Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Verdi Nabucco, 6 Jun 2010
By 
A. Zona - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi: Nabucco (Audio CD)
Premiered at La Scala, Milan, in 1842, Nabucco is the first opera by Giuseppe Verdi to gain wide public success. No surprise given how beautiful it is. This recording, made in Vienna in 1965, featuring the Vienna Opera Orchestra and Chorus directed by Lamberto Gardelli and (among the others) the voices of Tito Gobbi (Nabucco), Bruno Previdi (Ismaele), Carlo Cava (Zaccaria), Elena Souliotis (Abigaille), Dora Carral (Fenena), is indicated by many reviewers as the best recording of Nabucco currently available. Many informative customer reviews can be found in the US Amazon website under the previous 1986 CD release (white and blue cover with title in big capital letters). I totally agree with such enthusiastic reviews: a powerful and passionate, elegant and involving interpretation of this first Verdi masterpiece. I just want to add my comments to this new 2009 CD release. It is re-mastered by Decca with 96kHz-24bit technology, has a new space saving box-set (the liner notes and libretto are inside the plastic box containing the 2 CDs and not outside as in older Decca opera CD editions), and it is offered at a lower price compared to the previous CD release. The re-mastered sound is simply glorious, as with the best Decca analogue recordings of the 60s, well defined voices, natural and balanced orchestra, powerful and amazing chorus, good dynamics. Sound, package and price, three more reasons to totally recommend this truly great and exciting interpretation of Nabucco.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God bless Gobbi - not to mention Suliotis, 12 Nov 2011
This review is from: Verdi: Nabucco (Audio CD)
This was my first introduction to Verdi's first masterpiece. As an opera it has fantastic pace. Add Gobbi to the mix with his supreme interpretation (see "Chi mi toglie il regio scettro") and it is complete. Gobbi understood theatre; he infuses drama in every phrase. Then you have Elena Suliotis - one of my favourite dramatic sopranos - she is outstanding here (if you can get her Macbeth - it'll be worth the search).

Wonderful opera. Wonderful recording. Get it in your basket!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early Verdi Sets A High Standard, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi: Nabucco (Audio CD)
Verdi's first big operatic hit is a template for much that came afterwards: great orchestrations, wonderful chorus work and superb arias and duets. It is also a suitably dramatic tale of the Hebrews' bondage and everyone on this vintage recording is on top form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi: Nabucco (Audio CD)
The classic recording of Nabucco. Superb. Tito Gobbi at his greatest and Souliotis in her brief glory. Should be in every Verdian's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied of Malestroit, 7 Jan 2012
This review is from: Verdi: Nabucco (Audio CD)
What a great recording of this magnificent work and a great help to me in learning various arias and choral pieces to be sung in concert with our local French choir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT VALUE, GREAT RECORDING, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi: Nabucco (Audio CD)
This double CD arrived promptly and was well packed. It is great value for a great recording with an excellent booklet in the CD case. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remastered but good, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi: Nabucco (Audio CD)
this was my first encounter with "Nabucco" so I am unable to compare this recording with others. However, as a remastered version of a legendary recording made in Vienna in October 1965, it was much better than I had anticipated. There was none of the tininess in the orchestral pieces I associate with older recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite bass baritone, 24 July 2013
By 
Paula (East Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi: Nabucco (Audio CD)
My late husband collected recordings of opera on vinyl LP's; Verdi's Nabucco was a particular favourite as this 1965 recording (on vinyl with the same cover picture) has Tito Gobbi singing the title role. I was delighted to find the same recording on CD... far easier to listen to and as beautiful as the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice recording and version, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have grown to like this recording more and more. There are more dynamic and energetic productions that may initially make this seem a little (and I do mean a little), subdued, but it's worth taking the time to listen to the whole recording. Very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nabucco CD, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Verdi: Nabucco (Audio CD)
The CD arrived promptly and in perfect condition as expected. I am enjoying listening to the music in anticipation of attending the (live streaming of the) opera at my local Odeon cinema. It is vital for me to have heard and get to know the music beforehand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb431d7e0)

This product

Verdi: Nabucco
Verdi: Nabucco by Elena Suliotis (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews