Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars british horror at its best!
I cannot wait for this movie to come out on dvd. It was given a very limited cinema release earlier this year and me and my girlfriend were lucky enough to get to see it.

There have been some great british horror films recently such as eden lake and the children but for my money this is the best one yet. The story follows a young couple who are traveling down a...
Published on 2 Jun 2009 by hales 28

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very poor
disappointment from start to end.
lacked imagination.
ending was unbelievably poor.
story line was ridiculous at most times.
very boring.
Published 3 months ago by Eleine


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars british horror at its best!, 2 Jun 2009
This review is from: Hush [DVD] (DVD)
I cannot wait for this movie to come out on dvd. It was given a very limited cinema release earlier this year and me and my girlfriend were lucky enough to get to see it.

There have been some great british horror films recently such as eden lake and the children but for my money this is the best one yet. The story follows a young couple who are traveling down a busy rain swept motorway stopping at service stations to change the posters on display. The couple are not getting along and its clear their relationship is almost over. They are stuck in a traffic jam and to their horror the back door of the lorry in front of them flips open briefly to reveal a semi naked girl chained and screaming for help.

The lad phones the police who dont seem that bothered and the lorry drives away. The girlfriend is furious with her boyfriends reluctance to get involved and at the next service station tells him she is leaving him. He then notices the same lorry parked in the car park and no sign of his girlfriend only her dropped necklace on the floor.

A life and death chase now begins as the young man tries to find his missing girlfriend and outwit the cloaked and hooded figure who is driving the lorry.

This film is packed with suspenseful moments and i was literally clinging to the edge of my seat at some points particularly the scene where our hero is stalked through a maze of lorry containers by the films never named or fully glimsed villain. Having our villain silent is also a brilliant concept reminicent of michael myers in the original halloween.

I really recommed all fans of the horror genre check out this little gem of a film and those who missed its cinema run should really get the dvd. Its frightening and suspenseful. Watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More like a big cheer, 24 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hush [DVD] (DVD)
A couple are making their way down the M1, but to say their relationship was fractuous would be an understatement. Zakes(William Ash) and Beth(Christine Bottomley)are barely speaking to eachother and when they do every comment is laced with barbed wire. Then a truck pulls out in front of them, and Zakes glimpses what he thinks is a woman in a cage in the back as it passes. He reports it to the police, but is reluctant to follow the truck further, much to the chagrin of Beth. When they stop at the next Service Station, Beth tells Zakes that their relationship is over, but then Beth dissapears and Zakes is drawn into a night of terror, from which there seems no escape.
So, why is this British horror so damn good? Well theres the believable characters and dialogue for a start. Also, the way that director Tonderai squeezes every last drop of tension from even the most mundane of situations. Then theres the superb camera work, and the two excellent performances from the two leads.
With British horror in such capable hands , theres good reason to expect a rosy future for both the industry and for Tonderai, as its hard to believe that this was his directorial debut, as the film is so accomplished. An excellent, suspenseful little horror/thriller. 5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very poor, 4 April 2014
This review is from: Hush (Amazon Instant Video)
disappointment from start to end.
lacked imagination.
ending was unbelievably poor.
story line was ridiculous at most times.
very boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hush, 26 Aug 2011
This review is from: Hush [DVD] (DVD)
a film tht leaves u gripped to ur seat loved it and would recommend it especially if you like those kind of things
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality British Horror, 1 Dec 2009
By 
T. F. Hunter (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hush [DVD] (DVD)
Very good Horror film, based in a believable reality few horror films are, thoroughly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK film but camera work really frustrating and spoilt the film for m, 29 Jun 2014
By 
S. Byers (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hush (Amazon Instant Video)
This would have been more watchable if the camera work had been better. It was ALL OVER THE PLACE. I know sometimes this is done deliberately to assist with the mood of the moment, but all the way through? I couldn't focus on a face, expression, a person, a view, a point that was supposed to be important, because the image was constantly moving and jerking. I got fed up with it in the end, fast forwarded and gave up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 'Hush' | A Pleasing Thriller, 24 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Hush (Amazon Instant Video)
*Possible Spoilers*

'Hush' exists within a sub-genre of psychological thrillers occupied by the likes of 'Duel', 'The Vanishing / Spoorloos' and 'Breakdown'. Its resemblance to these films is more than passing, but it manages to retain an identity of its own. The direction is taut, the stripped down plot is focused and the film's colour palette and lighting contrasts lend the film an eerie, dramatic quality.

Thankfully, 'Hush' steers clear of awkward moralising concerning the subject of human trafficking (a matter which motivates the undercurrent of the plot); this film is an exercise in tension building, not a mawkish 'issues' based drama. However, where the film misfires is in rather indulgent moments of violence, which border on the gratuitous. These gruesome elements end up being a distraction, since they veer the film into the realms of horror rather than enhancing its urgent qualities.

If you enjoyed the films listed in this sub-genre of psychologically thrilling pictures, then you are likely to find 'Hush' an enjoyably tense and suspenseful picture, one which is admirable for eschewing excess and frippery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not the best not the worst, 6 Mar 2014
This review is from: Hush (Amazon Instant Video)
interesting story line, but never really gets going, wouldn't say it's scary, but good attempt at a british horror film. disappointing ending, too many unanswered questions. not a bad watch if you have an hour and half to kill!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars scary, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hush [DVD] (DVD)
because it so real/could happening. in vien of wolf creek- but set in uk domestic scene in car-we all be there!! well worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars William Ash is gorgeous, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hush [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The film is not bad. I think I bought it for William Ash after watching Waterloo rd. He delivers the goods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hush [Blu-ray]
Hush [Blu-ray] by Shaun Dingwall (Blu-ray - 2009)
7.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews