Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreamkeeper - An oral tradition of the native american
I watched this by chance and was blown away by the rich and vivid history portrayed in this film.
There's a superb cast, and wonderful effects.
The story begins like a typical road movie, Grandfather and grandson travel to a pow wow, and during the course of the journey, the grandfather talks of the stories of his and various tribes. He is trying to show his...
Published on 20 Aug 2004 by Mooji

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Movie
I cannot say that it was a fantastic movie as I found it to be a little far-fetched at times, but overall I enjoyed it, particularly the young man's transformation from a scoundrel to a well-adjusted young man. That is always a good storyline.
Published on 18 April 2011 by Susanne


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreamkeeper - An oral tradition of the native american, 20 Aug 2004
I watched this by chance and was blown away by the rich and vivid history portrayed in this film.
There's a superb cast, and wonderful effects.
The story begins like a typical road movie, Grandfather and grandson travel to a pow wow, and during the course of the journey, the grandfather talks of the stories of his and various tribes. He is trying to show his grandson the importance of keeping this oral tradition and seeing where and how his people grew. We learn at the same time as his grandson.
These stories are universal in appeal and brilliantly shot. It really brings home the culture and identity that native americans and their oral tradition try to hold dear.
the film is both sad and funny, yet doesn't feel cliched. It was also an eye opener to me to see the difference in cultures between tribes - a real authentic feel - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real gem, 26 Sep 2009
By 
hbw (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dreamkeeper [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Pete Chasing Horse is a traditional Lakota storyteller. He is also an old man who wants to make one last trip to the All Nations Pow Wow in Albuquerque and to pass on his stories to his grandson, Shane.

Shane doesn't care about the stories and isn't planning to go anywhere, but when a local gang starts chasing him for money he doesn't have, a road trip with grandpa looks like the lesser of two evils. As the two head for New Mexico with grandpa's moth eaten pony in tow, old Pete starts to tell stories of "the old ones".

I just loved this film. August Schellenberg is superb as Grandpa Pete - part vulnerable old man, part crafty coyote, but stars are the stories. Based on the genuine legends of several North American Indian tribes, they have the universal appeal of traditional tales throughout the world. Here is Eagle Boy, a young man seeking a vision that will enable him to become a warrior. Here, too, are monsters to be slain, maidens to be won, talking animals, magic weapons; not forgetting Coyote and Spider - the tricksters of North American folklore.

The film is visually effective, whilst avoiding an over-reliance on special effects. The only downside is that this made-for-tv production has, bizarrely, been shot in 4:3 format. Nevertheless, a real gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!!!, 25 Sep 2006
By 
Mr. James A. Newton (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Let me first preface this by stating that I am one of those people much more interested in contemporary Native American issues such as water/ land rights and language retention than I am in the spirituality stuff. The way I see it is that for every European like me there are probably a hundred that are awaiting a wizened medicine man to tell them all the secrets of the universe and bless them with long life...blah, blah, blah.....

Taking this into account I was a little bit cautious about 'Dreamkeeper' which I received as a Christmas present from my sister. How very pleasantly suprised I was. The story starts on the Pine Ridge Reservation and a young man - Shane - being co-erced by his mother into taking his Grandfather hundreds of miles away to the All Nations Powwow in New Mexico. Shane reluctantly agrees and so the real story starts.

Along the trip the Grandfather - a storyteller - relates stories that are relevant to Shane in understanding events happening in his own life and that of some of the people they meet along the way. I won't divulge too much else about the story except to say that Shane meets his estranged father and there is a reconciliation between the two. By the end of the trip Shane has also 'found' that there is more to himself than he believed.

The stories presented are great in terms of detail to attention, covering a broad breadth of Native American cultures and never neglecting humour - love the ugly woman in the cave. The acting performances are exceptional; Eddie Spears who plays Shane makes an excellent stroppy teenager (I work with them on a daily basis!). Sheila Tousey is as excellent as ever - has that woman ever acted anything less than superbly?

I cannot recommend this film highly enough, it explores so many issues and emotions like hope, faith, desire, anger and in a simple yet meaningful way. It will appeal to most new-ager types, but given my own respect for the film it will also appeal to a much broader spectrum of people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreamkeeper, 18 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. K. S. Mortimer "Kevin Mortimer" (King`s Lynn Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film in my opinion is a film every one should see not just those who are interested in the Native American!!!. I wish I could have seen it on a big screen what a pity (as far as I know) this film was not shown at cinamas across the uk!!!.
Many Blessings to the makers and all the Native actors.
Love and blessings
Kevin Mortimer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turtle Island!, 10 Aug 2010
This review is from: Dreamkeeper [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
When I first saw some little episodes of this movie on youtube, I knew, I must own it! Unfortunately, for many month, there were only DVD`s from US available.
But then, what a wonderful moment, there was this DVD!
First it`s a simple story. Pete Chasing Horse( August Schellenberg), an old Lakota storyteller, wants to make a last trip ( or, literally, a last journey?) to the All Nations Powow in Albuquerque, New Mexico. And, he wants his grandson to go with him. Shane( Eddie Spears), seventeen, is not a traditional Lakota, he doesn`t care about the old storys, told by his grandpa. But,primarily to prevent trouble with his gang members, he gives his O.K.
That`s the beginning of an interesting journey!
During the long trip from Pine Ridge, South Dakota to New Mexico, old Pete Chasing Horse tells many stories, the stories, told to himself, as he was a young man, the traditionall stories of different tribes of Native Americans.
All these stories were made visible in this movie, with all visual and special effects of modern cinema!
I loved this film, I loved all the different characters, played by natives! It`s a wonderful statement of humanity, one of the best movies with and about the native people of North America. Thank you for sharing your stories with us( or your dreams!).Ah, by the way! The native people often call their country, the earth, they live on, "Turtle Island". Remember, the last scene?!
P.S. The making of is very interesting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sensitive Paen to a Proud Past., 2 Dec 2012
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dreamkeeper [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I decided to watch this film without doing my usual bit of brief research, something that often ends in tears. Thankfully not this time! I simply read that that it was based on North American Indian mythology, and looked at the cover of the DVD which showed a huge serpent rearing up, suggesting a fantasy along the "Conan the Barbarian" format with a native American replacement for Arnie. What I actually got was a meticulously researched film, and the first one I have seen that is truly representative of Indian culture and legends. Whilst "Dances With Wolves" should be lauded for opening the floodgates to native American actors, it was not a film that seriously examined the fascinating culture of the North American Indian. For many years Indians were often the bad guys, and more often as not played by white actors, Jay Silverheels being a noted exception. Poor old Iron Eyes Cody was eventually exposed to be a white man of Sicilian descent!

Over the course of a fascinating 3 hours this film examines the plight of the modern day Indian living on the 'res' and beset with drug and alcohol problems, and interweaves it with the rich oral legends of Indian culture. This covers cultures as diverse as Mohawks in the East to Indians on the British Columbian seaboard. Apparently this NBC mini series employed Indian advisers from the different tribes to give authenticity, and this certainly worked. The film cleverly uses August Schellenberg, not a very Indian sounding name, as the elderly Lakota Sioux grandfather who wants to go to the All Nations Pow-wow one last time. He is a storyteller who wants to pass on his treasure of stories to a younger generation, in the same way that Celtic storytellers once did in our lands, dying out in Ireland only in relatively recent times. His young grandson who has gone astray on the 'good red road' comes along for the ride simply to get his grandads car at the end of it to pay off debts. During the road trip the grandfather tells many of his stories that change his grandsons hardened attitude. The myths are beautifully filmed, especially the Mohawk sequence with its other worldly cinematography. Some of the myths echo true events like the legend of the white red headed warrior kidnapped by Indians as a child in Texas. Something that happened quite often in the early days on the frontier. Tantoo Cardinal appears to remind us of "Dances With Wolves", in an almost all native American cast. The series won an Emmy and unsurprisingly was liked by the North American Indian community. It is a sensitive paen to their proud past. Well worth watching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should watch this movie, 7 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamkeeper [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is a brilliant film. well acted, directed etc. I was so glad to see a film about Native American mythology for a change. I hope that it inspires younger generation of Native Americans to feel proud of their culture and inspire more of them to learn their Native languages. It reminds me that Jamie Oliver helped to spark interest amongst the younger generation of Native americans to appreciate their own Native food and cookery. Too often McDonalds and other fast food places had taken over with the result of diabetes and obesity problems.
All those new agers who pay loads for learning shamanic practises, and those who charge these fees, you should at least give something back. Donate to the Pine Ridge and other Native American causes. Spirituality and political action go hand in hand. How can you just want to improve yourself without helping your fellow human beings? Thats what true Native American spirituality is all about. Mitakuye Oyasin = we are all related ie one family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and layered, 13 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamkeeper [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I was not entirely sure what to expect, but this film exceeded my hopes by a very long way and I've watching it several times now. If you like cowboys killing their way through the West then this is not for you. If you are interested in the stories of Native Americans, the traditions that keep the stories alive and a window into an honest natural worldview then this is a wonderful film. I cannot recommend it enough to anyone with an open mind. It has a narratively right closure to my mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 29 Dec 2010
By 
John W. Goddard (Prague, Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamkeeper [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I have never liked Hallmark films. So this was a real surprise.

This is about the power of storytelling. If you are interested in the traditional Native American Indian ways of seeing things, enjoy this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Indian wisdom never goes out of fashion, 15 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamkeeper [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This Emmy Award winning film is entertaining, emotional and educational all at the same time. If you are just the slightest interested in a modern interpretation of Indian mythology, this is time (and money) well spent; even though the film plays for almost three hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dreamkeeper [DVD] [2003]
Dreamkeeper [DVD] [2003] by Steve Barron (DVD - 2009)
18.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews