Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Black Guardian Trilogy - The 5th Doctor's greatest hits!
This trilogy falls in the middle of Peter Davison's penultimate season as the Doctor. By now he has fully settled into the role and puts in a corker of a performance here.

The three stories here are a loose story arc linked by the involvement of the Black Guardian, portrayed by Valentine Dyall in villainous form, and his attempts to get the Doctor killed. As...
Published on 19 Aug. 2009 by Victor

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "A Lord of Time? Are there Lords in such a small domain?"
Common knowledge and perceived wisdom has it that the Peter Davison era was when things started to go wrong for Doctor Who, but while he never made as much of an impression in the role as his predecessor Tom Baker and was saddled for most of his tenure with the deeply obnoxious `mouth on legs' Tegan, many of his stories were no worse - and some were considerably better -...
Published on 19 May 2010 by Trevor Willsmer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A solid and rounded release, 11 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Black Guardian Trilogy: Mawdryn Undead / Terminus / Enlightenment [DVD] (DVD)
I've been looking forward to this release for quite a long time now. I'm not going to go into details about the actual stories as this information is available elsewhere.

What I always look forward to with classic Doctor Who DVD releases is the technical aspects of the release. So I'm going to talk about those.
There have been a handful of 'Special Editions' already, where a story has been re-edited and given a 5.1 surround mix. This box set contains all 3 stories of the trilogy plus a Special edition of Enlightenment. All 3 stories have new CGI effects, which for the most part are quite an improvement on the original effects. In 'Mawdryn Undead' the new effects are subtle & work well. With 'Terminus' the new CGI really comes into its own. In my opinion the new effects have drastically improved the story making it far more realistic and believable, adding a lot to enhance the story.

And then there's the special edition of 'Enlightenment'. The very first time that a classic Who story has been released in widescreen format. When I first heard that it was going to be presented in widescreen I was shocked because the team behind the restoration of these classic stories have, for many years made their views clear. One of these views was that tinkering with the aspect ratio of a classic DW was a big no-no. I was wondering then, how they were going to approach such a task and really looking forward to the results.

There's a small feature about the realisation of the special edition where we see Enlightenment's original director Fiona Cumming 're-directing' the story, suggesting edits and new CGI effects. It's sad to report that the end result is very disappointing. First of all the new 75 minute edit does nothing to improve the pace, but neither does it degrade anything, it's still watchable - or it would be, if it wasn't for the decision to crop & zoom the picture to make it widescreen. It's not so bad that people's heads are being cut off but it is a very tight and claustrophobic picture. It just looks so forced; it's obvious that it wasn't shot with widescreen in mind. We get a lot of very tight close-ups and a lot of very tight mid-shots. Most of the time it just looks like the entire cast is huddling together on a very small set and by the end you're just longing to watch the original 4 part 4:3 edits so that the picture can breathe again. Sadly the new CGI in this story isn't so hot either; it does look updated but seems forced somehow. It looks to me like the new effects were updated to look more like 1989 rather than 2009, just painted over or replaced with dummy shots. The worst thing of all about this new widescreen version is the picture quality. Due to the picture having been zoomed in it looks rough, grainy and pixelated. I first tried watching it on my modest 36" HD TV as this TV is a generally a good all-rounder and a great compromise for standard definition pictures, it just looked awful. I tried watching it again on my tiny 26" Widescreen TV and it didn't fare any better, it still looked rough. I dread to think what it would look like on my 60" widescreen TV.
The messy, botched special edition of Enlightenment aside: This is a great box set and a fantastic addition to the Doctor Who DVD range. The Picture quality is better than ever and almost all of the special features are well presented and entertaining - and there are a lot of them.

So Five stars for a great looking trilogy of 4 parters, but minus 2 stars for a no so special edition. Nice try, only next time, don't bother with the widescreen, just keep it 4:3 like previous releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Black Guardian Trilogy: Mawdryn Undead / Terminus / Enlightenment [DVD] (DVD)
Good story was bought as a present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing array of EXTRAS, 12 Aug. 2009
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Black Guardian Trilogy: Mawdryn Undead / Terminus / Enlightenment [DVD] (DVD)
Having viewed this entired DVD trilogy set, I thought the array of extras are top notch. There are loads of extras spread over. Though the tributes to Writer Barbara Clegg, Mark Strickson and Sarah Sutton are limited in time it covers a great deal of info as each talk about their careers. The usual extras are supplemented by far as I know on Dr Who DVDs are PDF files containing complete Dr Who Annuals/Books. In this Trilogy, the viewer is treated by a high resolution production of 'The Radio Times 20th Anniversary' magazine including the reproduction of the poster insert! No pages have been left out. Just brilliant. Young fans or people alike who have never seen this magazine are in for a real treat. Perhaps The Radio Times 10th Anniversary Special Magazine may be part of a future DVD pdf.

I won't go into the stories as other reviewers have already. The stories are all great. Fans/viewers alike will have their favourites. I thought Terminus seemed to be an inbetweener. The CGI option on Mawdryn Undead is great, in particular is the revamped flashback Brigadier sequence where they used new clips. But it's pleasing to the viewer to have the option of either the original or the new CGI. Despite the new edit of Enlightment I wish they had the option of CGI on the original 4 parts as well. Though I do prefer the original model shots of the ship; the new CGI is 'too' animated like out of a computer game.

The next big release aside of 'The Twin Dilema' and 'Keys of Marinus' is the Dalek War Box set comprising of 'Frontier in Space' and 'Planet of the Daleks' where an updated list of extras can be found on the BBFC website. Originally it was set to be release on 28/12/09 but thankfully it has been move much forward to 05/10/09. It is now likely 'The King's Demons/Planet of Fire' box set will take it's place on 28/12/09
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars underated why ???, 20 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Black Guardian Trilogy: Mawdryn Undead / Terminus / Enlightenment [DVD] (DVD)
this is one of my faveroute boxsets and quite honestly one of the best most other boxsets ( with exception of the mara and kamelion tales ) feature a theme but diffrent doctors ie earth story or the beneath the surfface this boxset features a complete season minus frontios and a ark that sives all the way trough heres my thought on the included storys

mawdren undead ***

the most over rated story of the davidson era ( i loved caves and resurection ) the main reason this is so high with fans is because of the return of the late nic courtney if the story didnt include him this would have been low yea ok its dark and creepy mawdren himself is a example here in part 2,s cliffhangner but it takes too long to get going once part 3 happens all we,ve seen is back to earth then ship and it gose on like that

turloh got on my nerves in this story dont get me wrong mark strikson is fantastic :) as the companion from hell but he improves by the end ( his performance in frontios is superp) tegan and nyssa dont get to do much and the doctor is well the doctor regardless of regeneration all together a weak story but improvements a superp part 2 and 3 cliffhangner makes up for this

terminus ****

ok i love this story sue me and ill be the first to say it the story is pure rubbish that the (blank ) is in the (blank ) of ( blank blank ) ok iam a no spoiler man hince the blanks lol but seriously it is a rubbish plot but the idea of what terminus is thats what i love part 1 cliffhangner is excellent in ( and yes over way over the top ) setting it up lazers or leprosy is a serious skin condtion and to see it happen to someone ( spoilers ) is heartbreaking its also the sets this isnt disney land its dank creepy ( the screen where tegan and turlo is hidding in the celler with the victims walking above ) for me this is the highlight next to the last story really well done side from the lame plot :)

enlightenment *****

80s creepy with a saphire and steel plot and feel all cast at their best ( stricson the standout ) a superp plot a unintentional funny perfomance from lee jhon ( from imagenation ) and two supperb cliffhangers yup this is one of my personal faveroutes

as a boxset id highly recomend this it shows the 5th doctor as his most darkest ( in the i dont take crap from nobody ) a gorgeous story in the final and two good first storys

overall grade A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Black Guardian Trilogy: Mawdryn Undead / Terminus / Enlightenment [DVD] (DVD)
I love 'DOCTOR WHO'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Black Guardian Trilogy: Mawdryn Undead / Terminus / Enlightenment [DVD] (DVD)
Item is as expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but wonderful., 31 Aug. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Black Guardian Trilogy: Mawdryn Undead / Terminus / Enlightenment [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely LOVE all of the 3 DVD boxed sets from the Doctor Who range. They represent amazing value: such a lot of time and hard work in the hands of doting, creative technical experts who really care about the releases and have gone to great pains to give fans the best possible presentation of the stories released. "The Beginning", "New Beginnings", "Beneath the Surface", "The E-Space Trilogy" and now this!

Mawdryn Undead gets a lot of stick from some fans but I have always loved it: the atmosphere, the music, the settings, and now we have some - optional - updated visual effects for those who found the original early-'80s video effects too unbearably clunky. Of course the discontinuity of the story still jars: it is partly set in June 1977 with the Brigadier working as a maths teacher at a boys school even though it had already been established earlier in the series that the Brig worked for UNIT at least up until 1980. But that is the producer's fault, and every other person involved in the development, production, post-production and mastering of this classic story is to be commended.

The second story, Terminus, can be silly and tedious viewing for some, although I still have a soft spot for it. It is written by the same guy who did Warrior's Gate for Tom Baker (Stephen Gallagher?) at the end of his run and it has the same enigmatic, slightly surreal atmosphere and slightly confusing storyline as that story, and like Warrior's Gate it caused a lot of problems in production which meant that the final product on screen was (unlike Warrior's Gate which turned out very well despite everything) a really bad compromise with unsympathetic design and direction. I like it, but it is definitely one of the ropier stories of the season.

Enlightenment, the "Special Edition", is the surprise jewel in this set. I never thought much of this story before although I did enjoy some of the music. I was rather sceptical when I heard that the special edition was being cropped for a widescreen presentation because I thought the picture quality would look too ropey to blend in with the new CGI sequences but having seen it - even projected onto a screen over 2 metres wide - it really is not objectionable and the editors have been very careful with the cropping of the shots, maintaining good picture composition throughout. The 5.1 remix is breathtaking (as usual with these releases) and the new CGI sequences of the boats in space, the apparitions of the Guardians, the bridge of the ship is epic and cinematic in its vision, even if the actual animation and final rendering is not as convincing as the CGI work in the new series, but that's just down to budget. I watched it on my home cinema with a widescreen projector and I was hooked from the moment the titles burst onto the screen with the new 5.1 surround theme music!

A really good 4/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brian, 6 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Black Guardian Trilogy: Mawdryn Undead / Terminus / Enlightenment [DVD] (DVD)
it is the bant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Black Guardian Trilogy: Mawdryn Undead / Terminus / Enlightenment [DVD] (DVD)
good present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Black Guardian Trilogy: Mawdryn Undead / Terminus / Enlightenment [DVD] (DVD)
Great stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews