Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TRIP BACK TO THE '60s
This must be the best '60s pop compilation you are ever likely to come across -- and such great value. True, it doesn't include the really big names like The Beatles or The Rolling Stones, but what you have here is the essence of '60s pop music, the songs and instrumentals which are instantly recognisable from that era. So, the first record I ever bought is included here...
Published on 21 July 2011 by C. Kingswell

versus
54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Editing
Although hits, I think, as a set, some of the middle of the road songs here are out of place. It is not meant to be a definitive collection, no Beatles, Stones, Kinks, Who etc, but I think it should have concentrated on the pop/beat side of the charts as this makes up the large majority of content. The MOR just gets in the way.
It has been poorly edited for CD as...
Published on 31 July 2009 by A. Morton


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TRIP BACK TO THE '60s, 21 July 2011
By 
C. Kingswell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Hits - Sixties (Audio CD)
This must be the best '60s pop compilation you are ever likely to come across -- and such great value. True, it doesn't include the really big names like The Beatles or The Rolling Stones, but what you have here is the essence of '60s pop music, the songs and instrumentals which are instantly recognisable from that era. So, the first record I ever bought is included here : Bernard Cribbins' comic song 'Right Said Fred' with 'Hole In The Ground' on the flip side. Not really a pop song? Well, as other reviewers have already commented, the music of the '60s was so diverse, it encompassed pop, country and western, folk, jazz, crooners -- you name it and the '60s had it.
There are no more than 3 contributions from any one artist, and very few songs, I think, which you will not be able to remember. One surprising omission for me is 'Stranger On The Shore' which was another of my early purchases and a great hit at the time for Acker Bilk.
For the record, I am listing the tracks on Disc 5, as a previous reviewer repeated the tracks on Disc 4 by mistake :
1. JENNY TAKE A RIDE -- Mitch Ryder And The Detroit Wheels.
2. YOU'RE NO GOOD -- The Swinging Blue Jeans.
3. I LIKE IT -- Gerry And The Pacemakers.
4. DO WAH DIDDY DIDDY -- Manfred Mann.
5. POISON IVY -- The Paramounts.
6. YOU GOT WHAT IT TAKES -- Marv Johnson.
7. SABRE DANCE -- Love Sculpture.
8. I'LL NEVER GET OVER YOU -- Johnny Kidd And THe Pirates.
9. PRETTY BLUE EYES -- Craig Douglas.
10. HOUSE OF THE RISING SUN -- The Animals.
11. CONFESSIN' -- Frank Ifield.
12. ON THE ROAD AGAIN -- Canned Heat.
13. THE WEIGHT -- The Band.
14. ONE WAY LOVE -- Cliff Bennett And The Rebel Rousers.
15. BOOM BANG-A-BANG -- Lulu.
16. BIG SPENDER -- Shirley Bassey.
17. HURDY GURDY MAN -- Donovan.
18. BALLAD OF BONNIE & CLYDE -- Georgie Fame.
19. THE CARNIVAL IS OVER -- The Seekers.
20. STAIRWAY TO HEAVEN -- Neil Sedaka.
21. I UNDERSTAND -- Freddie And The Dreamers.
22. ALL I HAVE TO DO IS DREAM -- Bobbie Gentry & Glen Campbell.
23. GREEN FIELDS -- Beverley Sisters.
24. YOU'RE MY WORLD -- Cilla Black.
25. TEARS -- Ken Dodd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original Hits - Sixties - match the right song!, 13 May 2011
This review is from: Original Hits - Sixties (Audio CD)
I am delighted with the selection of music; so many popular sixties collections around and most tend to be compilations of the No. 1 hits of the time - ignoring many great hits that were around then. However, is it me or has anybody else played it on their pc and found the list of tracks that comes with each disc is so off base it had me in stitches! It was a real challenge matching some of the hits on the uploaded list to what was actually playing - many times it was not even on that disc!
any ideas how I can straighten this out and match the list with the disc when it plays on the pc?

Original Hits - Sixties
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Editing, 31 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Hits - Sixties (Audio CD)
Although hits, I think, as a set, some of the middle of the road songs here are out of place. It is not meant to be a definitive collection, no Beatles, Stones, Kinks, Who etc, but I think it should have concentrated on the pop/beat side of the charts as this makes up the large majority of content. The MOR just gets in the way.
It has been poorly edited for CD as there are many tracks that start before the previous track ends, so if you use random play the beginning of songs are missing (very noticeable on Anyone Who Had A Heart).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value and ALL original, 4 Nov 2009
By 
AlanMusicMan (North Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Hits - Sixties (MP3 Download)
Excellent value and (unlike so many other lesser compilations) ALL original hits: Even the remastered tracks are the original hit performances.

Gives a true reflection of sixties music which was unimaginably diverse: The outgoing styles of big ballads, twee singers and orchestras sitting (yep, sometimes uneasily) alongside "Four Guys, three guitars and a drum kit" bands, Motown and Soul artists and strange hippy one offs. That's how it was then: For example the top singles of 1969 included "My Way" by Frank Sinatra and "Honky Tonk Women" by the Stones, the chalk and the cheese - no?

Anyway, if you want to buy a 60s album, this one is highly recommended because it's all original hits, and you get a lotta diverse music for your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 60s 131 original hits, 24 Sep 2011
By 
Leslie Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Hits - Sixties (Audio CD)
This set of discs is one of the best i have bought for sixties music, if you liked the movie Pirate Radio this box set is the definitve sound of the days of Pirate radio in England, dont bother spending a fortune on the soundtrack to the movie just buy this box set, but if you are American be aware you may not recognise 80% of these tracks, as most of them never made it across the atlantic in the British Invasion.
This box set is the music i remember when i was a kid from 6 yrs old growing up from 1960 onwards , you will not have wasted your money on this Cd if you buy it,all the tracks are original songs, original artists, and original recordings.
i highly recomend this Cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, 26 Mar 2011
By 
Twohoots (Teignmouth UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Hits - Sixties (MP3 Download)
A must for the 60's music buff. A huge collection of original recordings at a great price and with excellent sound quality. A complete collection of 60's hits in one package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good mix of Sixties Music, 7 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Hits - Sixties (MP3 Download)
The 60's represented on this Album are an explosion of different types and tastes, with a lot of talent and innovation to create very individual sounds given that they did it without the music apparatus available today.
Great variety on this album and the sound quality in representing the original tracks are excellent.
The 60's was an exciting time to live through, colourful, diverse and liberal!Original Hits - Sixties
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the best value 60s compilation I've ever come across, 15 Aug 2010
This review is from: Original Hits - Sixties (Audio CD)
If like me you grew up in the 60s, you'll be thrilled to have this great value box set. An earlier review of this set, bemoaned the fact that there are no tracks by The Beatles, The Stones or other legendary rock groups included. This is surely a business decison made by the copyright holders. In any case, there are numerous collections of their hits available and their original albums continue in the catalogue. What's more we know their music inside out and it's the forgotten gems that you'll find here alongside the many familar smash hits that make this compilation special.
This set would also be a great introduction to 60s pop for younger listeners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fond Memories, 5 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Hits - Sixties (MP3 Download)
After playing this cd I put it on again and tryed to remember what I was doing at the time and it brought back a few nice memories ,it was also excellent value ,so if you wanna think back to some of your happier days then this cd is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value For Money, 17 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Original Hits - Sixties (Audio CD)
What can you say about this compilation CD. 150 hits from the Swinging 60's on 6 Cd's. Many of the tracks are available on other CD's but if you want a taste of 60's music, no better place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Hits - Sixties
Original Hits - Sixties by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album10.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews