Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TRUE UNDERWATER EPIC
If you are an underwater world lover or not, does not matter. Once you have experianced the Beauty of "Atlantis", you will be mesmerized and you would want to go diving into that world. Luc Besson created a true Masterpiece that will live long in the memory of those that experiance it. The impeccable combination of underwater shots and the music, has never been...
Published on 16 Nov 2000 by Alexander Buttigieg

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor video quality
The quality of this DVD is disappointing. Many amateur video enthusiasts wouldn't have much trouble getting better shots. The main problem is that the videographer has made no attempt to white balance his camera, hence the footage has a green, washed-out hue to it. If the camera had been properly white balanced the colours would have "popped out", to use the...
Published 19 months ago by Wreckdiver


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TRUE UNDERWATER EPIC, 16 Nov 2000
This review is from: Atlantis [VHS] (VHS Tape)
If you are an underwater world lover or not, does not matter. Once you have experianced the Beauty of "Atlantis", you will be mesmerized and you would want to go diving into that world. Luc Besson created a true Masterpiece that will live long in the memory of those that experiance it. The impeccable combination of underwater shots and the music, has never been reached before. Mantas, Whales, Sea snakes, and even SHARKS dance to the music of this unforgetable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Journey to a beautiful place....., 1 April 2003
By 
D. Parkes "Dylan Parkes" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Atlantis [DVD] (DVD)
Fans of Luc Besson's more action packed work (Nikita, Leon etc) may find this a little tame, but fans of The Big Blue will be delighted to be taken on an extended journey to the undersea world.
Imagine The Big Blue with all the dreary human characters taken out and you'll have an idea of what this is - one long undersea exploration. Divided into emotive themes such as light, love and hatred, each showcasing sea creatures that epitomise the theme. Hatred show sharks attacking in a feeding frenzy, and Great Whites come up to the camera and bare their teeth. Love shows two turtles engaged in courtship rituals.
There's no commentary at all, but the stunning cinematography is breathtaking and crystal clear on DVD. I found the music either really enhanced the visual experience, or in a few places really jarred (especially more pop song type music).
Overall, I found it to be a deeply soothing, frequently beautiful and occasionally funny experience. If you gasped with wonder at some of the footage in the Blue Planet series then you'll love this too - even if it doesn't actually say anything about the creatues on screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars underwater wonder, 16 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Atlantis [DVD] (DVD)
this dvd claims wondrous things, and on the whole i wasn't disappointed..though it was slighter and shorter than anticipated. The photography really was breathtaking at times, especially when the dawn was breaking from beneath the sea. It begins with dolphins, and ends with sharks..their opposite natures being defined by the shots thenselves. It was lovely to have a wordless view. The music was usually sensitively aligned, and at times humourous too. I just wish it had been longer and with more on the plants and underwater landscapes, though the ones there were good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was worth buying, 8 Sep 2012
By 
C. Seymour (England - United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atlantis [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I buy my Blu Ray discs without very much thought beforehand. I love nature films and I'm always looking to add to my collection and the way I do things is if the price is low anyway then another Bluray disc is most welcome. Everyone likes different things and some people will love this and others wont for no other reason than personal preference. From my personal point of view it doesn't give me what I really like as this production has been filmed to be 'Arty' rather than 'Factual' or 'Educational' and I like factual and educational. You will learn nothing from this BluRay about Marine wildlife. It is all about fancy camera work and sea life to music.

To be honest the camerawork is not fabulous either as nearly everything comes in shades of Blue and Grey with very little colour range. From a visual perpective and to put the Blu Ray player through its paces and view in awe sharp vivid colours I would be better going for a Blu Ray of the Great Barrier Reef or similar. Most of the camera work on Atlantis is done viewing upwards towards the surface of the water which means much of the time the filming is dazzled by intruding sunshine and very often not well focused. With close Ups and when the camera is actually still long enough the pin sharp HD quality is all there but that is not often. At other times such as when the sunlight is dazzling the filming it is more like picture quality off a VHS Tape rather than an HD BluRay disc. The dominance of blue and grey is probably to be expected when filming fish in the sea but I wasn't impressed by Atlantis. The music backing track is quite nice and didn't annoy me but neither is the music anything special either in my opinion. The disc is also rather short by BluRay standards so the low price doesnt mean great value per minute. Personally I rate Atlantis 3 stars but I can fully understand that some other people who like this arty kind of thing will give it 5 stars so to balance things out I will go for 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful! The most wonderful movie I've ever seen!!!, 26 Aug 2001
This review is from: Atlantis [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is the most wonderful "documentary," if that's what you want to call it, I've ever seen! It has all the things you look for in a great movie; comedy, love, fear and lots of beautiful camera work and music, minus all the annoying chit-chat. If you ever get the chance to see it, and believe me it doesn't happen often, then take it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underwater epos, 5 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Atlantis [VHS] (VHS Tape)
If you're interested in life below sea-level and also liked "Big Blue" then this underwater epos is a must ! Luc Besson and Eric Serra did a magnificent job in combining underwater scenes and music. There are no human actors and no verbal dialogs. Just the music playing with images... When a manta ray raises from behind a ship wreck and female opera singer starts to sing... I can't help but I get shivers down my spine. I can't wait until this masterpiece comes out on DVD (hopefully in DTS) !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the BEST!, 26 April 2003
By 
drlotz (La Quinta, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Atlantis [DVD] (DVD)
This simply the best documentary/drama of underwater marine life ever made. The cinematography is incredible, the music score is mind-blowing, anad the director has made this film a masterpiece. I you ever wanted to bond with an animal, this film lets you do that. It is a highly touching and engrossing movie that will leave you in tears. You will feel your heart move in ways like never before. Buy it for yourself, your children, your family, and your friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing film that will blow your mind, 24 April 2000
This review is from: Atlantis [VHS] (VHS Tape)
give this film a chance and you'll love it! I saw it years ago and it still has a lasting impression... there are amazing images set to beautiful music and all together it gives you a real feeling of life underwater as well as a love of the sea. I would recommend it to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For the love of nature, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atlantis [DVD] (DVD)
If you just enjoy watching pictures of sealife with no commentary then this is a good choice. The music and occasional categories e.g. movement are superfluous. This would do well as a background film on TV when entertaining even - and our cats enjoyed watching the fish too. If you want a story, suspense, the dulcet tones of David Attenborough, sorry but you wont find them here. All the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Atlantis - A star studded performance!, 13 July 2012
By 
Mark E. Medwecki (Hong Kong, HKSAR Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Atlantis [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I bought the blu-ray edition after watching a friend's copy and decided that this film was a must have. Since arriving last week, I have watched it twice and enjoyed equally on both occasions. Amazing photography and fabulous music combined in a way which makes the whole package interesting, amusing and superbly entertaining. I am thinking that this is a timeless gem that I will watch again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Atlantis [Blu-ray]
Atlantis [Blu-ray] by Luc Besson (Blu-ray - 2009)
10.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews