Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doing the simple things well
Gentle country/folk style songs crop up all over Neil Young's albums but often come across as the fluff between the hard stuff. Here though, Young devotes a whole album to the genre and the result is his best and most ignored collection of such material. 'Goin' Back' and 'Look Out For My Love' prove that he's at his most compelling in this style with plaintive and minor...
Published on 23 Aug 2006 by D. J. H. Thorn

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Out of the ditch and back to the middle of the road
While perennially held up as an example of the more successful side of Young's folk and country recordings, this album pales alongside records such as 1985's "Old Ways" and the now deleted 1980 album "Hawks and Doves." While some of the songs here are excellent ("Look Out for my Love" and "Lotta Love," two tracks featuring Crazy...
Published on 11 Nov 2001 by thomasbirch2


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doing the simple things well, 23 Aug 2006
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Comes A Time (Audio CD)
Gentle country/folk style songs crop up all over Neil Young's albums but often come across as the fluff between the hard stuff. Here though, Young devotes a whole album to the genre and the result is his best and most ignored collection of such material. 'Goin' Back' and 'Look Out For My Love' prove that he's at his most compelling in this style with plaintive and minor key melodies. Both of these songs linger. The title track they sandwich is by comparison a jaunty number, good but not so memorable. The rest of the album zigzags in a similar way. Lyrically, it's not so challenging. There are plenty of references to mountains, highways and, of course, love, but 'Comes A Time' is one of Neil Young's superior and most accessible albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Folkin' Classic!, 26 July 2000
By 
Joe (Portsmouth) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Comes A Time (Audio CD)
Neil's smiling on the cover and it's easy to see why when you have a collection of songs this good. This is Young firmly in folk/country land, and I feel his most successful foray in that genre. Every song effortlessly wraps itself around your memory and it all sounds so easy with melodies and lyrics this strong. On Lotta Love and Look Out For My Love Neil is backed by a very laid-back Crazy Horse, and provide two of the album's highlights. Elsewhere he gracefully tackles the old folk standard Four Strong Winds and provides a standard of his own in the bouyant Comes A Time. The mood is low key, Neil sings of broken loves and lost souls and never once sounds like he's moping. This is such a soft, elegant record it's impossible to dislike. In Neil's pantheon of great albums it is often criminally neglected, so do yourself a favour.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A much underrated album!, 24 Sep 2002
This review is from: Comes A Time (Audio CD)
Unlike other albums in the Young cannon, such as 'Hawks & Doves' or 'Old Ways', this is perhaps Young's best outing into country-folk-rock stylings. The orchestral arrangments which were perhaps a little too overblown on 'Harvest' are more consistent, and the addition of several accoutic guitar players helps create an extrodinary wall of sound. Stand out material includes the opening 'Goin' Back,' which sets the mood perfectly, and the energetic title track and 'Field Of Opportunity' are boistered by a funky fiddle accompniment. 'Already One' is a beautiful ballad with the harmonies of Nicolette Larson. The two Crazy Horse related tracks are the best songs - 'Look Out For My Love' 7 'Lotta Love' are superb pieces. Although sometimes ignored and overlooked, this album is one of Young's most underrated & perhaps, even one of his greatest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comes a time,cometh the man, 12 Jan 2003
By 
Callie (To the North) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comes A Time (Audio CD)
A beautiful laid back country -tinged album from Mr Young.the album opens with the haunting "Goin'back" with lovely harmony from Ms Larson (catch her on the NeilYoung DVD "Unplugged"
The title track will get the old toes tapping and my two favourite tracks on the album are with Crazy Horse,a subtle Horse "Look out for my love" boasts fine lyrics from Neil " I'm home again to you ,Babe,you know it makes me wonder,sitting in the quiet slipstream in the thunder " followd by the lovely "Lotta love",recorded on "Live Rust". The latter part of the album is high on the feel-good factor and the stand out is the optimistic "Field of Opportunity "In the field of opportunity,It's plowin' time again ""Motorcycle Mama " is a sort of slow,bluesy song with obscure lyrics to this one "Motorcycle Mama won't you lay your big spike down,I always get in trouble when you bring it around "I've never understood the lyric to that song,but yet again my I.Q. level is very low !!The album finishes with superb "Four strong Winds" with Neil's voice at It's most yearning !
This is a great,laid back album,best remembered for the harmonmy vocals of Nicolette Larson and the writing ability of Mr Young ,Neil is...smiling on the front cover !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comes a Time Revisited, 15 Mar 2009
By 
Ms. Ea Tate "Elizabeth Tate" (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Comes A Time (Audio CD)
Having not heard all the tracks the first time around it was something of an act of faith that I chose it. I wasn't disappointed, it's so evocative of an era; full of yearning and understated truths which work their way into the consciousness in an oddly powerful way. It is a fine mixture of lyricism, discord and determination ... it is now firmly embedded in both my C.D. ( I'm still struggling to replace original vinyl and tapes) collection and my psyche.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent folk-country album, 25 July 2011
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Comes A Time (Audio CD)
With this album, Neil Young returned to his roots. The jaunty title track is a great song, but not the only one here. I particularly enjoy Field of opportunity, of which I don't remember hearing a cover version, as well as Neil`s cover (the only one on this album) of Four strong winds (the sixties classic by Ian Tyson). Another great song is Motorcycle Mama, a duet with Nicolette Larson in which he mostly sings the choruses and she mostly sings the verses.

The opening track, Goin' back (Neil's own song, not to be confused with Dusty Springfield's hit) gets the album off to a great start. I'm not sure what it's about; looking at the lyrics, my first thought was that it could be about a volcanic eruption but I suspect that Neil may have written it about the consequences of war. Maybe it is deliberately ambiguous so that people can interpret it as they wish. Perhaps the pick of the tracks I haven't mentioned is Human highway, but this album is great from start to finish as far as I am concerned.

When Neil's albums are discussed, this album is not usually picked out as being one of his career highlights, but it' is definitely one of my favorite albums of his.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must buy for any country/folk fan, 25 Jun 2009
By 
A. Sayers "A Sayers" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Comes A Time (Audio CD)
Only recently just started listening to Neil, i always loved a few of his classic songs such as "Heart of Gold" and "Old Man" but i came to soon realise that each and every Neil Young album and song has a hidden gem and each has a unique sound and emotional connection to it for me "Comes a Time" is one of many of Neil's albums if you listen over and over again you will become attached.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money well spent !, 8 Jan 2004
This review is from: Comes A Time (Audio CD)
While there are more than enough individual tracks dotted around his huge number of recordings to justify Neil Young’s major reputation there are only a few albums that, on their own, hold together as satisfyingly complete “works”. And… in the (self imposed) absence of any sensible retrospectives since 1977’s “Decade” (definitely the best place to start for any “casual buyer”) those not “in the know” could be in for some seriously expensive mistakes. So, what’s been worth the money since then? Well…for anyone looking for the mellower side of this brilliantly mercurial but annoyingly erratic artist here’s a few suggestions: “Comes a Time” (1978), “Freedom” (1989), “Harvest Moon” (1992) and “Unplugged” (1995).
“Comes a Time” – his first post “Decade” release – was also Neil Young’s first serious attempt to recapture the audience created by “After the Goldrush” & “Harvest”. Concentrating on the acoustic folk/country-rock aspects of both albums, and arguably more cohesive than either, it opens with the exquisite “Goin’ Back” – one of the most emotionally reflective songs he has delivered to date – followed by the wonderfully catchy, pure country of “Comes a Time”, the tougher, Crazy Horse backed “Look Out For My Love” and two beautifully “laid-back” ballads in “Lotta Love” (a subsequent top ten hit for backing singer Nicolette Larson) & “Peace of Mind”. From there on the album flows fairly seamlessly through a set of similarly gentle, albeit less powerful, country & folk songs – with the stand out fun-blues of “Motorcycle Mama” providing a perfectly positioned break – to leave you… happy. Money well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC LAID BACK NEIL YOUng, 3 Jun 2010
By 
Michael Nicholl (Derry. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Comes A Time (Audio CD)
I have had this recording for a few decades on tape cassete, and have been intending to replace that copy with CD, which I have just done. This to me has always been one of Neil Young's better albums, and he does have very many great ones out there. The overall feel is of country rock with a slant towards folk and whilst I really love it when he rocks out with Crazy Horse, it is the songs such as those on Comes A Time that I tend to come back to first. This recording I would class as being in the style of Harvest, Harvest Moon, After The Gold Rush, and Prairie Wind to name a few. A relaxing listen that provides a feeling of warmth. All the tracks are good, but Comes A Time / Look Out For My Love / Human Highway / Goin' Back and the cover of Four Strong Winds are for me the outstanding songs. Of these, Four Strong Winds would possibly be the best known tack here. (On the Prairie Wind DVD, before singing Four Strong Winds, NY explains that he would play this song, written by Ian Tyson, regularly on the juke box when he was growing up in Canada)

A great and very under-rated CD well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars forgotten masterpiece, 2 July 2014
This review is from: Comes A Time (Audio CD)
When critics thumb through Neil Young's back pages this album appears to be the long lost uncle who no one speaks about at the wedding . It's hard to see why since it is superb and , apart from the sublime Harvest , the Neil Young disc I am most likely to pull from the shelf when I want to hear some post colonial Canadian angst . Others have eloquently analysed the tracks so I will only mention my particular weakness for Nicolette Larson kicking the door down as she enters on Motorcycle Mama and Four Strong Winds , arguably the best ever I'm leaving you but wish I wasn't song - not written by him but he makes it his own .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Comes A Time
Comes A Time by Neil Young
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews