Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songs For Sinners and Saviours, 29 Aug. 2009
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Broken (Audio CD)
More splendidly gloomy stuff from Messrs Machin and Glover
and their estimable collaborators.

Dark, funereal and strangely uplifting on occasion, 'Broken' is
music for a night in with a good bottle of red wine for company
( a Romanee-Conti or Richebourg would do nicely ).
Ideally the wind will be lashing the rain
mercilessly against your windowpanes.

Opening track 'The Seventh Proof' is a beautifully
constructed instrumental overture.
The tolling bell is an inspired little detail.
The reflective prelude is swept away by the violently raucous
mayhem of 'Death Bells', a composition redolent of Nick Cave
in one of his big, bad evangelical preacher moments.
You can almost smell the fire and brimstone !

Mr Lanegan, though clearly leader of the pack, is not alone
in providing some marvellous moments within the 13 tracks
comprising this largely gloomy (in a good way) collection.
Red Ghost's duet with him on 'Rolling Sky' is a richly layered tour de force.

Richard Hawley's contribution to 'Shadows Fall' also deserves a special mention.

There is an almost cinematic quality to many of the songs.
Songs for sinners and saviours and imaginary westerns.

The fiercely emotional intensity of 'You Will Miss Me When I Burn' is almost
unbearable. "When you have no-one no-one can hurt you" - Ouch indeed !

'Praying Ground' has garnered some criticism for Ms Ghost's performance. I loved it.

So too her rendition of final track 'By My Side',
a very moving conclusion to a very fine album.

Almost certainly a strong contender for inclusion in my top ten albums of 2009.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Utterly fantastic and better than the last... for the most part, 18 Aug. 2009
By 
This review is from: Broken (Audio CD)
This album is as close as us Lanegan fans have gotten to a new solo album in quite a while, with Bubblegum, his last, having just celebrated its 5th year of existence. The sheer quantity of tracks here featuring the familiar 'Warmth At The Back Of Your Throat After A Shot Of Whisky' vocals is sure to keep us lot happy for a while.
Compared to his for the most part subpar collaborations with Isobel Campbell, and his comfort zone in the Gutter Twins (not that Saturnalia wasn't a great album), Lanegan really stretches himself on this one. You'll have your heart broken again and again, in the sweetest sense possible. Tales of regret and inner turmoil have always been the Lanegan standard, but here the vocal meoldies soar just that bit more due to the production work - Mark's voice sounds richer because of the sheer amount of musical embellishment behind his voice. Be it wall-of-sound guitars, amazing back-up harmonies, maturely put-together string sections or a wealth of backup singers (including Gibby Haynes of the Butthole Surfers!!) who are in their own right well-known enough to carry a song by themselves but who are humble enough to just add to them.
However, the extra star missing from this review is due to a genuinely uninspired Lanegan cover from newcomer Red Ghost. Like many people I had talked to prior to the release of this album I got myself into a bit of a state in anticipation of this new Lanegan interpretation, 'Praying Grounds'. Being that the cover of 'Kingdoms of Rain' from their last album, It's Not How far You Fall, It's The Way You Land, was completely astounding and added to the songs without taking anything away from it (not an easy thing to do to a classic such as KoR), I was looking forawrd to this a lot. Then they got Red Ghost to do lead on it, Lanegan doesn't even do backup, and what do you get: a pale imitation rather than a logical step forward. None of the passion of the original is present here. However, that's not to say I dislike her voice - she just missed the Mark (Oh see what I did there!) with her rendition of this one particular number. I really can't understand why someone who so clearly doesn't 'get' where the original was coming from was allowed as a guest to take the lead on this one, but hey. Rolling Sky, another song featuring Red Ghost, is fantastic so don't be totally put off.
Now release a 'proper' solo album, Lanegan! Get it done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WOW...WHERE DID THIS COME FROM?, 9 May 2012
By 
A. J. Gilpin (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken (Audio CD)
Sometimes an album just comes into your orbit, introduces itself and you think...wow, where did this come from! Track 4 of this album, Will You Miss Me When I Burn, featured on a recent Mojo magazine CD and I immediately liked it; loved it in fact. Of course I recognised the distictively rich tones of Mark Lanegan and I just assumed he was guesting on the track. Further investigation revealed that this in fact is a collaboration with Lanegan who features on 9 of the 13 tracks, co-writing 7 of them. On hearing the album on Spotify, I liked it so much, I immediately bought it from here.

The core duo of Soulsavers are Rich Machin and Ian Glover and, together with Lanegan and guest vocalist Red Ghost, who appears on three tracks, they have produced a superb album. They are labelled as 'electonica' but you wouldn't think that from listening to Broken. It is a very eclectic album encompassing lush instrumentals, rock, ballads, country, gospel and jazz drenched in wonderful arrangements and melodies. They could fuel a whole episode of Jools Holland and, with your eyes shut, you'd think they were different bands. My only negative would be that the album is overlong, mainly due to the three tracks of around 7 minutes which certainly outstay their welcome.

Lanegan, after collaborating on the last two SS albums does not appear on their next release, out this month, The Light The Dead Sea, which sees Dave Gahan of Depeche Mode as the guest vocalist/collaborator. I await it's release with anticipation although it'll have to go some to surpass Broken!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of 2009 maybe?, 24 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Broken (Audio CD)
The album kicks off with a beautiful piano-led piece, The Seventh Proof, before crashing into the most uptempo track, Death Bells. This is a kind of standard-issue Lanegan rocker, searing along nicely with Lanegan singing like his life depended on it. Following this is the real meat of the album.

Unbalanced Pieces is a slow-burning, loping track which bops along nicely in the manner of Paper Money from their previous album but then kicks into a great melodic chorus, driven by female backing vocals. Following this is the desolate You'll Miss Me When I Burn, a cover of a Palace Brothers song. Lanegan delivers the performance of his life delivering lines like "when you have noone, noone can hurt you" over a sad piano backing.

Some Misunderstanding follows, a Guy Clark cover with again a wonderful vocal from Mark Lanegan. He sounds bruised and beaten, yet the overall effect is life-affirming and uplifting.

The next 4 songs are also Lanegan-sung and all the better for it. Each one of them would be a standout on a different album, and each one is heavy with emotive power. Shadows Fall, for example is a soaring string-led song with exquisite backing vocals which takes a sharp left towards the end of the track into another fantastic melody. The melodies on this album are in general stronger than those on their previous album, It's Not How Far You Fall, It's The Way You Land.

The album then introduces a female singer called Red Ghost, who covers Lanegan's own Praying Ground. She does this one and 2 other tracks reasonably well, though her tracks are not as strong as Lanegan's.

Also, there are a host of collaborators on other tracks (Gibby Haynes, Mike Patton, Richard Hawley and Jason Pierce) yet all of them suffer in comparison with Lanegan's dominant voice, rendering them barely audible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3rd Time's a (voodoo) charm, 17 Aug. 2009
By 
This review is from: Broken (Audio CD)
How is it that a UK based production team can seemingly make authentically fantastic Gothic drenched gospel tinged Americana? By roping in Mark Lanegen as a collaborator is how. On the face of it, the Soulsaver's third album feels more of an extension of their last but with more guests (Mike Patton, Richard Hawley, Jason Pierce amongst others) and the guitars brought to the fore makes for a more rounded effort. Not that "It's Not How Far You Fall..." was particularly shoddy I might add. It's still very much Lanegan's show though with him being on 9 of the 13 tracks. This is a good thing by the way. Now bring on Leeds Festival.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good indeed., 4 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Broken (Audio CD)
Mark Lanegan conjures up more dark, hypnotic & mournful music with his low and husky voice. This time its a blend of indie, blues, gospel and electronic. He's helped out with a few chums too. Lanegan duets with Richard Hawley on Shadows Fall, while Mike Patton adds vocals on the song Unbalanced Pierces. Death Bells shimmers into existence and is driven along by fractured squealing guitar in an almost jammy/proggy way. Theres even a full blown solo at the end. Some Misunderstanding by contrast is a gorgeous heartfelt ballad based around lush acoustic chords and arpeggios that would have been a brilliant cover for Jeff Buckley. Very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great find, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken (Audio CD)
I discovered Soulsavers via their collaboration with Dave Gahan from Depeche Mode. So I took a punt on this. It is fantastic. Not a duff track on it but instead some truly outstanding music. Mark Lanegan is someone I had not heard of before, so I will now be getting his back catalogue (as I have done with the others). So Depeche Mode - solo Dave Gahan - Soulsavers - Mark Lanegan, I can't wait to discover who next in the chain - Rosa Agostino? I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 9 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken (Audio CD)
I discovered Soulsavers by accident as I am a Dave Gahan/Depeche Mode fan, and am eagerly awaiting the release of their forthcoming collaboration, The Light The Dead See (the new single The Longest Day is great by the way). In the meantime spurred on by the good reviews I decided to try out this offering and was not disappointed. So far I have listened to it four or five times and it will be on my playlist for some time to come. Darkly beautiful and bluesy but somehow genre-defying. Lanegan is great on vocals. Stand-out track for me right now is "You will miss me when I burn" but others are great too. An antidote to the X factor-type bilge that clogs our airwaves these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Soulsavers, 13 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. B. ASHTON - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken (Audio CD)
In my opinion, even when I got over constantly playing Gene Claks Some Misunderstanding, this is there best album and there is quality right through from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There are awful things...., 26 Aug. 2009
By 
This review is from: Broken (Audio CD)
or so Mark warns us on You'll miss me when I burn. In fact this is a glorious, swirling, doomy, gloomy, fabulously moody and strangely up-lifting album. Lanegan's voice is just astonishing. There are so many moments where it just takes your breath away.

The arrangements here are lusher and richer than his solo work or the collaborations with Isobel Campbell(and I would take exception to the reviewer who described that as " sub-par"; it is most definitely not)but there is no danger of that wonderful voice being overwhelmed. This is marketed as Soulsavers with Mark Lanegan but it's Mark's record.

So far as Red Ghost the reviews here are a bit harsh; agreed her version of Praying Ground is not as good , but I found it interesting. Her voice is very chilly and a little frightening and I think it works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Broken
Broken by Soulsavers (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews