Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Welcome Reissue (just a shame it opens with an edit)
I won't comment critically on the album - if you like Bert then you will love it, and be thankful that it has finally seen the light of (the digital) day.

However, as is unfortunately the case with most remasters and reissues nowadays, the original source work has been altered for its second coming. The opening track (unarguably one of the best on the album,...
Published on 22 Aug 2010 by N.A.McKay

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a classic...
OK If this album was recorded by anyone else other than Bert Jansch I would give it 5 stars but as far as the Jansch back cat goes I can only really manage 3 stars. For a start, this album seems uncertain of its musical direction. Often touted as a folk rock effort I am afraid it really does not work in that way. Neither does it work as a folk album. Adorned slide guitar...
Published 22 months ago by The death bell tolls...


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Welcome Reissue (just a shame it opens with an edit), 22 Aug 2010
This review is from: L.A. Turnaround (Audio CD)
I won't comment critically on the album - if you like Bert then you will love it, and be thankful that it has finally seen the light of (the digital) day.

However, as is unfortunately the case with most remasters and reissues nowadays, the original source work has been altered for its second coming. The opening track (unarguably one of the best on the album, and one of Bert's all-time greats) 'Fresh As A Sweet Sunday Morning' has been edited. On this remaster you are not able to sample what music biographer Colin Harper describes [in his book DAZZLING STRANGER: BERT JANSCH AND THE BRITISH FOLK AND BLUES REVIVAL] as 'pastoral ambience exquisitely captured' since the opening 10 seconds (!) have been deleted. So gone is the remote chirping of birds as Bert recorded this track out in the country garden that morning.

'Fresh As A Sweet Sunday Morning' in its orginal form is a special track and a significant part of this is the that special scene-setting introduction made by nature itself; when you throw in the story behind its recording - for this do check out Harper's great book - it becomes all the more significant and hence all the more disappointing to hear that it has been axed for this remastered reissue.

However, I am not going to bother to surmise here why this has happend, on whether it was a technical or authorial decision - this of course would be pointless.

But if you do want to hear the original version on CD then I can point you to the Jansch anthology DAZZLING STRANGER, as it is the opening track on the 2nd disc of that excellent compilation. Ironically this was curated well before the recent re-issues, and done so well by Mr Harper again.

It shouldn't really be that you have to reference another work to hear something in its original format - and when I say reference I also mean spend again. I am not keen to perversely reward this edit/hack job by encouraging another purchase but I will say it is worth it - and while you are at it, make sure you buy Mr Harper's book Dazzling Stranger: Bert Jansch and the British Folk and Blues Revival for as a companion piece alone it will add another level of listening enjoyment to Bert's songs. Colin's work across this text, the aforementioned compilation CD, countless articles in the music press as well as his presence in the DREAMWEAVER documentary without a doubt played a significant part in the Jansch comeback so one can only say - hats off to Colin Harper. And one can also only wonder if those 10 seconds would still be there if he had been also involved with this release...

To conclude - it is undeniably brilliant that L.A. TURNAROUND is out again and overall this is a lot better than most other remastered re-issues out there, both in terms of quality and real justification for going through with the whole exercise in the first place. So do purchase it as one of the greatest works by one of the greatest guitarists. And then buy the DAZZLING STRANGER combination I have already mentioned.

The fact that its key opening song is cut before it even starts is probably best described by the phrase Bert himself later employed at the start of his environmentally-concerned song 'Lost And Gone', as found on his subsequent album SANTA BARBARA HONEYMOON - 'what a bloody shame' indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars L.A. Turnaround: Bert Jansch - an album as fresh as a sweet Sunday morning, 8 May 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L.A. Turnaround (Audio CD)
It comes as an amazement to me that I haven't got into the music of Bert Jansch until recently. I am a huge fan of the folk rock movement (from both sides of the Atlantic) of the late sixties from which he emerged promethean like, I really should have heard his solo music sooner. I really regret not having the chance to see him performing live. His skill with guitar and the beautiful music he made put him head and shoulders above the likes of Dylan, Paul Simon or Fairport Convention.

Anyway, enough rambling, down to the album in hand. This is the 2009 Virgin reissue of a 1974 album recorded for the `Famous Charisma Label' (to quote the label on the disc). It was his ninth solo album, and released in the year following the break up of Pentangle. Produced by ex-Monkee Mike Nesmith, it sounds like a very personal album, somewhat removed from the material he was making a year previously with Renbourne, McShee and co in Pentangle.

It is, to put it simply, beautiful. Melodies and tunes ripple and flow from Jansch's guitar like water in a stream. You get washed along in the eddies and currents of the music, and as soon as the CD ends you feel washed up on the shore and have no option but to press play again and dive right back in.

Rooted in British folk, there is a flavour of West Coast Americana in this album, introduced no doubt by Nesmith, who as well as producing also play on a few tracks. There are distinctly Hippie flower power overtones and rhythms, along with some Country stylings. These are blended by Jansch with consummate ease to make a record of gentle beauty. It's gentle, with a slight jaunty air, and perfect music for relaxing to.

Jansch wasn't the greatest of singers, but always seems to have chosen or written material suited to his voice. Here we have classics such as `Open Up The Watergate' and `Needle of Death', two contrasting pieces of very different tone but both delivered with an expressive vocal that conveys the meaning clearly.

This 2009 reissue is a decent affair. The original album is presented along with 4 bonus tracks in a nice and clear remastered sound that just springs out of my speakers full of life and colour. There is a short film (playable on PC) filmed at the time of recording, and shows 5 of the tracks featured on the album. There are liner notes discussing the genesis and recording of the album and full lyrics.

It's an excellent release of a simply beautiful album. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last a rare gem reappears - new Jansch fans: start here, 25 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L.A. Turnaround (Audio CD)
I have nursed my copy of this wonderful album on cassette for the last 35 years, so you can imagine my relief at finally being able to retire it for this newly released CD.

This was the first album Bert Jansch released as a solo artist after breaking from Pentangle in the early 70s and to my mind it has always marked the high point of his career.

This release is remarkable not only for its content (some of the most enduring and critically aclaimed songs on Jansch's career) but also its production. Produced by Mike Nesmith (yes, the ex-Monkee), Nesmith also brought with him his long time buddy and pedal steel guitarist, Red Rhodes. The extraordinary combination of Jansch's inspiring guitar playing with Rhodes' inspired pedal steel is in turns both amazing and ethereal. An unlikely marriage on paper, on record it creates a marvellous ambiance to Jansch's searching songs. Bear in mind that Jansch is often regarded as one of the best british guitarists of his generation and that Rhodes dominated ped steel playing in his era, as well. Marvellous!

Another marvellous aspect is the addition of a 15 minutes documentary of the making of L A Turnaround. Very revealing and a fantastic visual record of Jansch at the top of his game.

All in all, for any Jansch fan an absolute gem.

And for new fans, perhaps directed here by Jansch's recent collaboration with younger artists, I have no hesitation for once in recommending a back catalogue item as a starting point. Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long awaited, 1 Aug 2009
By 
Mrs. S. Derry "spangles47" (Winchester. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L.A. Turnaround (Audio CD)
It was worth the wait for this DVD. I bought it as a gift for my husband having bought the vinyl when it was first issued. I had forgotten how hypnotic and spellbinding Bert Jansch's work is. I appreciated having the words included as I still can only hum along,but the melodies are glorious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "An album to feel for , an album to love"., 25 Jun 2009
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: L.A. Turnaround (Audio CD)
One of those artists whose name has often cropped up when I ,ve been reading about music I must confess to knowing absolutely zilch about Bert Jansch prior to buying this CD copy of his 1974 album L.A.Turnaround which was recorded soon after the final demise of his band Pentangle in 1973.Recorded in both Paris and Los Angeles though many of the tracks were "Laid Down " in amongst the English countryside at the home of Tony Stratton Smith whose "Famous Charisma " label he had signed for the album was produced by former Monkee Michael Nesmith,along with Danny Thompson.
The influence of Nesbitt ,considered by many to be the godfather of country rock is evident in the music's embracing of American influences. The steel guitar of Red Rhodes , the fiddle and mandolin of Byron Berline and the guitar work of the late Jesse Ed Davis all makes this especially palpable. Beatle cohort Klaus Voorman plays bass ,Danny Lane drums and there is some flashy electric piano from Michael Cohen.
Considered to be a classic folk album L.A.Turnaround has long been unavailable on CD and comes with four bonus tracks and a thirteen minute ECD shot in cinema verite style and showcasing Bert recording four songs from the albums sessions.
Yet to be honest I found the album a little dull and one dimensional on first listen .However this is often the case with truly great albums and further forays into it's delights with ears fully attentive proved there here is an album full of bucolic charms, breezy but brilliant musicianship and a series of seamlessly arranged laid back songs that take sudden and delightful little forays into jazz ( the piano on "The Blacksmith " , especially the alternate version ) ."Stone Monkey "even adds a touch of funk into the bass line and percussion .
Highlights includes the lovely lilting "Fresh As A Sweet Sunday Morning " which is apt as this would be considered by many as ideal Sunday morning music, the reflective "There Comes A Time " the gossamer coated chords of "One For Joan the undulating low level funk of "Travelling Man ". The bonus track "In The Bleak Midwinter " was a Christmas single in 1974 but was bit too dark for the jollified Xmas market so it bombed.It,s a wonderful song though , which the insert notes tell us was produced by Ralph McTell who after the session recorded the single "Streets Of London " with the same personnel and went on to have a sizable hit with that. Such are the vagaries of the music business.
L.A. Turnaround was so hard to come by that Bert Jansch had to buy a vinyl copy off eBay ,something I wouldn't wish on anyone. It's not difficult to see why he would cherish it so . Now the album that Melody Maker called at the time "Not far off being the perfect album " is freely available on C.D. We should all lap it up. To quote those notes again this is "An album to feel for , an album to love ".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a classic..., 15 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L.A. Turnaround (Audio CD)
OK If this album was recorded by anyone else other than Bert Jansch I would give it 5 stars but as far as the Jansch back cat goes I can only really manage 3 stars. For a start, this album seems uncertain of its musical direction. Often touted as a folk rock effort I am afraid it really does not work in that way. Neither does it work as a folk album. Adorned slide guitar and some really quite basic bass lines the impression is one of mediocre musicianship, those that know will realize quickly that this Bert is not the magical Bert of previous efforts. I am sorry but this album does not float my boat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Berts Best Albums, 23 July 2009
This review is from: L.A. Turnaround (Audio CD)
Well, there is not to much to say that's not been said in the other reviews. I just need to express my admiration. There is not one weak cut on the album and the interplay between Bert and Red Rhodes is absolutely fantastic. I have surley missed this record for a long time and I'm glad it's finally avalible for a new generation. Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely album, 23 Jun 2009
By 
R. Hynes (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L.A. Turnaround (Audio CD)
ignore the 1 star review. I'm not a big folk fan but I love this album - I've had it on repeat in the car since I bought it a few days ago.
The pedal steel is lovely and berts playing is pretty amazing.
Haven't watched the video yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bert at his best, 13 Jan 2013
By 
Mike Campbell (Darlington, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L.A. Turnaround (Audio CD)
This was the first Bert Jansch album I ever owned and it has a special place in my heart. I love the arrangements and the 'country feel', especially the use of pedal steel. I think it is a classic with no dud tracks and some fantastic musicianship
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album with the bonus of video clips too, 8 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L.A. Turnaround (Audio CD)
I really like this album. A few reworked favourites (in a rather gentler style than the original I feel) as well as some newer songs. (at least they were newer at the time of recording). A lovely bonus is the 'home grown' video footage which was shot at teh time of recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb26d3e64)

This product

Only search this product's reviews