Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray version
I,m not going to review the film itself,I think everyone knows the "storyline",if your looking for sheer entertainment,this is it,definitely up there with the Die Hard films,IMO.
The blu-ray transfer is very good, for a film from the 80,s,sharp and clear,BUT,my criticism of this blu-ray version has nothing to do with the transfer,it has to do with the version...
Published on 8 April 2009 by mr david cairns

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
its a ok transfer
Published 1 month ago by Nissan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray version, 8 April 2009
By 
mr david cairns "wesnut" (kennoway, fife Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I,m not going to review the film itself,I think everyone knows the "storyline",if your looking for sheer entertainment,this is it,definitely up there with the Die Hard films,IMO.
The blu-ray transfer is very good, for a film from the 80,s,sharp and clear,BUT,my criticism of this blu-ray version has nothing to do with the transfer,it has to do with the version itself.
WHY is the Director,s Cut available on standard dvd,but not on blu-ray????
I think we all recognise the blu-ray format as the BEST for Home Cinema,so why release the theatrical version on blu-ray when the Director,s Cut is available??????
I realise I,m probably nitpicking here,but I,m thinking,Lethal Weapon Director,s Cut coming soon to blu-ray,more of our "bucks" to be had????
If not having the extended version doesn,t bother you too much,then this blu-ray is a very good quality transfer,imo.
Davy,Scotland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's get the flock outta here...., 16 Jun 2014
Roger Murtaugh is a family man and veteran police officer trying to make it through the day unscathed.

Martin Riggs is a suicidal loose cannon cop who doesn't care if he even lives to see the end of the day.

Reluctantly thrown together to solve the mysterious murder of a banker's daughter, the duo uncovers a dangerous ring of drug smugglers employing ex-military mercenaries.

After a tragic turn of events, the mission becomes personal and the pair must learn to trust one another as they wage a two-man war against a deadly criminal organisation......

Its one of the most defining films of the eighties, one of the most defining action movies of all time, it catapulted Gibson into super-stardom, and along with Die Hard (the greatest film ever made) is the most copied action movie ever. And its plain to see why.

It's endlessly quotable, still fresh after 27 years, and is expertly produced by Joel Silver.

But despite the wonderful set pieces, the awesome pyrotechnics and Gibsons ability to outrun a car even though he chain smokes, the best thing about this beauty is the script and the story by Shane Black.

It's such an easy high concept thriller, that the story doesn't really matter, I mean its about drugs, which most eighties action films were about. Ask people about the story, and they will tell you the narrative.

Because the story doesn't matter.

Black has made the characters so down to earth and so familiar, that you bond with Mutaugh, and feel huge empathy with Riggs, and this is in the first half hour, and once you bond with the two, the rest flows as freely as water from a tap.

Its groundbreaking stuff, the second sequel complimented this,the other two, well it was good to catch up with the gang.

Among one of the greatest action movies ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 25 Oct 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
lethal weapon is a 1987 cop buddy movie that blended in the over zealous blood kill that incorporated the 80s in the action movie genre,mel gibson and danny glover play riggs and murtaugh,two cops who come from different backgrounds,lead very different lives and treat their sense of living differently as gibson is more gung ho who has a death wish since his wife was killed due to him being a cop,glover is a family man,getting on in age who prides himself on playing it safe.

The two cops have to learn to work with eack other,like each other amd then respect each other all the while fighting evil and trying to uncover a murder plot,the film is witty and intense and violent and thats what we love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mel Gibson film, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lethal Weapon [1987] [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD is fantastic I have watched it 2 times .It was delivered on time I think Mel Gibson is great with Danny they make a great team .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 1st and the best!, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lethal Weapon [1987] [DVD] (DVD)
Action packed as always with Mel Gibson, Good supporting roles from Danny Glover, Gary Busey and Mitchell Ryan, who is normally associated with Clint Eastwood movies. Magnum Force, High Plains Drifter etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We got the edge Cochise., 30 Aug 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lethal Weapon [1987] [DVD] (DVD)
Close to retirement, Detective Sergeant Roger Murtaugh is a bit disturbed to find he's breaking in a new partner. Even more so when it turns out to be fellow Detective Martin Riggs, who since the death of his wife has scant regard for life, his own or those around him.

Light on plot and character development, Lethal Weapon none the less shines bright as a beacon of how a buddy buddy film should be done. Roughly an hour and forty five minutes of quips, action, villainy, heroics and cross generational/cultural divides. All what else is needed is a star duo with buoyant chemistry, and Richard Donner's movie has it by the clip load. Mel Gibson is Riggs, trigger happy loony on the ragged edge, wonderfully playing off Danny Glover's "too old for this nonsense" sage old copper. Gary Busey's "psycho's are us" henchman flits in and out the picture with gleeful impact, and Shane Black's script crackles as the stunt work starts to take a hold.

It's a winning formula that the box office punters lapped up. Three sequels, all of which are of differing quality, would follow. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An action film that was an instant classic!, 4 Sep 2000
By A Customer
Along with 'Die Hard' in the late 80's, 'Lethal Weapon' is one of those rare genre-defying action movies. Not only is it a brilliant thrill-ride, but it is also one of the best buddy movies around. Mel Gibson stars as crazy LA cop Martin Riggs, who is a time bomb waiting to explode. Teamed up with new partner and family man Murtaugh (Danny Glover)the pair race off to stop a gang of murderous mercenaries.
Packed full of the usual stunts, and action capers this is a rare gem, that spawned three sequels, all directed by Richard Donner. Unfortunately they were not as exciting or as hard-edged as this original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
its a ok transfer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80`s action!, 22 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. E. A. Dobson "dwardstings" (West Yorkshire,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lethal Weapon [1987] [DVD] (DVD)
It wasn`t the first buddy cop film but it`s certainly one of the best. I just bought the dvd box set which features the directors cut editions. Only watched this one so far, i had not seen it in over a decade and boy does it stand up well. Along with Die Hard the best action of the 80`s!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Melvoius Watching, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lethal Weapon [1987] [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this to replace the VHS, love watching Mel Gibson and Danny Glover. Would recommend to all every one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lethal Weapon [DVD] [2009] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 17.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews