Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars long awaited but worth the while
I think I had this DVD on order for years. After delays it usualy went completely off the list, but persistence paid off and finaly I got my copy.
and well worth the wait. Did not loose any of the humor over the years (25 years old now) and good to watch.

Yellowbeard is a real pirate. That Jack Sparrow character is a charlatan compared to Yellowbeard. No...
Published on 24 Aug 2009 by Henk

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Born a pirate
Graham Chapman was a member of the classic comedy gang Monty Python, so it's not too surprising that "Yellowbeard" plays out like the world's longest Python skit -- tasteless, hilarious, and full of clinically insane characters. It doesn't have much of a plot, but the A-grade comedy actors make up for that much of the time.

Raping/pillaging pirate Yellowbeard...
Published on 29 April 2007 by E. A Solinas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Born a pirate, 29 April 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Yellowbeard (DVD)
Graham Chapman was a member of the classic comedy gang Monty Python, so it's not too surprising that "Yellowbeard" plays out like the world's longest Python skit -- tasteless, hilarious, and full of clinically insane characters. It doesn't have much of a plot, but the A-grade comedy actors make up for that much of the time.

Raping/pillaging pirate Yellowbeard (Chapman) has been in prison for twenty years for tax evasion. But since he's never even hinted where his treasure is, Navy Commander Clement (Eric Idle) pretends to add a hundred-forty years onto his sentence, hoping that he'll escape and lead them to the treasure. He does escape, but discovers that his tarty wife (Madeleine Kahn) has transferred his treasure map onto the head of her (and probably his) son Dan (Martin Hewitt).

After trying to decapitate Dan, Yellowbeard agrees to go on an adventure for the treasure, along with a scholarly doctor and an absentminded peer. Only the three of them get kidnapped by a press gang, and so Yellowbeard follows them on board, intent on raping, pillaging, mutiny, and getting back the treasure he took from the Spaniards (Cheech and Chong).

Yeah, it's a pretty thin plot -- the second half has basically no plot at all. But somehow it doesn't really interfere with the enjoyment of the story, especially since the cast is pure comic gold. Heck, it contains half of Monty Python --really, what higher compliment can you pay it than that?

The whole hijinks-on-the-way-to-treasure gets kind of muddled, as does the revenge of Yellowbeard's ex-first-mate. So Chapman and David Sherlock load on the mildly offensive comedy, including a bunch of sailors trying to smuggle prostitutes on board, and kindly Lord Lambourn constantly forgetting who other people are and what they're doing.

The dialogue is even better -- wonderfully weird, sometimes sick ("Look, if you cut my head off it'll start to putrify!" "Do what?" "Putrify, go rotten!" "Yeah, it would ooze a bit, heads do. But I could live with it!"). Sometimes the humor is outright groanworthy, such as one exchange between Idle and John Cleese: "I may be blind, but I have acute 'earing." "I don't care about your jewelry!"

Unsurprisingly, Chapman rules this with his wild-eyed, bloodthirsty, bawdy pirate -- it seems like a a Python character who never made it to the screen. Yellowbeard is great fun, and Chapman has two of his Python pals as well -- Idle as a perpetually frustrated Navy commander, and Cleese as a blind beggar with hearing that should count as a superpower.

Cheech and Chong make some cameos as greedy Spaniards as well, and Peter Cook has an endearing turn as the absentminded Lambourn. As if that wasn't enough, two of Mel Brooks' favorites are on here -- Madeleine Kahn as Yellowbeard's tarty, untruthful wife ("The afterplay was on the rough side, but not fatal, dear"), and Marty Feldman as a creepy little pirate spy. Sadly Feldman died on the last day of this shoot.

"Yellowbeard" is kinda lacking in plot, but it almost makes up for that with a hilarious, slightly demented cast of classic comedy actors, and plenty of quotables. Definitely worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars long awaited but worth the while, 24 Aug 2009
By 
Henk "Opie" (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Yellowbeard [DVD] (DVD)
I think I had this DVD on order for years. After delays it usualy went completely off the list, but persistence paid off and finaly I got my copy.
and well worth the wait. Did not loose any of the humor over the years (25 years old now) and good to watch.

Yellowbeard is a real pirate. That Jack Sparrow character is a charlatan compared to Yellowbeard. No nonsense, just go out and kill everybody. And when you get killed yourself? That should not stop you. (to be fair: it didn't stop Captain Jack either).

Anyway, if you love pirate movies or good British humor, this is a must-buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie for fans of Silly movies, 9 Nov 2003
By 
Mark E. Weaver "wordsmithsrus" (Philadelphia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yellowbeard [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Yellowbeard is a pirate movie about a scoundrel named (appropriately enough) Yellowbeard (played by Graham Chapman of Monty Python fame). Upon his escape from prison he sets out to find the treasure he buried years before, to discover that the only map in existence has been tattooed on the head of his own son, who is now a grown man. Also making priceless appearances are John Cleese as Blind Pew, Marty Feldman, Eric Idle, Madeline Kahn, Cheech and Chong... well, you get the idea. It has so many great quotable lines...! I have seen this movie many times, and each time I enjoy it more. The Monty Python gang and their friends obviously had fun making it. My only complaint is that it is no longer available in the U.S. My VHS tape is nearly worn out. Please release on DVD!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best fun pirate film ever, 21 July 2004
By 
This review is from: Yellowbeard [VHS] (VHS Tape)
i must have watched yellowbeard hundreds of times,never getting tired of the non stop quotable lines unfotunately my tape wore out.i only wish that it would be put on dvd so i could watch it hundreds more.the combination of the monty python crew cheech and chong etc keep me laughing from start to finish.i am the richest person in the world for having seen this film. long live yellowbeard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yarr! This be a real letdown, maties!, 11 Mar 2014
This review is from: Yellowbeard [DVD] (DVD)
Boasting a cavalcade of 80s comedy icons, 'Yellowbeard' is a comical swashbuckler that tells of the mad pursuit of a lost treasure related to the titular pirate, and the various wackos out for it. From pirates, to naval officers, to even barwenches and effeminate Hispanics, all after this prize. Mayhem ensues... or so one had hoped....

While director Mel Damski recreates the look of classic Hollywood pirate adventures well, offering colourful sets and costumes, and John Morris' score is fittingly bombastic and bold, 'Yellowbeard' is sadly really short on laughs. This comes as a gigantic surprise given the amount of iconic comedians involved (frankly, do I have to even name them?) and that Chapman, a former Monty Python no less, helped write it. But alas, even their combined charisma can't elevate lame gags, mostly tired raunch and slapstick, that either lack that extra bit of 'kick', or just ramble on and on thanks to slack editing, ending with inadequate payoff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally!, 17 Jun 2009
By 
Innanen Sami "Samael" (Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yellowbeard [DVD] (DVD)
After waiting for ages for this it's finally going to be available in Region 2 format! I remember watching this as a kid and I have it on VCR...I'm a big fan of Cheech & Chong and Monty Python..and for example the death of Blind Pew (played by John Cleese) is one of the funniest moments in movies in general...it just works for me. Awesome stuff! Can't wait
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yellowbeard [DVD] (DVD)
perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yellowbeard., 20 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yellowbeard [DVD] (DVD)
Great,often overlooked film. Mega cast including Graham Chapman,Peter Cook, Marty Feldman,Eric Idle the list
Goes on. You even get a cameo from David Bowie. Sadly Marty Feldman died while making this film, so his
Exit from the the story is sudden . My son has become a fan of Monty Python recently, so this was ideal to get him
As a present. He absolutely loved it & didn't know it existed. I think it's a funny film & my son would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yellowbeard [DVD] (DVD)
I had looked everywhere for this film, very pleased to finally get hold of it! Well worth watching, very good comedy enjoyed by all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Cast of Thousands, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yellowbeard [DVD] (DVD)
Even though I found this to be comically inferior to other Python films it is the late, great Marty Feldman's last film appearance. Sadly, he died before the film was completed. I am glad to have it in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yellowbeard [DVD]
Yellowbeard [DVD] by Mel Damski (DVD - 2009)
10.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews