Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More like a big cheer
A couple are making their way down the M1, but to say their relationship was fractuous would be an understatement. Zakes(William Ash) and Beth(Christine Bottomley)are barely speaking to eachother and when they do every comment is laced with barbed wire. Then a truck pulls out in front of them, and Zakes glimpses what he thinks is a woman in a cage in the back as it...
Published on 24 Sept. 2009 by Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very poor
disappointment from start to end.
lacked imagination.
ending was unbelievably poor.
story line was ridiculous at most times.
very boring.
Published 16 months ago by Bekkah


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More like a big cheer, 24 Sept. 2009
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hush [DVD] (DVD)
A couple are making their way down the M1, but to say their relationship was fractuous would be an understatement. Zakes(William Ash) and Beth(Christine Bottomley)are barely speaking to eachother and when they do every comment is laced with barbed wire. Then a truck pulls out in front of them, and Zakes glimpses what he thinks is a woman in a cage in the back as it passes. He reports it to the police, but is reluctant to follow the truck further, much to the chagrin of Beth. When they stop at the next Service Station, Beth tells Zakes that their relationship is over, but then Beth dissapears and Zakes is drawn into a night of terror, from which there seems no escape.
So, why is this British horror so damn good? Well theres the believable characters and dialogue for a start. Also, the way that director Tonderai squeezes every last drop of tension from even the most mundane of situations. Then theres the superb camera work, and the two excellent performances from the two leads.
With British horror in such capable hands , theres good reason to expect a rosy future for both the industry and for Tonderai, as its hard to believe that this was his directorial debut, as the film is so accomplished. An excellent, suspenseful little horror/thriller. 5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars british horror at its best!, 2 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hush [DVD] (DVD)
I cannot wait for this movie to come out on dvd. It was given a very limited cinema release earlier this year and me and my girlfriend were lucky enough to get to see it.

There have been some great british horror films recently such as eden lake and the children but for my money this is the best one yet. The story follows a young couple who are traveling down a busy rain swept motorway stopping at service stations to change the posters on display. The couple are not getting along and its clear their relationship is almost over. They are stuck in a traffic jam and to their horror the back door of the lorry in front of them flips open briefly to reveal a semi naked girl chained and screaming for help.

The lad phones the police who dont seem that bothered and the lorry drives away. The girlfriend is furious with her boyfriends reluctance to get involved and at the next service station tells him she is leaving him. He then notices the same lorry parked in the car park and no sign of his girlfriend only her dropped necklace on the floor.

A life and death chase now begins as the young man tries to find his missing girlfriend and outwit the cloaked and hooded figure who is driving the lorry.

This film is packed with suspenseful moments and i was literally clinging to the edge of my seat at some points particularly the scene where our hero is stalked through a maze of lorry containers by the films never named or fully glimsed villain. Having our villain silent is also a brilliant concept reminicent of michael myers in the original halloween.

I really recommed all fans of the horror genre check out this little gem of a film and those who missed its cinema run should really get the dvd. Its frightening and suspenseful. Watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'ZAKES' IS HAVING A BAD NIGHT, 10 May 2015
By 
rbmusicman/and/movie-fan' (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hush [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
'Zakes' (William Ash) and girlfriend 'Beth' (Christine Bottomley) are travelling up the M.1 at night in heavy rain, 'Zakes'
job is to replace posters in Motorway-Rest area's, suddenly their path is temporarily blocked by a lorry that's travelling
somewhat haphazardly, the rear shutter opens briefly, 'Zakes' believes he see's a naked-woman tied up in the back.
'Zakes' tries to report what he's seen to the police, then to put some distance between them and the truck.
Stopping off at a Rest-Area to carry on his work, 'Beth' after a falling out say's she'll find her own way home.
On reflection 'Zakes' decides to look for 'Beth' to apoligise but can't find her, after a misunderstanding with security guards
'Zakes' returns to the car-park finding an item of jewellry belonging to 'Beth' on the tarmac, looking up he see's the truck
they'd seen earlier pulling away.
He gives chase, but the tables are turned when the pursuer becomes the pursued, 'Zakes' try's to hide, but when a woman
he believes has escaped the vehicle joins him, he again seeks help this time at a farm, however the woman from the truck
is not what she seemed to be.
Things quickly turn sinister, it becomes a cat and mouse struggle as he still has to find and help 'Beth'
Throughout the film very little really pans out for 'Zakes' it's perhaps somewhat far-fetched in truth....though, it does have
it's moments........i'd say an okay British-Offering from 2009 which if never seen is worth a viewing.
(Have owned this since it's Blu-ray release, though, this is the first time of watching on my part)
Extras -
* Feature Commentary
* Feature Trailer
* Interview with Director Mark Tonderai
* Interview with Will Ash
* Interview - Orange Artist on Artist
* Deleted Scenes
* Featurette.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The Longest Night Of Your Life", 24 April 2015
By 
Mr. Scott Curtis (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hush [DVD] (DVD)
dark, compelling, shot as near as possible to reflect as though you are there in the car, on the road and in the services with the character's in person. Experience the unfolding of the story for yourself - with a brilliant ending and acted so well by the artists involved. Just a bit too much swearing at times that to be honest more could have been told in body language on screen rather than just telling the audience adults swear when they are having a row!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very poor, 4 April 2014
This review is from: Hush (Amazon Instant Video)
disappointment from start to end.
lacked imagination.
ending was unbelievably poor.
story line was ridiculous at most times.
very boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gr8 on your seat film!, 15 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Hush [DVD] (DVD)
i seen a few reviews that said this is poor. but i must disagree.... a young couple are heading along the motorway when the driver notices a young woman tied up in the back of a truck, he sets off following the truck to help but loses it. he catches up with it at a gas station but as his girlfriend decides to head her seperate way she too is taken by the truck driver! the boyfriend must now set off to rescue his girlfriend and not lose the truck!.. it does start off as the acting between the couple is going to be quite poor but it does get better so keep watching! a gr8 british film that i only seen once before i bought the dvd! when i seen it i had to buy it! real good to watch and have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars don't watch it alone!, 16 Nov. 2012
By 
Charl H "Charl" (Newport, South Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hush [DVD] (DVD)
I borrowed this film from Lovefilm, as I had read an article about '10 underrated british films' this being number 4.

What can I say? Absolutely terrifying, it made me shake with nerves as you never know where the scene is going to go! Some parts are extremely shocking and guaranteed to have you on the edge of your seat!

I think this and Eden Lake have given British Horror back some of their lost credibility and I would reccoment this to anyone who likes a good scare.

One thing I've learnt from this film is that I will never ever run off from my boyfriend in a service station...you just never know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Watch It Yes - Buy It No., 25 July 2014
This review is from: Hush (Amazon Instant Video)
It was sort of OK for its budget (mind you, with so many saps falling for that lottery promise...) and genre. I have seen MUCH worse than this and so I gave it slightly more than two stars. It was a classic kidnap-good-guy-rescues-girl and so is bound to be limited in it's scope. Lots of loose ends. However, in many cases when I thought "don't DO that" it seems they'd thought we might think that, so, well, +1 for them.
As it's a Prime movie and so included in the monthly fee, I'd say watch it if you have nothing else to do - it will pass the time. Buy the DVD? No way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hush, 26 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hush [DVD] (DVD)
a film tht leaves u gripped to ur seat loved it and would recommend it especially if you like those kind of things
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality British Horror, 1 Dec. 2009
By 
T. F. Hunter (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hush [DVD] (DVD)
Very good Horror film, based in a believable reality few horror films are, thoroughly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hush [DVD]
Hush [DVD] by Mark Tonderai (DVD - 2009)
£5.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews