Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I might just travel back in time to watch it again!
It is every film lovers most satisfying moment - even better than when a summer blockbuster does live up to the hype - it is of course when a film you've not even heard of absolutely exceeds your expectation.

So this film follows the bizarre story of three friends played by homegrown talent Marc Wooten, Dean Lennox Kelly and Chris O'Dowd as they live out a...
Published on 10 Nov 2009 by Rob

versus
9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not laugh-a-minute but a few sci-fi giggles
Three of UK TV's best comedy actors get lumped together into a story which is little more than one extremely long comedy sketch about three blokes in a pub who start travelling forward and back in time every time they go to the loo.

It's not big (the budget appears to have been tiny) and it's only slightly clever in the way it parodies sci-fi ideas about 'time...
Published on 11 Oct 2009 by Mr. Stuart Bruce


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars can I give it 2.75 stars?, 7 Aug 2011
By 
An avid reader (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
This review is from: FAQ About Time Travel [DVD] (DVD)
I used to have a ZX Spectrum, now I've got an X Box 360 and you know what? I still think back to the days when computers couldnt do great graphics and sound and had to rely on imagination and gameplay. The X Box games look great sure but I cant lose hours at a time like I could with Elite, Jet Set Willy etc on my beloved old rubber keyed Speccy.

Anyway, onto FAQATT, its definitely relying on the aforementioned 'imagination and gameplay' to carry it through. Basically its like a overlong episode of Red Dwarf mixed with sub-Spaced standard geek references, sub-Dr Who standard special effects and acting that belongs in a TV sitcom.

Maybe with a bigger budget the idea behind this film (which is basically sound) may have been realised more fully. As it is, it lacks laughs - despite some truly terrible wigs and facial hair - and doesnt have the means to fulfil its potential.

Despite everything, FAQATT does almost raise itself above its meagre budget and has a certain amount of charm -helped by its short running time - it raised a smile on a few occassions but nothing more.

One for watching on late night TV rather than buying or renting.

Its a film written for a Spectrum which is crying out for the power of an X Box 360 to allow it to flourish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What is the Best British Comedy Film Since Shaun of the Dead?, 1 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: FAQ About Time Travel [DVD] (DVD)
`Frequently Asked Questions About Time Travel' is one of my most viewed films in recent years. There is a reason for this, the film is funny, packed with top British talent and is little seen by others. The fact that so many people I know have not seen this film means that it's one I can stick on and everyone can enjoy. Why did `FAQ' go unnoticed? There is no doubt that the budget is limited, there are only a few sets and the CGI is not brilliant. However, like so much of the best comedy and science fiction these limitations actually make it a better film. Instead of relying on $100 million of dull CGI, `FAQ' relies solely on the things that matter; character, story and comedy.

At the heart of `FAQ' is a trio of pitch perfect performances. Chris O'Dowd is excellent as the science fiction loving Ray; it is clear why he has been snatched up by the American movie market. Marc Wootton and Dean Lennox Kelly are also fantastic; both play characters that are slightly meaner and less likable than Ray. Therefore, it is impressive that they end up being such strong characters by the end. It is when all three cast members are sat around spouting the top dialogue that the film hits its stride. With a decent cameo from Anna Faris, `FAQ' has a lot going for it in the thesp stakes.

I think it is the simplicity of three friends in a "what of" situation is what makes the film so good. The characters are inherently funny, but the situation is actually played pretty straight. There are dark moments in the film, but it is the matter of fact Britishness (and Irishness) of the characters that provides the charm. What better way to relieve tension when staring death in the face than taking the Michael out of one of your best friends?

`FAQ about Time Travel' is one of the best comedies of the past 5 years and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blimey there's too many serious people here....., 2 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. W. Norman "Bill Norman" (Washington UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: FAQ About Time Travel [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, I agree it has blokes in a pub ( well spotted other reviewers - all those years of watching Screen Test paid off .... ) Yes, its geek wish fulfillment . Yes , it owes SOTD, the Dwarf and Sir Douglas a huge debt . Yes I can see the point about the Carling Black Label ad ( Just as well its a pint of what looks like Guinness that saves the day then ...) Yes Im sure I wrote the plot to this when I was 18 in a pub and someone went back in time to steal it.

However , putting these aside its a a truly funny little movie - the plot works in its own don't think too much about it sort of way ( how many films about TT don't have Panzer division sized holes in them then?) it does look good when it needs to ( despite what other reviewers have said ) the acting is understated and I think there was a conscious decision to subsume the character development to the plot in order to maintain pace. There are some very funny set pieces which unlike other reviewers I won't spoil for you. My wife and I set out with no expectations and ended up missing half of NY's Day evening TV we were so well, engaged.

Could it have been more as one reviewer has rightly asked? Yes, it could have just done in with being a tad more original in depictions of the future I think - it looks like the Mill on autopilot.

Still, look on the bright side, being funny science fiction and set in a pub with character understatement it will always baffle Americans.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Me Rambling as Usual, 25 Oct 2009
By 
Cactus (Reading, Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: FAQ About Time Travel [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film about three blokes in a pub talking about time travel, who then find themselves time travelling as a result of visiting the pub's toilet. It's actually a very funny and quite clever `genre busting' little film, with elements of comedy, horror, sit-com, sci-fi and rom-com; it's mostly a comedy though. I found myself laughing out loud a few times, which considering my miserable, negative and cynical view on everything is pretty good going. Chris O'Dowd from The IT Crowd is in it, playing a character very similar to Roy from the latter, which will give you an idea of the vibe of the film if you know him from that. In all honesty I really can't understand why it's not more well known. Poor marketing maybe? Definitely well worth watching if you like quirky British comedies that involve a lot of humor in a toilet (and a pub, and a pub garden).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant comedy, 13 Oct 2009
By 
Daniel Stensgaard Nielsen (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: FAQ About Time Travel [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant comedy much like Hitch Hikers Guide To The Galaxy. I've never seen any of the three male characters before in movies but they do it brilliantly and Anna Ferris is funny and beautiful. This is a movie you just have to see, especially if you like Hitch Hikers Guide or if your a little sci-fi nerdy:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FAQ About Time Travel [DVD] (DVD)
Not yet viewed film the write up looks ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely dire, 19 April 2014
This review is from: FAQ About Time Travel [DVD] (DVD)
This is,without doubt,the least funny comedy I have ever had to watch all the way through. How the brilliant Anna Faris ended up in it is beyond me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How can I go back to before I bought this!?, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FAQ About Time Travel [DVD] (DVD)
This was terrible - tedious, repetitive and unfunny. A waste of the talents of the actors, and umpteen minutes of my life I'll never get back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars decent low budget time travel comedy, 5 Jun 2012
By 
tallmanbaby (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: FAQ About Time Travel [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this with the family and it more or less kept us entertained throughout.

Probably best not to say too much about the plot, three mates at the pub get caught up in a the usual lavatory based time paradoxes.

Never entirely side splitting, it passes the time reasonably enough, like an above average episode of a TV comedy series. If you hang on until after the endless credits, there is a short additional scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not everybody's cup of tea, 23 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FAQ About Time Travel [DVD] (DVD)
I was a little disappointed of how less has been made out of the good idea of the movie. It looks quite cheap produced and is surely not everybody's cup of tea regarding SF fans. The humor is not brilliant apart from a very strong beginning, it deteriorates over runningtime.
For collectors of time travel movies a must have to complete your collection, but for me definitely no quantum leap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

FAQ About Time Travel [DVD]
FAQ About Time Travel [DVD] by Gareth Carrivick (DVD - 2009)
6.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews