Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I might just travel back in time to watch it again!
It is every film lovers most satisfying moment - even better than when a summer blockbuster does live up to the hype - it is of course when a film you've not even heard of absolutely exceeds your expectation.

So this film follows the bizarre story of three friends played by homegrown talent Marc Wooten, Dean Lennox Kelly and Chris O'Dowd as they live out a...
Published on 10 Nov 2009 by Rob

versus
9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not laugh-a-minute but a few sci-fi giggles
Three of UK TV's best comedy actors get lumped together into a story which is little more than one extremely long comedy sketch about three blokes in a pub who start travelling forward and back in time every time they go to the loo.

It's not big (the budget appears to have been tiny) and it's only slightly clever in the way it parodies sci-fi ideas about 'time...
Published on 11 Oct 2009 by Mr. Stuart Bruce


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Whose round is it?", 7 Sep 2009
By 
p (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FAQ About Time Travel [DVD] (DVD)
Gareth Carrivick's big screen directorial debut teams Marc Wootton (Shirley Ghostman, My New Best Friend, Marc Wootton Exposed), Dean Lennox Kelly (Shameless), and Chris O'Dowd (I.T. Crowd) as the three leads who, as Toby, Pete and Ray, try to unravel a time travel conundrum they stumble upon in the pub.
Strong writing from Jamie Mathieson and excellent performances from all of the cast including Meredith MacNeil and Anna Faris, make it a must-see for fans of the comedy and time travel film genres - brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FAQ About Time Travel [DVD] (DVD)
Really funny film. Some nice twists you don't see coming but also a standard time travel comedy. Good for a night in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Total Fun, 20 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FAQ About Time Travel [DVD] (DVD)
Plenty of familiar faces running through time and toilets in order to get back to stage one and enjoying it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Three men go into a pub..., 9 July 2011
By 
This review is from: FAQ About Time Travel [DVD] (DVD)
...and an awful lot happens before they can get out again. Very enjoyable stuff, particularly the time-travel paradox side of things. The special effects are actually pretty good for a low-budget movie, on a par with the more expensive Doctor Who episodes. (Fans of Steven Moffat will enjoy this - indeed I was [wrongly] convinced when watching it that he had written it.) Perhaps the dialogue lets it down a little (do we really need another nerdy debate about Empire Strikes Back v Return of the Jedi?) but the acting is great, especially the lovely Anna Faris. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly excellent film, 9 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant film, this time travel comedy has twists and turns making it impossible to predict what is coming next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not laugh-a-minute but a few sci-fi giggles, 11 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: FAQ About Time Travel [DVD] (DVD)
Three of UK TV's best comedy actors get lumped together into a story which is little more than one extremely long comedy sketch about three blokes in a pub who start travelling forward and back in time every time they go to the loo.

It's not big (the budget appears to have been tiny) and it's only slightly clever in the way it parodies sci-fi ideas about 'time travel' and 'paradox'.

It's not laugh-out-loud funny. On the cover of the DVD it's compared to "Shaun Of The Dead", but the jokes come a lot thicker and faster in "Shaun" than they do here. That said, there are some good gags in it.

It's the warmth of the acting that really makes this film work. The three main leads carry pretty much the entire screen time, making it a real character piece, and it's the better for it. The entire cast is only eight people- it's not a big film.

Anna Faris, who's normally a good comedy actress, is a little bit annoying here, but Meredith MacNeil (you won't know the name but you'll have seen her in a TV comedy) does a great job.

Not a British classic but a warm comedy. I'd recommend it most to sci-fi fans with a sense of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sci-Fi Geek Heaven, 3 Mar 2010
By 
J. Donnelly "Jaydeetoo" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: FAQ About Time Travel [DVD] (DVD)
If you're the nerdy STAR TREK-, STAR WARS-, DR WHO-watching type, boy this movie is just your cup of replicated Earl Grey. FAQ is very knowing and achingly funny (if you get all the in-jokes). I saw it at the cinema last year after reading about it in SFX magazine. Very easy to miss, as it was only on at my local for a couple of days.

The cover proclaims 'SHAUN OF THE DEAD MEETS DR WHO'. A pretty apt description, although FAQ looks like it's been shot on a much tighter budget than both.

Nevertheless, this is great laugh-out-loud and affectionate fun. Even if you're not a geek but you know a few, see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, 2 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. S. A. Brown "yentilsale1" (Kilmarnock, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: FAQ About Time Travel [DVD] (DVD)
After the success of Shaun of the Dead there have been a few films which have sought to use the same strategy of putting a few "normal blokes in the pub" into a supernatural situation. Here, instead of Zombies, we have three guys in a pub inadvertently finding a break in the space-time continuum which allows them to travel back and forward in time whenever they enter the pub's toilets. Much hilarity ensues as the characters find themselves in all manner of bizarre/dangerous situations and struggle to find their way back home.

Or, at least, it should do. In reality the characters were a bit of a disappointment for me and not nearly as well written or amusing as they should be given the cast. At times it's like watching an extended version of those "you know who your mates are" Carling adverts, with the characters simply making cliched obvious "don't all men talk like this in the pub?" type jokes. For something that has all the hallmarks of an 80 minute comedy sketch, the comedy itself is extremely limp.

The film is probably at its best when it drops the comedic air and concentrates on the science fiction elements. It is not, by any means, a cutting edge piece of science fiction, but it does take time travel in some interesting directions and the interplay between the characters works a lot better when they're not trying to force jokes into the scene.

Overall it's worth watching, but certainly not a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Enough Film, 28 Mar 2011
This review is from: FAQ About Time Travel [DVD] (DVD)
"FAQ About Time Travel" is an understated, low budget sort of film. The special effects are gorgeous considering how low budge it was. The actors do a good job, especially Anna Faris who really stole the movie and two scene wonder Meredith MacNeill. There's a lot of geek humour ("In the future, everybody's American") and shout outs ("I'm an Imagineer!"); this film knows its audience and caters to them. (to the point where I was constantly explaining minor things I had laughed at to my mate.) The time travel tropes are done well, and shout outs are made to all the classic time travel stories, including an incredibly subtle one to "A Sound of Thunder" in addition to the more obvious one. After Ray meets Cassie, the film moves almost in real time; that's really quite clever for a film about time travel. It's a silly romp of a movie, and it is well aware of that.

There are some big plot holes. Also, the story had a lot of potential, which it didn't live up to. Anna Faris and Chris O'Dowd are two of my favourite comedians; they have really good comedic timing, which they don't get to really show it off here. However, there are some hints at it. Ray's opening monologue about time travel (done in a quite convincing American accent, even if his real Irish one slips through in a few places) shows what he could do. Both characters are funny, though, and their romance is really quite enjoyable even if it moves along very quickly.

To be honest, the biggest flaw was the quick pace. Whilst it kept the plot moving, it didn't give enough time to delve into anything. The characters visit a horrible, utterly destroyed, nuclear winter future ruled by giant carnivorous ants. For five minutes. Pete has been bouncing around time randomly for two months, leaving him addled and slightly savage. Which informs his character but is never discussed and is touched on only briefly. They visit a fan night at the pub where everyone is dressed like them; it doesn't result in any hijinks other than the Best Toby being much fatter than the real thing and the Best Pete being real Pete. The part that suffered worst was Ray and Cassie's relationship. I could buy that she was really into him because she'd been spending months at a time learning about him and focussed on him, but in real time, he'd known her for about an hour, maybe two at the most. All of their interactions were cute, adorably awkward, and funny, which left me begging for more. (I really want to see Anna Faris and Chris O'Dowd in a quirky, indie rom com now. And I don't like rom coms.) There was a lot of potential and due to the quick pace, the film didn't live up to it.

Overall, "FAQ About Time Travel" is well-worth a watch. It's a silly, quirky little movie, and it knows it and doesn't want to be anything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blimey there's too many serious people here....., 2 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. W. Norman "Bill Norman" (Washington UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: FAQ About Time Travel [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, I agree it has blokes in a pub ( well spotted other reviewers - all those years of watching Screen Test paid off .... ) Yes, its geek wish fulfillment . Yes , it owes SOTD, the Dwarf and Sir Douglas a huge debt . Yes I can see the point about the Carling Black Label ad ( Just as well its a pint of what looks like Guinness that saves the day then ...) Yes Im sure I wrote the plot to this when I was 18 in a pub and someone went back in time to steal it.

However , putting these aside its a a truly funny little movie - the plot works in its own don't think too much about it sort of way ( how many films about TT don't have Panzer division sized holes in them then?) it does look good when it needs to ( despite what other reviewers have said ) the acting is understated and I think there was a conscious decision to subsume the character development to the plot in order to maintain pace. There are some very funny set pieces which unlike other reviewers I won't spoil for you. My wife and I set out with no expectations and ended up missing half of NY's Day evening TV we were so well, engaged.

Could it have been more as one reviewer has rightly asked? Yes, it could have just done in with being a tad more original in depictions of the future I think - it looks like the Mill on autopilot.

Still, look on the bright side, being funny science fiction and set in a pub with character understatement it will always baffle Americans.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

FAQ About Time Travel [DVD]
FAQ About Time Travel [DVD] by Gareth Carrivick (DVD - 2009)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews