Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and rather briliant
The beauty of film is that sometimes you stumble accross a great film that you have never heard of, and you leave it wondering why you have never heard of it. I have read the other reviews and I have to say that I didn't leave this film with anything other than a sense of appreciation for a brilliant film. Depressing? Well, the subject matter itself is what it is. This...
Published 18 months ago by NotJustACook

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lots Of Known Names, Depressing Movie
I rented this out as I am a fan of Guy Pearce's work and normally his films are very good to watch. Fragments is about a group of people get caught in a gunfire attack that leaves their lives shattered and changed. You follow them through the film as they go through a journey of regaining trust and getting themselves back to normal. It has a great cast of known names like...
Published on 5 Oct 2009 by Ms. J. F. Gilby


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and rather briliant, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fragments [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
The beauty of film is that sometimes you stumble accross a great film that you have never heard of, and you leave it wondering why you have never heard of it. I have read the other reviews and I have to say that I didn't leave this film with anything other than a sense of appreciation for a brilliant film. Depressing? Well, the subject matter itself is what it is. This film is never going to be a barrel of laughs. Not only is this a very topical issue, but the film is about humanity...about the human wreckage left behind after a traumatic event, and how each othe characters copes (or doesn't cope). The characters are raw and the actors are committed to their portrayals of the different characters. If you are fan of well made cinema with a focus on real human emotion, buy this film. You will probably be left like me wondering why this film did not receive higher accolades. I would hazard a guess it's because the subject matter is just too close to the bone in America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lots Of Known Names, Depressing Movie, 5 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Fragments [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I rented this out as I am a fan of Guy Pearce's work and normally his films are very good to watch. Fragments is about a group of people get caught in a gunfire attack that leaves their lives shattered and changed. You follow them through the film as they go through a journey of regaining trust and getting themselves back to normal. It has a great cast of known names like Pearce, Kate Beckinsale, Dakota Fanning, Jennifer Hudson, Forest Whitaker, Jackie Earle Haley and Josh Hutcherson each giving attention worthy pefomances. But it's just like Crash where they had a lot of known names making a very depressing movie and it won a Oscar, here there is no chance. I couldn't warm to any of the characters or feel any pity, perhaps it's not my kind of scene or I wasn't in the mood to watch something like this. But if you loved Crash, check out Fragments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for cast alone., 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fragments [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
First off this film made me cry. Second it made me jump. Aside from that the quality of acting on display makes film worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars it ok, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fragments [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
movie was ok, more than confusing and still have no clue what the moral of the story was, on the other hand it was interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fragments, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fragments [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
this film is excellent,
it leads you in a specific direction throughout
the movie,but this film is not as obvious as it seems.
well worth a watch......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 16 Feb 2010
By 
Ms. H. C. Carney (england, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fragments [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Always been a huge Dakota fan, so bought this movie without a thought. But boy is it good. Many well known actors/actresses, and greatly cast.
All the other reviews explain the basic plot so won't mention here.
All i can say is spend the money, and see your thoughts. I was pleasently surprised, and i hope you'll be too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..BRILLIANT DRAMA/THRILLER..", 24 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fragments [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is not your usual big hollywood film, but has a lot to offer, its a tale about a group of people who are involved in a violent hold-up at a diner, and we see over the course of the film how it drastically changes their lives, if you want a good drama with some powerfull performances from a top cast then this is nice to watch, a little slow and not much to think about but good film to get into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great dvd, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fragments [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
i knew this would be a great film to watch,it was an excellent story and fantastic acting from both male and female actors.fast delivery many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior!, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fragments [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
s i m p l y d o e s n ' t g e t a n y b e t t e r !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Truly awful film!, 24 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fragments [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I cannot believe how dreadful this film was. I was intrigued because the amazingly talented Jennifer Hudson is in it! However, she has very little dialogue in the film and is dreadfully underutilised.
Forest Whitaker's character was irritating to watch although I obviously had sympathy with the character's plight. Guy Pearce was weird in this film too and the sex scenes seemed gratuitous.
A truly horrible film and I cannot imagine what the film-makers were thinking of. How such a production even made it to DVD is astonishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fragments [DVD] [2008]
Fragments [DVD] [2008] by Josh Hutcherson (DVD - 2009)
2.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews