Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


93 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Ghibli's best titles, as well as the most under-watched/rated.
Waves in the ocean. Ripples in water. Occurrences that don't impact on the world as a whole.

Ocean Waves is a story of similar impact; impacting only on three characters locked inside their own small little world. It's a story covering the journey towards adulthood of three high schoolers, where the friendship of two is damaged by the one thing besides hate...
Published on 24 Oct 2009 by Aion

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but I probably won't watch it again
I'm a big fan of Studio Ghibli and borrowed this film from the library to watch. Just to let you know first off is that it is Japanese with English subtitles, I don't mind this as I like hearing the Japanese. I enjoyed this film for its depiction of high school life in Japan and its mix of different personalities. It is however relatively short and so the characters are...
Published 10 days ago by Karina Mann


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me!, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ocean Waves [DVD] (DVD)
Love Ghibli, but really did not enjoy this film at all. Characters had no depth, so could not relate to them in any way and didn't feel the need or want to either. Storyline was pretty poor. Music not up to usual ghibli standard. Very drawn out boring film. Such a shame, purchased for collection but will probably never watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good art house movie, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ocean Waves [DVD] (DVD)
The only TV special from Studio Ghibli can be lined up with their other films "Whisper of the Heart" and "Only Yesterday". It is a coming-of-age story of two high school students who at first had a kind of love-hate relationship.
The pacing of the film is a little slow, but with this kind of story quite right. One of the best animated stories I have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ocean Waves review, 9 Jan 2014
By 
Purple (Belfast, NI) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ocean Waves [DVD] (DVD)
A wonderfully touching story and very believable. It really draws you in and you find yourself rooting for or scowling at the actions of the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great anime, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ocean Waves [DVD] (DVD)
This one belongs to the Ghibli selection of more cultured movies. If you are over 12 years of age and truly like Japanese anime for more than happy colours and characters that talk funny. This one, as well as Only yesterday, really are two "must see" movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good anime, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ocean Waves [DVD] (DVD)
The famous anime makers can always be trusted.

Great ending tune.

I also recommend the other works of Ghibli Studio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Deal, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ocean Waves [DVD] (DVD)
it was as it was described and was delivered promptly. I am very pleased with this product and would recommend this supplier to any of my friends :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Tokyo girl transferred to a school in a Kochi., 24 Jun 2011
This review is from: Ocean Waves [DVD] (DVD)
Kochi is near Ocean, far from Tokyo.
Near Hiroshima.

The girl's name is Mariko. She had to move there because of her family problems.
Not so many I cannot write, but I quite like this story.
Mariko is cute, attractive and sad, but Happy and vivid girl.
This is one of the most favorite Jiburi Anime for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dvd oceon waves, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ocean Waves [DVD] (DVD)
Good but not as good as poppy hill and my neighbour totero,thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best of the collection, 2 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ocean Waves [DVD] (DVD)
When this came out i was really excited. It had good reviews before it was translated. I have to say, compared to the rest of the studio Ghibli collection i was rather disappointed. It kept losing my attention when i was watching it which didn't help considering there is no english option, just sub-titles in english. As a result i have watched it once, and unlike the rest of the movies i don't really have the desire to watch again. If you collect the films then by all means its kind of worth it to keep up to date with the numbers but if your looking to buy randomly you need to really think about it. These dvd's don't come cheap and if you don't like it, it can be a waste. It is more serious than other movies, and lacks the randomness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite the Impact I'd Hoped For, 19 Mar 2010
By 
S. Smith "sitorimon" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ocean Waves [DVD] (DVD)
I'd not heard of Ocean Waves before but having bought every other Ghibli film in the collection released in the UK so far, it was an automatic buy for me. The story is essentially about a love triangle between two best friends at school over a girl who's moved from Tokyo into the country, and how the friends deal with eachother as one struggles to hold back his feelings. It's told in retrospect and is very similar to Only Yesterday in terms of style, story and the feelings and emotions portrayed.

I did enjoy the film but I was left a little deflated as well as the girl they are busy falling fall is so awful to the pair of them, she'd lost my sympathy almost by the time her story was fully revealed. The ending was left very open as well, which usually doesn't bother me but for some reason with this film it did.

I can completely see however why others are rating it 5 stars. It's charming and has some great moments...maybe I'll warm to it more on a rewatch. 3.5 stars really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ocean Waves [DVD]
Ocean Waves [DVD] by Tomomi Mochizuki (DVD - 2010)
£9.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews