Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great heist movie
I do not want to ruin the surprises of the film so I will not give any of the elements of it away.
Denzel Washington plays detective Keith Frazier and has to work out what exactly this bank robbery is all about, the robber played by Clive Owen doesn't give anything away and shows he knows what he is doing leaving false leads and clues that you will find out about...
Published on 14 July 2007 by Smatch

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok up to a point
This the latest and most successful movie from director Spike Lee sees him reteam with his Malcolm X star Denzel Washington in this ok tale of a bank robbery in NY,the plot as such has Clive Owen as the main villain of a gang that take over a bank and Washington is the hostage negotiator that has to deal with the aftermath.

It soon becomes clear that there are...
Published on 2 Aug 2006 by shansu69


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great heist movie, 14 July 2007
By 
Smatch (South West) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Inside Man [DVD] (DVD)
I do not want to ruin the surprises of the film so I will not give any of the elements of it away.
Denzel Washington plays detective Keith Frazier and has to work out what exactly this bank robbery is all about, the robber played by Clive Owen doesn't give anything away and shows he knows what he is doing leaving false leads and clues that you will find out about later on in the story.
The film very well done by using flash aheads of the questioning of some of the hostages and when the film comes to the climax you still need to be thinking and adding up what you have learnt throughout. This is the sort of film you need to see atleast twice because of the trickery in the plot and the fact that the robbers don't give anything away.
Denzel Washington is great as always playing the good cop, Clive Owen is good aswell although you see him in his mask alot of the time and he doesn't talk much. When the film does climax I find myself hoping that the 123 mins approx is wrong because I really wanted it to go on. So this might not be the best film i've ever seen but it comes damn close.
And lets just say its an ending you won't expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superlative heist movie, 6 Sep 2006
This review is from: Inside Man [DVD] (DVD)
Inside Man is something of a departure for Spike Lee, a director usually more at home with biting social commentary, particularly on the lot of African Americans. By comparison, this movie is mainstream, throwing a host of top names into a soup of tension, intrigue and genuine thrills. From beginning to end, Inside Man plays with our preconceptions of the genre; characters are turned in on themselves, twists and thrills come thick and fast. Lee's direction is clinical, sharp. The script is quick and filled with intelligent, sometimes provocative, lines. The acting is superb throughout, Denzel Washington deserving of particular praise, though Clive Owen does a magnificent job considering you don't see much of his face throughout the movie. Thoroughly entertaining and wonderfully put together, Inside Man deserves its place in any DVD collection. Just brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Sep 2006
By 
O. Doyle "celticshedevil" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inside Man [DVD] (DVD)
Any film with Denzel is going to be a winner but when the cast expands to include such names as Clive Owen, Jodie Foster and Willem Defoe you know this won't be any old bank-heist movie. And `The Inside Man' is anything but predictable. You think you're so sure going into this movie that you know how it'll pan out but don't fool yourself! The twists and turns in the plot are well thought out and every time you think `this is where it goes predictable' something else is thrown into the mix. I can't explain the plot without giving away spoilers so I won't go there.

What I can say is that there are some fantastic performances here. Clive Owen for me was the ultimate star. I've seen him in a few movies and he can do so many different characters brilliantly that you wonder where this guys talents stop. Denzel would have been given top points for his performance but his Miami-Vice 1980's wardrobe just killed it for me! Jodie Foster was the negotiator I guess you could call her. Her interest in the heist extends to the contents of one safety deposit box inside the bank and her job is to secure it one way or the other. She gave a brilliant performance as a no-nonsense, know-it-all and it's great to see her back on our screens again.

I think what I loved most about this film is that it was absent the usual predictable plot and you find yourself thinking `mmm.....I'd never have thought of that'. It sucks you in because you really don't know what will happen next. I loved it and thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brillian twists, 16 Sep 2006
By 
L. Williams "laura1978" (Tamworth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inside Man [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this film. If you stick with it it gets VERY good! The ending is very clever! Denzil Washington is fantastic as usual! Clive Owen was also very good! Highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film is daylight robbery...! A perfect one..?, 21 May 2007
By 
C. Shannon "Cazzy luvs Darcy!" (SW London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inside Man [DVD] (DVD)
'Inside Man' is an excellent watch! And probably the best heist film you will see for a long time! Clive Owen is excellent as the cool, calm and collected mastermind behind a daring bank robbery. Denzel Washington is the detective trying to put the pieces together, and there are a few! But we don't see enough of Jodie Foster as the bank investigator, hers is almost a bit part, but a vital one. She steals almost every scene she's in! A clever film, that you know is gonna twist and surprise you, but you don't know how, until the last few scenes. Cleverly done. No gratuitous sex or violence, proving that good films really don't need that! Watchit! You'll enjoy it. TJ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a watch, 7 Nov 2006
By 
Debron (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Inside Man [DVD] (DVD)
I was really impressed with the pace of this film and was really hooked all the way through. The only thing I have to say bad about is that there are a couple of really obvious 'that would never happen moments' but it certainly doesn't spoil the enjoyment. Well worth a watch!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How people can not like this film... I do not know, 16 Nov 2007
By 
Darryl Curtis "Max" (Shepperton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inside Man [DVD] (DVD)
I am mystified why people don't all give this film 5 stars. It is a clever plot, that few would guess, and a film where you look at each other when it ends, and say. So that's what happened... but what about... and how did that... and was he....

I loved it. I also thought it was pretty original, having never seen a film quite like it.

I don't think it is the strongest acting that Denzil, willem, jodie or clive have ever done, but hey they each have some amazing performances between them. It is the script that makes this film stand out, well performed by a strong team, without exceptional standout performances, but hey that is no bad thing.

Just Sit Back, and try and predict what is going to happen, it is a hell of a ride!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, 11 Nov 2006
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inside Man [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very good variation on the classic heist movie. A top quality cast all give fine performances, resulting in an entertaining and intelligent film. This second quality is important, since we've all seen heist movies before, but this one adds something extra to proceedings by making the owner of the bank (the as always excellent Christopher Plummer) a leading player in film for reasons that only become obvious in the 2nd half of the film.

This is more mainstream, than most Spike Lee films but he still stamps his own vision on the film. We should also be grateful that Spike realises the futility of buildings and cars exploding. Perhaps hollywood will learn one day. It goes without saying that the direction is good and the script equally so. Denzel Washington shares the acting honours with Plummer, if only because Clive Owen is behind a mask most of the time.

I have only seen the film once, but can imagine that it will improve with a few more viewings. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should not be missed., 15 Jun 2006
This review is from: Inside Man [DVD] (DVD)
This film is wonderfully acted, brilliantly directed, and fantastically scored. Unfortunatley one thing lets it down... the script.
The story revolves around a bankrobbery-come-hostage-situation that has Denzel Washington negotiating and trying to outsmart Robber Clive Owen. The plot has plenty of breath stoppingly tense moments and it twists and turns at every possible oppertunity, the sad thing is that bits of this plot and the occasional line just don't work (eg. "I never repeat myself" said twice).
The film is shot in two timelines, one in the robbery and one afterwards as Denzels negotiator and his partner interveiw suspects (Which is everyone pretty much) to try and find the one who was working for the robbers - the inside man/woman. This works really well and helps build character and tension, as these interveiws often prolong some of the tenser or most thought-heavy moments in the earlier timeline.
The music is very unusual in places (bollywood?) but actually gives the film a very original feel.
Spike lee is on top form directing, Washington gives one of his best performances, Clive Owen proves he can act, William Dafoe is underused but a treat when he's there, and Jodie Foster has one of the best ruthless parts ever written.
This Film has few flaws, and though they keep it from a five star rating (RATING : 4.8 stars), they shouldn't prevent you from buying it or at the very least renting it because it really should not be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic of its genre, 27 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: Inside Man [DVD] (DVD)
Totalling absorbing film with a low key performance from Clive Owen as the chief thief and the opposite by Denzil Washington as a slightly seedy detective(under suspicion for corruption): dig his thin moustache and blousey suits which completely transform his persona.

The apparently standard bank heist plot is turned upside down by director Spike Lee into something extraordinary,compelling and riveting as the plot progresses.

I have to mention the superb music,a mix of Indian and rap,which compounds the flavour of the film: unique.

As I write prices for the dvd start at one penny.Exceptional value for two hours of rippling drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inside Man [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Inside Man [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Spike Lee (Blu-ray - 2009)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews