Customer Reviews


138 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Horror
Every now and then a film comes along that is really good, and this is one of those. Unfortunately the horror genre is full of dross these days and so it is really good when something like this comes along. What makes it even better is that this didn't come out of Hollywood or Japan, but our neighbours Norway (those people who send us a Christmas tree for Piccadilly...
Published on 3 Sep 2009 by M. Dowden

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculous but fun
What more needs to be said about Nazi zombies on the prowl in modern day Scandinavia? Students careless enough to go to a remote cottage for a weekend of fun in the snow, get more than they bargained for when they attract the attention of a group of Nazi zombies who have been terrorising the area since World War 2. It is very silly but great fun. The gore is delivered...
Published on 15 April 2011 by Mr. P. Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Horror, 3 Sep 2009
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dead Snow [DVD] (DVD)
Every now and then a film comes along that is really good, and this is one of those. Unfortunately the horror genre is full of dross these days and so it is really good when something like this comes along. What makes it even better is that this didn't come out of Hollywood or Japan, but our neighbours Norway (those people who send us a Christmas tree for Piccadilly Circus each year).

This film is definitely tongue in cheek, and a great parody of the genre, especially of The Living Dead. The humour is dark, which I always love and there are loads of blood and guts. A group of medical students decide to head away for the Easter period to a remote cabin and have a relaxing break. What should be a nice relaxing time of drinking and sex just isn't going to happen, because suddenly they run into a regiment of Nazi Storm Trooper zombies. Cue people being torn apart, and zombies being cut up. If you like something that is different and is going to make you laugh you will love this. With such things as hanging off a cliff face with zombie guts as your rope this is something that has been well thought out, and is well acted. The location shots with all the snow add something to this, really bringing home the desolation and isolation of the group of hapless students. There is no nudity, before you ask, but there is a fantastic scene where a girl is having sex with a bloke, whilst he is sitting on the outside toilet after going out for a dump, also this has the beautiful Charlotte Frogner in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculous but fun, 15 April 2011
By 
Mr. P. Johnson "Pete Johnson" (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Snow [DVD] (DVD)
What more needs to be said about Nazi zombies on the prowl in modern day Scandinavia? Students careless enough to go to a remote cottage for a weekend of fun in the snow, get more than they bargained for when they attract the attention of a group of Nazi zombies who have been terrorising the area since World War 2. It is very silly but great fun. The gore is delivered full-on and the mutilations and deaths are often laugh out loud gruesome. It is sold cheap, so you can enjoy it for a bargain price. Don't expect too much and you will not be disappointed. Definitely better than you would expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zombies, Nazis, Blood on Snow... It Doesn't Get Any Better., 17 April 2010
This review is from: Dead Snow [DVD] (DVD)
Norwegian film makers get it. This is how to make a cool movie; balance the humor and horror, special effects that don't over power the movie, and most importantly: actors that care what they are doing and do it well!. The story revolves around a bunch of medical students getting away for some rest and relaxation during the Easter break. Unknown to them, they've set up camp at the absolute wrong place. Back in the day, evil Nazi's used these hills for an escape route or safe haven way back when, and it's said that this is where they supposedly holed up and eventually died. Well, they ain't all that dead. Our medical students eventually meet these blood-thirsty German maniacs and the red stuff starts flowing. A mad dash for survival ensues, and it all ends up being a 'hail' of a lot of fun, there's chainsaw action, decapitations, rope pulling with intestines, axe murders, machine gun concerts and disembowelment. The effects are top-notch in spite of the obvious budgetary restrictions, and the make up art on the zombies is very impressive. The rotting uniformed corpses look quite menacing, especially their leader. The snowy landscapes were beautiful picture to behold, although it's even more amusing to see the white snow color red with blood! Tommy Wirkola is a clearly talented director and hopefully a promising long career awaits him. The flick however isn't perfect as it suffers some from small horror clichés, like dumb decision making. But at the same time, they handle these clichés in a somewhat refreshing manner. Some cheap scare tactics are used early on to get you on edge, but those are barely used later on, when violence and creative gore take hold. Dead Snow really surprised me. I wasn't expecting such a fun flick and the characters were all well-fleshed out, the dialogue well-written and funny, the gore aplenty, the horror nods abundant and awesome (Braindead t-shirts?!), and even the score and soundtrack were good. This should become a pretty big hit for horror fans, well I hope so anyways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 24 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Snow [DVD] (DVD)
Liked the sound of this film based on the Amazon reviews so took a punt, despite being a little concerned that the subtitles might detract from the overall experience. Happy to say I was wrong. As you might expect in a zom com, there's little talking during the action parts so no chance of missing anything whilst reading the subtitles and for some reason much of the dialogue seems funnier when read rather than spoken. Genuinely makes you jump in places but overall very entertaining and funny. A worthy addition to any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I TOLD YOU WE SHOULD HAVE GONE TO THE BEACH, 1 Jun 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dead Snow [DVD] (DVD)
Four medical students along with three women, with a fourth to join the group later, go to a remote snowy mountain cabin on Easter break. They have a good time and seem to have no problem with the odd house in the freezing cold. While at the cabin, the proverbial visitor warns them they should not disturb the evil in the hills as legends of WWII German soldiers still roam the mountains.

I think we know where this is headed, unless you got a DVD without any cover art. The dialouge was pretty good, with some humor and dark humor. The zombies were not the foot dragging variety, but moved rather quickly and with some forethought. The soundtrack was excellent ranging from classical to European industrial. The cabin aspect brought back memory flashes from "The Evil Dead" plus the fact they mentioned it in the film. The blood and guts effects bordered on Troma style. It was comical to watch a brain fall out of a victims head...sorry I laughed.

I bought the 2-disc version at my local Walmart for $9.96. It defaults to Norwegian language and English subtitles. I watched it in English with English subtitles. The spoken English was a bit hipper than the written subtitles which appeared to be more of a word for word translation without bothering to create a loose feel. Great entertainment. I wished they had reused the classical music somewhere in the final scenes, which they had opened the film with, bringing us full circle. I don't know if I would place this in the top 25 zombie films as the cover claims. It it did make that list, it would be nearer to 25 than to number 1. But then again, I watch a lot of zombie films.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, sex, no nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A daft but fun DVD, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Snow [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this movie. It starts off like so many nordic horror movies with usual team of horny guys and girls heading out for a snowboarding weekend in the wilds of nowhere. Initially, it follows the usual formula and you do not see who is behind the attacks but about half way through it really kicks in and it becomes one of the best (and daftest) horror comedies I have seen for a long time. Plenty of blood and gore as the movie heads towards its conclusion but also a great deal of fun and some real laugh out loud moments. Nothing new but a welcome addition to my dvd collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A really great zombie movie!, 5 Oct 2009
By 
Nick Butler 777 (Basingstoke, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead Snow [DVD] (DVD)
This is actually really damn good! I love zombie movies, but have always been kind of sceptical about buying a zombie movie that isn't directed by George A Romero, obviously being the king of zombie movies, and his "...of the dead" series kind of spawned a legion of cheap, not that great "straight-to-DVD" copy-cats, a few of which I made the mistake of purchasing. Let's face it, Romero's movies are unbeatable and no other can come close. But I just couldn't resist buying this after seeing a trailer so I bought it, watched it and fell in love with it. It's bizarre and totally random in a sense that it's about zombie nazis... crazy AND genius in equal measure. There are some truly awesome scenes in this movie - one guy's head being ripped apart through a window by brain-hungry dead nazi soldiers, and my favourite scene in the whole movie where the remaining two survivors, drenched in blood and clutching weapons, think they have defeated all but one final zombie, and then suddenly thousands of the buggers rise from the snow! It's not the best zombie movie, but if you like the genre then you will absolutely LOVE this! I would definately rate it in my top 5. The only thing I would say, and I don't want to put it down but it's such a great film, is that it's got subtitles so I found my eyes rapidly dashing between the words on the screen and the action which I found quite tricky, so in the end I didn't bother paying attention to the dialogue and just enjoyed the gore instead. Buy it! It's got some great moments and you will watch it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love horror movies? Then you'll love this., 20 Jan 2010
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Snow [DVD] (DVD)
Look, don't bother reading this, just go and buy it. You'll love it. I know I did.

Still here? Okay then, this movie was made for the horror movie fan. It hits all the traditional notes perfectly while managing to be quite individual, though not orginal, on its own. So, what's good about it? The setting, well-photographed beautiful snow-covered tree-dotted Norwegian mountains. The group of amiable medical students who want to spend Easter in the snow in a lonely cabin miles from anywhere. The spooky opening kill. The horror movie references both obvious and subtle. The settling in to the cabin and the interruption by the local with a sinister tale to tell which is shortly followed by his swift despatch by person, or creatures, unseen. The sinister build-up as one of the group disappears. The half-seen Nazi zombies night attack with its first gross-out shot. Then daylight and the Nazi zombies properly emerge and all out war begins. The escalation of carnage to ludicrous proportions as limbs fly across the frozen landscape, blood spurts from gaping wounds, entrails litter the ground, and our heroes display remarkable fighting skills even when suffering from horrendous wounds as the movie goes so far over the top it ends up nearly out of sight and hilariously funny.

And more. Great entertainment.

Lots of extras including subtitles which helps as the dialogue is in Norwegian. I'll be watching this a lot more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Energetic Horror Comedy to Watch with Beer and Pizza, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Snow [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
As any horror fan can tell you, you have to watch a lot of dross, to get to the really good movies. This one is a Norwegian film with subtitles. It is an extremely well made horror comedy, full of inventive scenarios, carrying on a fine tradition decades old, including classics such as Abbott and Costello Meet Frankenstein, Love at First Bite, An American Werewolf in London and Shaun of The Dead. A group of eight medical students head out to an isolated cabin in some snowbound mountains, for their Easter vacation. Their car is crammed full of beer and ski equipment, including a high powered snow bike. One of the locals visits, and tells them that their cabin is stood where a group of 300 Nazis soldiers were chased onto the mountain by 3000 Norwegian townsfolk. The Nazis disappeared in the snow, presumed frozen to death. The students discover and take a treasure trove of gold, which, unknown to them, belongs to the Nazis, who have turned into zombies. What follows then is an exhilarating battle for survival between the students and the zombie Nazis. The zombies attack the cabin but some of the students survive through the night. The film builds to a brilliantly absorbing and frenetic final half hour, when the students flee the cabin and engage the zombies in combat. One of the students mounts a machine gun on the snow bike and and goes head to head with the zombies in a rip roaring gung-ho fashion. Two others use a chainsaw and claw hammer. These fight scenes are hilariously brutal and imaginative. The script is witty and tongue in cheek, reminiscent of Shaun of The Dead. With the setting in the mountains, the scenery and cinematography is gorgeous. The zombie make up is very well done. If only all horror films worked like this one! If you liked Shaun of The Dead, and don't mind subtitles, I'd be shocked if you didn't enjoy this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We should have gone to Sunny Beach., 11 Oct 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dead Snow [DVD] (DVD)
Død snø is directed by Tommy Wirkola who also co-writes the screenplay with Stig Frode Henriksen, the alter of whom also co-stars. It stars Vegar Hoel, Charlotte Frogner, Lasse Valdal, Evy Kasseth Røsten, Jeppe Beck Laursen, Jenny Skavlan, Ane Dahl Torp and Bjørn Sundquist. Music is by Christian Wibe and cinematography by Matthew Bradley Weston.

A group of Norwegian medical students vacationing in the snowy countryside find themselves menaced by Nazi Zombies!

It's one for the Zombie and Splatter crowd is this, a Norwegian comedy horror fusion that revels in homaging its influences as much as it does swimming in blood. It's not particularly fresh of course, as the story follows a familiar course that sees a bunch of youngsters killed off one by one, though the foe, in the shape of grizzly looking Nazi Zombies, is cheerfully put to menacing, and funny, use.

A little back story is brought into play courtesy of a mysterious hiker who stops by the cabin for a coffee, and then at the mid-point all hell (literally) breaks loose and it's The Alamo out in the snow. Genre staples are adhered to, complete with stereotype characters, and Wirkola has a keen eye for gruesome killings and dismemberment. It doesn't add new fuel to the genre fire, it just keeps it alight and has great fun doing so. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Snow [Blu-ray]
Dead Snow [Blu-ray] by Tommy Wirkola (Blu-ray - 2009)
£4.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews