Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 species, loads of weapons, 1 gory outcome
Firstly, I'd just like to say this isn't going to be a game for everyone. This will most likely not appeal to the MW2 fan boys but it most certainly will appeal to the fans of both aliens and predator franchises.
The marine campaign, for me, is the superior campaign as it is dark and atmospheric with plenty of sparsely lit corridors and flickering lights, and...
Published on 20 Feb. 2010 by Robert Henry

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some elements are good, others are poor
As a massive fan of the Alien and Predator films and having played the original version of this game ten years ago, I was thrilled to learn of the forthcoming AvP title. This outing, however, leaves one with a feeling of disappointment, a yearning for 'what might have been'. The story of the marine starts off well with lots of dark, forboding corridors etc. but quickly...
Published on 7 April 2010 by Comic Book Guy


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 species, loads of weapons, 1 gory outcome, 20 Feb. 2010
By 
Robert Henry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens Vs Predator (Video Game)
Firstly, I'd just like to say this isn't going to be a game for everyone. This will most likely not appeal to the MW2 fan boys but it most certainly will appeal to the fans of both aliens and predator franchises.
The marine campaign, for me, is the superior campaign as it is dark and atmospheric with plenty of sparsely lit corridors and flickering lights, and ofcourse plenty of xenomorph smashing action. The motion tracker adds a great level of apprehension, especially when there's a predator on the prowl and you can't see it but dammit something's moving out there and it aint us! Then there's the famous pulse rifles and smart gun with all their fabulous sounds. A special comment must be made on these sound effects as they are superb and really bring you deeper into the universe. My only problem with the marine campaign is it's simply too short.
The alien and predator campaigns are good too, especially the predator where you feel like a universal hunting machine with your cloaking, jumping, stalking and eventual decapitating and eviscerating of man and alien alike (in full gory violent detail).
I could go on about this game but like I said at the beginning it's not going to appeal to everyone, but the fans of the films are boumd to enjoy it and I suspect, like me, fans will probably go and buy it anyway.
My final issue is the lack of deathmatches and other multiplayer games in single or solo mode, this would have been a nice touch for those who either don't have good enough internet connection, don't have the internet for the xbox or simply don't want to waste their time playing against kids online.

A final note on the much maligned graphics, I must say I don't see what "everyone" is going on about, personallly I thought they were fine; suitably dark and grimey; not gears of war beauty but still good enough for this generation, especially when you get up close and personal as a predator or alien and look in to the eyes of the poor marine who you're about to violently slaughter.

Overall I'm still unsure if I love this game or if it's just that I love the aliens and predator films so I'm a little bias toward a good but certainly not brilliant game, but I gave it a 4 either way as it is simply a fun game.

Anyway, I'd best be going now as it'll be dark soon and they mostly come out at night...mostly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some elements are good, others are poor, 7 April 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens Vs Predator (Video Game)
As a massive fan of the Alien and Predator films and having played the original version of this game ten years ago, I was thrilled to learn of the forthcoming AvP title. This outing, however, leaves one with a feeling of disappointment, a yearning for 'what might have been'. The story of the marine starts off well with lots of dark, forboding corridors etc. but quickly becomes repetitive. With only five guns to use, including an inefficacious handgun and a flame thrower that couldn't melt ice, it lacks the development of the character that we are used to from better titles. A lot of people have complained about the inability to aim but I was not too bothered by this as it felt natural, when face to face with an alien, to shot from the hip.
The Predator missions are where the game really starts to lose it's edge. The Predator feels very wooden and not quite as deadly as one migth have thought: humans are able to block a swipe from his claws, the disk is almost uncontrollable and the shoulder canon runs out of energy far too quickly.
I personally found the Alien element almost unplayable as I seemed to spend most of my time trying to deduce whether I was on the floor or the ceiling. The fighting also seemed a bit ridiculous as humans took four or more blows before they were killed. As of writing, I have not bothered to finish this element of the game and this should highlight how good it is.
The survival mode is laughably poor and feels as though it were hastely added as an after-thought. It falls way short of comparable elements from Left 4 Dead and CoD World at War.

All in all, I have rather berrated this game, mostly because it is not the brilliant game it could have been. It's not bad, it's just not that good either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what you would expect., 8 May 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens Vs Predator (Video Game)
Let me state firstly that I am a `mature gamer'(xCCx JAZZMAN on XBOX live)
AVP? Well it's a surprising package really, and depending on your needs, suits at least some, if not most in some way.
Many of us are spoilt with MW2 and its beauty, and AVP isn't really a `beauty', but graphically it still has its moments.

Lets start with the marine campaign, for the purist you may as well look away and not even bother, you can't crouch, use `iron sights', and jumping might as well not be an option either as there really is little or no use for it, there is nothing other than point and shoot and turning your torch on and off, although the motion sensor is a very satisfying toy, purely because (like the pulse rifle) it sounds and looks like the one in the movie, and is a major addition to the whole `feel' of the game from the marine perspective, the real let down for the marine side is a lack of interaction, in addition the whole idea of stealth and giving your position away by having a torch on doesn't really come into play either, there is very little stealth involved with marines, and once you have played the other campaign's you'll see why the torch being on or off matters not a jot as both the aliens and certainly the predator can see you with their `focused' vision anyway.

The Alien campaign is probably the most enjoyable, you do get the pleasure of stealth killing, and more enjoyable is harvesting humans, you get the option to `grab' and kill with a random finishing move, and of course you get to use the infamous `headbite', which isn't the best looking move in the world, but still pleases.

The alien can walk on any surface, but `autoclimb' is best switched off at all times as when you `run' very fast you can end up on a side wall or ceiling quite easily, also the alien has a `focused' vision, this is where humans have a glowing outline (like the readybrek kids if you're that old!) of two colours, red if they pose a threat and green if they can be `harvested', lets not get carried away with game play here, as in fairness there is so little other than stealth that you can do with the alien, which is a good thing.

Predator campaign? Well it's by far and away the poorest, mainly because unless you up the ante difficulty-wise it really is quite easy until the very end.
You eventually get to use all the predator weapons, the disc thrower being the best(which is probably why you don't get it until half-way through) but you do start with the shoulder mounted plasma cannon, and unlike the marine's, jumping is a prime requisite.

The predator is the consummate stealth warrior, and it's hard to imagine why they made him so tough, apart from the fact he has great weapons and fighting skills, he can also take quite a lot of punishment, see everything by way of two modes of vision and the predator achievements are very easy.
Other than a standard manoeuvre-strike fight at the end (which can be tricky until you use the right weapon)it is just a 'by-the-numbers' campaign.

For fans of the films (both alien and avp series) its pretty good, for the gamer its a bit of a letdown as the actual game play is flawed, but still fun if you're not too serious, the campaigns are enjoyable, the multiplayer is good when it works, but neither at any point excel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun game, 31 July 2012
By 
R. Empson (England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens Vs Predator (Video Game)
All in all this was quite an ambitious project, 3 campaigns as 3 different races from the movie franchise. 1st up I am quite biased as a fan of the Alien films and a fan of computer games. Multiplayer 5* Alien campaign 4* (controls take some real getting used to, this is the best story arc though.) Predator campaign 5* and Marine Campaign 4* (just seemed dull after the other two recommend playing this one first)

The multiplayer is great fun and more people need to populate the server, this should keep anyone going until Colonial Marines hits us in 2013 and even then you don't get to hunt as a predator or cause havok as an Alien.

Main highlight for me is playing number 6 and this has the best campaign too.

Recommend playing Marine then Alien then Predator as story seems to make much more sense this way around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to the War..., 12 Nov. 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens Vs Predator (Video Game)
Aliens Versus Predator is one of the most famous crossover series of all time. It pits two of cinema's most famous aliens: Xenomorphs and Yautjas, or by their more common names Aliens and Predators against each other. This game is an instalment in this blockbuster series; building upon the universe's fictional foundations while also expanding the mythology of the Predator species.

The game has two main modes: story mode and online multiplayer. I care very little for online multiplayer so I shan't be reviewing it, I will however say this: why is there no traditional split- screen multiplayer as I'm sure that would have been entertaining to all the internet scrooges such as me. Anyway moving on, the story is split into three different tales: Marine, Alien and Predator.

The Marine story is by far the best; it's not too difficult but it's challenging enough to make the player plan out their actions. In this mode you follow a rookie marine who is tasked with dealing with some Xenos and things only get worse for him when the Predators show up. The story is pretty lacklustre but that has never really been a strong point in this specific series. This mode plays like a stereotypical FPS, you have a gun, you aim, and you shoot: easy as pie. The only real difficulty comes along in the various enemies you battle in the game, mainly Xenomorphs and androids. They are both dealt with in different ways but once you've developed a tactic for the two of them it is rather easy to clear this mode. This took me about three or four hours but if you're a more skilled gamer it will likely take you less.

Next up is the Alien story, it has a rather interesting gameplay mechanic which is rather easy to master and that is where the downside for this mode comes in: it's far too easy. You play as a Xenomorph captured by humans and when you escape your task becomes to massacre everyone you see essentially and the game makes this very easy for you. As a Xeno you can climb the walls and leap across large areas, taking enemies down by biting off their face or slicing them up with your hands. This is pretty entertaining at first but soon becomes dull. The Xeno mode is also the shortest and when it's over you can't help but think what potential this mode could have had but the producers failed to hit.

Finally the Predator story is by far the best in terms of story. You play a young Predator who having just been initiated travels to found two Predator artefacts and wipe out `The abomination' the story gives the player insight into the Predator's ways and therefore becomes almost education (well education for a geek like me :D) the gameplay is at first challenging and the controls are tacky. Nothing ever seems right, but after a while you grow accustomed to it. Once you get the spear in the latter half of the game it becomes incredibly easy and makes the ending seem almost rushed due to the overpowered player character.

Overall, the game is fun: just like a game should be. You can become two of the greatest fictional species in a believable and entertaining way that never seems to reach its full potential. That's the biggest problem for me: it's filled with missed opportunities. No sequences really stand out so the story is easily forgotten.

+Fun marine mode
+Good expansion on the Predator mythos
+Some fun gameplay mechanics
-Filled with missed opportunites
-No cinematic moments
-Lacklustre storyline

6.5/ 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A new begining..., 30 Oct. 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens Vs Predator (Video Game)
when i heard it was coming out i went berserk! received the game a day late but when i got it, i played the marine campaign first.

"Get in the ready line, marine!!! gonna get some! a day on the farm is a day in the corp! aaaaaagh!!!! absolute badasses!" the campaign can only be truly respected and appreciated on Nightmare Difficulty. no spoiler there for new players but you have been "challenged".

the Alien is a cold blooded survivor. perfect and magnificent in every way. you will meet familiar xenos and together you reign terror on the humans.

the Predator: "it uses the jungle"... "if it bleeds, we can kill it"... "we're all gonna die"... but to name a few quotes that come every time i play it. the pred is young but well trained. fearless and ruthless.

Weyland is voiced by Lance Henriksen. there, i spoiled it but to hear more you must buy and listen to the stories. Karl B. Weyland is the pivotal piece in this game. "it's all on him!"

MULTIPLAYER:

there was an online glitch that affected trophies and achievements. a new update dealt with that so the bug is killed off. sad that not many are playing it as often but you always get a game especially late at night. that is the bummer for me on xbox live as it takes forever to find a game.

OVERALL:

a good buy! i will not trade it in except just to get new skins from the special editions that are cheaper now. tempted to compare to the first two but i see why Rebellion the original developers stuck with a reboot and not a fresh sequel... a cahnce to give us what they could have ten years ago had they the machinery they have now.

I AWAIT FOR ALIENS: COLONIAL MARINES LIKE A SENTINEL ON THE LOOKOUT. most of all i await the AvP sequel to this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars one disappointed fan...., 26 Feb. 2010
By 
A. Wood "Woody" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens Vs Predator (Video Game)
Just a short review to say, unless you're a real fan of the ALIENS universe, i wouldn't bother with the latest incarnation of AvP. I loved all of the films, (apart from the awful AvP ones and ALIEN RESURRECTION), but the game left me feeling distinctly underwhelmed.

The Marine campaign is the best, with the iconic motion tracker, weapons and atmosphere etc, but the lack of crouching, iron sights, repetitive voice effects and poor weapon power really let it down. OK, the pulse rifle sounds beautiful, but it takes 25-45 rounds to take an alien down. Come on, its a pulse rifle for goodness sake, 10mm explosive rounds? The smartgun doesn't sound right, more like a .50cal, and is puny. The flamethrower is awful for stopping aliens or parasites, and the scoped rifle just doesn't fit in. Neither do combat androids.

The Alien campaign is too short, although great fun to play, scuttling around, killing lights (how can they cut the power man, they're animals!) and striking from the darkness (they're coming out of the walls!). The wall climbing and jumping dynamics are poor though, making accurate scuttling hard.

The Predator campaign is appalling, and i didn't bother playing more than halfway through it. Dumb Marine AI really kills the feel of the whole thing, with lone marines wandering around aimlessly, not noticing when you drag a fellow Marine into the shadows right in front of them, and sentry guns being able to see you even if cloaked. It's just a "jump here, cloak, kill, repeat" exercise.

Sorry to be so negative, but i was so excited by the prospect of a new AvP game, but apart from the graphics, the original PC AvP is still better. Don't pay full price for this, wait for a pre-owned or £20 bargain one to pop up on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In 2010 you expect more but not bad for a first try, 19 Feb. 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Aliens Vs Predator (Video Game)
Okay so where do we start; this had the potencial to be a fantastic game, but it feels as though there are elements that have been rushed.

Marines : by far my favourite to control and not because they are my favourite character the predator was my fav in the films but there just seems to be more going on with the controls when your a marine. It flows a lot better and the graphics look okay when you see the aliens or predator coming after you.

Predator : I was expecting so more from a character who is both faster and stronger than the humans. I think because they were trying to even out the characters they actually capped the predator by making it more difficult to control than it needed too. Add the fact they have capped the weapons and the amount of fire and you may find yourself disappointed with the results.

Aliens : One of the scavage characters but it just doesnt seem to go anywhere when it comes to the controls, several times I found myself wandering where I was and it just doesnt make for a fliud experience for the most agile of characters. If they had kept the controls more straight forward the aliens would have been one of the best characters to control.

Overall I think the gore and the graphics are okay. I have seen better in other FPS and if they made the controls more straight forward it would have made for a more interesting game play. Note to developers dont cap the characters just to make them all equal they were not equal in the film and should be in the game. Have one predator that has to take on more characters but keep the power of the predator there ala prototype style. Have the aliens similar to how they are but make the controls more straigh forward ala mirrors edge style/ left for dead volume of aliens. And have marines as they but give them plenty of weapons. Those elements alone would have made it for an interesting game and more authentic to the films. I hope if they were to ever considering making a 2nd version of this game they really look at leaving the characters how they are make the controls easier to manage.

I say if you are looking for something with a unique FPS element to it then this game is for you, if you also a AVP fame this game will probably appeal to you. If you are looking for the full package of game play, graphics and your not really a fan of this AVP then stay away from this and get something better instead.

I'm still happy with this purchase as I'm a Science Fiction fan and a big AVP fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars meh, 9 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens Vs Predator (Video Game)
the marine campaign:
- cool/classic weapons from the movies.
- scary for a while but then you realise aliens aren't really well hidden because they're 10x shinier than any piece of wall they hide on.
- just basically a standard FPS shooter with stupid objectives of running back and forth between grey-blue corridors that are dark enough to hide aliens, but don't actually hide them because they are shiny as hell.
the alien campaign:
- very disorientating
- relatively short
- satisfying killing stupid humans
- too strong stealth theme, you are pretty much fracked if you even head-on attack one marine.
the predator campaign:
- don't feel badass
- wish the plasma caster recharged a bit faster
- a bit repetitive too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 28 Jan. 2014
By 
M. Wright "Rob Johnston" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aliens Vs Predator (Video Game)
Got this for very cheap (£3) and decided to give the campaign(s) a go and earn some achievements along the way. There is 3 seperate campaigns with the predator being the best by far, great special abilities and very brutal finishing moves. The marine campaign starts ok but quickly becomes bland and drags on towards the end but is playable. The Alien story is simply unplayable, you'll find yourself climbing through vents most of the time and the climb upside down feature is pointless and only leads to frustration, havent played multiplayer but im assuming no one is playing it online anymore so that feature is out, overall worth £3 for some easy achievements and to unleash the predators brutal finishing moves on some very unlucky enemies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aliens Vs Predator
Aliens Vs Predator by Sega (Xbox 360)
£14.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews