Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quietly suspenseful....
I knew absolutely nothing about this film before watching it and that's the best way to experience this particular film I think!!

The film is primarily suspense/mystery but it's also a drama, romance and thriller; there are elements of eerieness which really caught me off guard! It got my attention very quickly and managed to hold it to the very end. It's an...
Published on 4 Oct 2009 by Miss K

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not So Brilliant
A young psychothrapist,Claire (Anne Hathaway)is asked to deal with the traumas of five plane crash survivors. She soon becomes intimately involved with Eric (Patrick Wilson),one of the survivors. As this unethical liaison is developing, the survivors begin to mysteriously disappear one after the other, and Claire, suspecting some foul play, needs to find out what is going...
Published on 12 Jan 2011 by Caneroad


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quietly suspenseful...., 4 Oct 2009
By 
Miss K (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Passengers [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I knew absolutely nothing about this film before watching it and that's the best way to experience this particular film I think!!

The film is primarily suspense/mystery but it's also a drama, romance and thriller; there are elements of eerieness which really caught me off guard! It got my attention very quickly and managed to hold it to the very end. It's an interesting, unusual film that will have you periodically wondering what the film is actually about! It's not a loud action-packed film but more of a quiet film that will unfold in its own time and it's definitely worth the wait - I liked the way the story and the characters developed and I was quite moved by the end of the film which was unexpected!

I don't even remember seeing a trailer for this film so don't let this one fly by under your radar - it's a satisfying treat of a film! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not So Brilliant, 12 Jan 2011
This review is from: Passengers [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
A young psychothrapist,Claire (Anne Hathaway)is asked to deal with the traumas of five plane crash survivors. She soon becomes intimately involved with Eric (Patrick Wilson),one of the survivors. As this unethical liaison is developing, the survivors begin to mysteriously disappear one after the other, and Claire, suspecting some foul play, needs to find out what is going on. And that becomes clear about ten minutes from the end of this movie.

I found the pace of the movie rather slow, and the movie itself lacking any dramatic development. There was,for example,a clear opportunity, which the film failed to exploit, to add some extra depth to Claire's therapeutic sessions with the patients/survivors.
Also, the embarrassingly unethical relationship between Claire and her patient, Eric, was taken , for most of the movie's duration,as an every day's occurrence, and with no explanation what so ever. The viewer has to wait for more than an hour for every thing to be resolved by the end of the movie.
I have given the film a 3- star because although the acting, especially by the two main leads, is good, one can not enthuse much about the quality of the script nor the dramatic element of the mystery itself.
Finally,the concept of a dreadful aircrash would not ordinarily be my first choice for a relaxing movie watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad., 13 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Passengers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I rented this for my sister as she's a fan of Patrick Wilson and the film sounded good for a Sunday night. When Claire (Anne Hathaway) meets five surrivours of a plane crash and begins to get closer with one, Eric (Wilson), they soon disappear and she must solve the reason why. It's entertaining hour and a half with a good round of actors and actresses, it isn't going to win any awards but it's a simple film to watch. The twist at the end could be prejectable to many but I didn't see it coming, when it ended it was okay as many films with a twist end really badly but this was fine. Good enough pefomances from Anne Hathaway, Patrick Wilson and David Morse keep the film going, it looks lovely on Blu-Ray and it's recommened for anyone who likes any of the stars or a film to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dreamy Patrick Wilson and the beautiful Anne Hathaway team up for a different romantic drama, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passengers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
First off this film did succeed in making me cry. I bought the film because of Patrick Wilson who I like. Ms. Hathaway was also a draw for me. And Clea Duvall is always excellent. All in all a good, nice film with strong, appealing leads and performances. (I may have made the tragic mistake of looking at Wikipedia whilst watching the film - but it still made me cry) There's much to enjoy here. And the cigarette smoking man is in this! There's even an explosion. Quite brilliant. You got drama, romance and mystery. And best of all conspiracy too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passengers [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is an interesting film and I watched it to the end. Not sure about the ending but it was definitely unexpected. Sometimes people have a great story but don't know how to link it all at the end and this felt a bit like that. At least it wasn't the usual predictable story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this film ...., 18 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passengers [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Had a suspician as to the circumstances half way through - but thoroughly recommend that you watch it as it was very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly thrilling...., 22 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Passengers [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Picked this up as it had Anne Hathaway in it. Had recently seen Devil Wears Prada and was curious as to what else she'd been in.

This was okay. A little predictable in places. Her character was not particularly compelling. Of the Sixth Sense genre but no way near as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Kind of Movie., 12 Sep 2011
By 
Anurup Mitra "Anurup" (India) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Passengers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I loved this movie. The build-up took some time and I was beginning to wonder whether it would be a let-down (since I was completely unfamiliar with the movie) but it turned out to be a hidden gem. It left me wondering why so little was heard of and known about this film.

And of course Anne Hathaway was there...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit predictable, 4 Sep 2011
By 
Lisa Stowner "Lisa. S." (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Passengers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The ending was a little too easy to predict but on the whole it was an enjoyable movie. The cast were good and kept my interest right up to the end even though I had guessed what was coming. Love Anne Hathaway and she's gorgeous as usual in this. PQ and AQ are very good. Even though a tad formulaic you won't be crying over having spent 7 pound on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love look at the two of us, 30 Mar 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The film starts with a crash but is seems quite slow paced. Mr. Perry (t Andre Braugher) thinks that it is time for a therapist Claire summers (Anne Hathaway) to do something practical so she is assigned to help the passengers of the recent plane crash. The passenger's accounts of the plane crash vary greatly and soon the passengers seem to be disappearing or at least not coming to the sessions. It appears that the airline is covering something up and everybody is in on it. Is Claire paranoid to the point where she cannot function properly?

With the creepy mystique and the slow pace and mysterious people, our minds are racing ahead. We remember all of the conspiracy movies spooky movies and just downright movies of all kinds in the twists. Okay which one is this one going to be? Now who is paranoid?

It is best to let the movie unfold into with the flow and you may find that you enjoy it and with all movies that have a mystery about them you will want to re-watch this to see what you missed.

One suspicious character is Airline representative Arkin played by David Morse. See him again in "Contact" (1997).

I only saw the Blu-ray so I cannot compare to other versions but be sure to also listen to the voice over commentary by Rodrigo Garcia - Director and Patrick Wilson who plays Eric.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Passengers [DVD] [2008]
Passengers [DVD] [2008] by Rodrigo García (DVD - 2009)
£6.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews