! Dubbed into French!!!, 12 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Big Blue (French Dub Version) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I can not beleive that the blu ray version of the big blue has been released French dubbed.I can not watch this film shot in English dubbed back into French..Waste of money.This film is my favourite but this version is not original..I am going to send it back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as beautiful as a film can get, 29 Jan 2007
By 
P. Ponias (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i decided to write something about big blue as it is one of my top 20 films of all time and i cant understand people who give it one star.. they really dont understand cinema do they ????
it really is an amazing film, dreamy is the right word, one of bessons best together with nikita and leon (especially leon, great but not as unique). music and cinematography are oscar worthy, acting is sublime, photography breathtaking.. story maybe slightly frivolous but touching at same time. a drama with a few drops of comedy here and there, on a subject that was never touched before or after this film came out.
if u generally love the sea and never seen this film just go buy it, u will be enthralled..& if u are indifferent on the sea subject, but u think u can still appreciate a stunningly beautiful film then still go buy it. 6 stars ........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dubbed in french, 25 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Big Blue [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
So disappointed by this new edition, no english soundtrack, only french available, dubbed !!!!!
Do not buy it !!!
d.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Superb picture - soundtrack a disaster, 11 Sep 2009
By 
S. P. Long "Simon Long" (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big Blue (French Dub Version) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'm a huge fan of Luc Besson's work, and The Big Blue is one of my favorite films. As soon as I saw it was coming out on BD, I ordered it on the spot. The DVD version has always annoyed me because the soundtrack wanders in and out of sync with the picture, and I hoped that the BD would give me something close to a perfect copy.

First off, the visuals are superb - Big Blue is entirely about the visuals, rather than the (rather thin) story, and Besson's stunning cinematography is very well served by the high-def transfer.

However, there is a major problem with the sound. Besson is a French director, but Big Blue was the first film he shot in English. It was later dubbed into French, but the actors all spoke English in the original version. So what soundtrack has been applied to the BD? The dubbed French one. The original English track isn't even available as an option - if you buy this disc, you will be watching a film shot in English, dubbed back into French, with subtitles.

Whoever is responsible for this decision should be taken out and shot. (Or forced to watch "Joan Of Arc - The Messenger" for the rest of eternity...) I'm not sure I can even bear to watch Big Blue like this - I may just send it back. The other Besson BDs, such as "Nikita" and "Subway", are great with the French soundtracks - that's how they were intended to be seen. But Big Blue was meant to be seen in English, and this BD has been ruined. What a crying shame, and a waste of the BD format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars oh dear, 16 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Big Blue (French Dub Version) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
my blu-ray is on its way from amazon. i too am very upset that amazon didn't care to mention that the sound track is only available in the dubbed french version. however beautiful the picture, this one is going straight back before opening the wrapper. i thought to play the blu-ray with sound from the dvd version in original english, but what a palarver that would be and i don't think i should have to make up for the manufactuer's gaff. sad sad sad, i was so looking forward to the blu-ray version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars French Dubbed disaster, 15 Sep 2009
By 
P. J. Jongeneel "peterjon" (Rijswijk Zh, zh Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big Blue (French Dub Version) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Its not even in yet, and when it does im not even going to unpack this dubbed into french MONSTROSITY.

It is and will always be a film recorded in ENGLISH and then subbed into French for there domestic French market.

Whatever no-no decided to release the French dubbed version here has clearly no clue about the film and its origins.

Clearly we have to keep waiting for this movie in ENGLISH AND to INCLUDE all the extra's of the French version.

A sad mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Big Blue (French Dub Version) [Blu-ray]
Big Blue (French Dub Version) [Blu-ray] by Griffin Dunne (Blu-ray - 2009)
4.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews