Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If a Pie Dish Be the Food of Love, Cook On!, 10 Mar 2011
By 
S. Thomas - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Le Creuset Stoneware Pie Dish, Volcanic, 24 cm (Kitchen & Home)
I decided that I wanted a new pie dish and decided to get one by Le Creuset for a change. This dish is a little over 24 cm in diameter at the top, with sides that gently slope in to about 21 cm at the base; it's about 3.5 cm deep and has a capacity of 1.6 litres. As such, it is a good size in which to prepare a pie (or pudding) for four people (or two if you can eat the remaining contents chilled the following day). It can be put in the dishwasher but I have found it incredibly easy to wash by hand. It is safe to go in a freezer (down to -18C) and can then be placed straight in an oven from frozen as long as the oven is not pre-heated. It is also microwave safe.

The dish is available in a wide range of colours so you are likely to find one to suit. All of the dishes have an almond/cream interior, rim and base and carry a lustrous splash of colour on the side. The rim is enhanced by a series of raised dots all around the perimeter and the overall effect is much, much prettier than can be illustrated in a photograph. I won't go so far as to say it is worthy of a place in Tate Modern (although you never know...), but it is just a fine example of a pie dish; functional, yet very decorative and definitely suitable for table service in front of guests.

My dishes have been used for an array of different pies and puddings since I bought them, as well as for roasting vegetables. I like them so much that I have purchased more in different colours as gifts for family members (all very well received). I never thought I'd wax lyrical about a pie dish; there you go...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really great Pie Dish, 10 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Creuset Stoneware Pie Dish, Volcanic, 24 cm (Kitchen & Home)
I am really pleased with this pie dish. It is the usually good quality you come to expect from Le Creuset at a reasonable price.
It is somewhat larger than perhaps I had expected but combined with My Hairy Bikers Pie Book I have made some superb meat pies.
The pies look lovely in the orange dish too and they feed 5-6 people easily
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to basics!, 21 Oct 2011
This review is from: Le Creuset Stoneware Pie Dish, Volcanic, 24 cm (Kitchen & Home)
Beautiful dish from Le Creuset's 'Patisserie Range' which has a plethora of uses apart from pie making but it really does show off a home-made apple pie complete with the cute little pie bird, or crumble to its absolute best.
I often use mine for simply oven crisping a handful of parsnip & carrot sticks.

COLOUR: VOLCANIC with CREAM interior.
MATERIAL : STONEWARE

Oven/Microwave/Grill/Freezer/Dishwasher safe.

Approximate measurements, based on my own dish:

* 21 cm external base diameter, gently flaring out to 24 cm diameter at the attractive, bevelled rim
* Approximate overall depth - 4.25 cm
* Serves four people comfortably, six if smaller portions are acceptable.

The dish is easy to use and clean. I fill mine with hot, soapy water for about 15 minutes and give it a quick rub with a plastic brush inside and out especially around the bevelled rim to shift the more stubborn baked-on food remains such as toffee-apple glaze then pop it in the dishwasher.

Le Creuset embossed on the unglazed external base, along with 1.6L, this useful dish comes packed in a cardboard sleeve.
5 year limited guarantee

ooOoo

Instructions for LE CREUSET STONEWARE on the reverse of the cardboard sleeve include:

* DO NOT use on stovetop burners or any other direct heat source.
* Under the grill/broiler allow a 6.5 cm gap between the rim of the dish and the heat source.
* DO USE oven gloves as stoneware items removed from the oven, microwave and grill will be hot.
* DO NOT place a frozen dish in a pre-heated oven. Place the frozen dish in a cold oven and allow the dish and the oven to heat together.

General detail from sleeve front:

* Suitable for use in the oven and under the grill up to 260/500F
* Easy clean, enamelled, scratch resistant surfaces
* Totally hygienic cooking surface, will not absorb odours or flavours
* Strong and durable. Resists staining, chipping and cracking

'All items in the Le Creuset STONEWARE range are original designs. Any variations are a reflection of the unique character of the hand-crafted piece.'

Added bonus - the smaller 19 cm TRY-ME! size dish fits neatly inside for easy cupboard storage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very solid attractive pie dish that will stand the test of time, 2 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Creuset Stoneware Pie Dish, Volcanic, 24 cm (Kitchen & Home)
I was a little wary of spending over 20 on this pie dish since I'm a complete beginner when it comes to baking but as soon as I opened it there was no possibility of regret. It not only looks very attractive in real life but it feels so reassuringly solid with no visible flaws whatsoever.

I'm sincerely hoping that this will last me many years to come and I'm considering adding some matching items to my as yet small kitchen collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAMILY FAVOURITES, 7 April 2011
By 
DOPPLEGANGER (TEDDY B) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Creuset Stoneware Pie Dish, Volcanic, 24 cm (Kitchen & Home)
We have very recently replaced 2 of these dishes with new ones having had the predecessors for many years, one having been dropped onto a hardwood floor and the other showing signs of age after many years of service and countless times in the oven and microwave.

We use them not only for pies, flans, tarts and the like but for serving vegetables, desserts etc. as they make extremely attractive tableware that can be served straight from the oven. The coating used on the dishes works brilliantly and washing up is never a problem whatever has been in them, for example cauliflower cheese which has lasted over two days meals and has been cooked in the dishes and heated probably twice would normally prove extremely difficult to clean off. Not so with these dishes, comes off like a dream.

First class quality kitchenware proving the old adage that you get what you pay for and, in the longer run will inevitably be the best value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slice of Le Creuset perfection, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Creuset Stoneware Pie Dish, Volcanic, 24 cm (Kitchen & Home)
As always, a great quality item by Le Creuset.

The volcanic colour is vibrant and I gather from reading the other reviews, this pie dish will last a lifetime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great dish!, 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Creuset Stoneware Pie Dish, Volcanic, 24 cm (Kitchen & Home)
Good size for pie and vegetables dishes, it is solid and wash well so far! Would definitely recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Le Creuset Pie Dish bought as a gift, 6 May 2010
By 
N. E. Mckenzie (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Le Creuset Stoneware Pie Dish, Volcanic, 24 cm (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this fir my sister from her Amazon wish list.

It arrived beautifully wrapped in blue paper with a thick ivory ribbon and ha a card attached that said 'do not open this card until you have opened your gift' which I think was a great touch.

The packaging was great and it arrived in perfect condition the next day!

She was over the moon and so then of course, I am very happy as well!

Le Creuset Stoneware Pie Dish, Volcanic, 24 cm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Le Creuset Stoneware Pie Dish, Volcanic, 24 cm
25.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews