Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Early Colour Photographs
I bought this as a present for a relative who is very interested in photography after seeing the BBC tv series on BBC4. Both he and I were impressed by how beautifully the early colour photographs have been reproduced. The text that accompanies the photographs gives an interesting background to why they were made and at the beginning of the book there is a decent...
Published on 7 Jan 2010 by colin silk

versus
37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing footage
I'm normally against reviews of unreleased DVD titles because however great or poor someone thought a TV series or film to be, it doesn't necessarily reflect the quality of the disc release. However, in this case I thought that people should be warned that the Albert Kahn DVD appears to be another recent 2|entertain title using shorter international versions of the...
Published on 24 July 2009 by Edit Watch


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing footage, 24 July 2009
This review is from: The Wonderful World Of Albert Kahn [DVD] (DVD)
I'm normally against reviews of unreleased DVD titles because however great or poor someone thought a TV series or film to be, it doesn't necessarily reflect the quality of the disc release. However, in this case I thought that people should be warned that the Albert Kahn DVD appears to be another recent 2|entertain title using shorter international versions of the episodes - if you look at the BBFC classifications, you'll notice that they each run about 8 minutes less than the original UK broadcasts. It might not sound like much to some people, but over the course of the series that amounts to about an hour and a quarter of missing footage, and it might include the parts you enjoyed the most. So if you recorded the series from BBC4 then you might want to hold onto those recordings and treat yourself to the impressive The Wonderful World of Albert Kahn: Colour Photographs from a Lost Age BBC Book instead, which is currently on sale for just a few pounds more.

Update, October 2009:
Using the first of my off-air recordings that I could find, here are a couple of examples of the duration differences:
Middle East - The Birth of Nations (DVD episode 7): BBC4 58'52", DVD 52'16"
Far East - Expeditions to Empires (DVD episode 8): BBC4 58'57", DVD 51'08"

The series is also about to be repeated again on BBC4 from Monday 12th at 8pm, in its original hour-long "The Twenties in Colour" format - don't forget to set your timers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Early Colour Photographs, 7 Jan 2010
By 
colin silk (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wonderful World Of Albert Kahn [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as a present for a relative who is very interested in photography after seeing the BBC tv series on BBC4. Both he and I were impressed by how beautifully the early colour photographs have been reproduced. The text that accompanies the photographs gives an interesting background to why they were made and at the beginning of the book there is a decent explanation of the colour process used and a good deal about Albert Kahn who financed the taking of the photographs. If you enjoyed the BBC4 series about Albert Kahn's photographs and found yourself wanting to see more of them then this book should be for you as it gives you some more photographs in addition to the ones used in the tv series as well as good quality prints which do justice to the subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you BBC !, 4 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: The Wonderful World Of Albert Kahn [DVD] (DVD)
After catching snippets of it on tv here in Singapore, I decided it was interesting enough to purchase this series on DVD to watch at leisure on my 92-inch projector screen. I wasn't disappointed. I was utterly fascinated from start to finish. This is the kind of intelligent and imaginative documentary that only the BBC seems to make nowadays. American documentaries go for more exciting presentation in the form of quick editing, loud music, and very selective use of information to jazz up the content(But then again, American channels would never have commissioned this kind of series in the first place, probably deeming it too static and boring). I hope the BBC never adopts this mode. This programme cleverly combines art, history and culture. Even the background music is beautiful. There is something wonderfully haunting and wistful about the early colour photographs presented here, and I learnt a great deal about the cultures of Europe on the eve of the First World War. It realy is like stepping into a time machine. I feel like I've stumbled upon a wonderful treasure, and I'd like to share it with my friends so that they too can step into the wonderful world of Albert Kahn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 3 Sep 2009
By 
M. Sheffield "sheff" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wonderful World Of Albert Kahn [DVD] (DVD)
As far as I am aware this series was 9 episodes (circa 50 mins each).
The BBFC says that it was 462m 13s long (the same as amazon advertise the dvd).

And the BBC website states the DVD is 500 mins (10 episodes).

Either way, i think this is the original un-edited BBC version.

Not as stated above.

In terms of the series. Absolutely brilliant, and the book is definitely worth a purchase.

As is a visit to his house if you are ever in western Paris....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential viewing, 12 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: The Wonderful World Of Albert Kahn [DVD] (DVD)
Despite each episode being trimmed down by 10 minutes, these outstanding episodes about the expiditions of Albert Kahn's photographers all over the world, make for fascinating viewing of beautiful, ethereal colour photographs that you would never have known existed. Catching the last glimpses of Edwardian society before the war, the destruction of french towns between 1914 and 1918, the peace treaties at Versailles, and new countries formed in the 1920s, this series showcases many important events of the early 20th Century, and in spellbinding colour. It's one of those amazing programmes that nodbody knows about, and discovering it is a real joy. I promise that it is one DVD that you will watch time and time again, a truly superior investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars confirmed!! edited versions!!!!, 6 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Wonderful World Of Albert Kahn [DVD] (DVD)
Not a single doubt about it. The DVD version has edited episodes. Each one of the first nine original initial episodes alsted nearly 59 minutes, while all of the same episodes on the DVD series last 51 to 52 minutes. The worst case is the final special tenth episode, "Japan in Colour". The original episode lasted 1hour 10 minutes, while the edited DVD version lasts 51 minutes.
You can check this by looking for the episodes on internet. The complete episodes bear the original titles "Edwardians in Colour" (episodes 1-5) / "The Twenties in Colour" (episodes 6-9) and the special "Japan in Colour" (episode 10).
There are, thus, 10 original episodes, all of which have been cut on DVD.
Why would BBC do such a stupid thing with these impressive and unique series? That's beyond comprehension.
Them the original series obviously deserve 5 stars. But I cannot recommend buying these trimmed versions... I'll keep those taped from TV with more than an hour more of material!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Use of Wealth, 11 May 2013
By 
John Jobeless (Corte Madera, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wonderful World Of Albert Kahn [DVD] (DVD)
I'm so grateful to visionary people of great wealth who finance such projects as this, M. Kahn's undertaking to document the world as it was a century ago. This is the BBC documentary of the book of the same name, memorializing the Kahn museum's collection. Absorbing it is quite a task, as it runs to 500 minutes, but it's a most rewarding journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Time Machine!, 24 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wonderful World Of Albert Kahn [DVD] (DVD)
This is a truly superb series which absolutely gives the lie to the feeling that television isn't what it used to be. This is a top quality fascinating series which can be watched over and over again. It was shown originally on BBC4 and is typical of the quality of programmes emanating from that channel - where would we be without BBC4? Culturally much poorer is the answer. You tend to think of colour photography as being of modern invention and use but that is not so as this series demonstrates. It's the nearest thing to a time machine you will get with its stunning colour slides taken a century ago. Truly amazing.
And on the length of the DVDs - the series was definately one of nine separate shows and not ten but I think they were sixty minutes each producing 540 minutes in total so there may have been some slight editing - but not so as to adversley affect these DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful world, indeed!, 24 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. J. B. Brisset "Bookworm" (Saint-Sever, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wonderful World Of Albert Kahn [DVD] (DVD)
The quality of these 3 DVD's is quite impressing. It gives access to colour pictures from the A. Kahn collection, otherwise inaccessible. For one century the technics of photography have so much improved that it is now practically impossible to botch a picture and yet 99.99% of our daily snaps are mere trash.
The girl under her red umbrella in the Kahn's collection has the beauty of a painting by Renoir. The quality of exposures and framings is just stricking. The comments are in excellent english understandable by all. The only critic I would make concerns the conditionning. In order to preserve this precious documents, I put aside each of the 3 DVD's in a separate casing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 27 Feb 2011
By 
Jana Turkova (Praha 4, Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wonderful World Of Albert Kahn [DVD] (DVD)
I was fascinated by the personality of Albert Khan and by his collection of color pictures. It gives a very lively picture of the world one hunderd years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wonderful World Of Albert Kahn [DVD]
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews