Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Little Known Gem
Like other reviewers here, I too was a bit tentative at purchasing this product. I can only recall seeing 1 advertisement for it on TV and generally there was not much marketing out there for it.

I have always been a fan of age of empires and history in general so this just seemed to make sense for me.

Please note this review is based on Single...
Published on 4 April 2011 by Aquila1701

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Expectations to utter disappointment in 10 seconds...
I bought this in the hope that it would be a great strategy game - that allowed the player to immerse themselves in the history of medieveal war. Oh how naive I was! Its arcade styled campaign leaves the mind wanting and the poor control layout are just some of the things that led me to give up on this game within the first few hours.

You are constantly pausing...
Published 18 months ago by F1-Dan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Little Known Gem, 4 April 2011
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Great Battles Medieval (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Like other reviewers here, I too was a bit tentative at purchasing this product. I can only recall seeing 1 advertisement for it on TV and generally there was not much marketing out there for it.

I have always been a fan of age of empires and history in general so this just seemed to make sense for me.

Please note this review is based on Single Player only I have not yet played Multi Player on XBL:

The game itself is set during the 100 Years War.

My first impression was a good one, there are 2 campaigns on offer one as the English, the other French.
Naturally I automatically selected the English for my first playthrough Once you select the game you wish to play there is a mandatory tutorial first before you are pitched into the full campaign. I could see why immediately.

- The controls; to put it politely are fiddly at best even though there are only 5 buttons/sticks used during the levels and I found it hard and timely to navigate across the maps.

-Graphics; mainly due to this not being developed by a gaming powerhouse (Slitherine)the graphics during gameplay aren't ground-breaking due to the scale required. I think console restrictions might have quite a lot to do with it and the fact that there is so much going on at any one time. This is not such a problem when zoomed out to get the best view of the battlefield (which it the view most used) but when you are close in like in the 'army camp' menu people practically have half their face missing. But as previously mentioned 90% of the time you will be zoomed out during gameplay so from that angle the graphics look quite good.

- Storyline; Generally speaking the game re-creates accurate historical events and battles throughout the main campaign. There are opportunities between main levels to raid villages and towns to gain gold for recruiting more men and experience.

- General gameplay; as mentioned before the control aspects are quite annoying which can sometimes take away from the experience. However the battles themselves are great. Ordering a thousand troops forwards is great to watch, this is mainly a tactical game and not one that you can send units in willy nilly because that won't work. You need to use logic i.e spearmen to take out cavalry, archers to decimate tight infantry ranks etc. This is what makes the game so engaging. The difficulty of the battles depend on the levels and numbers of your troops. You might find that you will end to raid a village before taking on armies if you don't have enough troops. you can upgrade and modify your army between and before battles training them in new techniques and buying new armour and weapons. Each decision in a way can affect the game.

Overall this game is a good buy for the price and with 2 campaign options and over 16 battles to fight in each campaign mode, this will keep you going for hours. Great if you want to have a break from FPS or RPG's or are a fan of the Total War Series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Expectations to utter disappointment in 10 seconds..., 31 Jan 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Battles Medieval (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I bought this in the hope that it would be a great strategy game - that allowed the player to immerse themselves in the history of medieveal war. Oh how naive I was! Its arcade styled campaign leaves the mind wanting and the poor control layout are just some of the things that led me to give up on this game within the first few hours.

You are constantly pausing to choose the next move, with child-like control systems made up of colours and even the 'cutomization' of the soldiers is limited and dull. This game leaves the gamer wanting - as it could have been so much to so many! But sadly, this is another game that had great potential but now deserves a place in the 99p bucket at any generic grocery store.

My advice: If your looking for a simplistic, block-graphic game that requires constant pausing and includes a frustrating control layout; THEN THIS IS THE GAME FOR YOU!

But if like me, you want a 'Total-war' like strategy game. Avoid at all costs! I'm yet another victim of a cleverly put together game trailer that gives you great expectations but leaves you utterly disappointed within 10 seconds of game play...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Total War, but good strategy game for Xbox, 7 May 2012
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Battles Medieval (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I agree with other reviews regarding graphics. However, if you want to get away from the usual FPS and try a bit of tactical gameplay this is good fun. Yes the graphics are a bit of let down when zoomed in to the battle but 90% of the time you want to stay wide on the map to view the enemies movements. Of course, being English the 100 years war is a very interesting period. I keep going back to this game time and again. Total War it isn't but good fun if you like strategy games. The controls can be fiddly and if I don't play it for a couple of weeks I have to go through the tutorial again. Worth a punt at 11.00 if you want a bit of historical slash and bash and there is lots of upgrading of units,armour,weapons and abilities plus side missions to try and earn gold to upgrade.

It's one of those games that you keep for those times when you get fed up with certain MW(oh no I fell for the hype again) situations. Like I said I go back to this game again and again....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply brilliant, 28 July 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Great Battles Medieval (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If you like strategy games where you control vast armies then this would/should be in your top five. Very Very Easy controls, easy to win the early battles once you get the knack.. takes about 6 mins to become adept 30 mins to become expertly confident. The later battles become a bit more challenging and a basic tip is to equip your infantry with large sheilds making them almost impervious to arrow fire, and allow your own archers carte blanch to decimate the enemy units. This is one of those games that genre fans are guaranteed to enjoy.
Historicaly the game is very accurate and spans the 100 years war, and incorporates new weaponry after the decades and major battles roll by,. play as English or French both are seperate and equally enjoyable campains to follow.
10 out of 10 ... ENJOY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad!, 26 Oct 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Great Battles Medieval (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Well i think this game isnt bad. Ive seen a lot of negative comments on other sites about it, but it is what it is. The startegy element in this game is pretty good, the graphics are average although i still didnt mind them and the campaigns are nice and easy to get through. Theres a relatively decent skirmish option to keep you interested too, It probably could have been a little better if they had introduced an economic element to it but i feel its still a relatively decent game, would be better if there was more games like this on the xbox so they could polish them a little bit more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, 7 Oct 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Great Battles Medieval (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If your a strategy game fan buy this its awesome when I first started playing the tutorial I was like what have I done as first impressions where not brill eg graphics however once you complete the tutorial and begin a campaign (I chose France) it's brilliant .it's important to level up your units at the army camp with gold u have stolen and also to understand what units fight well against others . Give it some time and you will be rewarded with a fun challenging game . Add me frontlinedave
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Strategy Game, 16 Feb 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Great Battles Medieval (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If you like any of the Total War series, Strategy Games or anything to do with the middle ages then this is the game for you. Great Gameplay, such a range of battles and customising your own army is a very feature as well. For the price i recommend it to anyone with an Xbox 360.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars history channel disappointment, 17 Sep 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Battles Medieval (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having played the Sega Total WAR series on PC I found this game to be very disappointing both in terms of graphics as well as gameplay.

The Look of the Game
I consider the graphics to be very bad in fact it scared me off purchasing other 'strategy' games on the xbox.
The design of the warrior characters in terms of form is actually quite good but the colour quality and shading is pretty bad. I actually have the biggest problem with the graphics of the terrain. It is too detailed yet the colour is so saturated which gives you a nauseating feel when you focus on the terrain. When you zoom out is where the graphics are absolutely terrible. In free look you cant make out your unit as it stands virtually camouflaged against the terrain. You cant even make out the banner of the unit which you need to see whether the unit is cavalry, infantry or archers.
Because the graphics are quite bad you can not zoom out to get the full view of the battle. You have to move the cursor to find the opposing army and for this reason this game has no sense of depth or the epic feel of Total WAR games. In order to give any orders you have to enter the pause screen. Because the graphics are so weak in order for you to make any sense of the battle each unit becomes a highly visible highlighted square with a bright red or blue border which makes this a game of pitting a higlighted block against block. This makes it look like a board game and very unrealistic. You have a big circular bright yellow cursor to move around the screen which spoils the look and is frankly unneccessary.

The Gameplay
Units cant take a direct diagonal path but have to go the long way around and each path is tracked with a big yellow line.
Units attack WITHOUT being ordered to and for this reason there is a lot of movement and constantly changing paths and so the battle quickly becomes a huge mess as units block each others way and attempt to find alternative paths.
The units are perfectly square in shape and look more like small bands than units. This game does not give you the feel of fighting an army vs army. It is very much an arcade style battle of skirmishes at different parts of the screen. The graphics are so poor you simply cant tell which unit is which or who is fighting whom. Identification is virtually impossible as you are only given the name of the captain and not the unit type.
When you actually zoom in to view the combat it is very frustrating as units are defeated and combat ends extremly quickly.
Lastly you can not give orders in real time i.e. as the battle is occuring but instead have to enter a pause screen where you are presented with each unit as a highlighted block and you can navigate in only the horiz. or vert. direction and not diagonal.

I hope people will appreciate the time I took to analyze the game objectively rather than giving an emotional review on 1st impressions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good game, once you learn how it works, 7 April 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Battles Medieval (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Give this game time to grow on you & (hopefully) it will.

If you think this game is total war, then you will be disappointed. However, take this game on its own merits & you will enjoy it. There are good graphics, & once you are used to it, some good gameplay.

The gameplay at first is a little frustrating, but once you learn how the game operates, it will become more & more rewarding.

If you, like me like strategy games, yet are frustrated by the lack of them on the 360; then please support games like this & buy it. Without sales in this genre, development will stop.

For God, King Henry & St. George!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Battles Medieval xbox, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Battles Medieval (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Given 5 stars for delivery and condition of game. The price was good too. As for the game my husband says 3 stars and very average. Wasn't really his thing. I thought he would like as he liked Risk. I guess it's a matter of choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great Battles Medieval (Xbox 360)
14.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews