Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars54
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 November 2013
Plenty of familiar faces running through time and toilets in order to get back to stage one and enjoying it all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
Well, anything about time travel satisfies me. I just wish I could go back and change things... ho hum.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2011
Yes, I agree it has blokes in a pub ( well spotted other reviewers - all those years of watching Screen Test paid off .... ) Yes, its geek wish fulfillment . Yes , it owes SOTD, the Dwarf and Sir Douglas a huge debt . Yes I can see the point about the Carling Black Label ad ( Just as well its a pint of what looks like Guinness that saves the day then ...) Yes Im sure I wrote the plot to this when I was 18 in a pub and someone went back in time to steal it.

However , putting these aside its a a truly funny little movie - the plot works in its own don't think too much about it sort of way ( how many films about TT don't have Panzer division sized holes in them then?) it does look good when it needs to ( despite what other reviewers have said ) the acting is understated and I think there was a conscious decision to subsume the character development to the plot in order to maintain pace. There are some very funny set pieces which unlike other reviewers I won't spoil for you. My wife and I set out with no expectations and ended up missing half of NY's Day evening TV we were so well, engaged.

Could it have been more as one reviewer has rightly asked? Yes, it could have just done in with being a tad more original in depictions of the future I think - it looks like the Mill on autopilot.

Still, look on the bright side, being funny science fiction and set in a pub with character understatement it will always baffle Americans.....
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2010
After the success of Shaun of the Dead there have been a few films which have sought to use the same strategy of putting a few "normal blokes in the pub" into a supernatural situation. Here, instead of Zombies, we have three guys in a pub inadvertently finding a break in the space-time continuum which allows them to travel back and forward in time whenever they enter the pub's toilets. Much hilarity ensues as the characters find themselves in all manner of bizarre/dangerous situations and struggle to find their way back home.

Or, at least, it should do. In reality the characters were a bit of a disappointment for me and not nearly as well written or amusing as they should be given the cast. At times it's like watching an extended version of those "you know who your mates are" Carling adverts, with the characters simply making cliched obvious "don't all men talk like this in the pub?" type jokes. For something that has all the hallmarks of an 80 minute comedy sketch, the comedy itself is extremely limp.

The film is probably at its best when it drops the comedic air and concentrates on the science fiction elements. It is not, by any means, a cutting edge piece of science fiction, but it does take time travel in some interesting directions and the interplay between the characters works a lot better when they're not trying to force jokes into the scene.

Overall it's worth watching, but certainly not a classic.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2015
I love this film! It's one of my favourites! Makes me laugh every time, very cleaver!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Three of UK TV's best comedy actors get lumped together into a story which is little more than one extremely long comedy sketch about three blokes in a pub who start travelling forward and back in time every time they go to the loo.

It's not big (the budget appears to have been tiny) and it's only slightly clever in the way it parodies sci-fi ideas about 'time travel' and 'paradox'.

It's not laugh-out-loud funny. On the cover of the DVD it's compared to "Shaun Of The Dead", but the jokes come a lot thicker and faster in "Shaun" than they do here. That said, there are some good gags in it.

It's the warmth of the acting that really makes this film work. The three main leads carry pretty much the entire screen time, making it a real character piece, and it's the better for it. The entire cast is only eight people- it's not a big film.

Anna Faris, who's normally a good comedy actress, is a little bit annoying here, but Meredith MacNeil (you won't know the name but you'll have seen her in a TV comedy) does a great job.

Not a British classic but a warm comedy. I'd recommend it most to sci-fi fans with a sense of humour.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2010
If you're the nerdy STAR TREK-, STAR WARS-, DR WHO-watching type, boy this movie is just your cup of replicated Earl Grey. FAQ is very knowing and achingly funny (if you get all the in-jokes). I saw it at the cinema last year after reading about it in SFX magazine. Very easy to miss, as it was only on at my local for a couple of days.

The cover proclaims 'SHAUN OF THE DEAD MEETS DR WHO'. A pretty apt description, although FAQ looks like it's been shot on a much tighter budget than both.

Nevertheless, this is great laugh-out-loud and affectionate fun. Even if you're not a geek but you know a few, see it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2016
It was good, a bit cheesy but still great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2010
Some harmless fun.

Doesn't quite have the relentless appeal of say a Hithchikers Guide, but this is an entertaining enough movie to waste an evening on.

Yes, the script has more holes in it than my socks and can be a tad predictable in places, still there were enough laughs and clever time-travel tricks to give it 3 out of 5.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
Great film, disc works great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)